(2011/04) Apr 2011

mei.. my baby is now 6 wks drinking 120ml approx every 2-3 hours (at night 3-3.5 hrs).. he used to drink ard 110ml at 1 month every 2.5-3 hrs.. he's now abt 5.5kg..

Piggy/hippo

The normal funnel I have already but not as comfy as e soft fit one.. No choice for e sake of comfort, have to pay a bit lor..

Mei

My bb is one month two days old today and drinking 120-150ml every 2.5 - 3 hrs. Haven weigh him yet but when I asked PD, he said amount is ok. He also said just feed the baby on demand. Babies will know when to stop when they're full. I know my bb is full when he either falls aslp or stop fussing or stretching his body or play with the bottle teats instead of suckin it. So I never worry abt the amount he drinks. Also, if bb drink pee poo slp normally, then ok Liao.

Shice

Hehe my bb pulls my hair sometimes too... Ya have to tie up else he'll pull my hair and then put his hands in his mouth so not hygienic ): want to cut my hair short but really can't bear to......

Sandy

Aiyo chill chill 不要动刀动枪... No point getting pissed off over an outsider. 凡事可以好好说.... *hugs*

Michelle

She is pushin me to an end Till I cannot tahan n everytime the in law will sayang her like hell I can't even get rid of her. Damn sian

Tweety

At 1st they agree to change maid but 2 days ltr sil went n tell hb they don wan a maid totali n ask me to take care my own, help out wif household chores I agree to it but every1 mux coporate then talk half way they change mind suddenly sayin don wanna sack her sO sept I take care of bb my own she will not do anything n again change their mind say split among 5 for the mind I jux need to get her clean rm wash clothes but not takin care of kids.

They nv intend to change her at all. My in law purpose is makin use of our $ so they can carry on haf their precious maid.

I donno wth lo tell hb I'm his wife help his family 生2 kids lei n the kids cfm is his yet they don even treat me s 1 of their family member still haf the cheek to gang up wif outsider.

Is already beyond le I bet nobody even seen a owner gave maid $ n half day leave go do rebondin cos next day maid gng on leave. N a maid ever haf chance to surf net update FB.

Aaaarrgghhhhh super duper angry. I jux wanna kill her now man.

Sorry for rantin it out over here esp early mornin.

Tweety, I'm going tpy tmr evening. But most likely will be bringing #1 only.

Poor Sandy. Think you really gotta move out soon. Ur in laws sound really attitude! Looking for a flat already?

My baby has pi sai stuck in her nose, this causing her to keep sneezing and sometimes the noise of breathing like having flu like that...do I need to bring her to PD or is there any other solutions?

Please advise. Thanks.

mei, my boy is 7wk plus.. Drinking ard 125ml every 2hrs avg. At nite can drag 3-4 hrs.. 110 ml. He's 5.9kg now.

Talking abt feeding.. I tot if latch on bb will know when to stop when they are full? Apparently not for bb J. Yest after his 930 feed.. 1Hr later he cry for milk.. Drag to 1.5hrs. Feed full amt. Awhile later.. He cry again. That was his cranky hr. So i latch him on 2x. I tot if he drink more can zz through e nite again. But after 2nd latch at ard 12.. He started making those noise like wanna vomit. Then really merlion alot out. Think i over feed him.. Even though it's latch on. Then i see his stomach so huge like wanna explode le! So scary. I shall stop feeding him like tt le. Anyway.. He's sleeping pattern back to 3-4hrs at nite. The sleep through the nite is really a 1 time thing. Knew I'm not so lucky!

Re mittens and booties.. I just stopped letting him wear yest. Cos all too tight le.. Wear till got a mark. Going to buy more socks for him to wear during gai gai instead!

shice / michelle / elmo, thanks for the reply, in that case i wont bother about her comments liao le, so irritating, PD also said ok, dont understand why she's making a big fuss men, i'll definately ask my mum to feed my baby 2-3 hourly when he cries for milk, though my mil always insist must be 3 hourly just because my SIL (her daughter) son drinks 3 hourly. please lo, my SIL baby is 3 months old lei, my MIL cannot understand facts, my baby only 1 month old, of course need more frequent feeds

Elmo,

Some will still have a very strong urge to suck.. My #1 could stop when she is full.. But my #2 keeps wanting to suck especially in the evening before bedtime.. Can suck until stomach very big.. So what I do is after feeding till full, I will give her a pacifier.. My girl has reflux so pd says they might want to feed more cos bm will help to neutralize the acid. But too much they will throw up.. Apparently sucking also helps to stimulate saliva production and this also helps to neutralize the acid.. So pacifier is a good option..

