(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

Mummies, I went to the fair yesterday. Saw Kinderland having a booth there. They have a centre at yio chu kang which is near my in-law place. Would like to know if you all have any comments on that CC. Their curriculum like not bad lei. Still got music specialist come to school once a week to teach the kid music. All included in the school fees.

Phy,

mine slim dwn and grow taller since the past 2weeks. suddenly shoot up de. Nw he is consider more skinny liao compare to 3weeks ago. He was warded at kk for 4 days due to very high fever.

just manage to fatten his up abit. erm..u might wanna try to break the meals into smaller portion then feed more meals...abit more xing ku but they absorb better like tt wor.

recently my boy don't really like milk and porriage leh..prefer to eat his rice cereal and puree food mix together...=.=!! haiz..duno izzit the porriage nt nice leh...i see liao the porriage also no appetitte. hahaha..nt i cook 1..maybe i shld start cooking for him but lazi leh.

Can i also check with the mummies here. how you peeps prepare the porriage. wat kinda stock? then cook aready how to store and for how long

Hi, Mummies

just want to check, have any of u rec call to collect the BBQ set?

my friend rec and she collect last sat.

the problem is, she bought early, call to make resever, then the person took her no need, can go collect on the date, but when i told her, need to reserve, she then called to reserve, (of cos, she did q the person), so now she had collect her toy.

Jasmine: that's very fast! when i called, it was already 4 days into the promo. the lady said i'm in the 3rd batch, ETA July. subsequently i emailed them with my contact details but no acknowledgement. they're swamped! hahaha

Lasery: for porridge, i use either pork or chicken and cook together with the rice. i don't have pre-cook stock.

usual ingredients that are cooked together with the rice grains (3-4): carrot, pumpkin, potato, sweet potato, tomato.

when about done, I add in vege + fish

if i'm out of meat/ fresh fish, I'll add powdered silver fish on the cooked porridge and serve

to store: i use zojirushi food jar. porridge will be ready for my baby's meal at 11.45am-12.30pm. the balance i store in the food jar for her evening meal around 5.45-6.30pm. Food is still very warm (not very hot but ok)

Ica: Have you received your photobook? How is the quality?

Photobook

Saw on paper Harvey Norman got photobook discount at $29.90 for 20 pages + $2/ additional page.

copied 200photos... but the staff said it is too thick & per page on the advertisement mean 1 side. Both side will cost $4/page...max will be 40 pages (29.90 + $2 x 40 = $109.90). total cost for 140 pic will be $109.90..

almost same price with photo book worldwide :p...anyway since I already there, I just follow what she said... deleted 60 photos & continue with my order...

Spent almost 2 hours in Harvey Norman deleting 60 photos, designing the first few pages (cover & first 2 pages)... When I want to replace the picture on the 3rd page with other photo, the staff told me cannot change photo bcs all already pre-format according to the photo dates...I was ??? I am paying for S$109 but all photos are pre-formated & cannot swap photos???

told her to check with the supervisor, all told me the same answers... decided to walk away after spending 2 hours there designing the photobook... the receipt came out after I pressed quit on the screen.

The staff told me i must pay... i was like??? pay what? pay $109? I have not even complete page no 3... & already told u I want to cancel the order since I cant even select photo bcs all are pre-formatted ...

finally after i decided to walk away, she told me, yes you can select your photo but you got to spend about 3-4 hours here...She ask me to start over again....very pissed off & walk away

Want to try to use worldwide photo book instead since so many people commented the quality is very good.... another challenge.. anyone know how to insert the photo (which is at the left side) into the artwork (centre part)?

Chelz: have just submitted 3 photobooks to print. will only get them when I go back KL in 2 weeks' time. will let you know how they turn out ya. i chose Msia coz the delivery charges are very much cheaper; I can send them to my family there plus they get to view the pics. just collect them when i go back

they're having a promo now, 50% off all books, expiring in 2 weeks. not bad a deal but sometimes they have 60%-75% discount off certain books. you can always register and they'll inform you via emails the latest offers. they had one last week, 75% off an 80-page photobook which originally cost RM800 (top of the range). so i just snapped it up! hahaha. think will do a 1st year book for H

Harvey Norman photobooks - ouch! that was painful. i mean, you had to spend so much time there and in the end aborted the whole thing. and they had the cheek to tell you that you must pay for it. aduh!

