(2011/04) Apr 2011

Hi, congrats to mummies who have popped. Sorry to disturb. I have gave up breastfeeding and have the following for sale:

1) Medela mini elctric plus (preloved) - $100

2) Medela mini electric (preloved) - $60

3) Medela milk collection shell (new) - $25

4) Pigeon breastmilk storage bag (new) - $12

5) U shape nursing pillow (new) - $25

PM me if you are interested.

Hi Pearly,

Oic. Oh ya...lucky for you that your no.2 will be be able to start schooling early yuhh. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] No.2 will pop early ah? As long as it is after 37 weeks...the baby considers 'safe' to pop right (lungs and other body parts fully grown)? The gyane asked me if I want to delivery the bb two weeks before my actual EDD (22/4) but I feel that the longer the bb can stay inside the womb (nearer to full term), it will be better for the bb? Am I right to say that?

I am a FTWM. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] It is not easy to be a SAHM...I salute you! :D

My boy is going to be 5 yr old this year and he is already in CC since he is 8 month old! As for no.2, i really have no idea who will be taking care of her. My mil says she is okie to help taking care of her but she is also getting old so we might thinking of another alternative. Do you intend to go back to work when both your kids go to CC?

Wow! So good that your hubby get 3-4 days off in a week! So he can also help you to take care of the bb yuhh.

Hi Hippopolai,

You mean c section with epid, am I right? I delivered my first boy in MT.A last time, Hubby was allowed to go into the operation room. He was allowed to take photos of me and new born bb in the opt. room. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi Gerry,

Oh yes...sometimes we do have to take risks. I have to pray real hard to get a good maid if I have decided to hire one. So your mum will be around to supervise the maid during the day?

Hi PiggyToh,

Yaloh..i also have fear that I have lesser quality time with no.1. You're right...if reaaally too hard, might have to consider maid. :/

Hi Piggytoh,

Paiseh, I forgot to ask you in the previous posting. Are you fully breast feed or....? May I know how you go about the breast feeding thingy as in you latch on every two hours, then bottle feed at night?

Jojo, I schedule my c-sec on 4/4, so basically I'm on ML on the day I give birth, if I don't have the balance carry forward from last year, I'll work till 1/4 which is a Friday n C-sec on Mon!!!!! I'm not those type can sit n rest de... Even on leave at home also touch here n there, clean this n that, end up more tired, wahahahaha....

U see woody at SK!? Can just ask him for mc on the check up day regardless u see him afternoon or evening, this is what I did for my last pregnancy, I clear all 14 days of mc during my 1st pregnancy!!!!! As for HL, ya, u need to check with ur coy if they accept anot... If they accept, I dun see y we can't use it since it our benefit!!!!!! But I not sure whether woody issue HL wor, can check with him, anyway, he is very generous on all these leave thing... Hahahaha...

I see him at CCK so only morning slot.

Hi Hippopolai,

Haha...yes! I think mental supports from mummies with the same situation is very important yuhh! Can keep us STRONG!! :D

Hippopolia, you first one also c section ah? Same as me, mine is emergency c section. Did you gynae encourage you to deliver natural this time or he straight away asked you to go for c section?? I got 1 friend who gone thru natural birth for the no.2 and her no.1 is c section. She said her gyane strongly .encouraged her to go for c section for no.2 but my gynae doesn't seems to be encouraging at all..he said got risk if go thru natural birth so he straight away asked me to go for c section. :/

Jojo, my tummy is Xiu Mai... Wahahahaaha... Imagine I can sleep on my tummy..... Wahahahaahha... But still I feel tired coz my bb is very active inside me... Her activeness cause my tiredness coz I can eat well n sleep well... Ya, I have pelvic pressure this time also, think my waterbag is at the max size n yet bb growing n no space to move... That's y I feel uncomfortable, wahahahaha....

Hi Hippololai,

Oh I get it! So your c section is 4/4 which is about two weeks before your actual EDD. Mine is on 29/4 and dr adrian says can choose any date from 15/4 onwards. Ytd he advised me to choose earlier date (15/4) as i told him my pelvic pressure is getting stronger and stronger. Two weeks early before EDD, BB should be fine hor? Do you have difficulty in walking right now as in walking very slowly & feeling discomfort?

