(2011/10) Oct 2011

Hi lizy, esther, thanks for the advise. Im now thinking how to convince my mum.. maybe only let her know after it is completed.

guess its best i get the extension first.

when will 'rounded' and 'pointed' tummy start to get obvious? mine's still small. everyone's saying i still dont look pregnant.. -.-

For my #1 i never buy any bras, i wear my wired bra throughout, bought the extention also nv use.

Had beef noodles today, finish everything. so full and sleepy now~

my poor gal having cough..

Bra:

I'm still wearing wired bra. But before CNY I went to the taka warcoal sales & got a size bigger bra but that time I tot I'm gainning weight.. but i nv buy one cup bigger... so now still wearing them... but the breast will be pain on & off...

My left breast is growing & veins have shown up.. it looks like blue black as the pact is very big. anyone experience the blue black looks a like vein showing.... My righ breast is not growing, so it's one big one small....

jgladys: I'm not sure which stall he bought from... But it's nicer than the one my hubby used to buy...

My first MS vommitting started from vomitted Changi Village nasi lemak.... hope it is really away from me now..... My appetiate is very good now, ate a lot & is always hungry... tink i'm gg gain more weigh....

jgladys,

think it will be more obvious from week 20 onwards. you first time mom right? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

oh, i recall i was just saying the other day that the tummy will suddenly grow in size overnight. i think mine started. this morning came office and my colleagues said i look bigger! hee hee!

afternoon mummies .. how to know if it is baby kicking? i always have poking sensation on the same spots at different timings of the day; not sure whether is it my baby kicking ..

starry, yes... i'm a first time mum.. so a bit blur blur. lol.. most of the time just read quietly.. then try to figure things out. only have two GFs who are mums now. BTW, only my hubby, MIL and mum can spot my tummy.

ginn, thinking about nasi lemak makes me drool. :D

keep up the good appetite! thank god i dont have MS.. will just throw once in a blue moon if i ate something which didnt taste nice to me.

Ginn Cai, I think you need a bigger cup size ler.. especially if you're wearing wired bra. Cup size different really matters for wired bra.

I only experiance having blue black vein during the time when I was nursing my girl. As my right breast produced more milk, it was bigger than my left breast.

Starry, I never experience tummy grow bigger overnight before. But I believe my little ones do have growth spur whether they're in the tummy or after when they're borned. I remembered one morning I was so surprise to see my girl suddenly grew so much when she was a new born.

Sopdav: hehe, hope n plan only la.. It definitey take lots of courage n financial to realise it..

Starry: Its very xinku now at tis stage rite? my son stil wake up for nite feeds at time n most nite, he'll wake up crying cos play too much in the daytime.. ive been having dark circle since i gav birth to him..

Mine size remain the same lei, very diff from my #2. Dunno is it becos i stop bf my boy n the size drop to smaller den b4 preg, n b4 it take times to get back in shape, i'm preg agn..

fairymom,

she's a very active 6mth old baby. everything also wanna touch, grab and stuff into the mouth. she will pull down pots and pans, cd rack and whatever she can get her hands on. changing her is like waging a war even on the best of days. lol! tiring, definitely.. but thankfully i am a FTWM, so my mum is the one in the 'battle field' with her. muahaha! she's an angel at night though. slept thru from 8pm till 6am when i wake her up for milk and my parents come pick her at ard 6.20am. who is looking after your boy?

Thanks everyone for your well wishes! Ya when I saw the hand on the needle I said quite loudly 'Is he touching the needle?!!!' I was barely breathing the whole time.

bubblygeekypig

If yours is deemed low risk and you're not too worried, then no need to spend the extra $$$. For me the risk was considered very high so we just wanted to know right away.

My hb was asked to leave the room, I think it may have been because the room was too small for him to stand in? I'm not sure... The dr had an assistant.

1. Tummy scan to locate the right position to insert needle.

2. Disinfect the area.

3. Plastic tube placed on top of the site to mark and guide the needle in.

4. Needle inserted until it has penetrated the membrane, just at the very tip. This is guided by the ultrasound image.

5. Syringe is attached to the needle and 20ml is drawn.

Continue to rest for about 15min.

Take it slooooow for another 2-3 days, best in bed. Miscarriage risk is highest in the first 2 days, but I am advised to take it easy for at least 2 weeks.

