(2011/04) Apr 2011

Pearly, I'm really sorry to hear about your dad. I can't even imagine how tough this must be for you. I will pray that he will be ok. You can't do much on this right now, so focus on your baby and let us know if you need anything. Take care gal!

Mrs Chua, hang in there! People should realize that you are doing your best and cut you some slack. I agree with PD that latching is a top way to boost supply. Bb is the best breast pump ever! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] yes, if you use Medela lanolin, can just leave it on - safe for bb. Take care.

Piggy, yeah so far so good. Gynae will come and check me tomorrow. I've already had many pees and one poo without issue so should be ok. Thanks for the reassurance!

Pearly, yes, it's a new room. I quite like it. No complaints lah. You want me to visit you tomorrow? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif])

yolksac

u suppose to rest and sleep at these hours bah, hehe. take good rest my dear.

pearly

be strong, I noe it's tough to face all these but like they said nothing much u can do so also dun add burden to yr hb & others pls take good care of yrself & try to focus on yr Bb & Kait. I believe yr dad & mil also hope so

gerry

u got puppp? came queit late huh? I also got it at ard week 33 thk last abt 3wks then gone itself. yah damn ithcy I saw 3gp also no use take med also can't help. how long ugly it alrdy? hope it get rid off soon

Andrea

glad to noe yr Bb can go home with u. 30ml for premature shd be ok, slowly he ll increase his intake

piggy

wah. yr boobs so good can keep so much milk at night? u not feel hard or engorge when u wake up? but its good loh also hope my boobs can keep but hard lah I drag to 4hrs alrdy feel hard on boobs le

usually how do u msg while pumping? u mean using air pump is yr pump dun need tk hold so u got free hand to msg?

I'm using Ameda dual I got no hand to msg ler still prefer single pump so another hand can do msg while pumping. still thking if wanna buy avent Isis or not

I still got problem on my right boobs the flow is slower abt half than left so I got to spend longer time on it to get same amt sometime ll get lesser abt 10-20ml on it

and can feel still a bit heavy insd shd have milk. have tried msg using btl with hot water too

Pearly:'i'm sorry you have to go through all this while you have just given birth. Just have faith that god/nature/fate has a way of working this out. Focus now on healing well and do the best that you can do when you can.

Yolk sac: congrats! You did it!

Mrs chia: I can imagine what you are going through. Sometimes I only realize what kind of mum I really have until I became a mother myself. For your case I think because they think they are older, they are more experienced and feel they have more authority. But pink is right. The boy is your child and you have the right to do why you want to do. just remember the situation you are in is temporary. Not lie some other pple who live with their parents/in laws all the time so Hang in there.

Mrs Chua, his jaundice level is 210 on Day 6.. Doctor said is mid risk..

Bbgoh, like very little.. But he got gain weight I'm ok le..

Sandy, dun stress k.. Confinement will b ending soon... Rem first k...

Pearl, it saddens my heart to know wht u going through.. U take care k.. They will b both fine.. I will keep them in prayers..

For storage of BM, how long can I leave it on the table(room temperature)? N fridge? I only can remember freezer is 6 months right??

G'morning ladies,

Mrs CHUA,

I don't how I did it.. I guess I was super determined.. And for me FM wasn't an option.. Unless I was sick or for some other medical reason.. I read up alot.. And I felt that all mummies will have enough for their own babies.. I mean our ancestors manage to survive back in those days with no FM.. We must be also be genetically able to give bm..

I was super tired.. But for at least the first month, I basically just latch and rest while my mom and hb helped with the other things.. As for the pain, I tahan.. Sometimes to make latching bearable, I would watch tv, read magazines or books.. I always though latching is the easy/lazy option.. Don't have to assemble anything, wash anything and or warm anything.. Hehe!! =)

I think ( and this is just my personal opinion.. Hopefully no one gets offended) when you get too fixated on the volume of milk u can pump, you lose the bigger picture.. That breastfeeding will bring you closer to your newborn.. The bond/intimacy between you and your newborn is what will drive you to want to continue breastfeeding and what will stimulate/increase milk supply for your child.. A pump isn't and will never be the same as the baby.. A pump is meant for when mummy and baby are separated for some reason but mommy and baby are together.. =)

As for warming bm, please don't put it in hot water.. It will destroy all the antibodies/nutrients instantly and that again will defeat the purpose of pumping.. Should warm it in body temp ( the pigeon food warmer has a 40 degree option)..

