(2010/12) December 2010 MTB

the thread's moving so fast. Can't keep track of all e posts. Saw some unhappiness in our thread. Think this is an open forum for us to share n pick up some new knowledge. There r always different perspectives to viewing an issue. Sometimes, we might not agree with others so just pick those info tt r of importance to u. Respect for others' opinions is required so that sharing of ideas n support for one another can continue on. We have all been through a lot these few months n shd treasure e friendship that we have established.

Hi bubbly,

so envious tt u r so slim. Don't worry abt tt. Guess it's ur genes n also e fact tt u r bfng.

Re:

Dbaby, hmm I think chrysanthemum still not so bad. Nvm I think just stick to barley bah. Let your girl drink a lot of water too. Weather very hot.

Pauline> Your hb sounds like a workaholic! I'm not working.. Only give tuition to earn a bit of pocket $ for myself and to give my parents.. For us, coz we bought our house and car cheap, so we are almost loan-free, so hb is okay with me quitting.. Furthermore I was always falling sick, so I tell my hb, work so hard, $ not enough to pay medical bills, so quit lor.. The moment I quit, I got pregnant, so point proven.. Some things $ really cannot buy.. Anw try to source for cheaper IFC and work out the finances with ur hb? And persuade him to get part-time maid to come twice a month instead? I find part-time maid come once every 2 weeks just nice.. Mainly for ironing..

Esquare> I should be able to make it next Mon if it's still on.. Potluck still? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Chuck> Must be difficult, not being able to see bb when she's awake.. So tough being mummy.. Working mum also tough, SAHM also tough..

Yvaine> I bought my Lansinoh milk bags from this seller on ebay, 50 pieces for $15: http://cgi.ebay.com.sg/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=180635030882#ht_500wt_951

Sigh, today hb working late, went to work before bb wake up, now still not back, I got a feeling bb is waiting for him... Keep rubbing his face but doesn't want to sleep.. bb really loves his daddy..

Dbaby, i wan to tag along with the order. my order are C2,C5,S7,S8,L14,L19 & L20. Let me know how much to pay u.

Esquare: 25th gathering, i might be joining .. but hv to depend on how's bb reaction to the jab on that day .. let me know the venue then ..

Hubby is having high fever n flu .. he isolated himself just in case spread to me n bb .. anyway, he is going oversea tomorrow ... sigh .. alone with bb again

re: cooling drinks

I also only make barley or chrysanthemum drinks dor my boy when he's heaty.

Re: sucking toes

read fr baby care book tt our babies will start discovering their feet n toes during the 5th to 6th month. Remembered my boy used to do tt n my ils kept commenting tt I'll have another soon but I waited for quite a long while b4 I have my gal.

Re: gathering

would love 2 attend but now really v bz with work n taking care of e kids.

Chuck,

your setting doesn't allow for you to receive PM, can you change it?

Alternatively you can PM me and I'll reply to your email [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

If you want to PM anyone, just click on our user name and you should be able to see the link to send a PM..

Dbaby,

have you bought the triangular bib yet? any reason why you wanna buy tat? cos i bought a few for my no 1 but i dun find it as comfortable for them to wear as the regular one..

Somehow it bunches up around the neck and makes them quite hot.. abit like wearing a scarf like tat.. So now, i mainly use the regular ones and only use the triangular bibs if i bring baby to aircon places.. Whenever she wears those, she reminds me of a cowgirl, very funny haha..

No 1 just fell sick today with cough, runny nose and fever.. Then no 2 started sneezing and coughing.... and now hubby has the flu too.. Really hope me and my helper dun fall sick too!

And hope no 1 recovers w/o having to go to the doc because she screams/cries like mad when she sees the doc... And hope no 2 doesnt get worse cos so hard to feed her med.. sigh, so many "hopes"

Rachel, OG fair still on this week and saw the a net steamer/blender set on sale again. Think it's gg at $179 with feeding plate, spoons, etc. Can check out the OG website www.OG.com.Sg [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Amelia

those bib designs u gave me are $4.50 each. I think the C series one can get it cheaper from BP. But S & L series more worth to buy. Hw??

