(2010/12) December 2010 MTB

Juliana, thanks[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Tigger, maybe play him some soothing music. If you have iphone or Ipad, there is this app that yugal recommended called Sleep Pillow. It helps Alexis to settle down and sleep. She likes the water sound. babies feel soothing with white noises, water sounds. Maybe you can try?

tigger, if i were u i'll be happy that daddy is putting baby to slp haha :p

mine will need me to put her to slp and my arms are aching so badly [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

mummies, is there any remedy to stop baby from flipping at night while slping?

mine seems to flip 'unknowingly' it seems, coz she wakes up crying/screaming..

i'm becoming a zombie soon coz i keep having to wake up and soothe her or flip her back [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

TGIF Mummies

It's almost one week, managed to survive in handling 2 babies alone.

And hubby called me, said he will be back tonight. YEAH....

For past few days since my first day back to work after ML, i have been reporting to office late.

Because my no 1 always get cranky every morning.

And sometimes seperation anxiety when sending her to Child care.

Due to i'm handling alone, so delay here and there until late for work.

Luckily I got the very understandin colleagues, knew my situation.

I can't imagine if I hop to another company at this time, definitely will condemn or blacklisted.

Infant / Child care centre.

I place my 2 kids at Moriah Schoolhouse, located Fervale Road, near my blk.

After subsidy, need to pay $650 for infant and $450 for toddler.

I also pay by their CDA.

rainbow, cindy, tigger & stefie: haha, ya lah. lets move on. im sure all the mummies here wanted the best for their babies. no hard feelings involve..

tigger: why not pacifier? i was against using it initially but i really think it helps a lot in soothing my gal. though she still exhibits crankiness in the evening on and off. but it beats having no pacifier leh. play music, rock, pacifier, hum, sing..etc are my daily routine.

cindy: mine too! im the caretaker when princess is back home. hubby just cant make it leh.

Tigger: I use pacifier.. Hehe works wonders. These days I carry him awhile till he seems abit sleepy then I put him on the cot lay him on his side, give him pacifier and pat him till he falls asleep. But only at night. Day time naps I dun give pacifier, have to carry him and pat to nap.

Cindy: my boy too!! He will flip if he is awake middle of the night but usually for his night feeds. But I dun want him to flip on his own at night, I put him to the side of cot and put a bolster in btw, his legs will hug the bolster, so difficult to turn.

Btw, yst my boy slept later than usual coz we went to marina bay to have dinner with my bro. He slept from 11+ to 7+!! Didn't wake up for feeds. His last feed was 9+pm. But he woke up cried very loud for milk. Could be a one off thing.

For my no 2, she rejects pacifier.

She only want direct latching for soothing or sucking her thumb.

I usually surround her with pillows. So that she feel safe.

Yay!!

Stefie!! Way to go!! U voice out how

Many mummies feel too..

To me cheap or ex fm also doesn't matter as long as the fm can make my bb suffer less allergies is good fm..

Eoneon> Can anticipate getting pregnant one ah? I nvr use contraceptive for more than a year, nothing happen.. Then I quit my job and went travelling, felt dizzy and nauseous but thought it was due to bad weather/food overseas.. LOL.. I thought where got so suay, 1+ year nvr pregnant, once I quit my job then pregnant.. But it's really so suay.. I think stress from my previous job worked better than any contraceptive!

Tigger> I went City Square mall Metro recently too! Walked round and round the baby section trying to find the advertised discounted Carters rompers, cannot find.. Went to look at the advert again, then realize it's only available at Seng Kang! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] .. Anw if your hb against the pacifier and he's okay doing the rocking and soothing, why not just let him continue doing it? Hee...