I would like to order a 3D cake for my gal's bday in malacca later.

Anyone has recommendation on that? Think to order from secret recipe, but their 3D cakes are quite limited..

ica

u r very lucky to get the 75% discount...u only need to pay RM200 for 80 pages...very good deal!

just received email from them that they are having 50% discount until 16 June :D :D :D still very good deal...

initially i wanted to order the 40 pages one but since they are having 50% discount, i think 80 pages would still cost very cheap :D :D :D

btw, how much do they charge you for delivery in KL area? Singapore delivery charge between S$12-S$34 (delivery charge for the hardcover)...

Since u said mlaysia delivery charge is much cheaper...maybe i will order from their Malaysia website to deliver to my malaysia office...then courier it to singapore together with my office mail :D :D :D

hihi, sorry to disturb.. i have 2 tins of 400g Similac Stage 2 for sale at $12 each.. Expiry 26 Sep 2011.. Pls pm me if interested...

Hi dear mummies! I havent log in here for so long le! Glad that everyone & babies are well!

Btw... if there is anyone who cannot make it for the bday bash hor.. can let me know and let me join the queue coz I ve not brought baby to meet anyone of u yet! And I think my baby & I are quite ready to brave it ..hehe hee

As my baby gal is turning one in another 2-3 weeks' time! My hubby and I ve decided to do away with bday party here and bring her on her first holiday trip! Tics and hotel are finally confirmed! We are heading to maldives 2 days before her birthday and gonna spend like 5 days there! We have aranged a bday cake and some simple decorations etc at the hotel room on the actual day[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]Save me loads of headache hee hee

however, too bad we are not allowed to book the water villa if we ve babies/infants but anyway its ok la. My hubby and I are more worried/scared than excited at the moment.

Worried abt baby's throwing up , difficult to feed etc Esp now she is so active and has a mind of her own.. anytime she's unhappy she will scream her head off etc... making daddy and mummy sweat la. Moreover my hubby pretty hands off one.. cant even change diaper or do feeding. Cant bath baby. Cant make baby sleep etc... I told him this trip maybe like an OBS course for me! Hope I can survive!

So I need to seek some advise from you ladies esp if u ve brought bb overseas before! How to survive flight, boat ride, beach, sand, sun, hotel stay etc..

Now I am very worried over what bb can eat when overseas and on plane. As my girl doesnt like milk and cant talk milk well..I am actually not sure if I can/should feed milk when on the plane. Also my gal doesnt use pacifier so what can i do to make it less painful for her ears huh? Also when baby is overseas, how do u cook porridge? or what do you feed baby when holidaying? Can survive juz on bottled puree? How ah? Pls advise!!! I am thinking of bringing my own cooker to cook porridge leh. Then I must also bring blender?!?!? Sounds a bit kua zhang hor! Plus milk, cereal,puree, pillow,toys etc?

ica : I also dun ve pre-made stock unlike some mothers... So yong xin to cook the stock! My method same as yours but less variety coz my gal everything also cannot take! Now her 9th and 10th teeth emerging liao yet her throat cant take anything more textured than smooth smooth puree [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Also like to check if anyone is preparing to change milk to the second/third stage one? My gal is on Enfalac mixed with frisco comfort. And frisco comfort only up to 12 mths leh. That means i need to switch to enfagrow 100%. I dunno if my gal's stomach can take it or not. anything and everything to do with food/milk intake super worrying.. and every mealtime is like fighting a battle! gosh.. battle coming one year soon liao ! wonder when will it stop! sometimes really feel like snapping leh... esp when I am home alone with baby. Actually by now I should ve gotten used to being home alone with baby la.. juz that its super tiring and challenging. sometimes wanna pee also cannot! Esp now that bb so mobile.. head turn away for a few second bb gone from sight! aiyo

Hi carol,

No I live in Jurong west but my boys nanny stay at bukit panjang. Then, I try to look around somewhere CC 2-3 hrs playgroup for my boys on next year, may be walking distance near to fajar shopping centre, do you have any CC to recommen ?

atomic,

so envy to know u r heading to Maldives. I brought my bb 5x outside of spore frm 4-10mths old..,

food for baby

I brought 2 type of cereal & baby snacks in my previous trips since he was still between 4-7months old.

think cereal is sufficient for him.