Oshgosh

Oh, cos i find looks nicer. For #1, i prac nvr really used the bib for her cos she nvr really drool or suck fingers so not much saliva for me to use the bib...

really not as comfy as regular bibs? my boy likes to pull up the edge of the bibs to suck.. haiz..

hope ur gals recover soon. mine also on n off.. haiz.. jus bring to GP again..

erin

i only made barley at the moment now.. heheheh..

Dbaby: then dont take the C series .. i will search the spree then .. thanks

Barley

apparently my PD once mention that i can introduce Barley water without sugar for my boy at about 4 months .. i hv not try though .. so i assume it is save to give from 4 month onwards

Amelia

so i jus order the other 2 series for u then.. =)

seems like i always tempting ppl to buy. once i'm done will update u cos am still searching for cheaper deals...

oshgosh and Dbaby, my gal dun like to wear bib now, she will pull out n throw on the table or floor, faint...well I am nt buyin g any bib for my boy, just reuse his sister one,haha lazy me n save $$ :p

Oshgosh, oh dear ur kids are sick, can imagine so stress and sian right? Aiyo let ur #1 drinks more water n maybe can feed the standy cough n flu medicine/ I hv a ready medication box that contains flu, cough fever medication.

Dbaby, yalor brufen is good to standby for 'rainy days' Unless take brufen and high fever still didnt drop then no choice gt to rush to A & E..

Dbaby, thks for the info on the drawing set, but is the crayon non toxic? Cos I bought non toxic colour pencils for my gal. Dun dare to buy crayon..

Debbie, yups of cos we meet at the gathering [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

BTW r u on FB?

Amelia, PSH and Neko, thks[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Air purifier or humidfier:

Any mummies bought these 2 for cleaner air for ur kiddos?

I am thinknig of buying to purifiy the air w/o aircon.

dbaby, 2mimi> the tingkat order meant for lunch or dinner?

i'm thinking if lunch available, i like to order..cos can eat n pump within the lunch hr... my workplace @ east side.. can pm the contacts

Mangogal

The crayons i get frm Popular. I think its Colleen brand. I will supervise the usage n wash hand after use.. I think it shld be ok ba..

Rachel

For dinner.. =)

Amelia

Sure sure.. Will share good deals..

Hi Dbaby, thanks for offer on tagging along I won't get any now cos I just bought some. O I've bought some baby

socks from a Korean seller recently and they are realli nice . Worth the wait.

Mango; I am using Sharp air purifier cum humidifier for aircon room. If non air con, purifier is sufficient. I've been using Sharp for years. It's a good brand for air purifier.

Neko: Sharp isit under ion series that was advertise on tv? THe advertisement looks tempted leh. So wat type of purifier you use for non aircon? How many version does Sharp hv for purifier? So usually u will put the purifier where to filter out the air?

Mummies, any other brands to suggestion?

Dbaby,hehe ok will go popular n hv a look[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Wah back pain again cos just carried my boy for milk, so cant sleep n log in for awhile[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

THe pain is sharp lowerback ard spine, how ah mummies?

It is nt due to epdidural cos I only had this pain when carried kids, isit the position when I bend dwn?

Mangogal,

For purifier .. Best is honey well.. But ugly .. It is the most effective compared to the rest..

Lower back pain is very common especially for 2nd birth.. Do take note of ur sitting position or how u carry bb..

I too suffered from serious back and hip pain but am healed now..

For me currenly is my wrist.. And hands are breaking carrying 9.2kg... Only just 4mths[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

mango, yah, usually when I hv a backache it's because I'm doing something wrong.

Bad posture, bad lifting habits. Try not to carry heavy loads and if you have to, remember to bend at the knees to lift, not at the waist.

eh earlier y'all were discussing about the royal wedding, right? Quite excited to see what Kate Middleton would wear. SHE HAS TO WEAR A PRINCESS DRESSSSSSSSSS cnot wear some minimal sleek gown it has to be HUGE and embellished and have all sorts of sparkly and lacey bits!!! AAAHHH!!

anyways, saw this vid on my FB page, had to share:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Kav0FEhtLug&

lulz!

