(2011/10) Oct 2011

hey all,

I saw my MP outside the MRT station today, talking to people and giving out a collateral named 'Burning Questions'.

jinnous, what breed is your dog? just curious. cause my bro-in-law has a dog w the GF and it hates strangers too. often mistake own pple as strangers.. and that was how i got woken up last night [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Mine is miniature schnauzer.. She's actually really sweet with family members.... ppl she knows... but if she hears sounds, strangers talking she will growl and bark.... my hubby always use her to "hint" inconsiderate ppl making too much noise downstairs....

starry... I haven't check yet! Most prob I'll get a cheque bah... I'm so hyped up! Thinking of going to rally... but scared of being pushed. Did u gals see the tongue-in-cheek posters of the opposition parties?

snuppy,

yes, all NTUCs. yesterday's straits times have a full page of good deals for NTUC bb items. i'm gonna buy pull ups for my girl. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

jinnous,

thought bank in direct? you won't get cheque unless you request for it.

Roxanne, not itch de, is it normal and infection will affect my baby or not? My next appt. on 25/05, still long long wait :-(

Snuppy,wat growth dividends? is it for s’porean only rite? i don't hav it but i can use my hubby one..hee..hee..

Starry, is it every NTUC got baby fair??

Anyone going to Metro Expo Sales this weekend? Any cheap cheap things for baby?

emily,i remembered once my eldest sis got it but the doc nvr say anything.. maybe u can call up ur gynae and ask whether need to be concern about it or not... they might need to take the discharge sample for lab test to see what kinda infections....

Starry, thanks for sharing! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I also need to stock up pull ups for my girl too. Will probably get my in-laws along on tuesday. Coz Senior citizen enjoy additional 2% discount on every tuesday when buying things from NTUC. hehe..

emily,

yeah, every NTUC. but some small neighbourhood ones very limited diaper brands and sizes so i usually go to those huge stores like at Jurong Point.

lizy,

welcome! wanna get the nepia ones.

Try getting from guardian if u have the family n frens card from maybank..10% rebate, not sure if the price will be cheaper than ntuc's sales....

RE: Diapers

My boy was allergic to those expensive diapers (Mami Poko, Pampers). So very thankful, he only used PetPet & NTUC.

Actually I saw the quality for PetPet& NTUC improve a lot. Cheap & good. Anyway diapers need to be changed frequently for hygiene purposes, so no need super good diapers :p

& the best way to save $$ is to quickly toilet train them :p My boy nvr got to use XL diapers... max size was L & we quickly toilet trained him already...

Emily baby,

Ya some govt payout for singaporeans,

my hubby also don't have it..

besides bb items, need to hunt for new home monitor and laptop. both broke down at the same time.

T,T

wow.. so fast the growth dividends $$ in bank account liao... keke... wat a Happy long weekend.... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

this year is my first time doing the voting... but i only change my IC address recently so still need to go back my mom's place to vote...

1d1r, i was using petpet for my gal.. good and cheap.. but i realised that the main difference for petpet and pampers is the urine smell... Pet Pet cannot contain urine smell and pampers can..

Now she is bigger then I change to pampers, cos it is thinner and I feel more comfortable.. Just sanitary pad, thinner more comfy.. haha..

Our toilet training only succeed for day time, night time and for outings she is still on diapers..

1 thing for sure is that she is sensitive to huggies and mamy poko... always get rashes...

I just stock up a few packs of diapers and another few tins of milk powder plus some maternity pads for myself.. think the milk can last my gal until she hits 3 Yr old... Kia Su hor.. I am thinking if I shd start stocking up for this baby since guardian got 10% rebate...

Emily, i think metro sales nothing for baby.. Wait for robinson sales, if at their outlet right, normally got bb sales one.. Can stock up milk bottles, teats there, wipes.. quite worth it if u got robinson card...

Roxanne, lucky my boy's butt is cheapo butt! Cos from newborn tt time use Pampers he will kena rashes le :p

Actually I prefer NTUC to PetPet. Just that if NTUC no offer, PetPet is cheaper :p

I'm the type that will take calculator and calculate the price per pc of diaper to compare :p

wow Roxanne, u really stock up alot. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]i only do for milk powder, if Frisco got but big free small i will buy 3 big tin

I'm actually lost leh! Whenever I go to stores selling the bb stuffs like teats, bottles and etc... I'm like lost... dunno what to buy...

But which brand??? Like got different teats etc... different size bottles... pump or no pump... sterilizer got what 24 hour or no... lost....

Just choose the brand with best deal. For milk bottles, no choice, every baby likes different bottles. My boy started off with Nuk then changed to Avent.

