(2011/04) Apr 2011

Unome,

Good luck and jia you!!

Pink,

Rest well today.. Tomorrow will be your big day!!

Sookie,

I am praying that my #2 will not be as superactive as my #1.. Hehe!! =)

Gerry

thanks for the reply. and yeah, bfd-ing sounds tough. i really wonder if i'll have supply. i read from the net saying that many mommies leak colostrum before they pop... tried manually squeezing my boobs but nothing came out.. haaa.

Michelle,

usu the 1st day jus let bb latch n suckle to stimulate but many bb i know day 2 after suckle still cry for more usu their feedin time is longer duration say 4-5hr den if ur milk haven kick in the nurse will ask if u wan to gave FM... for jaundice bb PD will ask u to feed more so they can pee n poo..

Piggy: yes... But what if I drop her?? Dont know if I know how to carry/ dont dare to carry/ she is not what I expected/ what if I'm a clueless mother/2000 other crazy thoughts going thru my head...

Pink,

lol no worries the LC/nurse will guide u[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

no 1 is born to be a perfect mum ya... jiayou[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] i amsure soon u will fall for her n refuse to let go carryin her [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Michelle,

i also got some colostrum be4 pop but my milk S/s not fantastic too so havin colostrum be4 pop does not mean will have lotsa milk also no worries ya..

Thanks tweety n piggy n all the mummies here. woohoo suddenly feel a wave of emotions thinking abt how we have been tog chatting for 9 months liao [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] how cool is that !

Pink,

dun worry and think so much.... relax and rest well for today... all these worries and stress can start from 2moro... Anyway, am sure that your hubby and CL will help you out lots... and you have all the mummies here too... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Piggy,

I think post delivery, we tend to feel emo.. Actually now I am also getting a bit emo.. been crying quite a bit too.. For me I think the lack of control is getting to me.. Like I feel the aches and pains, the huge tummy that doesn't want to seem to stop growing.. I really don't like the fact that I feel like my body is just giving way.. somemore for me who loves to exercise and feel physically active.. With my #1, I didn't feel this bad..

Hmmz, the nurses fed him cos you asked? or PD/LC thinks Kleavn needs to be fed? But if it is FM, then vol would probably be more than EBM/BM cos bb don't absorb FM nutrients as well as BM nutrients..

Michelle,

Haha!! You try squeezing.. You know squeezing nipples may stimulate labour..

For my #1, I didn't leak colostrum either.. But as soon as I delivered, the mid wife quickly put bb to my breast and she actually squeezed my nipple and told me that see I have colostrum.. Quickly give bb this goodness.. I thought she was rather fierce but I think she was my first motivator for breastfeeding.. =)

Piggy, oh, so unome is Ding... Okok! So it's 2 babies on the way... Cham, think I'm getting blur nowadays, everyday machiam never wake up like that... Start to spurt nonsense liao....

Finish checkup with Woody, my little Jovie is really little Jovie... Her weight is 2.4-2.5kg today... Think come out also this size... Kekekeke...

Rach, oh, so u see him this afternoon ya... He today abit blur... Still ask me see him next Monday, I was like huh? See liao u send me to hosp for delivery arh? Wahahahaahaahahaha~~~~

Piggy: jia u with the bfing... Sounds super tiring n tough.. I'll join u soon.. I'll supplement if my supply sucks. From my friends' experience, a well fed baby= a happy baby= a happy mommy= a happy family. That's also esp the case for boys... My friend's son drank 80ml/feed a few days after delivery then at 2 months 150ml/feed.. Just pump n latch whenever u can that's all not everyone will have alot alot of supply bah

hippo/piggy

what y'all said sound assuring that i should have a bit of colostrum after birth and bb wont cry like crazy for milk... then if they take fm, will they refuse bm when our supply is in?

Gerry

Squeezing hurts! hahah when the nurse squeeze your boobs after you deliver, does it hurt?! i read nipple stimulation only trigger labour if it's done for hours... but how can one play with her own nipples for hours?

Hippo: she wants to come out small n petite! Yay! Miss P I think will be more than 3kg............. Sigh. I like small babies leh they look cuter right? This mother very weird ..