I bought avent blender steamer in our recent trip (2 weeks ago) since we will be away for 11 days... scared if I did not feed him porridge for 11 days, later come back doesn't want to eat porridge.

on the plane

try to bring some toys for yr baby to play... otherwise they will get bored & cranky.,, so far my boy is still ok on the flight

only on our recent trip, the 1st 2 nites he was cranky bcs of the cold weather. Hb forgot to closed window at nite when the weather outside is 0 degree!!! I only realized on the 3rd day... stupid me!!!

since Maldives will be very hot, I think it is advisable to buy baby sunblock for yr bb. my bb skin was dry & peeled off when the weather drop to -5 & snow for 2 days!!!

so it's better to get everything well prepared before u fly off...

enjoy yr trip & enjoy the bonding :p

atomic,

if yr girl doesn't like to drink milk, let her suck pacifier/ water when the plane take off/ landing..,my boy also does not like to drink milk

btw, I always bring my baby booster for any trips... :p...

ica, chez

i hve heard loads abt photobooks fr other mommies but duno know much abt them. is it basically like printing out pics and having them bind-up like a book for us? or is it more like collage pages which we have to design ourselves?

where is this website in malaysia that offers 75% off 80 page?

sorry for sounding quite sua-ku :p ... tks

atomickitten

can give water instd of milk. bring usual favourite toys along bec it has calming effect when they get stressed. i usually buy the ready made puree to bring along when travelling for ease and so far so good. i usually get a few extras to try out 1st so in case its a flavor that is not liked, then i dont buy that particular one for the trip [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

atomic..

get the sleeping medication from yr PD or GP. tt will make bb sleep thru the flight hence less fuss..this weekend bb will be heading to genting on a coach ride. i only can say god bless my hubby coz i will nt be going..YEH YEH YEH YEH !!!!!... 3 nites of mask + spa + facial for mi in singapore. and most impt..SLEEP!!

he will be going with my MIL and maid and also his sisters family.

In sept we will be heading to HK for a 5 days trip. His 1st flight on board. u can bring up milk powder and bottles. can request the water from the flight attendants. coz flight don't allow water duno more then how many ML to be onboard.

if intend to keep bb awake. then toys, their pillow or bolster(which eva works better). n also cereal powder or bottle puree if wanna make feeding.

AK - how nice...to maldives... if your ger dun mind Happy Bellies instant cereal, i think plus a few jar puree of diff flavours, she should be doing fine...

You can bring in water to the cabin cuz you can just tell them its for baby... i passed through 4 500ml bottle water (and we were only bound for Phuket) :p

Hi mummies, how’s everyone? Went to the supermarket last weekend and realized all the milk powder increased price by like, $5? Now K’s milk is like $83 for a 1.8kg tin…

PrettyMummy,

i intend to enroll my gal to ichinban montessori or play skool since both are near to my house then my gal's nanny can walk n fetch her bek..

anyway, i not yet do any survey since i not yet decide when to enroll her to playgroup..

btw, i heard my sil said Apple Tree not bad too..i think there is a branch in Bukit Panjang..

Sk, u buy from supermarket ar? so ex leh...i normaly get from the distributors. find it much cheaper compare to supermaket by 2-4buckz. some household items also order thru the distributors as the price is like difference of 1 buckz too. esp luke's cereal.

the only thing is buy in bulks loh...my storeroom is filled with his items.

AK: Maldives! How nice... Enjoy ur trip!

PrettMummy, Carol: I am also planning to send my boy to 2 hour playgroup near my home, then have nanny pick him up. Do u know if we still pay nanny the same when BB is away for 2 hours daily?