I'm using Avent pump, so we stick with Avent.

1d1r,

good leh, no need to spend on expensive diapers. i tried pet pet on my girl before but the whole diaper is very stiff looks very uncomfy so switched back to MP and pampers. overall still like pampers most. i stock up when there is promo. drypers are quite good too just don't like the noisy sticky tape esp for newborns. now that she's older, the noisy doesn't bother us.

jinnous,

you can wait for big baby fair happening during june period and buy those in a full set. i got the pigeon bundle. personally find the bottles good! there are bundles from tommee tippee and avent as well. just have to make up your mind which to choose. pigeon, NUK and avent are the top brands so far. don't need to cheong all out and buy everything. 'cos a lot will be left unused.

re: milk bottles

my girl is not fussy about which bottle she drinks from and who feeds her. got milk can le! we started with medela bottles (comes with the freestyle breastpump) then changed to pigeon one.

1d1r,

thanks for the tip! i didn't think of trying that. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] used 2-3 pcs only.

went for my long-awaited gynae appointment this morning .. baby is 9.57cm long; he/he is growing but mummy losing weight =( anyway, still cannot confirm the gender until next visit (3rd of June) ..

Emily, re the green discharge.. could be fungal infection down there.. Only by taking a swab test then can confirm..

I think u should tell ur gynae abt it in ur next appt.. Meanwhile take more yogurt.. Probiotics provide good bacteria..

have sent the scanned check-list to those mommies who pm me, but is a bit blur .. have tried to type them out in the facebook doc, BUT nothing was saved =(

anyway, here it goes:

TAKASHIMAYA MATERNITY & BABY CHECK-LIST

BABY’S CLOTHES AND ACCESSORIES

 Short-Sleeved Vest

 Long-Sleeved Vest

 Sleeveless Vest

 Briefs

 Long Pants

 Bodysuit

 Coverall

 Diaper Cover

 Cardigan

 Mittens

 Bootees

 Bonnet

 Receiving Blanket

BABY’S NURSING NEEDS

 Bottle (4oz/125ml)

 Bottle (8oz/250ml)

 Teats

 Milk Powder Container

 Electric Baby Food & Bottle Warmer

 Bottle Insulator

 Baby Bib

 Nursery Bag

 Feeding Bottle Rack

 Sterilization Set

 Sterilization Tablets

 Tongs

 Bottle Brush

 Teat Brush

BABY’S BATHING NEEDS AND TOILETRIES

 Baby Bathtub

 Bathmat

 Towel

 Wash Cloth

 Natural Sponge

 Baby Transparent Soap

 Baby Bath

 Baby Shampoo

 Baby Oil

 Baby Lotion

 Baby Powder

 Nappy Rash Cream

 Powder Puff Container

BABY’S BEDDING NEEDS

 Baby Cot

 Mattress

 Bumper Pad

 Crib Sheets

 Waterproof Sheets

 Comforter

 Blanket

 Mosquito Net

 Cot Mobile

 Baby Monitor

BABY’S SUNDRIES

 Disposable Diapers

 Cloth Diaper

 Nappy Liner

 Nappy Pin

 Diaper Stacker

 Nappy Detergent

 Wat Tissues

 Cotton Wool/Balls

 Cotton Buds

 Changing Mat

 Nail Scissors

 Hairbrush

 Thermometer

 Pacifier

 Nasal Aspirator

MATERNITY NEEDS

 Support Bra

 Nursing Bra

 Washable Breast Pads

 Disposable Breast Pads

 Nipple Shields

 Nipple Correction Device

 Breast Pump

 Full Panties

 Abdomen Supporter

 Support Tights

 Body Cream

 Breast Cream

 Maternity Pads

Creamdonut: nt sure lehz .. Quoted it from the check-list I took from Taka .. Maybe for comfort purposes .. Anyway, it is just for references .. There are a lot of things which I personally do not think is necessary ..

I only put on bout 2kg+ leh.... is it too little? I'm like 4 months liao leh... I can't tahan... I drank kopi this morning! Heavenly!

I am from April forum.

My friend brought me a PHILIPS ELECTRICAL SINGLE BREAST PUMP. I already brought my own pump thus would like to sell the new pump off.

The above was purchased on 07/03/2011 and is under 2 years warranty.

Pls PM @ [email protected] if keen.

jinnous: i am 16 weeks pregnant, but have lost 3kgs =( but luckily baby is growing ..

have not been drinking coffee and tea since i knew i was pregnant, except 2 weeks ago at a conference as there was either coffee or tea .. no other drinks available .. so in order not to dehydrate myself, i drank 1/2 cup of black coffee ..