Moon: that's true!! Hehe hubby only took a few days off... Oh well

Myth – Many women can’t produce enough milk for their baby.

By Sarah McCann (IBCLC)

While it is known scientifically that most women can produce enough milk for their baby/babies (about 98%), many mothers in our culture feel it is a struggle to produce enough milk.

Most women who believe they don’t have enough milk are reassured by talking to a volunteer breastfeeding counsellor or peer supporter. Often behaviour that leaves a mum feeling she does not have enough milk is very normal behaviour. Baby wanting to feed very often in the early weeks is normal.

While some babies are happy to eat and sleep many others need to feed very often and be held in between feeds before they will fall asleep and be content to be put down.

Key things to keep in mind about the production of breastmilk are as follows:

The more milk that is removed from the breast, the more there will be.

The emptier the breast, the faster it will produce milk.

The fuller breast will slow milk production until milk is again removed from the breast.

Baby’s wants are baby’s needs.

One problem many women have is not understanding how long a baby can take to feed.

A baby needs to double his/her birth weight between 4 and 6 months. If you had to double your weight how would you eat? Very often and through the night I suspect!

Sometimes a feed is a snack, baby just wants one side.

Other times baby wants 2 courses i.e. both breasts. Other times baby may want a multi-course meal e.g. Feed both breasts for about half an hour (say starter and main course), have a snooze for 20 minutes, want pudding now that the first two courses have settled and left a bit of space. Feed for 10 minutes. Snooze for 30 minutes, fancies another portion of pudding, so feeds for 20 minutes on one breast and falls asleep for 2 hours (at last)!

Mum breathes a sigh of relief and lies down for a rest herself.

Women are often concerned because their breasts feel ‘empty’ i.e. their breasts feel much lighter after baby has fed and so there couldn’t possibly be any milk left if baby still wants to feed. Be reassured that each time baby feeds there will be milk available as most milk is being made during a feed. If baby is fussing on an ‘empty’ or light breast it may be because the flow is slower than baby would like.

Don’t be afraid to swap sides at this point as the other ‘empty’ breast will have been making milk very fast and there will be some milk available at a faster flow.

It is no wonder women often don’t feel they have enough milk for their babies when our society has a distorted image of what babies really need ~ i.e the 'perfect' baby that feeds and sleeps in a pram for several hours.

Most babies (as I said earlier) are not like this. Babies need held lots awake or asleep and most need fed often.

Women don’t need condemned for not breastfeeding, but they do need a supportive environment in which to breastfeed and our society has a huge responsibility to provide this. After all, ‘not breastfeeding’ costs everybody, breastfeeding being the basis of cost effective health care. As Dr James Akre says: 'women don’t breastfeed, society does'.

We need to stop blaming women for not having enough milk and become a society supportive of breastfeeding.

How can we do that?

Be realistic about what new mums really need in terms of help and support. New mothers need help with the house especially food. They need to be allowed to rest in the weeks after birth and not expected to go shopping with their mother-in-law without the baby!!!

Instead of suggesting a bottle of breastmilk substitute, family members could bring round food instead – if this happened breastfeeding rates would no doubt soar.

Instead of suggesting a bottle of breastmilk substitute to improve weight gain (where weight gain is slow as opposed to what is called “failure to thrive”), health professionals could read about breastfeeding in a good breastfeeding book and advise accordingly, which again would produce improvement in breastfeeding rates.

Hospital practices could be improved eg. encourage much more skin to skin.

Sleeping with your baby could be condemned less, and safe practice could be encouraged. Skin to skin contact improves milk supply as does sleeping with your baby. Skin to skin contact can be done anytime mum and baby enjoy it.

So what can you do to help the women around you?

Learn as much as you can about breastfeeding appropriate to your area of responsibility. The new edition of La Leche League’s ‘Womanly Art of Breastfeeding’ is a good place to start.

Read the ‘Politics of Breastfeeding’ by Gabrielle Palmer.

Join at least one of the breastfeeding support organisations.

