(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

Jasmine,

once he scratches, rashes will get worse. Heat also worsens condition. Dry skin causes itch as well.

I use the White swaddling blanket or swaddle me to swaddle my son to stop him from rubbing face at night.

Or there is this swaddling cloth, miracle blanket, that can be used to swaddle bb tightly. It is sold in mothercare. But remember swaddling is hot for bb, so dress bb lightly n switch on air con.

The dermotologist I took my #1 too gave me elomet(very strong steroid) for my #1 then coz his rashes was very bad. Even his scalp was covered with rashes. He told me hydrate hydrate plus hydrate.

Try the calendula. Takes abt a week of diligence to see results. Meanwhile, must stop bb from scratching / rubbing

Quartzie, let me know if the diaper is good. I'm still trying to find the perfect diaper for my bb. For some reason poo leaks when she wears mamy poke. I'm tring pampers now.

Ann, I'm going to Tangs. You want me to help you get anything?

abt the rashes....i went for dematology for my bb cradle cap (very bad case)...n also face rashes n ear enzymes....

cost $120 first consultation with 1 tube of medication...2 weeks now everything gone..might wanna give it a try...

the head can't even see a flake n the hair r growing out...

location at paragon.

maybe getting more sleep will prevent hair loss.

Babycoco, you might wanna try Goon. I love it ever since I started using it on my little one. Pretty good and is not as bulky as Mamypoko.

2 more days before I go back to work. Sianz... I think I am gonna miss my gal. Sigh, if even a choice, I would choose to look after her rather than going to work.

thks sillyhp & lasery ...

My son is 3months +++ and he is a quite big size boy, can miracle blanket cover him tightly ? i will go down to mothercare tampines mall branch if it can. it is quite difficult to tie his hand tightly sometimes...

hope you dun mind to give me your dermotologist contact.

really thanks to share your experience....

Babycoco the diaper absorbency reali quite gd but the cons is dat it doesn't snug dat well on her butt. Can pass u sample let u try.

hi xbeanniex,

regarding your comment above -

"as last time my cousin bb time got lots of face rash n body rash, everyone thought was about food n skin problem etc. then turn out to be, bb is allergy to the detergent use to wash bb's clothes n thus cause rashes when bb wear the clothings. wash till clean clean the clothes ready but still got rashes. once change the detergent, the rashes goes off within 1 week."

can u kindly help advise which brand of detergent your cousin changed to? thanks...

Jamine,

How big is your boy? My #2 is now 7.5kg n 67cm long and I am using the white swaddle blanket from TMC to swaddle him at night when there is a need. For Swaddle me, he is wearing Size L. I have not tried miracle blanket though.

http://www.miracleblanket.com/

Dermatologist is located at Paragon Medical Centre

Goh K.S. Skin Clinic #09-20/21 6735 0111 Dr Goh Kim Soon

jasmine, my boy is also using swaddle me blanket size L...it's one item that we cannot live without. He needs it to sleep every single night...one night i forgot that all of the swaddles were in the wash, and there was no sleep for everyone in the family that night! although now that he has learnt how to flip, i am wondering if i should start to wean him off so that he can adjust his arms if he flips over when sleeping...

sillyhp,

the white blanket from TMC ? it seem very small size. i did not swaddle my bb since he discharged from hospital, he seem very uncomfortable or maybe i did not swaddle him properly.

Hi Allie,

may be you can train him slowly. if you swaddle him , can he sleep thru the night ?

hi jasmine,

if i swaddle him, he sleeps a stretch of 7-8 hr then wakes up for a feeding then sleeps another 3-4 hrs after that...if no swaddle, there is no falling asleep! (he does break free from his swaddle during his sleep...arms would be out and we would not reswaddle...)

cheese -- may i ask what you are concerned about? the gum?

cheese -- my bb is being stubborn and refuses to open up the mouth...i thought his gum has that white line too though...sorry, hopefully another mommy here can help!