Ica: can u email me the details of the musikgarten trial this sat again? Dunno why but all my mails in my yahoo inbox went missing!? Thanks.

vernie: i nvr ask my nanny before..but my boss said he still pay his nanny the same price although his daughter attend playgroup acy..

not sure when to send my bb to playgroup..but 18 mths is it too small for bb since they might not even able to talk properly?

AK: Maldives! So shiok. I still don't dare to bring kayden overseas. Wanted to bring him on a cruise but don't know why fully booked till end of august. Sian!

Lasery2k: got such medication meh? Hubby would love to get it. Haha! Coach ride to Genting not tedious for baby meh?

hi mommies! i'm looking for a preowned Fisher Price Rainforest Jumperoo. If you've one to sell, pls do let me know by PM the price, condition and location. many thanks!

Lasery: which distributor u buy from? Yup I always buy from supermarket coz initially quite sceptical about the distributors… only recently I went to the Kim Sang medical hall in Pioneer and they confirmed with me that Luvbabies is under their company. So now I only know of Luvbabies, their milk powder also went up by $5, but still cheaper. Need $200 for free delivery but my girl is going to start new formula for 1 yr le, so kinda not practical to buy 3x1.8kg tins… and also I wanna make sure she can adapt well to the new formula before I buy it in bulk.

SK, ya i went to luvbabies too...i notice the price went up like 2 mths ago le..but as compare to outside still alot cheaper leh. coz i buy really in bulks...i make stock up for 2 mths supply everytime de..=X tt's y my storerm always flooded with his things.

mi normally buying is 8 cans of nan pro 3 ( changing soon to friso or pedisure..haven confirm coz nan 3 is 10 mths onwards til dun when)

then 8 can of friso rice cereals, some diapers n some household items. every 2 mths will spend like 300 plus. so confirm hit the target. lolx.

Ann: yes there's a medication for bb to sleep during flight and safe for infants. coz his GP young kids also always flies during school holidays. Doc rich mah...then tt time we told him our worries on the flight. he say aiya donit worri, be4 u fly the day be4 come n get the medication then use when waiting for the flight.

erm this is the 2nd time he go genting liao. the other time when he was 6mths. we went together with my mum. So far ok..he sleep n sleep but after tt come back abit time lag coz slep too much on the rocking bus. the return trip is in the day...

but this time round i think he will create chaoz n havoc on the bus coz he know how to move around n know how to fuss over things. lets bless them..hahaha

carol: I think i will likely pay nanny the same. I am also not sure when to send bb to playgroup. 18 mths seems rather young . My fren asks me to delay till 24 mths to build up their immunity first.

lasery: I think Nan Pro 3 is from 10 mths till 3 years old. My boy is on Nan HA 2 and I am planning to change to Nan Pro 3 soon. Why do you want to change from nan pro 3 to friso or pediasure? Pediasure is for those bbs who are not eating well lei…

vernie,

the can nv indicated leh...tt's y loh. duno. i tried nan HA for him for a week coz tt time he grow teeth then gt a bit diarrhea..but HA don't taste nice for mi.. so disgusting the taste..lolx but he drink until like very shoik leh. the nan pro 3 and nan HA same taste wor..

coz they offer higher age range products. like 2 years n above. Pediasure is for bb nt eating well? My nephew who is eating well also taking tt wor.

aiyo....confuse leh..wanna slim him dwn but nt loosing the nutris tts needed for him...

lasery: Last time I called nestle, they told me nan pro 3 is till age 3. You may want to call them to double check. If you want to slim your boy down, then perhaps should not intro pediasure first. When abbott called me to ask if I want free Gain IQ sample, I asked them about pediasure and they say it is for bb not eating well. Maybe u call abott and check?

vernie...ahhh...

ok ok i call them n check on the nan pro 3..then like tt i think better nt give him pedisure liao..ltr he over weight or his mum arm break 1st. phy aready say he is of good mass liao..tt's like 2 weeks after he discharge from hospital loh. imagine he can gain bk so fast.

now my bjorn is sitting in my room n rotting on the rack le..can't use on him anymore. too long the legs. and his weight will burise the shoulder.

vernie: i intend to enroll my bb to playgroup when she turns to 2 yrs old too..heard 1 of my friend said her son got HFMD from CC, a bit scary..

lasery2k: last time i called abott CS, he claimed that Pediasure is for those under weight baby or choosy baby..

it has higher contains in carbohydrate, so if your bb is normal bb, it might caused ur bb over weight later. Hope it helps.