Pauline> What is your main purpose of getting maid? To help look after kid or do housework? If do housework, maybe just get part-time maid? Anw my hb is teacher (geo 1a2), his salary alone enough to pay for our household expenses.. I imagine if I'm working, my salary probably can cover cost of IFC.. If finances is the issue for not putting bb in IFC, maybe you can sit down with your hb to work out the finances? See which expenditures can cut down.. You're right, we can't have best of everything.. No such thing as no sacrifice when hv bb.. Either solve the problem with money, or save money but spend time + energy to do everything ourselves.. Ask him what he propose if he doesn't want to cut the expenditures nor lose his sleep?

what a way to start my first day of work... Liz is ill and my helper just told me that liz is super manja today. Wants to be carried to sleep... wish I was at home now to comfort her.

jiahui, good for u to have understanding colleagues and that u choose to stay in the end [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

stefie, i got a bigger beanie pillow, but not much use, unless i hold on to one of her hand to prevent her from moving :p

hubby try it and it works haha!!

so i have to tie her up :p

eoneon, i keep asking hubby to carry her more to bond with her, but whenever she make noise etc like screaming, 'nagging' hubby always say she want me and pass back...

maybe thats y no bonding!

juliana, i tried with bolster, doesnt work coz the bolser will roll away :p

is it becoz u used a heavier bolster?

Stefie

Just read your post.

I give u around of applause.

Thou u are a first time mummy, u are very experience and on hand already.

Really well said.

Even myself with 2 kids, sometime also quite lost.

After reading ur post, do helped in enlightenment.

Always give other mummies moral support. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Cindy

Yah...heng i choose to stay for time being.

Thank you mummies!

My hubby feels that babies using pacificer will have slow speech developement. I seriously have no idea where he got this fact from!!!!

I have downloaded the application that Yugal recommended. But have yet to try. Will try it tonight.

I need to get a heavier pillow for my boy too... he has officially started flipping hehehehehe

Anyone has Similac 2 400g tins or Friso 2 900g tins that your baby is not drinking?

I am looking to buy Similac 2 and friso 2.

Can also exchange Mamil Gold (expiry 2012) / Nan Pro 2 (expiry 2012) with Similac 2 or Friso 2.

Pls pm me if you have any for sale or exchange in case I miss out your reply here.

Thanks ! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

BM & FM:

both are good[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] We all want to give our best for babies, if hv BM, dun waste just give, if dun hv nevermind still gt FM mah[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Dun stress as life is so short and we only live once! AGREE??

If debate, gt alot to debate liao

EG: Organic VS Non Organic.

Use pacifier VS Thumb or finger sucking

Swimming in bb pte pool VBS public swimming pool/Sea

White rice VS Brown rice etc...the list goes on for our bb food and stuff!

Muacks and kisses to all mummies here:D

Really no hard feelings HOR?

New mummies and old mummies here, ADD me in ur FB, [email protected] [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] ;)

Muacks and kisses to all JIE MEIs here :D :D

Wa so many post and hot topics. Read until don't know what or how to reply. Lol.

Bm or fm or ex-fm:

Most important is suitability la. Also breastfeed got it's own set of problems like if baby breastmilk allergy. What works for one baby doesn't mean for the rest. Though I breastfeed, but I do find it troublesome. Cannot leave baby with others to look after, watch diet, worry this and that. Really feel like giving fm.

Pregnant:

Wa, reminiscing those days ah. Her, I try for 2 or 3 months then thought probably hard or won't happen la cos I took birth control pills before and pol say sometimes will become hard to conceive. And some more hubby flying around. So quite hard to be so zhun. Then went for hong kong holiday, Then strike Liao. But confirm not made in hong king.

Red cheeks.

Any if your babies got red or pink cheeks? My girl suddenly got it yesterday. At first thought warm but today still have. Then also suddenly diaper rash. What happen leh? I change diaper once wet or every 2 hrs. Use water wash and air butt during day. Teething ah? A bit too soon right?

jiahui: you survived the one week! hehe.. good colleagues and neighbours you have.

lee: i was on contraceptive until feb 2010. then we decided to try for a baby and voila! struck in mar loh. haha.. plus my menses very accurate de. i agree that stress is a contributing factor in many couples nowadays.

muddypaws: oh dear, little Liz must have missed you so much. it takes a while to settle into this routine for her. hope she will recover soon.

cindy: sama sama lah. i also keep urging my hubby to carry her more for bonding. but once my gal starts making noise, his arms will automatically push my gal to me. faint!