Smile at a women with a baby, you don’t know what kind of a day she is having.

Don’t blame breastfeeding for all a mother’s woes – stopping breastfeeding swaps one set of problems for another often worse set of problems. Mothering is hard work so no wonder breastfeeding mums are tired.

Hippo: btw woody's machines abit koyok. My friend's boy turned out bigger than he estimated [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] so who knows Jovie will be bigger? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Pink, come come, follow me, breath in, breath out, breath in, breath out, ok, then now go back to your sleep... Dun think so much... Leave the worry when it happen, it might not happen at all!!!!! U dun keep scare urself lar~

Gerry: My #1 is pretty active too but once they get to 3 years old, it will get easier.. their attention span will be longer. my #1 is pretty sticky to me. even though I asked the papa to help out.. sometimes she still needs me. like yest. I was feeling so so tired and wanted to rest and asked the papa to put her to sleep.. she cried and cried like so chiam. Ended up I had to put her to sleep. Don’t know how when #2 comes out.

Hippo: can High five. Mine also mini baby.. but mine boy leh! Girl I am not so worried. So eating lots of meat now to toughen him up.

Pink: good idea to rest at home and enjoy the tranquility one last time before tomorrow!bet you that your husband is super excited. what time is your csect tomorrow?

Piggytoh

yup my boi takin 70ml. The most 80ml. Got once itchy backside follow the direction at the back of my FM make for him 100ml ended up he melion on my hb.

Pink

wow very fast parsley will b out le n u can cuddle her Liao.

Michelle S

For me I latch my boi on the first day but second day mornin when I went fetch my boi frm nursery they was askin me if wanna gif FM cos when they change his diaper we noticed his pee is pink.

They oso may suggest to u wanna gif glucose water.

Pink,

Stop worrying too much.. Agree with hippo.. Don't worry about a problem that has not and may not exist!! Enjoy today.. cos tomorrow you are going to meet parsley!! =)

Sookie,

I hope so.. I must say this #1 really drained me dry.. Sometimes I am quite bad but I do hope that my #2 will be a sedated one.. Sigh.. We can do it!! I think we have to just keep reassuring our #1 our undying love for them..

Good morning gals!

I'm almost 39 weeks and no action at all. Sigh.

PiggyToh: Wow, your supply is really good leh. Your CL sounds good at massaging the breast to increase milk SS, but is it painful when they massage? Some of my friends had potential blocked ducts and the LC/CL pressed them out. Very effective, but my friends said the pain was worse than labour!

Unome - Excited for you! Jia yo! Hope you have a good birth. You seem to have a really good pain threshold.

SookieWookie: I hear ya, sista! Experiencing major energy drop too. But that's good, because up to recently, I was wide awake at night. Now at least can get more than 5 hrs sleep at night. Really need to build up some sleep reserves before bb arrives.

Sookie: 9am op. My hubby has trimmed his fingernails 5 times in the last 3 days coz my mil told him to be careful not to scratch Miss P Ooi. He's hilarious.. I think daughters n fathers ah.... She will be very special to him... I foresee maybe my position may downgrade to #2 in the near future

Im sure ur hubby dotes on Nat alot alot too? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Sandy Dee

I heard that the pink thing is uric acid crystals. Apparently, it shows up in the diaper when bb is dehydrated? My friend is going thru that now. I can imagine that can be quite stressful. Hope my milk kicks in soon after birth! But aiyah these things, very hard to say...

Michelle S

Don't worry. I never leaked milk before giving birth to No 1 and had no problems breastfeeding. A lot of women don't actually see colostrum but as long as bb is doing ok, making wet and meconium-filled diapers regularly, you are producing it!

Pink

I'm super duper excited for you. Your concerns are very very normal. Even for me, a second timer, I get more and more freaked out as the day draws closer. Part of me knows what to expect and wants to get the show on the road. But part of me hesitates at the same time. All normal. I also have been thinking that I may have forgotten how to handle a newborn and may drop him! So you see, what you are thinking about is all very normal. Don't worry. We are all here for you - so feel free to fire off your questions! Anytime of day, someone tends to be online. Sure can one! Steady steady...ready go! All the best for tomorrow, babe.

