(2010/12) December 2010 MTB

grumpus/juliana, thanks for the ideas.. i'm planning to make some toys for ethan so wanted to gather some ideas hee.. i guess must be things that make noise huh.. i tink those crinkly paper sound is good? FM spoon arrghh now i know wat to do with them ahha i always throw them away haha.. i shld keep it haha..

mummies, do u kw whr to gt afforable play yard outside dun seems to sell lei

pauline

i "pei fu" u lei...buy iPad stl dun chg den shld nt buy so exp gift for him le i rather u spent it on yrself or on yr bb...

juliana

i dun see any website frm tis seller lei but its ok lar...i will source frm other plc...thks again

Grumpus/Crystal/Juliana,

Ha! I was thinking to get some CNY goodies can, put beans inside for Leah to play with! Can roll, can make sound. All thanks to my sis lor, coz when she was playing with Leah ytd, she just took a CNY can that has some leftover peas inside, and let Leah play with it.

Make your own toys

1) Gather milk cartons in a variety of sizes , wash n clean n stuff with newspaper. Tape the open ends down to create a square. Now you have have lightweight, surface-washable blocks.

2) Gather colourful pantyhose or socks, wash n clean then stuff with cotton (soft n cuddle) or crinkly paper (sound) . Other than that, u can stuff a bell inside to make sound. Sew them together to be any animal or any figure .

3) Fill water with food colouring into empty bottle. Put some glitters in it to make it more fun.

PSH: Here it is. This is her website.

www.babystamp.biz/iron-on-label

Bbribena: Or actually those small plastic soft drink bottles or mineral bottle, then put beans in it. I saw this at the IFC. Easier to grab and shake.. hehe.. i shd do this too. Thx for giving me the idea or at least reminding me that I saw this at my IFC.. hehe.

Juliana,

I use same method as bbribena to make the brown rice for no 1. But i still put in slow cooker cos i add fish n veg.. I still give her eat this at least once a week although she hates it now but no choice cos otherwise she wont eat her veg.. In porridge she cant pick out the veg..

I think my 2nd one is a fussy eater.. So far everything i give she will make face and after awhile clamp her mouth shut, so different fr no 1 who will 'scold' if we r abit slow in feeding her.. No 2 dun even like the gerber puffs! After 2 puffs, she refused to open mouth, in the end jie jie ate her share...

These few days her milk intake also v low, think she looks slimmer already.. Today she prob drank 500ml + only and cereal abt 2 teaspoons, v v little leh.. Sigh... Dunno why she not interested in milk/food.

The suggestions abt home made toys look interesting, i may try! Actually i also notice my elder gal playing w more rubbish things she finds ard the hse rather than proper toys.. Like these few days she has been carrying ard a bowl and spoon with colourful rubber bands inside and pretending tat they are noodles. She'll feed her soft toys those rubber bands when i actually bought her proper masak masak toys like fish, veg and ramen!!

I just spoke to the lamkins guy Ronald. I gave him my bank account no twice already to do t e 5 bucks refund. He said he lost the AC no again .I told him its been 3 week. That's not d way to do biz. He said don't worry he wont run away

Oh man I tell u he really attitude n poor service level. Pls do not get nything from him .its a nightmare! I feel really mad after talking to him.

Oshgosh, jade so cute. Think they r nw using their creativity to play not the proper toys le. Haa! My girl also v fussy on eating. Msg u in awhile and we chat ya.

juliana

thanks for e link...btw can show me hw e label like when u rvc??=)

play yard

i remember gt one mummies post here b4...can post again??

Crystal,

I will post on my fb.. That toy can play for a long time.. There is 1 more leap frog item that is very good.. I will take a pid and post on fb too ...

Jul> hehee sorry I thought you haven't started him on any yet, that's why want to go weaning talk :p

I read M&B as well, and I don't quite understand why her son was underweight. Maybe she was only giving him like single fruit or veg purees?

Think we can also start on baby pasta if porridge takes too long to cook. or in my boy's case he is actually eating regular cooked rice with veg, chicken which i puree and then freeze. it doesn't have to be porridge..

when i attended the avent seminar, the speakers showed us some chart from HPB that listed down what kind of diet and foods to give our kids..but I haven't been able to find it!

accidental toys> yes often the kids will end up playing with the box that the toy came in rather than the toy itself. haha! My boy's current fav is this blue plastic bangle my hubby's grandma gave to my girl when she was about the same age. he will bang it on the floor or toss it , then chase after it. His next fav thing is the wires under the table -_-. I put on the table corner protectors that we bought from IKEA but they're so lousy, they don't stay on! Anyone has better ones??

morning everyone! yeahh tuesday already..

accidental toys, thanks all for the interesting ideas.. i'm so motivated now hahaha shall try out tonight heee..

