(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

Vernie,

We gave baby cereal plus fruit/vege puree. Only started giving him porridge when he has like 10+ months old, when we started to give him meat with porridge.

Phy: I see, thanks...my plan is something like that too, intro porridge with meat later at 7 or 8 mths...

Avent VIA cups: I have lots of these from the bundle purchase when I bought the Avent steamer cum blender. Can i use them to store puree? Or baby cubes is better?

Morning!!! Help!! Urgent!!!

Any mummies can lend me Babybjorn carrier for 2 weeks! Will collect Frm u guys.. Pleasse. Need it by this sat for bro wedding.

vernie,

yes, can store puree in the Avent VIA cups but they take up space vs. cubes

re: frozen puree

JTS, if you can, try to give baby fresh purees instead of making batches to freeze then thaw them when time to feed. it's more convenient to do batches lah but some nutrients may be lost when you thaw the purees, just like frozen BM.

phy - thanks for the banana tip... usually we buy small ones... good to see you back here hahaha.... oh i also bought a small whisk (those jap type) to whisk the bm into avo meat... smoother can also strain out the fibrous part. at this moment, i also mash for the daily use...think the feeding quantity too small to warrant bulk puree.... I love avocado shake... those K cant finish one, I will finished them up myself....haha usually i dun take my own BM, but in avo shake its nice cuz BM is sweet!! kekekeke

hello mummies, i'm a sahm n new to this forum. i have a baby girl born in july 2010. hoping to knw more mummies esp those with a baby of same age. would love to join gatherings too. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi mummies, wanna ask u guys have you notice that bb's poo is very smelly after feeding semi solids?

Last night I feed my girl a few mouth of Heinz puree apples. In the morning, her poo is really VERY VERy smelly!! :p Is it normal? or is it an allergy?

hi sun tan! yes, she's my 1st child. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] what bout yourself?

does the group usually meet on weekdays or weekends? would love to join.

SK - shaking BM is inevitable if you have to put it in fridge. I dun really whisk the avo + BM like whisking egg, I will mash as much as possible with spoon/fork before I slowly dripped in BM and stir as little as i could possibly do... But instead of shaking the BM real forcefully, I always swirl the bottle instead to mix the fats and milk... takes longer time to mix...

Babycoco,

Hmm, I think big ones should be alright bah.. just that I find the small ones taste better [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Eliss,

Ya, me slowly recovering from my trip [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] but still feel so tired..once back in town gotta shop for xmas stuff.. just had one xmas party last weekend at my place.. then next few days parties again.. Fri is Big R 3rd BD party ...Siong har..

Next week meet up for lunch?

How was ur Malacca trip?

apple,

Welcome, if there's any meetups, just come join us [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hi ladies!!!! how's everyone?

I ve MIA for very long! juz some updates to share.. It has being almost 6mths and I'm still struggling n battling witIh my gal thats why no time and energy to log in here. Most times I can only use my iphone to browse thru forum and facebook during feeding. I'm very envious that most of you can bring bb out for gatherings and outing. I keep waiting for the day that i can bring my gal out with confidence but my hubby and I feel that as long as her feeding prob is not resolved ..its very difficult to bring her out. Anyway I m really hoping to join the bday bash with my gal.. by then she would be 1 year old liao.. should be ok i hope!

If anyone of you rem.. my bb was overfed by my confinement nanny and since then she suffers from very bad reflux. Couldnt keep her feed and keep vomitting at every feed. Consulted too many docs... and Now at almost 6 mths, her condition finally stabilised with strong medication which are to be continued indefinitely. She still vomit every now and then but at least not every feed. Doc advised me to wean at 4 mth and after almost two mths she is still not eating well. Her milk intake is also miserably low.. on good days abt 550ml only (not forgetting she usually does throw out ... ). There was a period of time it was so bad that she couldnt even take in 200ml in a day and whatever goes in comes out before long. Also my gal hasnt grown out of her phobia for teats n bottles and i have never been able to feed her when she is awake! This is also the reason why I couldnt bring her out like all of you [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Coz i can only feed her when she is asleep. And the prob with dreamfeeding is that she often choke in her sleep and threw up again.sighz! At coming to 6 mths ..she can only drink 100ml if I m lucky. Each feed usually takes 30 to 90mins. I m really exhausted,drained & very much disheartened. But I should really count my blessing coz my gal is a very happy bb otherwise.. so as long she is not made to eat or drink she is happy & playful. Anyone who saw her photos at fb cant believe that she is so unwell n difficult! She is still very small and very much underweight. Very fragile one! Feeding has been so stressful coz once she start to suckle I couldnt move a bit in case she wakes up or choke. I unknowingly bit on my lips n hold my breadth until i realised that my lips r bleeding and I get nightmares even tho i m so sleep deprived!

