(2011/04) Apr 2011

Good luck Kurnia!

Elmo, so glad to hear your milk has come in, it will get easier now [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif])

good morning

just wake up to pee then check if got anyone pop :p

Elmo

Congratz. tats fast yr milk kick in

kurnia

yr turn now .. jiayou!! wish u have a smooth delivery

how's Andrea ?? she pop alrdy? seem like these few days No news of her hope she is fine

Kurnia

Jia you... Hope to hear your birth story soon [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Thks bbgoh and yolk sac. Happy cos can save fm $ lo. Haha.

Today can discharge lo! Hope bb no jaundice and can discharge together.

kurnia, waiting for ur updates. Jia you! Which hosp are you in?

Morning Tweety! You on ML already?

Btw, for those mummies who feed bb with expressed milk or fm, how much is ur bb drinking now? Joel still v sleepy to suck sometimes. No every time will wanna drink.

Elmo

during hospital stay do u drink red date longan tea or just drink plain water and milo?

still thking if need hb brg for me everyday

hippolai

tdy u goin check up? wat time yr appt?

mine at 2.30pm

kurnia

jiayou!!

Morning ladies..

Vonn,

ya I sleep in aircon room else can die.. For fan as long not direct it ok.. My boi Chinese name is 敬翔

Win win,

prob I been drinkin lotsa if fluid from milk to soup .. But still not enough to meet my boi demand[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Morning mummies.. Now on the way to office.. Gynae gave me mc frm today till wed but i still gotta go back office for handover.. Offically ML only starts on Thursday.. Counting dwn to this sat, praying hard that there's no hiccups.. *keeping fingers crossed*

Wah! Exciting.. more action this week. And most of the action are from people due after me!

Kunia: good luck! Remember to tell us your birth story when ready.

Regarding BF: don’t give up girls. If you can, do try to pump every 2 hours to stimulate the breast. That was what the Lataction nurse told me, esp since I could not latch in the beginning. It will come. Just tell yourself, at the beginning it will be very slow.. and low supply but once you work hard, you will be rewarded. Don’t give up girls!

Yeah! This week is my last week at work and tomorrow is my checkup. I really feel so so tired and extremely uncomfortable recently. It was like from Sat, I felt my energy level almost drop by 50%.

yolk sac: thanks for the tip on the breathing techniques.. trying to understand and practise. Thanks!

piggy: i drink alot of fluid n soup too but ss juz slow not sure isit due to csection vs natural. my 1st one i can produce much better by now. btw how much ur boi drinking per feed now?

Winwin,

my boi drinkin abt 60ml FM if BM abt 70-80ml for 3hr... maybe u got blk duct? i opp now i product much better this morning finally hittin 60ml.. later got massage hope the ML help me clear my breast will have more milk cos the other time also after cllear the milk den come out 1..

Good Morning, Ladies!

Kurnia,

Good Luck!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Pink,

you joining us today before you get imprisoned from 2moro onwards?? :p

Bbgoh, now at gynae clinic, but he has not appear yet... Haiz... Feel so sleepy...

Piggy, sorry sorry... Indicate wrong chinese name for Kleavan... *paiseh*

Tweety, u starts ur ML 1/4?

Hi mummies! I've admited to Mt A tis morning at 7am for scheduled induction. Ardy dilated for 3cm but no pain. So decided not to wait any longer.

Doc came in at 810am jux now to poke waterbag n gave me drip. Now just waiting for dilation.

Dunno why but my contraction very mild only. Can hardly feel it. About 11mins apart.

Pray for faster dilation n smooth delivery....

Moon, pink will not start her imprisonment tmr lar... She still can walk around in hosp mah... The imprisonment starts official on the day she discharge~ Lols~ so bad of me, start to countdown for her imprisonment even she go for labour... Bad....

Piggytoh

mayb aft ur massage today u will feel more relax n able to produce more milk to meet ur boi demand.

Jia you.

Elmo

during th 1st wk I onli gif my boi 50ml every 3hr den now he is 13 days I increas to 70ml on sat. The amt I gif for both FM n EBM is the same

piggy: dun be sian... jia you!!!!!

hippopolai: yup.. starting on 1st april...

unome: jia you!!!! waiting for your birth story...

pink: yeah.. tom is ur turn!! heehee...

hippopolai,

no worries la.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Unome,

usu 11min apart still ok it 2-3min apart den get more painful wor.. but gambate maybe ur body like Elmo high pain treshold[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Sandy,

ur boi only drinkin 70ml ah??

ya hopefully after today session my milk s/s will increase further...

G'morning ladies,

Hippo,

Haha!! I just copy and paste nia.. But I think the storage info and stuff about pumping will be quite useful cos I think if you know more about EBM and breastfeeding, then the chances of successful TBF is higher..

Yolk sac,

Ya I think it is interesting too.. I got it from this website www.kellymom.com

I also agree with you about crying bb may not be associated with a hungry bb.. I think that was what got me through the first few weeks of TBF.. My girl wanted milk every hour, and so I just latched her on.. Tired and sore.. But I refuse to think that I wasn't giving her enough.. And I knew my pumping vol wasn't the true amount that I could produce.. Since I was also latching on..

Piggy,

Jia you!! The early days are tiring and super challenging but the rewards will be huge when you see your little boy growing from your own source of nutirents.. Your body nurtured him for 9 months.. It can do so for another 6!! =)

Kurnia,

Good luck!! Jia you!! And hoping to hear some news soon!!

Tweety: excited but also scared leh.. don’t know why. Maybe cause I have not stopped work so I felt like I have not rested enough to be prepared for a new born and having to juggle #2 but as my friends tell me.. Just embrace it! but if #2 kind of mimics #1, maybe I might get my rest!