Starry

My ratio was 1:25. We are lucky to be among the 24 [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Yup my friend's IUD incident was very scary, she was in hospital for a few days after the operation.

genesis28

rapid test (PCR) gives a very good indication, I was assured that I can set my mind at ease that bb does not have ds. There may be other chromosonal abnormalities not shown that the full test will reveal.

Only trisomies 13(Patau syndrome, apparently more than 80% of babies born with this die within a month of birth), 18 (Edwards Syndrome, kidney/heart malfunction, intestines protruding outside of the body/ misshapen head), and 21 (Downs Syndrome) are detected. There is a 1% rate of failed detection using only PCR.

My mil mentioned she has a friend who gave birth to a baby with a triangle shaped head. I think it may have been Edwards syndrome. The baby died shortly after birth.

These are very sad cases, I wish for a happy and healthy baby for all of us mummies here [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

starry

ur gal loves u sooo much!!!

my gal only manage to sleep through the night recently after i got preg. Thank god! but too bad i still cant sleep through due to toilet/bad dreams... hais! must wait 2nd one sleeps through then i can get back my beauty sleep le.

jasmine, my gal has been waking up for night feed too... i think 3yr old like that then will auto wean off... my hb is the one waking up to make milk cos i am forever too tired.. haha

tamms,

thanks for sharing. you were very brave to have gone thru the whole procedure! and thankfully everything is well. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] really feeling very happy for you!

princessi,

i'm waiting for 6pm also...

jasmine,

buahahaa! wait till u see her in the afternoon. think my mum has daily 'heart attack' moments. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] and yah, still a long long way to go before can have beauty sleep..

tamms

initially my hb was agst e idea of doing amnio since low risk of ds, however NT measurement is thick so im afraid might have other chromosome defects so decide to go for it to put myself at ease.. so how many days mc were u given?

Night feeds:

Actually after 1yo if they are still on night feeds, it's a habit more than hunger.

By 1yo, their main source of food should be solids & milk is a supplement.

You might want to try increasing their solid food intake during the day and maybe increasing the amount of the last milk feed before sleeping.

My boy nvr woke up for night feeds (other than during random growth spurts which last 2-3 days only) ever since 3 weeks old. Cos the PD told us if baby has enough nutrition during the day, they seldom wake up at night for night feeds. So we increase his feed in the day & nearing bedtime, we increase the frequency (e.g. instead of every 3hr, we give milk every 2hr).

So until now, he seldom wake up for milk feeds except when he too tired & didn't finish his dinner & wake up hungry in the middle of the night.

Starry: he's in infantcare.. Been there since 3mths old.. So far so good with the school.. I'm a FTWM too, can't imagine myself looking after him, he's too active..

Yap, I've been trying not to give him milk when he wake up in the middle of the night, will try to tap him.. Sometimes it works n sometimes it dun.. Still waiting for the day to come..

1d1r, yes.. its habitual.. for the first 6 mths, my gal nvr wake up for milk... in my mind i was still thinking she is so good to us.. then, during her 6th month growth spurt, she demanded twice night feeds... and... sad to say, it started then! She drank two bottles of milk (1 hr apart) before she zz... And, I make the brown rice smoothie for her for every milk feed.. So, it is kinda thick.. But, all along she has been a frequent but light eater.. eat many small meals a day.. She is drinking only 180ml/feed.. my fren's daughter now 9 mths already drinking that amt..

She is eating more than enough in the day, sometimes i feel that she is eating more than me...

I give in to her night feeds because she cries really loud for milk at night if we dont give her.. and I dont want her to cry so much.. cant bear...

sometimes i will remind her that she cannot wake up for milk.. sometimes she remembers and she really didnt ask for milk.. there was a day i think she remembered what i tld her, she dont dare to ask for milk and kept tossing here and there.. No milk cant sleep well, it's really habitual!

I remembered since she was an infant, her intake is quite little.. then I just nurse/feed frequently by demand..

whereas for my fren, her method was to force the baby as much as possible so that each feed is more lasting.. but her daughter always vomit and she said is reflux... my gal has nvr vomited out her milk before unless she is ill...

so comparing my gal and hers, i prefer my own method cos each baby is unique.. but now i suffer lor... my gal wakes up for milk, hers auto stop by 8 mths..

Roxanne, give water at night. After a few times she will realise that it's not worth it to wake up for plain water :p Cos if she's getting enough food in the day, then you can give her water at night. Sometimes they just want something to suck on before they go back to sleep.