Lee: No wonder I cldn't find the carter rompers. I ended up buying refill detergents and avent teats hehehee

In fact I have officially made my hubby to take care of my son. Now he claims that I am not doing my part hiaz!!!! Now I need to prove to him that I am capable of putting my son to sleep too...

Tigger, hope it works for you. I fell asleep a few times when playing that apps for Alexis, so both of us will sleep together.

Beanie pillow I bought from Kiddy Palace $29.90 for the biggest one[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] IIRC I bought the 190g one. I also bought extra cover to change every week.

I put it at her chest. Like the 2nd pic.

http://www.babybeaniepillow.com/baby_beannie_pillow.asp

Hope it will work for you too[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jia Hui, ESquare[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hmm maybe as a 2nd time mummy, I am eager to share more info of wat I gone thru before of my experience here and get too carried away [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] As I alrdy know what I want to give my child in all aspects frm my true genuine experience cos I thought it maybe useful info to new mummies here but some of you maybe offended by me? Hiazz[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Well I am SORRY and hopefully no hard feelings OKI? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] It really hurts to feel being misunderstood[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Frm now on, I will nt share so much info liao cos everyone hv their own preference and making own best decision to give the best for their own babies frm head to toe, physically and internally.

Cindy: My hubby too! My son seems to prefer me to carry him to make him sleep. When my hubby carry he will cry. So i forced my hubby to make him sleep. But now that I trained him to pat to sleep, my hubby still wanna carry him to sleep. He will cry, u know what my hubby said? "Ok good, cry, then u can sleep" Faint!

Last time, bb cry, he will pass to me, so I guess that's why now bb dun want him to carry him to sleep. But if i ask my hb to pat him to sleep, guess who will fall asleep first???

When i pat my son, sing lullaby, guess who fall asleep first??? Daddy lor! Hmmmpphh!!! I will kick him up! haahha.. bad bad wifey..

Now, my son associates daddy with playtime I feel coz when my hb returns home fr work, my son see him only will get excited and smile alot! I'm gonna force my hb to make him sleep but use my method, pat him to sleep, not carry him to sleep.

Eon: Have u decided to buy the Jumperoo? If u haven't buy, maybe when I rent it for my son, u wanna bring your gal over to my plc, let her try first? See if she likes it, then decide if u wanna buy. I haven't discussed with my hb yet coz he's been working late. Over the weekend, will ask him when he want to start renting the Jumperoo but the plc i wanna rent now, all jumperoos on waitlist, so may have to wait. Keen? If yes, I'll let u know once I get it. We stay so near but until now I haven't seen u ard at Sembawang!

Mango: Hei, hugs hugs, don't think anyone was targeting anyone in particular. It's always good for experienced mummies to share... we all learn from each other. Like u said, everyone's got their own preference and opinion and it's up to them whether to listen or not, and make their own decision what's best for their babies. It's all just difference of opinion. As long as no one is putting another mummy down for the decisions that they have made, all's well.

mangogal: im sure all the jiemeis here have no hard feelings. dont take it to heart. keep sharing. thats partly why we are here for. cheers ^_^

juliana: i have decided to buy more or less le. just waiting for my gal's neck to be stable. cause her head will still go knocking from side to side. great! i will bring my gal over to try if you dont mind.. hehe.. at least i know its worth investing if she is happy in it.

ya loz.. live so near to each other yet never see each other in sembawang de. wahaha...

mangogal: yes leh.. like what juliana says.. there is no targeting at all. 来,笑一个!

Mangogal, hug hug, i don't think anyone was targeting you when they discuss about the BM FM issue. Don't feel bad about sharing. We all share about info we know to help one another. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Re: FM vs BM

mummies, seriously this BM thing is overhyped la. I admit i had a lot of problems breastfeeding my boy and almost gave up many times especially the beginning due to engorgement problems. But since i have some milk, i just give.. that's my mindset. But to mummies who don't want to breastfeed or can't, I feel that it's perfectly fine!! We are all good mummies! Many of us grew up with FM, perfectly healthy!! No hard feelings k! We jiemeis must love and care for each other! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

pauline - i work part time in (mental) healthcare. quite grateful for the PT arrangement. essentially work 2.5 days, half the week. there're some stuff u can do home based, but gotta be very disciplined. things like support service (IT support) etc, i think there's the option of working from home. that's what some of my frens do.