Pearly,

I am so sorry about your father and mil.. This must be a tough time for you.. If you need to talk, just come into the forum.. =)

Bbgoh,

Ya super Xian.. Gynae said giving birth will resolve the problem.. Sigh.. So really hoping by next week will give birth.. If not I am so going to scratch my skin out!! Is your puppp slowly disappearing?? Like all the marks and rash??

I use the ameda pump.. So what I would do is once the vacuum is on, I would use my entire one arm to hold the pump to my breast(like across my body.. Just press the pump to my boobs) and the other free hand to massage one breast.. Then change hand..

gerry

ops can't use hot water to warm it? but I dun have warmer how to warm? usually I ll use a cup pour in hot water then warm it directly after take from fridge

Thx ladies for the comforting words.. I'm really touched.. Will do my best to wait out this tough period of time & do my best for my hubby & kids.. I guess that achieving this would take all my effort & attention, hopefully enough to keep me from thinking too much.. After crying few times last night, i feel better, i hope.. But my hubby will b able to tell later cos my eyes like goldfish.. Later he sure poke fun at me.. =x

Yolk sac, i'll b up and around hospital cos need to finish up all the registration/baby admission (nothing was done cos was busy) then gotta check out before 12noon.. Maybe if u're awake before my hubby's here, i can walk over to see u for a while.. But i look like ghost sia.. Haven't had energy to bathe yet.. xD..

Btw, during your stay here, please don't miss out the toasted sandwich from the vending machine downstairs! Chicken parmesan flavor.. I'm hungry already.. Maybe go buy again.. =x

Thanks again to everyone here.. Was really comforted..

Gerry

yah all the rashes & mark just dssappear. no more scar unless those I scratch badly one a bit.

u adjust in full for vacuum? I only adjust till half, is it enuf? I scare too strong might hurt the nipple

2nd time mummies - Did you feel the uterine contraction cramps while/after BFding? How bad were they? How long do they last?? Mine are definitely there, more uncomfortable than with No 1 but haven't taken painkillers yet.

bbgoh: Yeah I know, but I woke up to feed bb and then after that, could not sleep - still high on adrenaline from the birth lah! hopefully tonight will get better rest. anyway, nurse is pleased with bb's progress, he's had three poos since birth and some wet diapers. nurse says he's definitely getting colostrum - hope so lah

pearly: haha thanks for the tip! will def check out the sandwich! don't worry abt visiting me lah...I look bad! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

gerry: I admire your perseverance to TBF. I TBF-ed for 6 months and BF-ed for 15 months with No 1, hoping to do the same for No 2, but who knows? Fingers crossed for a gd start. I'm also not a huge fan of pumping.

AMK Gal: Wow, exciting! Jia yo! Maybe your epidural didn't provide full coverage. Are you ok tolerating the pain? If so, can just leave it as it is so you can feel the urge to push. Hopefully your labour won't take much longer. Really excited for you!

Sookie: Thanks gal!

Looks like there are a few of us who are going thru a tough time.. I was very depressed last night too.. Felt very sick.. Still coughing.. N my uti makes peeing very painful.. I'm so tired that I can't latch on as much.. Feel like I'm missing out on the bonding.. It's painful for me to get out of bed coz my muscles started to ache badly

Also cried and cried.. So depressed that I cannot carry her as much as i'd wanted to. Still worried if shes getting enough milk n whether she will gain weight at next PD's check up. So stressed.

Pearly: so sorry to hear that so many events happened at the same time for u. Ur dad n mil are in hospital n the doctors n nurses will take care of them well. Jia you! Everything will be fine

Mrs Chua: think u must be very tired .. Latching on n pumping n trips to Kkh n polyclinic.. Jia you. I also don't understand how other mummies can rest.. There's always something or other to do when baby is sleeping

Pearly: hugs hugs.. u are nt alone.. Juz cry out, u will feel better..Dun give up, muz b strong coz ur bb ni u..

Seem like more n more mummies hav pop.. which mummies still waiting 2 pop n still active in tis forum?? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Yolk sac, sms or whatsapp me your ward? I just finished breakfast then gonna take a bath.. After that, can walk to u liao.. xD My number's 96246714..

Pink, thx.. That's the upside.. At least they're both in good hands..

Pink

Don't cry! Try to rest if your wound is painful. You can carry her later after you have recovered.

Yolk

I felt the contractions cramp very badly for #2. In fact even when not BFing, the cramp is horrendous!!

Pearly

*hugs* Will pray for your dad n mil. Meanwhile pls pls pls take good care of yourself yah?