E square, i do not have you on my FB, can post the pic here?

morning mummies and daddies ^_^

pauline: my hubby only improved slightly.. still long way to go... most of the time he will glue his face to the screen playing online games. haiz, can only accept it and do whatever i can. tiring but at least i know that all is worth it.

jul: we didnt kena honking or sore malaysian football fan. rather we kena custom guy wanting to sell us white card for $10 and roadblocks on both directions of the road. think they are working hard to earn more money for hari raya... no offence here to anyone but this has been the trend for malaysia at festive seasons especially prior to hari raya..

toys: making our own toys sound fun! i should get started on something. mummy contribution to chey chey.

ribena: can share what organic instant/prepacked veggie/puree are you getting. it will definitely be good to have during trips.

littlepigpig: that seller is a goner. he shouldnt be doing a business with such attitude! its not about the money, its about the integrity and trustworthiness.

oshgosh & jul: you gals have probably heard me talking about it on and off. my chey chey is also another one who is not interested in milk/food. she drinks less than 400ml a day with 2 solid feeds which is also not a lot. headache!

hello mommies, I'm back from bangkok! Bought loads of clothes for liz cos it's so cheap!

pauline: Sorry to hear about your problems with your hubby. Perhaps you can have a talk with him? My hubby doesn't game, but he plays his PSP sometimes. When that happens, liz would take matters into her own hands by snatching away his game consol. When hubby tries to work on his laptop, Liz would 'offer to help' him type a few sentences. In the end, hubby gives up in utter exasperation and amusement.

Mommies whose kiddos have more than 1 tooth, are the tooth growing nicely? Liz now has 5 teeth and I find a gap between the top 2 incisors. Would the gap close up?

Stefie, if I wan go down buy the enfa stage 2, both the below outlet selling the same price at:

promotion buy 3 cans and get $1 off ($109.10, per can is $36.40)??

When is the promotion ending?

Tong De Tang Can Rong Zhong Xin

735 Pasir Ris Street 72

#01-306 Pasir Ris West Plaza S510735

Tong Xing Tang Ba Xi Li Can Rong Yao Hang

258 Pasir Ris Street 21

#02-337 Loyang Point S510258

Eon, I'm looking at the Wakodo brand, these few items:

http://www.agapebabies.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=58&products_id=465

http://www.agapebabies.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=58&products_id=468

http://www.agapebabies.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=58&products_id=469

http://www.agapebabies.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=58&products_id=470

They are sold out on this site.... Nd to get some to test run first, see how Leah react to it. Searching searching...

I also rem seeing something similar online, another brand, but dun rem which liao! The preparation quite simple, just put the whole pack of food into the hot water and it'll be done!

bbribenna,

pigeon also has those instant porridge thingies. i've seen them at the bigger kiddy palaces, think robinsons as well.

Muddy, I think the gap will close up when the rest of the teeth pop out, pushing them closer together.

Grumpus, I actually want some vege stuff, porridge and cereal Im not so worry. Thanks for the info, I will check it out. More variety for Leah =)

Good morning mommies and daddies[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mommies remember to drink more water and eat more fruits.

Finally Alexis can sit on her own and crawl abit[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] The way her teacher described is so cute[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

And she can hold her own mag mag, we managed to let her used the straw attachment instead. She is quite slow, but I am happy enough she learned to drink from straw within 1 try.

Pauline, I am the bad one. Do what you feel is right, follow your heart. If you don't want to go back on weekends, then don't go back. Even you really want to go back, then just do your things, don't bother to tell your hubby to bond with your boy. Just give your full attention to your boy, since your hubby has PC to company him. He is just losing out the best part of your son life. He will regret. If your hubby want to do it, he will do it. The more you say, the more he will find you naggy.

Like my hubby, I let him do it, if he want to. If he don't want then I will not say much. Even when I was very pregnant, hubby didn't even bothered to fetch or send me to work, I have to squeeze on the bus and walk 10-15 mins from bus stop to office, likewise when going home.

Even sending Alexis to IFC, I have to send and fetch her home, 1st feed, packing her bags for skool, bathing, changing diapers, washing milk bottles. Where others babies mommies and daddies will fetch together. I told hubby it is good bonding time. He will tell me he is stress etc.