Good morning mummies! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Gathering

I wish I could meet up as well but unfortunately I'm working.

mangogal - I experience that also. Think its partly due to epi and also due to carrying. I used to carry my girl around for long periods, my back very pain.

esquare - wah! 9.2kg!!!!! my girl about 6.4kg I only can carry her for a short short while.

e square, u poor thing.. i can imagine how hard it is to carry ur boy lo. mine is 8.2kg i already wan to pengs liao urs is even heavier..

i had to rush off halfway thru' work y'day to send my hubby to the hospital. haizzz... it's been a dramatic week of illness and y'day he's down with sinus infection. at first i thot maybe it's a simple toothache, but couldn't find anything wrong after a visit to the dentist. the pain to his right half of the face got so bad he was walking with his face tilted to the right. aiyooooo, i see already also heart pain. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] anyway, doc prescribed antibiotics and a referral to check with an ENT specialist. hopefully it's nothing serious.

dbaby, i wanted to reply your question y'day about cooling drinks for babies. my mum has been brewing "tang shen" every fortnight for the babies, 'cos she said it will build up their immune system and will help with cooling their bodies too. sometimes she will brew soup and give them a bottle each also. so far my nephew and my gal have not been heaty (touch wood!) so maybe she's doing something right. otherwise, barley water without sugar also helps.

mangogal, back pain is usually due to sitting and bending positions. make sure u position your back right. maybe can get a guard to help.

roz, lol!!! a princess gown with embellishments?? somehow i think she'd turn up with something sleek and classic, but we'll see! she SHOULD wear something princessy!

re: purifier/humidifier

how does the purifier work if the aircon is not on? have to close all the windows? if so, wouldn't it be very stuffy?

Roz> Cool vid... Royalties should learn to loosen up! Haha...

Esquare> 9.2kg!! My boy not even 7kg yet I dun feel like carrying him already! Guess having 3 kids works better than any gym workout!

esquare: 9.2kg??? Wow... Liz is 6.4kg and I can only carry her for a while.

mommies who are planning to get the jumperoo, please wear socks for kiddo before letting them jump. Also place a cushion on the floor for their feet to land when they jump. Liz jumped for the morning yday against the marble flooring, and when my helper took off her socks, she saw that liz' little toes were blistered and bloodied. We suspect that the blistering is from the friction against the flooring. Liz of course is not crying from the injury and is still happily bouncing around.

This morning when i changed my boy's diaper at the changing table which is a bit slanted, he grab the side tightly, so that he wont fall off ... after a while, he notice that i m just in front of him .. he just let go his hands and start playing with the hanging toys n bochap me already

Esquare, wah ur bb is big size, my boy 8.2kg i alrdy cant tahan liao :p

Honeywell never heard of this brand before, where to buy?

Dew, oh gosh hope nothing serious to ur husband's condition..update us yeah?

backpain, yup thks will watch my position but sometimes when they get cranky just carry up w/o watching my back, hiaz...old liao

BTW backpain will cos slip disc?

hmm the royal wedding is something forward too yeah?

Kate is very pretty n they are a handsome match! Cant wait to see her gown on the big day[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

At the doc's now, no 1 down w fever, sigh..

Mangogal,

U can buy crayons fr crayola.. Get the washable and non toxic ones so even if ur gal draw on her clothes or floor, v easy to wash off..

Backache shld b the way u bend down to carry ur boy.. Try to bend ur knees instead so weight is not on ur back..

good morning mummies and daddies ^_^

rainbow: mine came as a shock, not much pain though.

lee: i would opt for fairprice and taka vouchers. $500 will be use up very fast de.

tigger: my pd does the development check personally.

cherrry: your Alyssa will be a tall girl leh. mine is only 61.5cm at 3 1/2 months.

dewdew & muddypaws: your Gwen doesnt look boyish at all. can tell straight away that they are girl girl leh.

shivan: your gal really was shagged out by all the activities you packed for her.

thats strange, i wonder what happen..

esquare: i never heard of this chinese parsley with water. its for cooling?

muddypaws, osh gosh & rainbow: you are not alone. i also have to invest in new wardrobe! terrible... the weight seems to stay stagnant liao.