Hippopolai,

if too many can consider NYNY? or the Peranakan food nex to the white Town coffee?

prayhard,

if u can see pisai can jus use cotton bud to remove it... for young bb it quite norm they have block nose even if u go see PD they may jus gave nose drop or nasal spray even sux out the mucus may accumulate again.. can only wait till 4-5mth it will improve..

Yoti,

the carrier i am lookin at Ergo the others recommend Beco[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Elmo,

i tink if u wan them to sleep thru early mus bott feed wor.. mine 4 day in a row manage to sleep for 5 hr+ straight le hope he will sleep longer n longer [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jojo, Piggy,

My gal starts to have small little red dots all over her face leh..how huh? Are these heat rashes?

Jojo,

You completed your confinement liao huh? Actually me intend to do for 40 days but starting from yesterday, my gum started to swollen and have a bit of sore throat this morning.

And my CL is leaving this noon. Starting from noon today, I will be taking care of baby by myself. Scared and worry leh....

Piggy,

Where to get the California bb cream? Kiddy Palace?

Btw, how soon you bring bb out huh?

Thanks, Piggy.

Will try to get it from Watsons later.

Gerry,

Most of the times I also unable to burp my gal successfully leh. I give up after a while and let her sleeps on her cot, but after a while, she will vomit a mouthful of milk out leh...normal or not, mummies?

Pink: You can try getting someone else (hubby, helper, grandma etc) to give C the bottle and make sure you are not around. Why the rejection? Did you stop giving bottles? My No 1 rejected the bottle as well after a while (my fault as I stopped giving her one bottle a day after 6 weeks).

Gerry: Nick has wind issues so I can usually get a big burp out of him within 10-15 seconds of putting him upright and patting his back. But all babies are different. Some breastfed babies don't need to burp at all.

Calling for piggy,hippo,vivi & all experience mummies: kindly check wat is the min hrs interval to feed baby giving fm? Heard that someone mention at least 2-2.5hrs interval else bb's stomach cannot take it?

Yolk sac: I dont know what caused the rejection. She was very cranky a while ago and seemed to be getting better. I'm not ard to see her feed. Hubby or helper will bottle feed her. At 6am she woke up and eh eh eh so my helper warmed up EBM for her. She drank 20ml then refused to drink. I let her latch on and she sucked hungrily for 15 mins [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Then 10am feed again my hubby tried to bottle feed EBM. The moment she saw bottle she started crying. We tried a few times. Cmi. I let her latch on. She fed for 30mins.... (=_="")

Pink: It's a tough call. From what you described this morning, I worry that what your clever little girl is learning is - "ok, if I fuss and reject the bottle, eventually mummy comes along and then I can latch!" - most babies would prefer to latch. They get the closeness to mummy, enjoy her smell, and clever babies love the bonding! Of course she would rather pick you than a bottle! So if you REALLY want her to drink from a bottle, you cannot latch her on after she rejects the bottle. You gotta let her cry until she takes the bottle. And if she skips a feed - little C sounds very determined (and not v hungry) that way - then that's that. She (and you) have to live with it. Must stay firm.

BUT having said all that....

Do you have a particular reason for needing to bottle feed her? If not, then you can allow her to latch instead of bottle feeding her. If you go out and leave her at home, she won't suffer if she skips a feed or has it a bit late, and by the time you'd have to come home to pump, she could feed by latch instead.

As my No 1 rejected bottles, she took all her feeds via latch until about 6 or 7 months. Bo pian lah. Smart babies know what they want!

PrayHard: Just wanted to add on that I love Calif Baby calendula cream! We use it by the truckloads at home. It's a miracle cream that cures most baby rashes, skin irritations, etc. You can get it via retail at Brown Rice Paradise, Tanglin Mall, as well as some pharmacies like Living and Guardian. But it is much cheaper to buy via the BPs or from some online websites. I buy from diapers.com - but they only ship to US I think, so you have to use vPost or use a friend in the US as your delivery person.

Yoti for me the guideline for fm is about 3 hours but having said that sometimes Vianne will be hungry at 2.5 hours . But yesterday she cried for milk when it is only 2 hours so play by ear

Yolk sac I prefer to bottle feed so that I can measure how much she's taking in... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Sorry that I haven't been able to log on for a while...

Anyway, for those of you who have added me on facebook, I need to ask a small favour from you. I have written a very long note about my terrible experience at TMC. I hope that you can help me share this out to your friends and hopefully, by doing so, TMC would be pressurized into giving me a decent reply.

Thank you very much!!

p.s. of course, I don't know how effective this will be but I've already written in to Today and sent in a copy of the same letter via TMC's website. Hubby intends to stomp about it if we don't hear from TMC latest by Thurs.