Ya...seeing Dr Woody in SK. He is the one who issued 1 week HL to my friend...yes...our gynae is the same..keke.

Aiya...you're right hor! I should get the MC on the day I see him...hiaz...why I never thought of that. I've called up my company's HR to check...the HR staff says that IF the hospitalization leaves are taken like from 1 week before ML, and they check that it hospitalization leave is taken due to pregnancy, they will off track and converted the HL to ML! Same for the MCs, if you take MCs before ML, and they find out the MCs is due to discomfort of pregnancy, they will convert it to ML too! Got this kind of policy meh? So sian leh. So now I am more 'FAN' as in what kind of leaves to clear before taking ML. Don't wish to start ML so soon...haha...guess i am having lots of anxiety in this 3rd trimester.

Jojo,

Yup my mom will come to my place in the daytime.. So will be able to watch the maid.. =) but now that my girl is older, she goes out more often with her.. Cannot always coop herself up at home..

Some dr who are more confident and pro natural will encourage you to do vbac.. Of course, must see situation..

Jojo, ya, my 1st 1 emergency c-sec... This 1 choose to c-sec coz no1 helps to look after #1, so we actually planned everything...

But in the very early stage I did ask Woody, he seems ok with my idea to go thru vbac wor~ but then in the end it's me to ask for c-sec instead, Lols~

It's ok bb come out anytime after week 37, if the pain is unbearable u may consider schedule ur c-sec earlier? Erm... Of coz bb stay longer in our tummy do them good but also depends on our uterus/any complication along our pregnancy, If the condition doesn't allow sometimes doc will also advise us bring bb to world earlier...

Since ur coy doesn't reg HL or MC before ML, guess u can only starts ur ML earlier or take AL liao wor... Maybe starts 2-3 days earlier to get some rest?

Mummies, day 2 at home. Nt feeling happy cos of my piles, so painful make me feeling dejected in everything I do. Sit dwn latch my piles so pain and back very aching. Last nite bb cried frm 12am+ to 2am+ and I have to carry her to zz.

Then #1 was woken up by her too and nw running temperature. Haiz..dnt knw hw to keep my sanity!

Hi hippopolai: realised my details not updated in the table. Delivered on 22/3 via emerg c-section. BB boy Cayden wt at 2.52kg. Thanks.

Hi Voon: u may want to find ur gynae to see if any med for your piles? Anyway if sit down to latch very pain, why not try lying on bed?

Afternoon ladies,

Back fm gynae check up .....a v bad news my gynae dun allow me to induce on 6 April ..... Sob sob that mean I got to wait n wait again

gd afternoon ladies..

elmo: congrates!

lastest update from checkup yesterday. bb's wt @ 37wks 5days is 2.96kg.. *counting down to 02/04*

sookiewookie

Sure, this is the description which I gave to Elmo -

Basically birth breathing is when you do a short exhale, then inhale slowly as if filling a big balloon (your belly). We inhale and our tummy rises with each contraction to help the contraction work more efficiently to draw up the uterus muscles (which causes you to dilate faster). Then for "pushing" (they don't call it that), you use "J" breaths. Short inhale and long exhale in a J direction - from throat all the way out below.

SY

Why won't he allow the induction on 6 Apr? Too early? Too late?

Vonn

Oh no! What caused the piles? Take your painkillers (did the hospital prescribe you some? if not, ask Dr L for them) if you need them. May be good to take them if it helps you stay sane. How is the breastfeeding going today? If sitting down is painful, how about lying down positions? I know it's not easy to try side-lying when you are feeding a newborn, but might be worth a shot if the piles are causing great pain. Take care.

Win, yolk sac,

got medications but doesn't help much.

I dnt have much supply and it's nt easy to bf lying down,,

today ONI 2nd day and so hot and sweaty doesn't help much!!

vonn

*hugs* - I'm sorry you're having it so rough. Can call the clinic tomorrow and see if they can offer you anything stronger for the pain? Take care. Go easy on yourself. If you feel supply is an issue, go ahead and FM supplement.

Today managed to latch on better with Hb's help. But still no milk leh. Not even colostrum. Bb suck le like not satisfied cry again. Dunno wanna supplement with fm anot.