dbaby: my mummy said cooling stuff for infant & toddler must be moderate cause scare that will change their body build up.. something called 须不受补...

grumpus: really mey? i never notice leh. but i must say we are all here for the same purpose. that is to befriend one another as well as share and learn through our motherhood journey. finger pointing and putting someone down should not be happening at all. haiz, its sad that such thing happen but lets give tallie the benefit of doubt that she might have taken mangogal's meaning/advise wrongly hence the remarks. hope that will be the last of such issue.

bubbly: maybe arrange for a full body check up? that will ease all uncertainties you have.

mangogal: my backache was seemed to disappear by itself recently but my tailbone pain is still there.. terrible feeling.

dbaby: i got the waterproof bibs from babymallonline leh. but must take the risk cause they are good at packing the wrong orders.

pauline: i think playmat is good leh. i let my gal lie on the playmat in the day if she is "tired" from her rocker. its more cooling also, i find. so good for this weather.

yvaine: your elder is so sweet to share food with her sis. but of course only we know that its not appropriate at this age. haha

amelia: talking about durian. my colleagues and moi are sharing to buy a basket of mao shan wang. it is cheaper by almost half the market price. but the con is that we have to open the durian ourselves.

oshgosh: hope your kids recover soon.

dewdew: hope your hubby recovers soon.

Dewdew - Hope your hubby get well soon!

muddypaws - huh? Poor Liz. Hope her feet recover soon!

Amelia - haha he know's that you will protect him. My girl also like tat, anyhow turn all around the playmat even till its nearing the floor she'll just flip too.

Eoneon> I have tailbone pain too, hate it like crazy.. Especially bad during pregnancy and after birth, these days a bit better le.. Dreaded sitting down, and the standing up after that is a torture.. Now I still get it when I sit too long, or if I sit on hard surfaces... Just try to avoid sitting on hard surfaces or sitting for long periods... Hopefully it'll go away soon! (It's supposed to go away after birth.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] )

lee: mine started immediately after delivery leh. super painful. the GP at raffles medical said need to go for xray if the pay drags for too long. sound scary!

thanks everyone for your well wishes! hope he gets well soon too.

grumpus, i also noticed tallie's first post was targeted at mangogal, but maybe it's a one-off. but i believe we will welcome anyone as long as we're all willing to share and keep an open mind. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] so tallie, if you're reading this and still wish to continue with our conversations, you are still welcome to do so.

muddypaws, the jumperoo is so fun for liz, eh? hehehe... but do take care of those blistered toes, she might feel uncomfortable later on. i'm really tempted to rent the jumperoo for gwen...

amelia, i found out my tin of Nan Pro 1 is from Netherlands. i bought it from Shop & Save @ $32.80. i rbr the previous tin i bought from S&S was $30.80 so was surprised the price went up by $2. i think maybe due to the country of origin.

Mummies, return from JB last night. Exchange rate at RM2.39! So mamypoko M size 66pcs cost ard S$19plus. Didn't really shop much cos with bb abit difficult to manage..

I have a preloved maclaren triump for sale at S$160. Brand new seat cover navy/yellow including reversible seat liner (just change 16 apr with receipt). Than receive a new stroller as gift the next day so am selling it. Anyone interested? I can send you e imagine to view. Dunno y i cannot post in WTS thread.

leely> is tt you i just added on FB? heehee

dewdew> hope HB get well soon. I dunno abt you but when my hubby gets sick I get a little irritated with him, like it's his fault that he's sick.

there was one time he had a really bad case of food poisoning. imagine i came home from work one evening, the door was open. gate unlocked, lights off...then he was lying motionless on the bed i really thought he was dead lor -_-'' tt time still pregnant with #1, sure thought i was a young widow already.

muddy> tts very violent jumping by Liz! Really giving the jumperoo a good workout!

roz/eon/dew: was quite heartpain when i saw her bloodied little toes [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] but gosh, she loves her jumper a lot. She can stay in there to jump or play with the stations for hours. Getting good value for money! Dew, if you want, you can let Gwen try my jumper first before renting.

roz: liz is very 'violent'... my hubby was playing with her on the bed, and she suddenly grabbed my hubby's glasses and waved it around!