Increase milk amount must be gradual. My boy at 12mths was taking 260ml per feed. Now, it's 330ml per feed, sometimes he will request for top up of 150ml. Scary milk guzzler I have!!!

wa... 330ml.. that is alot!

actually i think is my fault la, heart too soft.. i nvr tried water before.. cos my hb n MIL said, she want to drink let her drink lor.. haha.. maybe my #2 i will try water... cos, suffering for another 2-3 years, me and hb will get older fast!!!

My boy is 4yo now, but he drinks milk like no one's biz!

Morning wake up will ask for milk.

Breakfast (quite heavy, usually 2 slice of bread or a big bun or sandwich)

Tea break in school (snacks & small pack of milo)

Lunch (1 adult portion)

Tea break (fruits, snacks plus milk)

Before dinner (milk again)

Dinner (1 adult portion plus after dinner fruits)

2 bottles of milk (1hr after dinner & just before sleep). Or snack then only 1 bottle of milk before sleep.

My milk bill very high.... every month we spend ard $100 on milk only... He's drinking a mixture of fresh milk (when got time to heat up) & FM....

Last time on BM, he drink super duper a lot also!!!

Roxanne, it's normal. My friend's girl who is turning 2yo also eat adult portion already. My boy started eating adult portion at 2.5yo. Sometimes when he's really hungry, he can eat more than me!!!

& of cos, when given his fave food, he can eat 2 adult portion....

jinnous,

i dunno which one is u.. have u PM me ur email add? sorry i was out whole day accompany my family visits SG... so tired...

Hi! mummies, don't knw why i got alot of green color discharge recently? is it due to my body too heaty? anyone here hav same experience like me? Tis pregnancy i seen like to eat Malay food very much, those everything must be hav chili one...don't knw my baby will feel "hot" or not leh! :p

Bubbly,

It's 3 days mc. Ya totally understand it from your point of view, whether it's to go ahead with amnio or leave it, both are tough decisions to make. But I know how both of you feel, it's much harder to close both eyes and just hope for the best. Don't worry, I'm sure you'll do fine. Was just reading up some statistics: of the women deemed to be higher risk who went for amnio or cvs, less than 7% detected ds. Since you're low risk, your result will be fine. Don't worry so much k?

1d1r

My girl was sometimes waking up for milk at 18m which was surprising as she eats so much. I realized that I was feeding her milk addiction and it had been a habit for me too! Gave her water only 2 nights in a row and she never asked for milk again, Roxanne you might want to try this method.

Morning Mummies

Took ccl today gonna bring my gal c doc. COugh whole nite I can't even slp and early morning call me wake up she slp back but I can't slp back le. Had my bf, 1st time so early eat.

True dat dey wake up for milk is habit cos when we trying for bb, I train her at nite no milk. I let her cry, I scold her n told her if she want only water.

1d1r

Wahz so fast eat adult portion, my gal can't. BUt she can eat alot of times. Sometimes aft meal she still drinks milk. She is 31mths old drinks 240ml.

I'm from the April 2011 thread and would like to seek your help.

For those of you who have not given birth and have the Medela Freestyle, can you please help me to charge my battery? Coz' the battery needs an initial charge of 24hours but I've delivered and need to use my pump every 3 hourly. I am willing to pay a token sum to whoever can help me and would arrange to pass you the battery at a place of your convenience.

Thank you very much!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Me in Nee Soon... dunno got anyone coming to do rally not... not even a soul here... so quiet... My parents side still have PAP on lorry and loudspeaker doing rounds... my dad said morning come.. evening also come...

tamms

thanx [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] i was thinking low risk doesnt mean no risk + im afraid of other chromosome defect-heart, kidney defect etc.. jus keeping my fingers crossed. Going for my scheduled scan tml then c how we go from there. Previously nurse was telling me u noe e NT measurement so thick better do amnio as it can detect e rest of chromosomes. Hb ask e same qns on my decision if scan look ok can dun do, i replied think better do la but need not pay more for rapid result lor...

Jinnous, you live in yishun too. Me too. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Just now I heard the PAP lorry came leh. I only heard the last part which said: "vote PAP". lol!

Haha....maybe nvr go into my side... my side go in cannot come out... if they come, maybe I'll show my dog at the window... she hates strangers... :p

jinnous, snuppy,

yours fast! mine will only be in on 1 May. waiting waiting... wanna get baby stuffs too. can stock up on diapers now that NTUC got baby fair. cheap! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]