Gerry

Its true, after giving birth the rashes will be gone! But I needed special cream to get rid of the existing ones. Thankfully, it only happened for my 1st birth. Last pregnancy and this I did not have any.

Mrs Chua

Take care, your boy will recover soon! Be positive! During confinement its very easy to cry as we are more emotional.

Don't worry about the dripping milk, its a good sign isn't it? By massaging you will get more milk!

Michelle

Good that your gynae is pro-natural. Jia you! I wish my baby can be bigger!

Pearly,

*hugs* everything will be okay. Have faith! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

sudden burst of energy from me today, woke up at 6plus am feeling a need to pack and clean up the room... -_-

Bbgoh,

Yes cannot put in hot water.. It's called heat shock and will cause all the proteins and antibodies to lose it's function.. If you don't have a food warmer maybe you can prepare lukewarm water??

Hehe!! That's why I say latching is the lazy way out..

When I went back to work, my mom would warm the milk about 20 mins before feeding my girl..

Yes I would use full vacuum until I achieve let-down and then reduce power..but remember I only started pumping 3 months post partum.. But I guess since it is the first month, nipples would probably be more sensitive.. So just adjust till comfortable I guess..

Yolk sac,

You too have lots of perseverance!! Breastfeed for so long!! Haha!! I only breastfed Lisa till she was about 10 months... Then it was an amicable spilt.. Hehe!! She started losing interest and I was more than happy to get my boobs back.. But breastfeeding is surely very rewarding!! the funny thing is when I come home from work, no matter how tiring the day was, I was always eager to latch Lisa on.. Haha!! I am sure you can do it this time round!! In fact maybe this time might be longer!! =)

Little twin star,

I am still waiting for my turn!!! =)

Gin,

Ya I read it usually happens during the first pregnancy!! This is my 2nd!! Haha!! I keep telling everyone my first pregnancy was just a rehearsal!! I had absolutely no problems at all..

Even toward the end.. Didn't feel heavy.. Nothing.. Haha!! =)

Bbgoh, gin,

I am so glad it will go away.. It really looks quite horrendous.. My legs and arms don't have the rashes but got like red patches everywhere.. Arghzz

Pearly,

hugs.. Sorry to hear tt abt ur dad n mil.. Everything will turn out well be strong .. Cry if need to it a gd way to vent out[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

mrs chua,

I use warm water cannot use hot water like way Gerry say jus mix hot water with tap water n put the milk in will do[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ya I can understd becos I can't get along with my own parent as well nvm the nex time u do confinement get a CL it will definitely help alot [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

pink,

dun stress dun stress try to relax abit C is well fed I tink u r nt gettin enough rest n too stress up tt y muscle ache badly .. U gt maid n cl jus leave it to them n check on them on n off u have a long way to go as a mother .. Dun worry abt the bonding nt only latchin can feel the bonding sumtime I enjoy lyin on the bed with BB tokin to him even bathin for them is great for bondin[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

bbgoh,

hmm no Leh my boobs only feel full no engorement wor .. Urs too much mill tt y la:p

Yolk sac,

I I do feel cramp n contraction when I latch but it any the same as my first preh wor..

Bbgoh,

btw my pump can go handfree but I usu do wat Gerry does to double secure the pump[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Yolk Sac: Me! i get it pretty bad and I am still on pain killers. i was telling my gynae how come the cramps are so bad? it was really disturbing.. and yesterday I felt i could not even walk properly for a while. he told me its normal esp for subsequent births and it can even go on for weeks!

Pink: don't be upset. its really the hormones coupled with other things thats getting you down. don't worry about "losing" the bonding time with your gal since you can't latch now. You have your whole life to bond with her and once things get on track, you can latch back on again. Its good that you can latch on.. cause not many can so look forward to the "end of the tunnel"! Also, i know its hard, since you are a first time mom but stressing now is not good for anything or anyone. As long as baby is still responsive, not vomitting or look violently ill, i'm sure your baby is fine!

Amk Gal: Good luck!

Tweety: how are you? any progress so far?

sob... i'm still suffering from sore and bleeding nipples.. i really wonder why my baby cannot latch properly..

Little twin star,

i still waiting too !!!!

hopefully this sun aftr gynae appt can let me induce or i ready to give birth .....

Pearly,

Be strong ................hugs hugs *****

Mrs Chua,

I believe once u look at ur bb u find all those troubles/matters will be gone ......

Sharlin,

u visiting Dr Lek this sun ???

Good morning mommies.

It seems like moms here are going thru tough times. But they don't last, so be strong ya.