Elmo

tat time I first few day in hospital oso don haf a drop so I got no choice need to gif FM but still pump to stimulate the breast. U can supplement wif FM 1st when milk come in Liao gif bb drink which wat I'm doin now [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I finali c a increase in BM Liao but donno how to freeze it scare spoilt lucky my #1 willin to help me clear if not I donno wat to do.

Elmo,

Just keep latching unless uncomfortable if not maybe can do what sandy did and just supplement first and then pump and pump.. Until you have increase supply..

Vonn,

I am so sorry you are having a hard time.. Just do what you can.. If piles are too painful, maybe can sit on those floats. It will help with the pain.. If someone helping you with #1??

Sandy,

wow so now u gt excess to store ah.. No need to freeze if u intend to feed soon mah.. I v sian whole day my BM stick to 40-50ml Nia still cannot TBF n I am so tired alr..

Jojo,

my BB din latch well n v sore Liao so now I pump 3 hrly n bott feed..

Elmo,

look for LC to help u the nurses I find not as pro..

Vonn,

v hot hor I bth Liao n it my 3 rd only long long way to go manz[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] sound like u havin a tough time jia you k..

I asked nurse to feed fm for this feed le. Cant bear to see him hungry.. Keep shivering. Next feed then bring n latch again. Worse case go home pump loh.

Btw, for those who gone through natural birth before.. How's ur 1st poo like. E wound will be v pain? I scared i constipated then cham. Dunno wanna ask nurse give me Enema before discharge anot. Last time i also. But this time wound still painful. So scared to poo!

Voon hope your piles gets better. Try to lie down more too or else your back will ache.

Piggy now I know why you all say confinement period is very tough hee hee... hope baby and you are coping well...

sandy I guess you should be quite steady liao hee hee

Elmo so poor thing your baby shivering.... I think let him drink FM first maybe your milk supply havent come in?

Tks mummies...

Piggy, I oso shower today and quickly dry my hair.

I wld rec mummies to feed babies w fm 1st if supply din come in. My next bed neighbour wans tbf and 1st day bb still ok cos got reserve but by 2nd, bb very poor thing. Cry badly frm being push out of ward to nursery.

Sorry to interrupt. I am mummy from Sept 10. Have a brand new capella car seat for sale at $80. Collection at Jurong. Please email me @ [email protected] for deal. Thanks! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5269349.jpg]

Elmo

For me, it wasn't painful to do the 1st poo. You can ask the nurses to give you some kind of meds beforehand to make the poo soft if you are really worried. I didn't opt for that and it was still ok. But I understand the concern though. I, too, was quite worried, but it was really fine. Did you have an episiotomy (cut) btw?

Vonn

I probably won't be giving bb FM. Babies cry for a variety of reasons in the early days, not necessarily because they are hungry. I know it's frustrating when you think you don't have enough milk, but just latch whenever you can and your supply will come in. Also, I was quite lucky with No 1 - milk came in on Day 2.5 - I don't know whether it helped that I took fenugreek from the very start. Going to try that again this time! Jia yo girl.

Piggytoh

Good going gal! Sounds like you have a nice routine worked out. Do you find that pumping makes you less sore? So interesting. I found that pumping made it worse sometimes. Also, do you feel that pumping makes you lose some of the benefits of bfding, e.g. the foremilk/hindmilk thing? First part quenches bb's thirst, second part keeps him fattened? Or do you think it's ok just to mix everything up anyway, as long as he finishes each bottle?

Piggytoh

cos I play cheat :p not every feed I gif EBM 1 day got twice I gif FM but will slowly cut down le.

But put in fridge can last how long? I donno tis amt will b temp anot hope I can maintain *pray hard*

Omg I feel so stress up n worry now was eatin dinner n nearly burst out cryin even writtin tis post I cannot tahan Liao. Tmr hb gng back to work I reali donno how to handle #1 n #2 togethe I'm scare. Haiz wanted to ask him extend his leave but co sure don allow n sooner or ltr he sure got to go work.

sandy

keep in fridge can last for up to 3days try not to freeze unless really excess as freeze ll lost the anti oxcidant

room temperature can last for up to 4hrs

Might be of interest:

n the Beginning...