Tonight is my off day coz my mum is helping me to take care of my gal! I m finally taking a break and will be going for a holiday with my hubby on xmas eve. Tomo we are gg to bring bb to town for a hair cut followed by doc appt so that we can replenish her medicine. I know what the doc gonna tell me again.. that my bb isnt growing much. Very sad. But I really tried very hard to feed her and to help her keep her feed down. I very yong xin le!Sobz! Doc recommended milk powder for premature babies so as to add calories n hoping that my gal can gain weight but after reading much negative feedbacks on the web,..my hubby and I decided not to try that.

sorry for the long post.... glad to see everyone is coping well! Merry xmas in advance in case i gotno chance to log in to post again! But i often log on to read while feeding juz that i couldnt type on my phone with one hand! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

bbliss.. I very lousy! I nearly collapsed twice due to sheer exhaustion! And I cried soooo much during confinement and after! Each time she projectile vomitted my heart breaks n sinks...And as I wanted my gal to drink more, I wake up 3 times at night to dream feed. But she takes like 60 - 90min to drink 45 - 60ml.. thats why I'm like perpetually feeding or rather trying to feed n totally zonked out! until I nearly collapsed! My mum n sis came to my rescue. Then coz of my bad experience with nanny.. I didnt allow my maid to handle my bb or get near her! I only allow her do bb's laundry! Bottles n all I washed n sterilised myself coz I caught her never sterilised a couple of times lor... Now I maidless!

Ak,

A pat on the back for u! Great job done. Ya I saw ur Vera's photos in fb. Such a pretty n smiley girl u have got! Hopefully she will outgrow her reflux soon.

Apple juice,

Mine is a boy n first bb too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] normally the meetups are on weekdays lunch cos weekends r family day. But I dun mind meeting on weekends cos hubby needs to work on weekends n I m usually home alone with my boy.

AK: Glad to hear tat ur girl is getting better and u r taking a break with ur hubby. U've been through so much u deserve a holiday. Didn't know that the cause of ur girl's reflux problem is from overfeeding by the nanny. This nanny should be blacklisted!! Take care and enjoy ur holiday!

Hi AK,

long time never hear from you. Was about to go zzz, came to read the posts - it's like my bedtime reading. lol

well, so long as bb is happy and now that you've found some effective meds, bb is on the road recovery - yay! think of it this way: it's not a problem - it's just a phase which will pass. With faith, all things are possible, ya.

I saw your bb's pic on fb (u hv her as your profile pic) and she doesn't look under-nourished at all! she looks just like any healthy baby and she has very nice features [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

enjoy your holiday. Recharge, rejuvenate for I'm sure next year will be a great year for you [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

AK : My boy is born premature when he was born he is merely at 2kg. Just my opinion, maybe you should consider what Doc says about introducing milk powder for premature babies as during that time my son was introduced premature milk powder and with that his weight has improved tremendously.Had stop giving him milk powder for premature baby after his first month eversince we find that his weight has increased. So far he has been very healthy thus not sure what's the negative feedback on the web is about. Its must be very tiring for you. You deserved a good break... Do have fun in your holiday [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ica: thanks for the update [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ak: hihi, i agree with the others , bb vera is such a pretty gal n her hair!! wow ! nice eyes too.u have done really well ak. enjoy your holiday w hubby.. u def need n deserve it .

applejuice: welcome to the forum.. me first time mum too. Do join when they have gatherings.. they are all very nice..haha btw which part of singapore are u staying at?

AK: your baby has GER relux? must b v tough. my baby also projectile vomits. recently after every feed, some milk will come up. but i knw it's becoz she's a bit greedy (breastfed but loves to keep latched even whn full) becoz her weight is ok. can b quite frustrating whn milk is everywhere... bed, me, her. lots of changing to do. hang in there! maybe she might improve as she gets older. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] u must b doing smthg gd w her for her to b so cheery.

i also understand your situation of only typing with one hand coz that's me too most of the time. I have a high need baby who can't sleep or nap without me. so i'm often lying on the bed whilst she's latched, with my netbook propped sideways, typing with one hand. it gets really tiring but at least i get to surf the net. :p i grab all opportunity to sit up and type with 2 hands as soon as she is in deep sleep, but that doesn't last long... do any mommies here have high need babies too? how do you cope?

phy, sun tan, geri: thank u! i wld love to join on wkdays! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] i live in tampines. so excited to find so many nice mommies here! nice to meet you all!

this post is typed with a combination of 1 hand and then both... :p

Jastine - my boy also poo very smelly after i start giving him rice cereal, so i think is normal.