Unome: good luck!

Pink: oh yes! Tomorrow is your turn. Hope you are prepared. Even if not, just go with the flow. You will do fine. All your hard work and sacrifices you have gone through will be worth it.

Gerry,

thanks... ya i been hangin on to it.. i guess BF with #1 is really not easy... double challengin... been spendin less time with #1 also sad~

Piggy: what you are feeling is exactly why I am scared when baby #2 comes out. I already started fearing it but I guess we will learn to juggle eventually. Just continuously tell your #1 that you love him very much. And if you can, ask hubby to take care of #2 so that you can have a bit more time with #1. You can do it! when its my turn, I will be turning to you for advice.

Today can chat more cause boss not in!

tweety: for all you know, we will give birth on the same day.. make Dr Tham busy hehehehe

piggy, sookie,

I think all mummies are worried about juggling 2 or more kids.. And when the NB arrives, our time is really spent nursing and resting.. I am also worried that I wouldn't have time with my #1.. my energy level is definitley lower now..

hmmzz.. but I know we will get through it just like all the mummies before us!! =) Must be positive!!

Morning mummies...

Piggy: yah looking forward to tmr and feeling a whole multitude of emotions too.. Shall focus on packing my house n hospital bag today n not think about it

Moon: sorry i don't think i will meet u girls lar.. Better sit pretty at home today n not have any "accidents" happening. I had a bit of pink discharge last night again...

Sookie: thanks babe! Feeling apprehensive..... Sigh!!

good morning mommies!

there's some action almost everyday now. feeling happy for you mommies.

jiayou Kurnia and Unome! :D

Gerry, thats good information. Saved it in my desktop for reference after giving birth :D

Mommies, ask you all ah, since we dont have milk for the first few days, will the nurses feed bb fm? I thought we will be latching on for the first few days?

For mummies who are giving EBM (really hope this will be useful):

How much milk do babies need?

Many mothers wonder how much expressed breastmilk they need to have available if they are away from baby.

In exclusively breastfed babies, milk intake increases quickly during the first few weeks of life, then stays about the same between one and six months (though it likely increases short term during growth spurts). Current breastfeeding research does not indicate that breastmilk intake changes with baby's age or weight between one and six months. After six months, breastmilk intake will continue at this same level until -- sometime after six months, depending in baby's intake from other foods -- baby's milk intake begins to decrease gradually (see below).

The research tells us that exclusively breastfed babies take in an average of 25 oz (750 mL) per day between the ages of 1 month and 6 months. Different babies take in different amounts of milk; a typical range of milk intakes is 19-30 oz per day (570-900 mL per day).

We can use this information to estimate the average amount of milk baby will need at a feeding:

Estimate the number of times that baby nurses per day (24 hours).

Then divide 25 oz by the number of nursings.

This gives you a "ballpark" figure for the amount of expressed milk your exclusively breastfed baby will need at one feeding.

Example: If baby usually nurses around 8 times per day, you can guess that baby might need around 3 ounces per feeding when mom is away. (25/8=3.1).

Please remember small babies have tiny tummies..

Infant's Maximum stomach capacity:

Day 1: 5-7mL

Day 3: 22-27mL

1 week: 45-60mL

1 month: 80-150mL

Hippomummy, she didn't come in to chat for long but she is in my fb~ I dunno her nick here...

Moon, pray hard she won't whack both us if she join us later hor...

Sookie, relax~ 船到桥头自然直... So many of 2nd time mummies here, am sure we can help each other to go through!!!!!

Michelle,

The first few days, bb will only need colostrum.. so the nurses wouldn't give FM unless you request for it...

And yes you should be latching, so that the baby will receive all the goodness of colostrum.. It is like super concentrated solution of antibodies from mummies to keep babies healthy and sick free, till the child's immune system has matured and till the child's gut contains all the good bacteria to fight off infections..

I am glad the info is useful.. I think breastfeeding is like going to war like that.. Hehe! Better to be well equipped with knowledge.. =)

Pink,

it's okie... no worries.... We can always meet up again after we've all completed our confinement. Wah....seems like Parsley may be eager to see you too... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Take Care and Rest Well for the Big Day 2moro!! Hugz....

Sookie,

i got CL to take care of #2 so not much an issue the ting is when u need to BF the time spent to latch/pump is often almost 1 hr n after 2hr the routine continue n not forgettin we need to rest eat etc so manythings to do [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

tt y i find BF took up alot of my time lo but bobian mus persists... see how long i can hang on ....

Gerry,

ya thou i prefer bb to come out but the lackin of time for #1 make me emo...

oh in hosp the nurses alr feedin my bb 20-30ml leh n day 3 alr 30-35ml wor..

Pink,

relax soon u can hold parsley in ur hold n smack her butt keke..

Morning all!

Hippolai, enjoy ur date w Woody, I'll b seeing him later at sk..hee. Hope I can rem all e qns I haf for him for tue's induce!

Pink, guess our girls will share e same birthday tmr..if mine spares me n not drag till wed..lol. Let's jiayou!

Good luck to kurnia n unome!

Michelle, baby has preserve in their tummy, the latching is just to help to stimulate ur supply n let bb get familiar to latch... Unless urs is the super hungry baby, else they can survive by what they have in their tummy for the first few days, dun worry!

Oh Pink, please rest, seems like Ms. P also getting excited to meet u n Mr. Ooi~

Hippopolai,

i tnk u r referrin to S Ding? she iis Unome[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

the other 1 is Kurnia so 2?

U know girls even though I've not actually done bungee jumping before but this giving birth business is like the point before u jump off? Wahaha. Have thought so long n hard and prepared for 9 months but before it happens theres still a leap of faith