If you have any other suggestions, please do share with us. Many thanks!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I finally given in to the pacifier. :-l Previously i mentioned that my boy spit out when i tried to give him once.. so we thought that he don't want. Then just now, he keep crying, put my nipple into his mouth to let him suckle (this is what i've been doing when he make noise so that he can suckle to sleep) but juz now he suckle with eyes open wide wide...then after a while he rejected my nipple and cry.. i tried a few times to put it into his mouth again.. but he don't want and keep crying.. that is when i know he don't want milk and just want to suckle.. so try the pacifier again...and tis time, he didn't spit out.

will try not to let him suckle on pacifier too much, use it when need to if not very hard to wean his habit off later...

sandy,

i think quite a few mummies here also face this problem; cry (either hungry or stomachache). just dunno what to say or how to explain.

totoro,

no worries, we are here to help each other with information. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Michelle,

oic. thanks for the information. will double check with HDB tml on the cost.

Yolk Sac,

oh is it- cabbage, broccoli, cauliflower and dairy will cause wind. i have been eating broccoli and drinking milk lately. how to prevent taking those food? coz of their nutrients

Simply dun understand y cannot wear black for solemnization.. Mil was commenting too many of us wearing black so try nt to get black to wear..

mrs chua,

old people is like that, black represent bad luck.. must wear bright color for big day like solemnization, red will be best. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Yolk sac,

Ok.. Ya my #1 didn't need to burp.. And she doesn't throw up.. But this one is throwing up quite often..

Fung,

Easier to wean off pacifier than thumb.. Hehe!! My #1 is 2.5 yo and still sucking her thumb vigorously until she has this big callus on her thumb! You can remove pacifier from baby but you can't remove the thumb.. Haiz..

As for windy food, not every baby will get affected.. Must do trial and error.. Like take note of the food you eat and see baby's reaction..

For me, my #1 didn't let me take cabbage.. But broccoli and milk no problem..

Hippo & Gerry,

How do you heat EBM with warm water?

I tried using warm water for 20mins but milk is still cold. Do you measure how many ml of hot water and how many ml of room temp water? If yes, can you pls share with me? Or you just estimate?

Fung.. Mil modern type, she dun kind black de but she jus dun wan everyone wear black.. Wat I dun like is, she got 4 daughters.. 3 Of them already bought black so ask me dun buy black.. But the one I like & only colour suit me now is black but can't buy black.. Somehow force to chose a colour I dun like...I jus dun wan buy an expensive dress that I onli will wear once [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Sapphire,

I estimate only wor... At home use warmer so no issue, go out just estimate... As long as the milk is not cold can le... I tried on the last outing, so far no issue....

Mrs. Chua,

Nvm, can always get another dress?

Sapphire,

I use pigeon food warmer.. Takes about 20 min to warm up about 100 ml ebm.. I find the occasional swirling helps to speed up the process..

Actually like what hippo said so long as not cold can already.. Room temp also can..

sorry to interupt,

I've some boots milkbag to let go at $10/box.

Each box contains 40milkbags that can freeze up to 300ml each.

Pls pm me if u're interested.

Hello mommies!

Went to mums and babes to find the soft fit funnel but no stock. Thy have a longggggg waiting list for the funnel... Seems like it's in demand hahah.,. Will buy from Bp if gt stock...

Sapphire

I use avent bottle warmer... V fast heat up... 5 mins to heat up a bottle of milk if use maximum heat... But I always set to the lowest setting so I can heat slowly n early... Then when my boy wakes up he can drink Liao. He's quite fussy when he doesn't get his milk so I always heat up early...

I'm an April mummy too and silently follow this thread since day one, need some advise from you about breastfeeding. Anyone do exclusive pump out? my son having difficulity to latch on, everytime when i try to latch on him, he seems always not full and get sleepy easily. so i pump out every 3 hrs and bottle feed him, exclusive pump out is it able to simulate and increase milk supply?

Hi all April mummies,

I have just given birth to a baby gal few weeks back and have been facing problem since. It has been a tough job to put hee to sleep. We can spend up to 2.5 hrs to put her to sleep after feed, but as her feeding time is usually 3 hrs apart, she'll only sleep for about half an hour before we need to feed again. Then the vicious cycle starts again.

Also, she needs to be carried all the time. If we put her down on bed before she falls asleep, she will start crying. It is difficult to pacify her and sometimes when she's asleep, she'll wake up suddenly and starts crying. She can't be placed on the bed even when not sleeping and needs to be carried all the time. We spend most of our time carrying her the whole day and can't do other things [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

The worse thing is she sleeps a lot during the day but always fuss at night and do not sleep readily after feed. This really tire us out and as a new mum, I have been crying over this as I feel so helpless and lost. Am getting depressed also...

Is there any advice you mummies can offer?

Michelle,

I supposed you are using the Avent Electric Bottle and Baby Food Warmer where you turn the knob to 1,2 or 3 not the Avent Digital Bottle Warmer where you select milk and ml.