Gerry

You really are the Breastfeeding Goddess of this thread! *Bows*

Thanks for all the info. Am getting worried reading abt the other mummies' experiences. I remember that it was tough at first, but overall, I had a good experience with No 1, hoping to repeat the same with No 2. You practise attachment parenting and feed on demand? I think part of my stress sometimes is that I do try to put bb on a routine, specifically Gina Ford, though I imagine I'll be a bit more relaxed this time around.

Pink, hahahaha... Ya, last time also i think 0.2-0.3kgs diff, I'm not ok with small bb!!! Coz more fragile to handle!!!! Big big bb good, looks strong, like i can bend n twist as they are stronger!!!! Lols~ I'm not a gentle person even Jovie is girl, so either she suffer from my bending or twisting or catch a cold while I try to bath her while i try to be more gentle on her~~~~ kakakakakakaka...

Hello everyone good morning

Wow good luck Kurnia and Unome, soon babies will be in your arms....

Pink finally can see little Parsley liao tomorrow... ermm wow Vianne I hope she is not going to be an illegal immigrant that is going to overstay in my tummy....

Pink I know what you mean because my hubby is also like this... He kisses my tummy before he kissed me when reached home or about to go to work ..... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Pink: hahaha I can imagine his excitement! Mr Ooi so cute. Don’t worry about being 2nd place. I think you have a great husband. Even if it does feel so at the beginning, don’t mistaken that he is. Do communicate as much as possible. After all baby is new and more fragile so more attention is given to the baby. In fact for me, I was so into the baby that my husband felt like I was not paying enough attention to him. So I guess we all have to learn to balance our expectations and make effort such that it does not happen. Not easy but have to try and do it.

Yolk sac: yah.. I feel the same way as you. To think we have gone through it before but we are still so worried/fearful. Argh! I just took out my PISA yesterday and realized there’s some mould in my tubbing. So argh. Have to go get a new set of tubing. I wonder if the distributor office sells it and at what cost. I actually have the tracey Hogg book which my friend bought for me. I tried hard to follow it for #1 but my #1 character just could not suit it. so in the end I just went with the flow. But I did hear a lot about Gina Ford’s method. Guess it really depends on baby’s character.

Yolk Sac,

Hehe!! I am just trying to refresh my memories on breastfeeding so have been reading up quite a bit.. =) Reading up more about it helps me to prepare

Ya i practice attachment parenting and feed on demand!! I guess cos the first book I read was that Benjamin Sears "Attachment Parenting" and sort of agreed with him.. That's why I was soo drained.. For the first 2-3 months, I practically didn't sleep at all..Woke up every hour to feed my girl.. It was a trying time.. She was quite a tiny baby so I wanted her to feed whenever she wants.. Like a buffet!! Haha!! I only started my girl on a "so-called" routine when she started solids at around 5 months.. But I still did not deprive her of milk if she wants it in the middle of the night..

For your #1, when did your water bag burst? Trying to see whether there is a pattern between the time of delivery between #1 and #2.. Hehe!!

Michelle and Hippo

Haha! In a way I am grateful that I haven't popped yet. Still clearing work!

Vivi

Haha, illegal immigrant! I like your choice of words.

Yolk sac is our natural birthing expert n Gerry our BFing expert [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]) we are truly blessed to have them. They are our consultants, but don't collect fees one. Hehehe

SookieWookie

I use the PIS Advanced too! I think these days, you can get the Medela tubings from First Few Years (Paragon) and MothersWork (Great World City, Tanglin Mall etc) and even some of the smaller outfits, like Mums and Babes, etc. Just call first so you don't waste a trip down! I've never been to see the distributor.

Ah Tracy Hogg. Yes, I have her book too. My No 1 was a Sensitive; hoping for an Angel or Textbook for No 2, but knowing my luck, I'll get a Grumpy! Haha. What was your No 1's profile?