Pearly

Sorry to hear about your dad and mil. What happened to your mil happened to my grandmother a year ago. Don't worry too much. You still have to be strong for your bb and your dad + mil. I'm sure they wouldn't want you to be sad as well. Stay strong k babe.

Mrs chua

I know if bb falls sick, we as mommies will feel the ache more than anyone but I'm sure your bb will get better as you take tender loving care of him. It won't be long before he recover and be a strong boy again. :)

Pink

Hang in there ok. I know the last thing a mom wants is to be detached from her own child... Be strong, Jiayou and recover well, then you'll be able to latch bb C again. If things get a bit too painful, maybe you would want to take painkillers? Do rest well and get someone to help out while you rest now... You'll be okay in no time.

Be strong for your babies, mommies. I'm trying to be for my bb and I'm sure all of you can do it too. Let us all Jiayou together, April mommies!

Gerry

yah dun worry, tat time I also jian bu de ren haha. but luckily it's just disappear cleanly

oh okok thanks I ll note it. aiya. bor bian ler I just stupid dunno to position her tot she can suck and I thk also no time to latch her. latching take longer time. yst just 1st day bk home my #1 jiu stick me like wat. Haizzz

and she dun wanna drink my EBM ler.

piggy

actually my current supply abt same as u lah each pump can get 120-140, just tat my K not drink much yet. only 50ml so still got more spare.

oh yah mummies

when do u start to intro plain water to Bb?

I noe for BF Bb dun need plain water but I would like to intro her dun wanna like her jiejie last time kp thking dun need as TBF so till nw she still dun like water.

Hello Mummies!

I am also having an April baby. The EDD is 16th April 2011. My husband and I are thinking of inducing the labour this weekend.

May I know if anyone has induced their delivery before and how is it like?

Is there any risks involved in inducing the baby?

On one hand, I am excited to see my baby. On the otehr hand, I am worried that if inducing it is unsuccessful, I will end up having an emergency c-section.

Really hope you ladies would be able to better advise me in this area.

piggy, my milk supply ard the same as urs lah. Cos i only pump 4x a day.. so got abit more for each pump loh.

Cham le... My bb is fussy abt milk. yest nite ask CL give fm... he only drink 50ml then push out liao. But can last him 3hrs. Then drink ebm can drink 70ml! What brand of fm are u all using har? I'm using Friso 1 now. Dunno next time need to change fm brand anot. Similac v ex leh.

amk gal, jia you!!

Talking abt cuts... I bottom cut still pain sometimes leh. Esp if I din sit properly.. still got tt wanna tear feeling. I wonder if I tear my wound?? Or my cut too big this time? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Lochia also still got... sianzz...

cowgal, ur bb jaudice drop by itself without phototherapy ah? Then gd sign liao... mine needed phototherapy then will drop. Mon/Tue i still need to go back for review. Hope results will be gd! I hate to go to n fro poly.. so mafan!

pearly, sorry to hear abt ur mil and dad. You must be strong for ur bb and family ok? Anything just vent it here... dun let urself fall into PND again. Hugz!!

mrs chua, pink, sandy, stay strong! Think u gals really shd rest more. Lack of rest makes one more pekchek n easily depressed too. Bear in mind tt part of our mood swings are due to hormonal changes... try not to think too much ok? We are all here to lend a listening ear to you!

yolk sac, i stayed in Our Lady's ward too! yes.. i felt the contractions when latching too. Was painful when in hosp.. and 1st few days at home. Then after tt cant feel any contractions le.. So now still got a small bump on my tummy.. cant contract anymore? hehe.

I think i asked before but my qns was missed. How do you gals freeze milk in milk bag? Shd I freeze it standing up or lying down? Stand up like v diff to stack... lie down i scared will leak?

Mummies, how come these hormones are wrecking us women! we suffer during confinement and still mus go through the hormonal thingy!

Yesterday i broke down too. #1 need attention and kept on calling mummy non stop and #2 need to fed. And i felt so helpless!

I hope this passing phase will past soon!

Pearly, its not easy for so many things to happen suddendly. Take care and be strong ya!

Pink, cheerup! u r 1 cheerful lady before. With medications, u be well soon.

I am also down with flu and sorethroat. Infact everyone inhse is sick and im so stress that bb with catch the virus! I am also holding back my negative tots but last nite really couldnt take it and broke down!

Yolk and mummies, those still in hospital. Pls rest as much as u can. BB seems so easy in hospital but at home, they changed so need more time to take care of them..