I keep having Maggie mee ever since I'm preg. Got de craving for hot n spicy if not curry Maggie mee. I dun always take Maggie mee de but preg liao always want eat. HAiz!

piggy_jas: high 5!! i do not like rice .. i prefer all those food with preservatives, e.g. instant noodle, luncheon meat .. put on a ban as no weight gain and my hubby always nag .. now everyone is asking me to eat more .. faint =.=

Jas, me too.. I kept eating nissin tomyam cup noodles and indomee.. until now when i see it, i feel so... erm, sick.. haha.. that is the only thing I can digest..

fantastar, as long as baby is growing then lost weight nvm right? I lost 5.5kg, i find that my morning sickness is better as I can stomach more meals without vomitting.. Still cant finish a full meal though...

I re-read my blog for my 1st pregnancy, i put on 400g by 16th week, 2.5kg by 20th week... & by 24th week, it shot up to 6.5kg in total! But the baby's weight gain from 20th to 24th week doubled.. My tummy for #1 showed earlier but was still small small de... Now i 15th week, I still no tummy, flat flat de...

Craving:

I realise I dont feel so satisfied after having my fave thai express red tomyam & tomyam cup noodles anymore... anyone faces craving changes?

piggy_jas: guess all those are our cravings during pregnancy .. although they are considered unhealthy, i cannot helped but craved for them .. got to take less of those ..

roxanne: actually i do not mind the weigh loss as long as baby is growing, as i do not want excess weight gain during pregnancy .. but everyone around me are so worried =.=

has anyone come to a stage whereby you do not feel pregnant? except for the occasional morning sickness and the pressing sensation when i lied flat, i do really feel pregnant .. now waiting for baby's 1st kick ..

a bit sianz to go back to work tomorrow .. have to be in early, and will be clocking overtime =( either my hormones is playing trick on me or i am getting lazy with this long weekend ..

anyway, ntuc members will enjoy 20% discount at popular, harris and urbanwrite from now till 15 may .. going to make a trip down to get some scrapbooking stuffs for baby's scrapbook ..

I just makan A*mei cafe (amk hub) nasi bryani & egg prata.

their chicken curry is marvellous to go with the rice..

ytd I ate MOS burger cheeseburger only S$1.95 & it was sooo good... in my opinions.

first time trying their cheeseburger & didnt expect it's so much nicer..

yes agree with fantastar dreading to be back to work tmr, need to follow up some work ..

sometime i also feel the same way that i'm not preggy except for tummy showing and couldnt fit in my work pants.

Now my dress sense is totally off. every clothing has to be baggy and roomy..

btw may i know what's the reason for full panties?

and any good support bra to recommend?

Fantastar, I dun mind too cos I purposely buffered extra for no 2 as my no 1 lost weight during first trimester but then now the vomiting nvr stop n I started to worry already... So sickening to vomit for so long, my fren said maybe cos I m not working n so there is nothing to distract me.. Maybe it's true.. I feel like eating Chu Qian Yi Ding original flavour, I bought many cup n packet instant noodles from taiwan in march but haven't touch it yet..

I put on 12kg in first preg n lost 5 kg in 1st trimester, the nett 8kg was lost in the first month cos mainly made up of water retention.. I had really bad water retention n it started very early.. I hope this time round it will be better for me..

Tmr will always be a better day and it will be one day sooner to see our baby, so cheer up!

An ex col setting up a company and asking me if i m willing to help.. If things go well, I will be starting working next month... Gone r my lobo days, but good also, keep my mind occupied n time will pass faster

bighungrybear: you are making me crave for roti prata!! my dress sense is also totally off .. usually I just don on a dress for work with flats, paired with a watch .. other that that, I am usually in my t-shirt, shorts and flats .. been ages since I last dress up =(

roxanne: advanced congratulation to you on nailing a job =D

Fantastar, I quite like my present status.. Once u nvr work u will get lazy Liao.. Think I am like that.. I see if he allows part time..

Roxanne: you are not the only one .. I will also get lazy if I do not work for a period of time .. Actually, I am very contradicting .. When I got to work, I wish I can be tai-tai .. When given the choice to be one, I want to continue working ..

Creamdonut: me too; in search for new undies as hubby is complaining that I am 'strangling' baby with my undies as I am wearing low waist .. I think I will have to buy those ah-ma undies ..

Creamdonut: serious ar? I thought it should be easily located?

On my way to work .. Going to start work early and ending late .. Sianz =.=

Early morning I already feel like puking liao... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]