Hi AK, I am new to this forum. Dont worry too much about bb weight, my bb also very underweight 6.4kg at 5mth but as long as bb is active and well should be no prob 1. For reflux, my bb also have bad reflux last time cannot take my bm will confirm vomit out so PD suggest to mix with enfalac AR which thicken the milk and after that he spit out less milk and now no more so mayb u can try to thicken the milk. Hugs, take care and enjoy ur holiday.

Hi apple_juice!

I also first time mum [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] staying in the west. Are you a SAHM?

AK: Enjoy your long deserved break. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ak,

Hugs.. u are so wei da! I think u really are a great mother. U have done whatever u can to look after ur little V.

I'm sure in time to come, u will have the confidence to bring her out to meet the rest of us [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Go and enjoy ur break. Good to let go for a short while and then come back, fully recharged to look after V again [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jiayou!

yukidog,

6.4kg at 5mths is underweight? i brought my girl see doc yest nite n she weighs 6.4kg oni wor but doc says the weight is good

hi charliebrown! yes, i'm a sahm to a baby girl. what bout yourself? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

yukidog: there r different growth charts for formula n breastfed babies. formula fed babies r usually bigger n heavier at the same age. if urs is breastfed, n looking at formula chart, it will seem like u have a small baby. 6.4kg sounds ok.

apple_juice: I'm going to be SAHM soon starting in Feb, cos going to tender in Jan and serve one mth notice. Wanted to tender at the start of the pregnancy, but frds all asked me dong till maternity leave. But I think I will go back to the workforce after bb turns 1 year or so. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] If not budget will be v tight.

AK - Hugzzzz....she is a strong gal and u are a Great Mommy..Baby gal know tat k..stay forcus n positive..she will outgrown her reflux prob [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

suika & yukidog,

my boy is only 6.8kg now at 5mths+

coming 6mth this sunday.. IS he underweight too??

I also worried for his weight gain.... =(

yukidog,

ur doc told u he's 10%tile?

Jasline,

i oso worried so i ask yest but he said her weight was good

charliebrown,

u gonna b SAHM?? that's nice....u'll b able to witness alot of stuffs watching them grow up each day

Jasline - Think i should not use the word underweight rather than small baby hee. I also quite worried initially but PD say as long bb active then is ok and can start solid (rice cereal) if concern will help bb to gain more weight.

suika - doc just say he is small for his age so ask me to start cereal. But doc say not too worry too much still have time for him to slowly catch up. For the percentile is i chk myself from the healthbook.

hi apple juice: welcome to the group!

phy: miss u leh! must meet up soon.

AK: jia you!!! your girl girl will get better with all ur love =) Enjoy ur holiday. me also going for a short getaway on boxing day.

bb weight: my boy is only 6.6kg at 5th month. PD says he's on 25th percentile but ok. In fact, he has constantly been on 25th percentile so his weight gain is normal. and he is super active and developing his skills well so should be fine.

meet-up: I think next week got a gathering on 29th Dec at 2pm. But as it's after lunch hours, I cannot make it. me, pris & sun_tan would be meeting on 28th (Tue) at city hall for lunch. Anyone else wanna join? Do let me know.

Im from the Dec 2010 mummies thread.

Can I check if any of you brought your babies to the polyclinic for the 1month Hep B jab? Can we walk-in for the jab?

My confinement lady is leaving on Mon and when I called to make appointment, they told me no appointment for Mon. And they kept emphasizing that no appointment = no jab (ask to go home). Im wondering what about those who didnt call their hotline to enquire.

Did any one tried just walk-in for the jab at polyclinic and didn't get turn down?

i'm going to start my boy on his 1st solid when he turns 5mths in another week.

seems like a daunting task cuz i really hv no idea how to go abt doing it le.

thought of starting him on brown rice or cereal 1st. Wld be thankful if any of the mummies can advice me on the following:

1. Can I buy brown rice/cereals that are meant for 6mths & abv babies?

2. I should start to feed my boy only 1 teaspoon 1st during his noon time feed? Currently, he's drinking 150ml of milk...so if I feed him solids, I should reduce his milk feed by half?

3. If I'm going out with the BB, how should I prepare & store the food?

tks!

yukidog,

think tonite i oso go check on her percentile status....i oso worry she's on the lighter side

Irene,

oh u not coming on 29th?....take halfday lah....heehee

Mrslong:

I just started semi solids on my boy for about 1.5 weeks. Started with his noon time feed. When I prepare the cereal for my boy, I mixed with 1 scoop of FM. So, when I give him his milk feed, I just reduce by 1 scoop (about 30ml), not half. Plan to slowly reduce the milk feed as he takes more cereal/puree.

When going out, I guess you can pack the rice cereal in containers, just like how we bring FM powder out. Then prepare the cereal when it is time to feed bb? I’ve not tried feeding cereal outside though. Perhaps some other mummies can advice?