Just to share that my friend has just bought some Coach wristlets & lanyards from US and wish to sell them at $80 each. Some of the items are shown below.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/4739559.jpg]

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/4739560.jpg]

Please refer to the http://s1217.photobucket.com/albums/dd399/keri_yong/Coach%20Wristlets%20and%20Lanyard%20-%20For%20Sale/

for the pictures on all the items. If interested, please PM me.

hi mummies.. recently my tailbone hurts a lot when sitting down.. just like back to pregnancy time but it is much more painful. anyone experienced this?

Irene I oso tot of ordering fr there. Otherwise will buy during the parenthood fair [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

sweetkiss i don't have pain at tail bone but gt backache esp when put baby on bed and I have to bend and change diapers. U better go c doc if the pain persist.

Quartzie: I scare that the mat that I want will be OOS at the fair so I order from BP. me kiasu hahaha. And Expo is super fair from me, so if no other good deals, I might not wanna go down. You'll be going to the fair? If yes, help me look out for some stuff ok?

SK: I think you better go and c doc. One of my friend realised her pelvic/tail bone (can't remember which one) got dislocated some weeks after delivery. To be safe, better see doc.

chicky: that time was using Dynamo, then after that change to use what I never notice as that was 15yrs ago ! =x so sorry about it, i rmber well becos everyone uses Dynamo in the family n till now... only this bb gal till now cannot use Dynamo to wash her clothes...

sito : my HB n I got the nania car seat @ $159 ! good catch too ! hahaha and we manage to get 3 pcs of 12-18 mths rompers too... left with mostly 0-3 mths or 3-6mths rompers...

morning mommies!

claudia,

okie, took baby out over the weekend, with her in her carseat. not hot (at least she wasn't sweating) and she was very comfy in it. slept on the way home and only woke up when the reverse sensors sounded. heee...but the weather over the weekend was quite cool, so not a very good test lah

anyway, saw this britax carseat on offer at mothercare, west mall. the material is the same as my inglesina (well, looks the same to me lah), just that the newborn insert is made of those velveteen material, which is hot. so, if you take away the NB insert, then it should be ok? anyway, for inglesina carseats, the NB insert is for up to 3mths. not sure about britax though

Can I ask when to stop letting bb wearing sock???

my boy now 4mths+ but i still let him keep wearing sock at home & outside lei...

should I only let him wear only wen he gng out?? at home than dun need to wear??

jasline,

do you mean socks or booties? my girl wears socks when out. at home, she doesn't wear socks and she sleeps with the aircond on at night. but i let her wear long sleeve top and long pants to sleep. these nights have been letting her wear booties as mittens to sleep at night to prevent her from scratching her ears. odd-funny kinda look. lol. want her to develop her motor skills and at the same time, prevent her from further scratches, hence the booties [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] anyway, over the weekend, she scratched her head! ouch!

Jasline: my bb oso nvr wear socks at hm but when going out will take a pair in bag incase go air con area will put on ... otherwise go other places w/o aircon will not wear.

quartzie/Irene : OMG dun scare me! Dislocated tail bone…I also got backaches but my hb keep telling me is due to epidural lor..

Jasline: my gal still wearing socks or booties daily. Cos her feet is always cold.. I prefer booties cos not tight fitting on the feet.

Now my gal’s feeding problem came back again. Refused to drink milk! Last nite drank halfway, suddenly cried till vomit everything out.

When I gave her dream feed 2 hrs later she cry and reject again. Did not ask for milk for 10 hrs!

I worried so I tried to latch her at 6am but she not keen. Bottle feed her, she drank half bottle.

Now everytime put teat in her mouth she starts pushing it out… I have to squeeze a few drops of milk in her mouth to let her taste a bit, then she is willing to drink.

Hi Sweetkiss,

my tail bone also v pain especially if I sit on solid surface for more than 30min. After that I will have difficulties of standing up.

My lower back also very pain when i change bb diaper or putting bb down on his bed.

My gynae told me some woman will have backache & pain tail bone after delivery. He said if this persist for more than 6 mths (from delivery date), then I will need to see him again.

Jasline,

I only let my boy wear socks when going out or when it is raining. At night he wears sleepsuits to bed. Recently his socks keep getting wet coz he sucks on his socks at times.

SK: u change the teats to faster flow for bb ?