Now he finds that Alexis started to prefer me to him, he tries to last feed her, put her to bed play with her. Before that I have to beg him.

Some men takes longer time, daddies like Shivan, Yugal are rare ones.

Like what other mommies said, don't expect anything. If your hubby do it it is bonus, if he doesn't then take it as norm.

Liling, I didn't check with the one in West Plaza, hubby bought from Loyang point. Maybe you want to give them a call at West Plaza. Not sure is it on going, you may want to check with them instead.

Roz: Yes yes it was from Mother and Baby. I also find it strange, coz she said she gave various organice veg puree right? That got me abit worried coz what if there's smthing we r missing as well.

U puree chicken and freeze also? I think i need fast solutions but wanna give him carbo from either pasta or rice and then also meat to get protein as well as the usual veges. But if i cook porridge and mix it all, take too long. So gonna have to do some planning to puree all these and then dinner, at most i mix all these puree with rice cereals or I start grinding his rice, then cook faster. Do u do stocks also? Thinking also do stocks in advance then mix with the grinded rice, then got some protein as well. Wonder if those meat stocks will contain enough protein. Don't why I feel abit lost and stressed up.. hahahah.. So I need to really plan properly. Coz all these while, I've only been giving him simple stuff like rice cereals, slow-cooked porridge with threadfin, spinach, carrots, pureed pumpkin, potato. So the rest I haven't tried. Can we puree and freeze fish also?

Yst I managed to give him just rice cereals for dinner, then 1 hr later give him 120ml of milk still. hehe.. so at least he's not losing that 1 feed.

PSH: Ok, once I get. I will post on fb ok?

Oshgosh/Eon: Hopefully our little ones will pick up on their appetite. Wonder if we can give something to increase their appetite?

Muddy: My boy has 4 lower tooth and the 2 outer ones has gaps in btw too! The 2 inner ones are close together. I was also thinking the same thing, whether it will close up. I think I saw 1 or 2 upper tooth appearing also. I just saw white line, not too sure yet if it's tooth but seems like got even bigger gap!

Eon: I hate JB drivers. I encountered horrible ones all the time! They drive recklessly on the highway. If u see a car zooming pass on highway, very likely to be Johor plate. White card $10?? siow! Anyway, I also requested for white cards, they dun have! can u believe it? Then how to go in Msia next time? No offence taken as a Msian coz I cannot stand the Msian adminstration and of coz the 'police' there. There's alot of unhappiness in Msia right now, that's why there's this 'BERSIH' rally going on. Seriously, I am considering converting to Sgp citizen coz I don't want to be associated with the govt back in Msia tho I love my country.

Yes, Raya time, definitely 'they' are out to get 'coffee money' or 'duit kopi' as we term it. My frens are fed up with this that they rather take the fine. There's once, can u believe it, my fren told the policeman to give her the fine, the guy actually had the cheek to negotiate with her, say, "Oh ah moi, I'm trying to help u here..". Living there, I've seen so much stupidity that it's really jaw dropping esp when they contruct roadworks. Its really like "What the hell were u thinking?". Then few months later, they chg, don't work, few mths later chg again. So that's why the roads in Msia always got changes coz some smart alec don't plan, just think of getting all the 'extras' from re-doing the roadworks. Hahaha.. ranting abt my country, ooops! Mention only, I get angry. So for me, Sgp is considered a haven but Msia is my food haven. Hahahah..

juliana, do u noe wat is Wild Yam ( Huai Shan )淮山 also known as shan yao 山藥? apparently this is quite good for promoting appetite. you can get this from market or from ntuc as well. get the fresh ones, wear gloves when preparing this if not your hands will get itchy from the sap. u can grate it it will become mushy like, then u cook it with porridge or with rice cereal. you might wan to consider adding another item as this does not have much taste but u can keep the grated wild yam frozen and just add in whenever u are cooking.