Gerry

Attachment parenting makes a lot of sense, and in a way, is a better fit with my pro-natural stance huh? But we were major routine parents with No 1. I was religious about it. And No 1 seemed quite amenable to a routine (was generally not a very hungry girl and liked to sleep) so we had her sleeping thru the night from 7 weeks, like literally, she'd sleep at 7pm, we'd "dream feed" her at 11pm and she would sleep through until 7am the next day. It was magical! But I did get quite stressed and No 1 was always a small baby. These days, fast forward almost four years, and I think I will be more relaxed and be more of an attachment parent. I think lah....let's see!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

My bag burst on Week 39 Day 2 and No 1 emerged the next day, Week 39 Day 3. We are starting a lottery? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Pink

Haha, I'm no expert, but you are very sweet! It's one thing delivering a smallish 2.8kg bb naturally, but now that I have one that's almost 4kg, I may eat my words and suffer greatly during labour. Let's see. I am determined to stay positive even though doubts creep in every now and then.

BTW are you getting someone to take newborn pics of Parsley? I am quite excited about my No 2's pics as we did not do a session for No 1. Hope to get some nice shots of the two of them! Want to frame one up or do on a big canvas for my house. Lots of empty walls.

Yolk sac: Yes I think you have the willpower and mental strength to push through the delivery no matter what! WOW almost 4kg? it's a boy right?

Your #1 sounds like a little gem [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Rare to find babies who can sleep through!

vivi: yah hope Vianne will come out soon after Miss P... come on Vianne you will have a playmate liao! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Pink

Thanks. It will be hard. Labour really pushes you to the max and most women go through a phase when they think, "sod it, I can't take it anymore". I hope I'll be ok.

Yup, No 2 is a boy.

Yes, we really lucked out with No 1, she's still a gem. I was never a kid person (AT ALL) but we have so much fun together that I can't believe I didn't do this parenting thing sooner. Come visit my blog - www.thepigandrabbit.com - and see what fun stuff we get up to these days. But God is fair right so who knows with No 2?

Yolk sac: wow that really motivates me coz i'm not a kids person too.... I am really not the motherly sort who looked forward to having children blarblarblar and the amazing parenting journey etc etc. Seems like u really have a lot of fun with #1 and u put in a lot of effort to let her learn thru activities and games! I have lots to learn from u! =)

Yolk sac: yah during that time, the PISA was the better model for medela.. no freestyle yet. yesterday when I was unpacking my pump.. goodness.. all the memories just came flushing back.. and i.m so glad that my pump still works. To think I dragged the heavy bag to and fro work for 10 months. Now I am actually at a diff work place so I am not sure how long I will last. I hope at least 6 mths.

I actually went to Mothers at work yest at Tanglin to check the tubbing but they don’t have. I think mum’s and babes would have it. I saw it being sold on the BP it used to be $19 like a few months ago and now its $25. Just wanted to find out how much it cost in the shops first.

My #1was a mixed.. but I think she was more a sensitive. The thing is just like you, I tried to do the routine (which I cannot remember what is it now) but she just refused.. till now, its pretty evident in her character. If you force her to do it, she won’t do it (she’s just as stubborn as her father!). So I have to reason with her and tell her nicely or explain to her and most of the time she does it. need patience with her. but now, I am having some feedback from her new school that she’s not listening to the english teacher such that the teacher made her sit in front and this teacher is a little bit of a fierce mother hen.. so now, she can tell me she don’t like the English teacher. But luckily overall, she still likes school.. if not aiyoh another headache for me just as I am about to give birth.

Gerry and Yolk Sac: I am also trying to see if my #2 will emerge the same time as #1, since Elmo’s one did. If so, mine will be next week. Let’s see!

Bbgoh, Mt a can order red date drink. I ordered 1 flask $7. Then drink milo and soup. Drink plain water only when still thirsty.

Jia you to all those popping today! I'm latching on now while typing! Pd say bb got jaundice now waiting 4 blood test result. Hope no need to stay in. Hai...

Hello, good morning everyone... Just back home with my checkup.. Bb is 2.6kg @35th week. Cervix had dilated 3cm. Will induce on 04/04 8am at TMC. Who will be there??

1st Apr gathering is at NOvena Square hor??