Endocrine (Hormonal) Control of Milk Synthesis -- Lactogenesis I & II

Milk production doesn’t start out as a supply and demand process. During pregnancy and the first few days postpartum, milk supply is hormonally driven – this is called the endocrine control system. Essentially, as long as the proper hormones are in place, mom will start making colostrum about halfway through pregnancy (Lactogenesis I) and her milk will increase in volume (Lactogenesis II) around 30-40 hours after birth.

During the latter part of pregnancy, the breasts are making colostrum, but high levels of progesterone inhibit milk secretion and keep the volume “turned down”. At birth, the delivery of the placenta results in a sudden drop in progesterone/estrogen/HPL levels. This abrupt withdrawal of progesterone in the presence of high prolactin levels cues Lactogenesis II (copious milk production). Other hormones (insulin, thyroxine, cortisol) are also involved, but their roles are not yet well understood. Although biochemical markers indicate that Lactogenesis II commences approximately 30-40 hours after birth, mothers do not typically begin feeling increased breast fullness (the sensation of milk "coming in") until 50-73 hours (2-3 days) after birth.

These first two stages of lactation are hormonally driven – they occur whether or not a mother is breastfeeding her baby.

Established Lactation...

Autocrine (Local) Control of Milk Synthesis -- Lactogenesis III

After Lactogenesis II, there is a switch to the autocrine (or local) control system. This maintenance stage of milk production is also called Lactogenesis III. In the maintenance stage, milk synthesis is controlled at the breast -- milk removal is the primary control mechanism for supply. Milk removal is driven by baby’s appetite. Although hormonal problems can still interfere with milk supply, hormonal levels play a much lesser role in established lactation. Under normal circumstances, the breasts will continue to make milk indefinitely as long as milk removal continues.

By understanding how local/autocrine control of milk synthesis works, we can gain an understanding of how to effectively increase (or decrease) milk supply.

Elmo,

my wound was not painful at all this time round.. n when i reach home alr got urge to poo ven be4 i drink any stool softener liquid.. n my first poo also not painful wor.. so if u tink ur wound was ok maybe can no need to take any stool softener?

Vivi,

yes i hate confinement!!! i tink i say manytime liao lol~~ i was sweating non stop right after i bath v jialiatz...

Vonn,

i been bathin daily but hair only wash on alt day...

Yolk sac,

for me pumpin is less sore (but still sore) cos my bb dunno how to latch well he got v small mouth most of the time he is biting on my nipple to suck.. n duno he is suckin at all anot cos sometime i can latch him for 1hr n he is still hungry at least pump i can see how much he drinkin... i can gave BM alr v happy so not so particular abt foremilk/hindmilk .

Sandy,

milk can less 72hr in fridge 1 i put in fridge 20-30min be4 feed i will jus put in warm water not too hot ... once the milk abit warm i jus use to feed.. cos u haven got excess to TBF so if u dun store n feed how to TBF? dun stress urself too much gave watever u can...

i tink no choice ur HB goin to work jus try n see how u can cope i tink time management is impt at least u no need to do house work rite?

I'm not pumping enough milk. What can I do?

By Kelly Bonyata, BS, IBCLC

Introduction

What is normal when it comes to pumping output and changes in pumping output?

What can cause a decrease in pumping output?

How can I increase pumping output?

Other things to try

Additional information

Introduction

Milk supply normally varies somewhat throughout the day and over weeks and months. As long as baby is allowed to nurse on cue, your milk supply will accomodate baby's needs. However, when mom is pumping part-time or full-time, pumping output can become an issue due to a few factors:

The ability to measure how much milk you are pumping makes any decrease in pumping output more obvious and more worrying, even if it's a normal variation.

Pumping moms generally need to pump x amount of milk for baby for a particular day, and it can be quite stressful when mom does not pump this amount.

No pump can remove milk from the breast as well as an effectively nursing baby, so pumping does not maintain milk supply as well as a nursing baby. Because of this, the greater the percentage of baby's nourishment provided by pumping (rather than direct breastfeeding), the greater the possibility that mom may have to work harder to maintain supply.

What is normal when it comes to pumping output and changes in pumping output?