Bbribena,

For the items u are looking for can be purchase from isetan supermarket.. I usually get my supply from there.. And good for traveling..

it's been almost a week since i posted, hope all is good with u. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

pauline, i'm sorry to hear of your situation with yr hb. i dunno how i'd react... 'cos if my hb is on the phone with his frens or playing with FB on his mobile and my gal is waiting to play with him or if need him to take care for a while, i'd get pissed. and when i get pissed it's not a pretty scenario so he avoids it.

maybe it's also a matter of "who's the boss" in the family? if all the while what he says goes, and there's no negotiation about it, then i guess just rest your case and continue with things without his participation. like what the other mummies have suggested, dun expect and you won't be disappointed. if all along he hasn't been interested in you nor baby, then dun expect him to suddenly take an active role in parenting. if he does suddenly wake up and grow up, then it'll be a pleasant surprise.

jul, i hear u man... i'm not m'sian but when i see something that doesn't make sense, i'd say it's cos someone in certain dept wants to make extra kopi $... and that's usually the case! it'll get implemented for a while, then later aborted. so silly...

stefie, i've started using the ettusais powder sample and i like them! jia lat jia lat... hahhahaha!

dewdew, ha!! ha!!! The night or day one? Or both? The makeup base also not bad right[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]Metro sales just over. Don't know whether Isetan have special offer this weekend or not.[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Nearest to us will be NEX Isetan.

Eoneon, does chey takes alot for her solid?

Muddypaws, aly upper 2 also has a gap. My aunt saw it few days back and say they will close when hav adult teeth [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

stefie, i like both! hahahaha! but i will tahan first... cos now my cupboards are filled to the brim with facial products also.. haiz! when i have them in 2 houses, they don't seem a lot. collate all of them in 1 house, wah! suddenly my toilet looks like a beauty product counter! hahahhaha...

ribena: thanks.. i will go check it out!

stefie: good job alexis!!

jul: chey's appetite is pathetic! haiz.. maybe should up the frequency of the si shen fen. but we were told by the yu ren sheng staff not to give too much.

yes, they are super fast on the highway! oh, maybe they expect you to question further so that they could sell you the white card? lol...

dewdew: hows the progress of your move into your house? almost done?

cherrry: nope... usually will take around 1/3 to half bowl.

hub just called me telling me he's very bored in his reservist camp now and he and his camp mates are talking about bb milk powder hahaha so i sent him stefie's reco on the enfa to hubs to give to his fren. i just found the scenario funny ahha.

dewdew, Ha!! ha!! Really can do one de-stash party for our skincare hoh[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]If have good promotion I will let you know[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Tell me about it man, I "hide" my skincare in my cupboard cos hubby will not scream at me. Ha!! ha!!!

Eon Eon, thanks. She is getting more and more cute, I buay tahan her, so bubbly now[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Crystal, so cute[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Even when meeting some of hubby friend, we will also talk about it[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Now can save a cent is a cent leh, since FM and diapers are super ex now[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

stefie, hahah ya... the "fathers" are talking about their bubs and the stages of the babies what they can do, cannot do, how much they drink etc.. hahaha didnt think that they would tok about these. yup yup.. can save must save hor haha..

Dewdew/Stefie,

LOL! Beauty counter!! Same same.. I have storage box for skincare and bodycare pdts. Hub buay tahan me.. but he knows my skin sensitive, so if I stock up, he won't say anything. Same with shoes coz my feet ultra big, very hard to buy.

Crystal, it's funny fathers actually talk about their babies! 新好男人 =)

lol... my toilet cabinet looks like a biotherm counter. 'cos so many stuff from them... and other brands too!

eon, still unpacking but at least house is cleaned up. tmrw sofa will be delivered and store room racks also fixed, so that's good, finally store room will be organized rather than the mess it is now. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Eoneon, try add breakfast w cereal mix milk? So at least chey gets abit more? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Crystal, size 9 or 10.. sigh.. I get stares and looks from SA when I asked them for my shoes size to try.. Seriously! They think for my height and size, I should wear a smaller shoe size?!! Machiam like big head pin!??!

Hey Mummies!

Been busy at work, now waiting for a report so can sneak in to read and chat.

Pauline - so sorry to hear about your situation. I used to love world of warcraft and was addicted to it for quite sometime. I too reserve certain days and time for my game and thus neglecting everyone in sight.

I guess its a passing phase and during that time, the person is just too blinded by the excitment of the game to see who they have been necglecting. And during those times, the more you nag, the more they will play, they will have to quit on their own will.

Hopefully your hubs will realise and quit the game soon.

jul/oshgosh/eon - my girl too! Drinks very little, I think now its close to 500ml a day? She takes solids twice a day but her weight's stagnant. Sometimes she doesn't finish her milk also. I'm always thinking how to get her to drink more. She's born small and now she's still small. So sad to see her chubby face/body getting thinner. Her weight has been constant for so long. How ar???

muddy - wooo nice! I'll be going to bkk in Sept. Where do you shop at for Liz clothes there?

Been pretty down these few days. Really sianz.