Stefie, PSH, cherry - remininsce is the word! it's really a very wonderful journey despite it being my second time. first time i haven't fully discovered SMH forum so not on the mommy thread, only this time round i followed through. very rewarding cause of the many mommy friends i've gotten to know here! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

rainbow - don;t look down on the parenthood rebate wor... it saved us quite a few thousand dollars when our no.1 was born and we could claim! hahah... i'm sure you hubby joking only lah... this yr he'will get to enjoy the rebate plus govt rebate ;)

Juliana- yay! happy for you that your boy is cleared! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]) playpen can use anytime you want. but best is when they start moving about, like rolling, crawling, you can CONFINE them inside while you do your things, hahahahah

FM / BM

aiyo... honestly, and actually, I tot we'd gone through this in this forum so many times. I agree with Stefie. I believe NO mommy should ever have to apologise for the decision she makes with regard to feeding her little one(s). every family is different and the needs and resources available are different so it's really a PERSONAL choice.. no one should have to feel bad whether they breastfeed or formula feed. as long as the babies get the adequate nutrition and mommy and baby are both HAPPY. yah? may i suggest that we all respect this position and let's all try to be sensitive especially when talking about this ya? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]) As mommies we all want the best for our kids, and the best is different for each kid and family. everyone chill chill!!!

muddy - Liz is a clever one! tekan your helper whenever you not ard hehehe

Mangogal!!

Why? We are 好姐妹.. Any info should share.. Those reading just need to take a pinch of salt lor .. Just take what they think is good or suitable for them.. Even me a 3rd time mummy is still learning.. There is no right or wrong in motherhood.. Cheer up.. Hugz..

Yvaine: I'm convinced Liz remembers the PD cos she gave the PD a scowl yday! This little one would smile at anyone but at the PD, she scowls and it's prolly cos he gave her so many painful jabs...

wow...so many hot topics...

mangogal:

jiemeis here wldnt take too hard one...its nt tat e advices u giv is nt gd but like u say everyone gt their own view so its up to indivdual wans to accept or nt...dun tink too much, k?

IFC

look like mine consider cheap lei...after subsidy is abt $585.

muddypaw

last nite i let my gal try e cereal ardy...she seems ok wif it...juz wan to chk wif u e mixing part correct or nt...i scoop 2 teaspoon of cereal n mix wif 60ml of FM...turn out its a bit watery...izzit i put too much FM??

Being thr the stage of bm n fm stress. Anyway I get over it n now happy w wat I doing .. I will provide as much as I can n suppl w fm when I can't.. Tomo mil bk n I been counting the days.. Bad right.. Taking care of bb should be my responsibility but somehow I too dependent on mil .. But these few days w bb r fun.. Except at night when he don't sleep I really don know wat to do.. N now he always wan to flip n then vomit the milk out .. My bed all stain w milk Liao ..

Mangogal

Don't feel bad. We are here to share. I don't see anyone targetting u.

Different ppl got different point of view.

It up to their own preference.

Like E-square mention. There is no right or wrong.

We all already had tried and give the best to our little one.

Whether to give BM or FM, the most important is to let the child enough to eat and grow up healthy.

I failed my BF for my no 1. So got to give FM.

As usual cheerful and healthy toddler.

Successful BF for my no 2. Also progressing well and healthy.

Only that I benefited from BF is that for temporary, I don need to spend money on FM and sanitary pad. Coz BF delay my menses coming back.

Now i'm back to work. So i must be mentally prepare that my supply might drop.

So I got standby FM at home and Infant care, as supplement.

muddy - hahah she recognises faces so well! i recall u previously printed name stickers for Liz? where did u do it and how much do u remember? i want to print some for my no.1 cause her stuff needs to be tagged esp when she brings them to school!

Yvaine: I printed them at J8. It's a shop outside the food court.

PSH: We use 4tablespoons of cereal to 60ml of milk. If use BM, it would be more watery. So you might want to halve the liquid by 50%.