Most moms who are nursing full-time are able to pump around 1/2 to 2 ounces total (for both breasts) per pumping session. Moms who pump more milk per session may have an oversupply of milk, or may respond better than average to the pump, or may have been able to increase pump output with practice. Many moms think that they should be able to pump 4-8 ounces per pumping session, but even 4 ounces is an unusually large pumping output.

It is quite normal to need to pump 2-3 times to get enough milk for one feeding for baby (remember that the pump cannot get as much milk as a baby who nurses effectively).

Many moms are able to pump more milk per session when they are separated from baby. Milk pumped when you are nursing full-time is "extra" milk -- over and beyond what baby needs. Don't get discouraged if you are trying to build up a freezer stash when nursing full time and don't get much milk per pumping session -- this is perfectly normal and expected.

It is very common to have more milk than baby needs in the early weeks, which regulates down to baby's needs over the first few weeks or months. When your milk supply regulates (this change may occur either gradually or rather suddenly), it is normal for pumping output to decrease. For moms who have oversupply, this change often occurs later (6-9+ months postpartum rather than 6-12 weeks).

It is normal for pumping output to vary from session to session and day to day. Having an occasional low volume day is not unusual.

During a growth spurt, don't be surprised if baby drinks more expressed milk than usual, making it harder for mom to provide enough expressed milk. Growth spurts are temporary - try increasing nursing and adding a pumping session or two at home until the growth spurt is over.

Menstruation or ovulation can result in a temporary drop in milk supply. You might also notice cyclical dips in milk supply before your period returns, as your body begins the return to fertility. Hormonal changes also cause milk supply to decrease during pregnancy.

Remember that the amount of milk that you pump is not a measure of your milk supply!

What can cause a decrease in pumping output?

First, consider the possibility that baby is being overfed when you're apart. If this is the case, you may actually not need to be expressing as much milk as is being requested. This is certainly not always the case, but it is not at all uncommon. See How much expressed milk will my baby need? for additional information.

When you do need to pump more milk, the first thing to check is your pump:

Are you using an appropriate pump for the amount of pumping that you do?

How old is your pump? If you have an older electric pump (particularly older than a year), or if you are pumping more often than the pump was designed for, the motor may be wearing out.

Many times a decrease in pumping output is because pump parts need to be replaced. Have you checked your pump and replaced any parts that are worn or that haven't been replaced in the last 3-6 months?

Do you have a type of pump (like the Avent Isis) that benefits from occasionally boiling the boilable parts?

Switching to a larger pump flange makes a difference in pumping comfort and/or output for some moms. See Choosing a Correctly-Fitted Breastshield for more information.

Supply-demand cycle:

Have you reduced the number of pumping or nursing sessions recently, or cut back on nursing/pumping in other ways? Milk production is a demand-supply process. More nursing/pumping results in a greater milk supply. If you consistently decrease nursing or pumping for several days, your overall milk supply will decrease and you can expect to see a decrease in pumped amounts.

Has baby started solids recently? As baby eats more solids and takes in less milk, overall milk supply naturally decreases and you may see a decrease in pumping output. You may not notice a change in nursing pattern, as some babies nurse just as often, but take in less milk during those sessions. If baby started solids early (before around 6 months) or is eating lots of solids early on, you are more likely to notice a drop in supply. A very gradual start to solids around 6 months or later is less likely to affect milk supply.

Hormonal causes of decreased milk supply:

Have you started hormonal birth control recently? Hormonal birth control, particularly that containing estrogen, can significantly decrease milk supply.

Are you expecting either ovulation or your period soon, or has it recently started?

Are you pregnant?

Taking care of mom:

Have you started a strict diet? Are you getting enough calories? Snacking during the day on healthy, protein-rich foods may be helpful.

Are you drinking to thirst? Some moms, particularly when they are at work, will get busy and forget to drink enough fluids.

Are you getting enough rest? This can be hard to do when you have a baby. Try to go to bed a little earlier and to take a nap each day on your days off. Consider co-sleeping so you can get more sleep. Just a little added rest may make a big difference.

Have you been under an unusually large amount of stress? Stress can affect let-down and pumping output.