Maybe the milk flow is too slow and bb is angry having to suck so hard yet only little milk flow out. my bb is like that for some days before infant care ask me to change her teats as she is angry being unable to drink her milk.

Chelz: u try to restrain from carrying heavy items and when u bend over to carry bb or do anything, try to sit down or squad dwn instead. as too much straining to the back will cause backache which at times will have very sharp pain. It could also be blood circulation on your back is not too good thus having backache. I have these problems right after confinement which Mdm Ida helps me to massage 2 mths after I delivered (as i EPI c-section delievery) and till now I dont have backache.

Still got to rmber not to exert too much pressure on ur back as we just delivered not long ago, our bones are still bristle especially normal delivery mothers when pelvic bone is expanded.

sweetkiss: I never take epidural also got backache lei...lower back will ache when i bend down to change bb diaper...

Chelz: really ah? but my pain only started recently.. then i guess i wait till another month see how...

xbeanniex: yes I “upgraded” her teat one week ago. I think is another moody phase for her. Brought her swimming on sat, she also like no mood, not kicking as vigorously as last time.

My boy just flipped successfully at 4mth 2days old~ so happy~! haa.. he even flipped during his napping time and cry...

Then pat pat him he continue to sleep again..

so adorable.

Btw,my back is painful too, i think is my posture. Mi also nv take epidural..

maybe cos carry bb

hi ladies, i think if your back pain from changing bb's diaper (coz bend down), maybe can buy a diaper changing table? i prefer it too because you can change diapers standing up and it's at a good level...

also, i saw that one mommy took bb swimming. which pool do you go to? can i bring bb down swim at pool downstairs? my mom and sis say cannot because too much chemicals... i also cannot find the disposable swim diapers...went to 2 different NTUC already...went to mothercare, only got swim pants, and costs 24 bucks!

Morning Allie,

I believe that yep we can bring our baby to the swimming pool already. Chlorine should kill whatever germs there are. However, not for too long lah! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

The disposable huggies swim diapers I saw at plenty of cold storages. Perhaps you can try cold storage/carrefour/jasons. NTUC normally carries a few brands only.

Allie, i brought her to this Hwa Xia baby swimming place at Plaza Sing..

They have a few outlets in SG. Your baby will be placed in an individual tub with a neck float.

No limited duration but 1st time my bb swam about 5 mins as I am afraid of overtiring her.

They provide swim diapers at an additional $2. You can check out their website http://www.babyswimming.com.sg/

regarding backache.. breastfeeding mommies should also becareful and try to supplement calcium into our bodies. I am very bad at that cos I dont really like to drink milk and I heard that too much calcium tablets can cause stones. Now that our babies are about 4mths old.. they are close to 7kg or more, so getting heavy to carry and rock them to sleep already! I rock for more than 10 mins can feel the pain at my back too

allie, jaclyn,

best to wait till after 6 mths to let baby swim in normal pool. chlorine is too harsh for baby's skin

allie,

if you still wanna let baby swim in pool, maybe after the pool has been cleaned? pools at condos are cleaned once a wk, i think, so can check with mgt which day cleaning is done

allie,

riding on what Sweetkiss said - some babies may not like it if the water's too cold. so at Hwa Xia, the tub is filled with warm water but of course, you can request for the water to be cooler if you want, and they change the water after each swim.

i'm taking my baby there for her swim until she reaches 6 mths old, then will let her get used to swimming in a pool. she's really enjoying herself and now can swim more than 30mins and still wanna continue [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

allie: Can bring bb to swimming pool lar... just rmber to bring towel to wrap bb up once out of water and do not stay in water for too long (maybe 15-30 min) depends on each bb. My bb will be in water till can see her eyebrows "crumble" or she "negh" then bring her for shower ready.

And make sure dry bb up immediately even before shower, so bb dont catch a cold. And after shower, massage bb's arms n legs as swimming can be tiring to them too. Apply lotion is a must as swimming pool have got this Chlorine which makes skin or even our hair pretty dry.

My HB's Sister's Condo there bb pool n Jacuzzi pool no ppl use around evening hrs... so bb and I use it! hahaha !

The swimming diapers can be found in most big supermarkets n Toys R Us! smallest size is Size M. No Size S.