Yolk, yrs water birth...Dr Lai charges mus be with a '3' infront ya?

Anyone i have missed out, pls take good care and jia you!

Piggy & Mrs Chua, coming monday...we can tell others our confinement ending 'next week' le!

little twin star

i also haven pop and waiting for the little one to come out. he's too obedient already, really want to wait till EDD to come out. Either that or he's unwilling to come out cuz he knows once he's out, there will be no more good food. only milk n milk everyday. but im getting impatient already grrrr.

lee ling may

i cant share any experience on inducing with you cuz i haven gone through it before.. but i know induction is more painful than natural delivery, takes longer than natural delivery and if induction fails, emergency c-sec is needed. my EDD is just one day after you. Initially, I wanted to induce too but my gynae advised that for me, induce has no difference from c-sec cuz my cervix hasnt open yet. did your gynae say that your cervix is soft or dilated already?

thks sookie! Ok tmr i try freezing with the bag lying down!

Hai... i still no time n mood to write my resume! Havent been posting this as dun wanna bore u mummies.. for those who remember. I mentioned abt my company not doing well rite? Now my CTO quit le.. and big boss told the rest... if u have greener pastures outside.. go ahead. But he will still gimme my 4 mths maternity leave.. whether i wanna go back work after 4mths anot.. it's up to me. So I really really gotta find a new job within this 4 mths le! Sianz.. If i go interview.. no choice my mum gotta take care of 2 boys for me le. Hiyo.. think le i also sianz.

Have given birth to baby Austin last night at 1.20am. He is 2.7kg. Used epidural , really kudo to those who din used epidural, my epidural was given very last min, so I experienced the real pain as well which was tramatic. Was in labor for six hours

elmo

*hugs* you'll be able to find a job. slowly, still got time..

austin_luv_mummy

congrats! share with us your birth story when you're better :)

Baby kow/ mrs chua: yes I find my freestyle leak too, also cos I didn't press it harder to my breast. And also I realize cannot lean backwards when pumping, will waste alot if precious drops, only can lean forward. Then with csec wound and binder on, lean forward quite uncomfortable leh. Any mummies have good tips?

elmo

im much better already. after all the support from you mommies, i think i need to be strong for my bb. also, after pouring everything out to my hb that night, he became much more supportive and made extra effort to listen/talk to me. and im trying to take my mind off things by listening to songs on youtube and task myself to tidy up my room + fix up the bottle sterilizer later so i'll be occupied today.

Yaya, I think must lean forward but super tiring...

Mrs Chua, my Bb oso jaundice v high, Pd wanna admit but I prefered to rent the machine home.. Super xin tong, cried non-stop.. Bb better now but I still feel v sad, cries easily n often... I think confinement is really tough...

@pravina: thanks [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] this chicken pox thingy really came at the wrong time. no FIL is not happy with us and i feel really SIANZ ttm.

Congrats Austin!!

Elmo,

hugs look on the bright side at least u gt 4 mth to look for job if I quit I can't even take leave during notice period lo n mus serve 1.5mth notice worse rite[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

see tt the diff between 1 with low milk s/s n gd s/s u only pump 4 time to get the amt I get for 7 time...

Mrs chua,

my freestyle din leak wor.. Maybe I press v hard against my breast..

Vonn,

yeah can't wait for nex wk to come!!

I am really tired my hb went back to work v v early today so left #1 under my care till my il come n fetch him to sch I woke up ard 5 + to pump den soon my #1 woke up ard 6.30 mus feed him entertain him till 8.30 really tired cos imm after he left mus pump again I can't imagine how I able to cope when CL left n rtn to work wher gt time to pump etc... Yawn ~

I have the followings to let go cheap. Over-stocked.

All Brand New.

1) MEDELA Tender Care Lanolin, 2.0 oz tube -- $16

2) NUK Premium Choice Anti-Colic Wide Neck Teat, size 1, S (thin liquids), 0-6mths -- $6/pair, $10/2 pairs

3) NUK Class Anti-Colic Teat, size 1, S (thin liquids), 0-6mths -- $5/pair (throwing in another brand new teat, cos the 2nd card, i only used 1).

4) NUK Teat cleaning sponge -- $4

Can give further discount if purchase all.

Self collection at Choa Chu Kang Street 62.

Kindly PM if keen.

Hi piggy, hang on!

I'm taking care of #2 myself in the nite and day x I can't zz. Can imagine hw shack u r too. #1 wan my attn too.

Or u can ask cl to attend? If nt when hubby goes work early, ask inlaws to come earlier?