Anyway, belle still not interested in solids. At the most 2 tbsp of porridge or cereal only. Sigh.... Really fed up at times. I still giving 1 meal only. Think when she turns 8 months then add another meal. Er, when you say 1/2 bowl, that is approx how many tbsp?

Also, belle night sleep a bit disrupted. Not sleeping thru and wake up early. Worse is her naps. My parents install sarong in her room cos I really have difficulty continuing to carry her for naps. As a result, she wake up very fast. About 30 min only. Ai yo, parents still say all babies love sarong. Belle really exception. I don't know what to do? Do I carry her back so she can sleep longer for naps? about 3 hrs total or less. I worry she not enough sleep. Night sleep about 10hrs only.

bbribena/cherry/jul: thanks! Was starting to worry abt d gaps. Guess I just need to wait and see...

Melissa: check out platinum mall. There's a floor with babies' clothes. have fun!

Sam, my boy is also not really sleeping thru the night and wakes upard 6-6.30AM? He sleeps ard 10+, or whenever I sleep. And I think I 'broke' him, now he doesn't want to sleep in his cot anymore! Will cry and whine till we bring him to bed and once his head hits our mattress, he continue zzz like nothing happened. it's getting kinda crowded in the bed..plus my girl sometimes mistaken him for her bolster hahaha

Also, err...lately when we change his diapers he will start grabbing at his penis leh. Is this, urm...normal? LOL...it sure makes diaper changing difficult...

Hi muddy, I love platinum mall too. Last time I was in bkk, spent 3 full days, spent allme baht, exchange more n stillnot enough. Haa.

Melissa, stefie,enjoy your trips!

Roz, that's funny! My boy don't but diapering is challenging now cos he will struggle or want to flip. Headache esp when he poos.

My boy is waking up every 2-3 hours at night nowadays again [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Wonder if he's feeling hungry bcos we are feeding him the brown rice with si shen fen, so stopping it for now to monitor.

Mummies, I have a 400g tin of similac, either to exchange for enfa or give away. Pls pm me if keen.

Goodnight!

Eon, Melissa, Darius also recently start drinking less milk, used to be 4 X per day (180ml each time) with 2 solid feeds..but yesterday only drink at 4am and when I went to visit him after work today, he has not drank any milk after that...so today probably just 2 feeds about 400ml...is it normal?

Anyway I think its also cos my maid always let him drink water, he loves to drink water so maybe he is too full after water and dun want milk already. So I told my maid tmr morning when he wakes up, do not give him water but milk. Only after milk then can let him drink water.

good morning mummies and daddies ^_^

today is the last work day of the week for me. i will be on leave from tomorrow until next wednesday. yippie!!! a lot of bonding time with my chey chey. hope she wont drive me mad! lol.

muddypaws: oh, new clothes for liz... i realised that chey chey has lesser clothes recently. cause she has outgrew some and the rest are too big for her. so only left with a few pieces for gai gai...

crystal: your hubby is really one of those SNAG leh! good good good..

stefie: yah, now they can express themselves more, so very fun to play with... lol

dewdew: good progress!

cherrry: i add cereal to her 7pm feed daily and on days she is not drinking and eating a lot, i will add in another 2-3 feeds of cereal into her milk so to make sure she is getting enough nutrients. so even if she is only drinking 30-40ml, with the cereal she should be fuller.

melissa: mine too! can say her weight is stagnant cause the last round we brought her to pd, she only put on a miserable 40g and this could be due to the clothes she was wearing that day. she is still able to wear her cny dress leh. im not happy loh. cny till now is already half a year! plus that cny dress is a newborn size leh.

samantha: why are you feeling down? due to belle's sleeping and eating habits? eh, im using the avent feeding bowl. didnt estimate how many tablespoon is that.

samantha, roz & jialing: chey has never sleep through.. she is still waking 3 hourly for her feeds and will wake up at 7ish am, with an hour of play time in the wee hours. and for day naps, her longest is 1/2 hour. mostly will be 15 minutes power nap.

sharon: i also dont know if its normal. what i know is that up till a certain stage, their intake will be lesser but by how much and whether it will be consistent. no idea. i only know my chey chey has been on a diet since months back @.@"

GOod morning!! =))

It's mighty hot and humid nowadays. A few of colleagues are sicked! Please do take care, Mommies and Daddies, our little ones need us. =) Drink more water and take fruits. Vitamin supplements and garlic pills are good for our immune systems.

Eon, enjoy your leave with Chey!