Sorry for lag, I know you all want to close shop on topic but I just HAD to say this...

FM is, and will always be a good substitute for BM.

Take it to mean however you want.

If you are interested to know more about the Code of Ethics governing the sale of infant foods, click here.

Ya, mangogal, don't think tat way ok. U shared alot w us and I've certainly benefited over the past one year [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I'm thankful for all the mummies here so helpful.

Brought my girl to doc and turn out it's jus normal damp diapers problem.

Muddypaws did u warm the bm for cereal if it's jus freshly expressed?

cherry: I use frozen EBM so I would warm the BM first. Don't think you need to warm freshly expressed BM as it would be at the optimum temperature.

Stefie,

Come to think of it.. Really miss ur happy mummy=happy bb quote..

Jamu medication

I was looking for the medication for my maid.. Manage to find.. Then the shop owner recommend me to buy this medication for myself.. It's for shrinking of womb and make vagina tighter?? Coz woman who c section can't massage till 3-6 mth.. So this is good?? Should I buy and try?

Life cells

Anyone heard of this? I was planing to go kl for jab.. To burn my flabby tummy.. But abit scared..

Speaking of name stickers. I just did one for my boy but I did a mistake. At first I did a set for my nephew, disney mostly Pooh designs. Then yst went to do another set for my boy, dunno whether I pointed wrongly or the lady copy wrongly end up disney also but mostly Princess and pinkish colors!!! Tempted to do again but feel abit wasted. Shd I just let my son use Disney princess, sensitive new age boy?? Lol!!

Yvaine: I did mine here at sembawang, it's a temporary shop, alot of designs. Mine was $7 for 96 pcs. Some are $5 for 120pcs.

Hi all mummies!

Its TGIF, been so busy the past 1 week covering collegues who are on leave.

Chat with you mummies next week!

muddypaws - I've started Kayleia on some cereal yest but unsure how should I feed her. How do you feed liz? Example, after cereal do you still feed her milk?

Juliana - hahahahahahah... so funny! hmmmm that's a tough one. but right now they still don't really know much, can use. if about 2 yrs old then they'll insist on choosing their own design... so u better use while u can on things that won't last for too long...

thanks all for the sticker printing info... i'll check them out. sembawang too far for me, bisha plus minus, so maybe online is a good option [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Esquare,

Hi! I just pop in to comment now & then. Hope I am not interrupting.

I also did Csec but my doc gave the go ahead to massage 1month after. My massage lady also told me her Csec clients mostly started around then. Maybe u can ask ur gynae to check u then give u the green light? I remembered u mentioned u had Csec 3times for all your boys; since you did not have vaginal deliveries, should not hv the need to tighten vagina bah? Sorry if I sound crude.

As for flabby tummy, believe it or not I am still using the binder though it has been almost 4mths after delivery. So far showing results! And I will continue to use till probably 6mths, & thereafter as and when I feel flabby. Dunno abt the life cells thingy at all, maybe u can try the old-fashioned binder way instead of something invasive. And also watch your food intake. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

oh i take back my words... checked out the website Roz recommended.. very ex wor (though quality is prob better)... migth go to the shops instead, hee... julina do u know if the shop u go to dos online biz? yours sounds pretty cheap.. i don't need super high quality, just some basic stickers will do [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

eoneon, i have to find a way to make hub carry her longer..

go out also i carry, home also me..my arms really cant take it liao..

grow muscles nvm, my bones will break! :p

juliana, haha! i see yr hub like mine!

whenever he tries to make my girl slp, he ends up either slping first or slping with her zzz

so dangerous coz sometimes hes still carrying her in bed then he falls aslp!

i also wake him up, but to remind him that he's still halfway done in his 'job' haha..

he will only finish his job after he manages to successfully put her down to slp :p

Yvaine, I was actually look at the stickers also. Then I gave up cos all those from Bishan is not durable, once wash to many time it will not be stickly any more. So I just use Zebra name pen and write on clothings labels, bottles, bibs, diapers... everything lah[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

E Square, ha!! ha!!! I more positive when pregnant, once popped my daughter is the positive one[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] So see her enough liao.