Enjoy your trip, AK. Both you & BB deserves this holiday le!

So good that u guys can travel with your BB. My HB simply refuses to, until BB turns 2 y/o.

Wanted to go on Royal Carribean cruise within Asia, but that cruiseliner very limited slots only May and Nov I think.

Planning to go France next yr to visit my sis & her family, by then my boy will turn 2 y/o liao..

so envy.. at least u all get to bring bb oversea with family, hubby...

hai.. my cousin organize to go on cruise this coming nov for 6 days 5 nights... but my hubby say he got no time.. >_<|||

Than my same cousin organize to go hainan dao this coming oct for 6 days 5 night.. but my hubby say too young for galen to take flight & go oversea.. He say he scare this scare that.. >_<||| Then he say, y not i go myself... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] sianz~~ spoilt mood... what a stupid hubby i have.... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Than my same cousin say, y not drive in to genting this coming july... GuESS what my hubby reply... He say, wow so dangerous ar... drive in all the way to genting??!!! Baby galen sure cannot make it de... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] PLus faith confirm also inpatience de... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Wow.. he win liaoz.. everything he sure got reasons to shoot me back.. like tat i guess my whole life don need to go oversea le... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Shit him.... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

AK: so nice to be able to go on a trip with baby. yes, you definitely deserve it. have a great time!

tek koh: no, you're not suaku. i've only heard of photobook.com after my ML. and i thot it was something newly launched! hahaha. that 75% discount promo has ended, it was only for 48 hrs. the promo now is 50% off any books (i think), ending next week. photobook.com has websites in almost all countries, even Spore and their promos are not country specific. depends on which site you register with, you'll get emails from them on news, promos, etc. it has a software which you must download - it comes with pre-formatted page layouts but you can choose to have your own style

i must say that their customer service is good. this is my 1st time using them. they emailed me to inform me that the cover of my photobook has a text box which i forgot to delete. asked me to amend and re-upload before it goes into production. if not, it will definitely spoil the whole book - imagine a text box with the words in red "edit text here" on the cover! hehe

vernie: have sent the email to your yahoo account. see ya this Sat!

mrslong: you can forget about that cruise line or maybe that particular ship that comes to Asia during those 2 months. my sis is now on Legends of the Seas sailing to IndoChina, Shanghai and she told me that luckily my mom & my baby didn't tag along (that was the initial plan) - substandard. this liner does the Europe circuit and only comes to Asia during those 2 months, the low season in Europe. They have one called Oasis of the Seas and from posters, it's like an island!

ica>> U mean Royal Carribean cannot make it ah? Ya, I know they specialise in Europe/Americas cruise and only comes to Asia once every few mths but thought wanna try them out cuz I've been to Star Cruises...so-so nia, so thought Royal Carribean might be different.

Cuz for cruise my HB dun mind bringing BB along lor.

BTW, any mummies already done with your BB's 1st yr old BD party planning?

My boy's BD celebration is on 23 & 24 Jul but I've already confirmed caterer (Angel Restaurant catering), cakes (ovencreations & sweetest moments for cupcake) & gift bags & decor/balloons(ordered from partycity.

BTW, I don't intend to use helium to fill the balloon but by using "human air" to blow them.

Anyone has any idea where can I buy those streamers to tie the balloons to the ceiliing of the wall and also get those sticks that can hold the balloon type?

Sorry to disturb your thread.

I have some items to let go.

1. Desitin Creamy 4oz (Blue packaging) (Expiry Jun 2012) - $8.50

2. Desitin Creamy 2oz (Blue packaging) (Expiry Jun 2012) - $5.50

3. California Baby Calendula Cream 4 oz (Expiry 2013) - $25

4. California Baby Calendula Cream 2 oz (Expiry 2013) - $15.50

Please PM me if you are interested.