Have you been sick? Illness, especially if you have a fever, mastitis or get dehydrated, can result in a temporary decrease in milk supply. Some medications can also decrease milk supply (hormonal birth control, pseudoephedrine, ethanol/alcoholic beverages, bromocriptine, ergotamine, cabergoline).

See also Hidden Hindrances to a Healthy Milk Supply

How can I increase pumping output?

To speed milk production and increase overall milk supply, the key is to remove more milk from the breast and to do this frequently, so that less milk accumulates in the breast between feedings.

Increasing frequency

Nurse more often when you are with your baby.

Are you pumping frequently enough? Is there any way you can add a pumping session at work? If necessary, when pumping times are very limited, adding even a short 5 minute pumping session is better than not pumping at all.

Add a pumping session or two outside of work hours or on the weekend. Try pumping after baby nurses, or pump one side while baby nurses on the other side. You might also try pumping while baby is napping, at night, or when baby goes longer than usual between nursings.

Does your baby complain about slower milk flow when you pump between nursings? If so, try single pumping between nursings, instead of double pumping. Although single pumping is not as effective for increasing milk supply, this leaves one breast more full, so the milk will flow more quickly. See also these tips for babies who want a faster milk flow.

Try cluster pumping, instead of a regular nursing/pumping session. Sit down with your baby and your pump, and nurse and pump every half-hour to hour for several hours.

Some moms find it helpful to do a 2-3 day long power pump every couple of weeks to "super charge" their milk supply. This is simply a nursing vacation with pumping added in. On these days, get lots of rest, nurse very frequently and pump after as many nursing sessions as possible.

Removing more milk from the breasts

Are you pumping long enough? When pumping to increase milk supply, it's recommended that you (double) pump for at least 15 minutes; to ensure that the pump removes an optimum amount of milk from the breast, keep pumping for 2-5 minutes after the last drops of milk. If you don't always have time to pump this long, remember that adding even a short pumping session (increasing frequency but perhaps not removing milk thoroughly) is helpful.

Use a good double pump. Double pumping generally results in better pumping output and is better for maintaining milk supply. Pump quality can make a huge difference in pumping output, and different moms have better results with different pumps. However, some moms with abundant milk supplies do not respond well to pumping (even using the best of pumps) and do not get much milk when pumping. These moms may get better results using manual expression.

Use breast massage (see "Assisting the Milk Ejection Reflex" toward the bottom of the link) and breast compression.

If your pump has a soft shield or shield insert available (for example, the Medela SoftFit breastshield or the Avent "Petal" massager insert), then try using the pump with and without it. Some moms have also found that they can use the Avent "Petal" massager inserts with other brands of pumps (for example, Medela or Ameda). Some moms get better results with the softer shield; some get better results without it.

Switching to a larger pump flange increases pumping output for some moms.

Galactagogues

Many working and pumping moms have found that eating oatmeal is very helpful for increasing pumping output. It can also be helpful to snack on protein-rich foods during the day and to have something to drink every time you sit down to pump or nurse.

Many moms have gotten good results using fenugreek or other herbs to increase supply, either on a short- or long-term basis. This is most effective when combined with increased nursing/pumping.

Other things to try

The following things are useful for maximizing nursing and minimizing the amount of expressed milk that baby needs while you are away.

Nurse right before you leave baby and immediately after you return from work. Make sure your care provider does not feed baby right before you are due to return.

Has your baby started solids? If so, have your care provider offer all (or most) solids, and only (or mainly) breastfeed when you are with baby. By doing this, baby may need less milk when you are apart (due to the solids) and will nurse more when you are together. This can both help your supply (more nursing) and decrease the amount of pumped milk you need to provide.

Encourage baby to "reverse cycle" - reverse cycling is when baby nurses frequently when mom and baby are together (usually at night) and takes little milk when mom & baby are separated.

Storage guidelines

HUMAN MILK STORAGE - QUICK REFERENCE CARD

Temperature Storage Time

Freshly expressed milk

Warm room 79°F / 25°C 4-6 hours

Room temperature 66-72°F / 19-22°C 10 hours

Insulated cooler / icepacks 60°F / 15°C 24 hours

Refrigerated Milk (Store at back, away from door)

Refrigerator (fresh milk) 32-39°F / 0-4°C 8 days

Refrigerator (thawed milk) 32-39°F / 0-4°C 24 hours

Frozen Milk (Do not refreeze! Store at back, away from door/sides)

Freezer compartment

inside refrigerator (older-style) Varies 2 weeks

Self-contained freezer unit

of a refrigerator/freezer Varies 3-6 months

Separate deep freeze 0°F / 19°C 6-12 months

These guidelines are for milk expressed for a full-term healthy baby.