Jumperoo

Sorry to disturb Mommies. I posted earlier about the FP rainforest jumperoo but realise my PM was off. have activated it. If anyone has a jumperoo to sell, pls do PM or email me at [email protected] Thanks!

shucks lah, HB once again refuses to bring our baby along even for the trip to Club Med.

Hersey: u r not alone lor.

I really dunno what my HB is scared of. Kept saying bb is too young to travel, etc. Pls lor, its not even asking him to bring bb overseas to far country. To Club Med Phuket where they hv baby facilities, clean & safe, he also don't feel comfortable. Making me so pissed off.

dear mummies..thanx for all the tips and advises! appreciate loads! Haha I wonder how can i enjoy when bb is stuck to me 24/7! Then if she refuses to drink milk and eat ...I am gg to get all stressed/frustrated/helpless etc etc... hee hee

But I think I will get more excited as the date draw nearer ba! Seems like many things to pack and prepare leh tho its a short trip.

Chelz : wow you so adventurous ah! brought baby to so many places liao! and even snowy places!how did you do it? tough or not? Baby got prob adapting to new places? thats one of my worries. Actually my hubby and I bought winter clothing for 9 mths old baby gal when I was pregnant..we were thinking that by around that age we should be able to bring baby to further places.. haha how naive hor! Now to even go for any playdates in Singapore n in friend's house we already scared n worried until cannot go! Everytime we see the cute cute winter clothings ..we will laugh and remind each other of our wishful thinking! hee hee

Mrs long : dun be upset with yr hubby. He has baby's interest at heart i believe. Who wouldnt like to go holiday right? Actually my hubby and I feel that if bring baby overseas at young age.. they also wont remember a thing. Having said that.. of coz we are gg to take loads of pic to show bb next time la:p We only decided to bring baby for her first flight bcoz we felt that we ve shortchanged bb by not having a first bday bash with frens and relatives! Guilt-stricken! So the best alternative is to bring her somewhere and 3 of us can spend time as a family to celebrate her bday [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

And also I am gg to bring baby for her very first photo shoot leh! That I am excited but my hubby already "warned" me against wanting every photo and ended up burning a hole in pocket[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

You know..I ve no maternity shoot or any studio photoshoot with baby till now leh!Already saved a lot of money what! I ordered a two tier fondant cake for the photoshoot and also to cut with my immediate family before we go for our trip.

Sometimes I feel I ve shortchanged baby so much and that feeling sucks! I only wish baby can grow stronger and slowly gain weight and grow healthily then I will "pay back" everything I "owe" or ve "shortchanged" her! I keep telling baby that once she can feed better, mummy will bring her everywhere and not coop up at home or only go ama's house and nearby places or short short outings only... I hope that day will come soon! I am tired of my daily battle with her R..

btw..to those mummies who managed to do photobooks! steady la! how did your find time to do it one! I wish I can do a few books as well but hands so tied.. so tired every night.. i wonder when then I can find time to do. I took so many pics of my baby gal but I dun even ve the chance to send for developing leh! Can uplaod fb already like a mini-achievement liao!

Recently my hubby and I toy with the tot of employing a maid and give it another try. Then we think n think n think.. we both decided to drop the idea again! I tell myself tahan tahan tahan.. once baby can feed better then I also can like some of you..to consider sending bb to some playgroup/cc or something then hopefully I finally can have some "ME" time le!!![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

AK: I think u r doing a great job taking care of yr gal so don't feel that u "owe' yr gal by not be able to bring her out that often. There wld be plenty of chances to when she grows a little older & better.

Ya, I know my HB also had bb's interest at heart but the thing is he wants to go holiday with me only now cuz he feels that if we bring bb along, sure won't enjoy. But I also dunno if I go w/o my boy, will I enjoy or not cuz I will miss my bb lor. Yet part of me wants to go for a short break to relax. Haiz. Such dilemma of a mum.