If baby is seriously ill and/or hospitalized, discuss storage guidelines with baby’s doctor.

To avoid waste and for easier thawing & warming, store milk in 1-4 ounce portions. Date milk before storing. Milk from different pumping sessions/days may be combined in one container – use the date of the first milk expressed.

Breastmilk is not spoiled unless it smells really bad or tastes sour.

To thaw milk

Thaw slowly in the refrigerator (this takes about 12 hours – try putting it in the fridge the night before you need it). Avoid letting milk sit out at room temperature to thaw.

For quicker thawing, hold container under running water - start cool and gradually increase temperature.

Previously frozen milk may be kept in the refrigerator for up to 24 hours after it has finished thawing. Do not refreeze.

To warm milk

Heat water in a cup or other small container, then place frozen milk in the water to warm; or

Use a bottle warmer.

NEVER microwave human milk or heat it directly on the stove.

The cream will rise to the top of the milk during storage. Gently swirl milk (do not shake) to mix before checking temperature and offering to baby.

If baby does not finish milk at one feeding, it may be refrigerated and offered at the next feeding before it is discarded.

Want to print the above information? Go to Quick Reference Card

Thought this might be useful for mummies struggling with bf...

Good luck!! And don't give up.. =)

This references got me through 10 months of TBF!!

I have the following items for sale, do PM or SMS me if you're interested [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

DOM Benedictine 1L Bottles

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449183/5259572.html?1300944263

Pre-loved My Brest Friend Nursing Pillow

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449183/5145163.html?1298474819

Pigeon Nipple Care Cream and Breast Shields

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449183/5199564.html

Winnie the Pooh Pants (Unisex) 1 pair

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449183/5241419.html?1301230518

Safety 1st Deluxe Bath Cradle

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449183/5267655.html?1301149290

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5269765.jpg]

Hi peeps, i have a Brand NEW Disney Car Seat to let go at 180/=...

- For 9-18kg

- Brand new

- Interested buyers are welcome to took a look

- Free Delivery within Sengkang/Hougang Area

- PM me if more details is required

Hi piggy, I think the method u doin is the oni way to keep our sanity? Do u zz in aircon room too? Wat I heard can use aircon but nt fan

Btw, u got a Chinese name for #2?

Vonn, hope your pile go off soon~~~~ Piggy's #2 chinese name is 皓翔

Gerry, Wah~ you really pro, the long long 1... I read until wanna sleep liao... Wahahahahaha.... But then copy and paste keep as reference, kekekekeke....

Piggy, jia you~ Now only starting, sure will get better de.... =)

Gerry

Wah, interesting info! Thanks! Where did you get the first article from? Everything I've read says that you should put bb to breast often to stimulate milk SS, which is contrary to the "hormone theory". Very interesting...

PiggyToh

Yeah, I think BM is most important - hindmilk, foremilk, whatever lah! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Jia yo!

Sianz... Another sleepless nite!!! Feeling heart burn & pelvic pain!!!! Argh.. I wish bb can pop out now.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

yippee! My milk is kicking in. Got colostrum coming out le and breast is getting hard! This little fella is v smart. Now got milk.. He happily suck le. Managed to latch for 45mins just now. :)

I'll ask 4 Enema tmr morn since the nurse already ask me. She say dun force e poo like tt. Gd also. :)

Is anyone still awake? Ive just urinated, but when I'm lying on my bed, water starts gushing out.

I went to the toilet to clean up wit some water trickling down. It didn't stinks like urine? Is is my water bag? But I dont feel any pain or none didn't see any mucus plug too.

Expertise advice needed.

Hi. Morning Elmo ;) glad to hear that u finally can BF Ur babe. Anyway, I've suspected so. And now making my way to the hospital. My EDD is 19/4, feels it too soon.