(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

tmrw going to see my gynae...yeah, can see BB again finally, after a mth.

scare my weight is more than the required 2kg max I can gain p/mth, hehee.

mrslong - in e begining its me...i use to take e cups n plates to wash..cause i realli cant stand ANTS...bt nw..i cant b bother so long as e ANTS dnt go into my room..coz they reali cant be bother [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

LT: better sterlise and check is it still soft to use. Later cannot use then cham. Last min go where buy.

Mrslong: I thought need a doc & someone inject if epidural... wah need so many ppl each charge a fee ar? Give birth very EXP sia!

My hubby very nice to me one. Thats why when i read all the post today... i am shock! i din really realise i tot most hubby should be similar but i think not le. Must really thank my hubby ^^

My mother ask me dun buy the BB bed first... she din tell me but i can sense that she going check dates to buy it lor... dunno got such thing or not.

hmm tot of tryin out d CL. but do they provide d service for malay mtb? bcoz i see alot of u chinese ladies can get bck into shape as u were b4 pregnancy. malay people only eat jamu but they dnt slim down leh...

mrslong: Becos she say it is a waste of money to buy if someone can give it to you. Then say it is softer cos wash alot of times liao due to other BBies using them. I don't mind using hand down but the point is I dun know anyone who is using coth nappies.

ceres: For me, actually I wanted to engage a CL very early in my pregnancy cos gd CL get book up fast. But my mum say dun waste the $$ cos she can take 2 weeks leave and my MIL can take 2 weeks leave to do confinement for me. So I ok lo.. then until 2nd trimester, then she come and tell me it would be hard for her to take leave cos she dunno when i will give birth. Then no one to cook confinement food.. etc etc.. so all the problem starts to pop out.. so in the end, to make things easier for everyone, i engage a CL from agency. Problem solved.

LT: 20 yrs ago nappies.. that i would never never use lo. Haha!!

ceres: your hubby so sweet one! i purposely read your post aloud for my hubby who spilt water but act blur.. and he said your hubby spoil market...I wish i can read my hubby's mind and understand how it function!

Aisha, I thought it is the malay massage that helps a mother get back into shape after delivery. For the chinese, the CL's duty is to cook special confinement food (usually food with a lot of ginger) so that the mummy get all the nutrients back and "restore" the body since body will be weak after delivery. Sometimes the confinement food is so yummy that mummy put on weight! CL also take care of BB since mummy is supposed to rest and recuperate for at least 1 month.

Hai, been a super busy day for me today. Only manage to log into the forum now. Then so many post today! 2 pages..took me a full half hr to finish all the post!!

DQ and Serene

So I am not alone!! Cos my hubby also on shift work and he has to work on weekends too. Haa..next time if we need someone to accompany on weekends or go buy things, we can jio each other :p

Sweetkiss,

Let me know if you manage to get the same promo from f8angels or not. If not, maybe I can say is I recommend one and since we all in the same mth, haha ask if they can give u the promo price too.

Yvonne,

I also have this problem of auto-running, especially when catching the lift…my colleagues used to be very horrified when I do that..but nowadays, when we gg for lunch, one of them will promptly remind me NOT TO chase after the lift..lol..

Rgd nagging parents or in-laws, for my case, both sides seems equally “bo-chap”.. ahah so is it a lucky me? They let me do anything I want and so far, didn’t really comment much about my pregnancy. Next time my parents would be the ones helping me to look after my boy. Luckily my parents are quite modern and I dun foresee any problems with their taking care or teaching method (cos they alr well trained by my niece and nephew  ) As for MIL, she hinted that she doesn’t want to help us look after our bb, so all the more better this way :p Considering my parents, PIL and hubby, my hubby is the most naggy one..always this cannot eat, that cannot eat, or this cannot do, that cannot do…duhz..

May,

I also have this problem with cups. So what I do is that I got myself a small water bottle and use it as a cup. Will fill it with water and bring back to the room. In this way, if I am thirsty at night, I also dun need to go all the way out to the kitchen to pour water. We also been trying to ballot for a flat for the past 3 years but didn’t manage to get one, so went ard looking for resale. Once we found out that I was pregnant, we quick decided and settle for one of the flats. Ya, COV very expensive, but its worth it for the fact that I dun need to stay with my PIL anymore and have our own nest to “hide”.

Rgd function room, I can asked me dad to help me check if the function room is available on the 24th, but think it will cost $20 and my parent’s place is in the west, so not sure if you mommies is ok with the location or not. Let me know ya, if wan, I can call back and check.

Also nowadays, i realise i am getting more and more forgetful!!! Imagine i can forget to go for course and only realise it when i reached office and on my lappie. Then i was on the phone with my client and said that i will email her the doc after i put down the phone, but after that i completely forgot abt it...many other forgetful cases.. hubby still laugh at me, cos i used to complain that he is very forgetful..now he says that i am worst than him [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

mrslong>> thanks! decals look so nice.

DQ>> have been pretty tired recently..just pop by to keep up with postings but mind is too tired to post = )

Date: 24 Jul 2010 (sat)

time: evening

venue: TBA (can anyone help to bk a function rm?)

1. DQ

2. mrslong

3. Pann

4. Pris

It depends reali.. Bcoz my sister didnt lose any baby weight... N if u do look arnd at d malay makciks, well.... they r big momma's. Hehe

Good morning ladies.

The weather had been hot these few days. Especially yesterday night for me. Just lying down on sofa to watch tv also make my whole body sticky. So no choice had to on air con to sleep.

If during confinement also like this hot or even worse, I think I would be roasted liao.

Hi Suntan, the person was very nice! She called me up & she said it is ok to extend the promo for me.

When are u taking ur shoot?

I was planning to take during 1st week of june. I will be about 35 weeks then.

Ann: yup weather was really hot last nite.. I couldn’t sleep well somemore.

Sleep on my side, feel like my skin stretching. Sleep on my back, I dun feel comfy either coz I am a side sleeper!

Tell me about hot without aircon man!! I showered 6x at home yesterday... think today will be better.. going to rain soon.

Oh yah.. for those mums who din get any support pillow right... recently I started using the Ikea one.. Ektorp cushion... think it's made of down... I use my wedge pillow to support my back now and the other one to lift up my legs.. then I'll hug the ikea cushion.. cos of the material, it can be shaped in such a way to support the tummy.. Not expensive also.. $19 bucks only.

Good morning mummies. Speaking of hot weather... now it is raining cats and cows!! ;) I cant see anything outside my window.

hi sun tan - me also getting v forgetful! last nite, i left my car keys in the car after i reached home!!! it was only when i wanted to go to NTUC after dinner that i realised that my car keys are not with me!!! So blur right???

How i wish it also rain cats and cows at my place. Super hot. Cannot tahan. Now i also dun go out lunch anymore. Always ask colleague to help me packed. Can't do without aircon.

Oh.. Just now i walk to my kitchen, i saw my dog's pee at the entrance of kitchen & avoided it. When i walked back, i totally forgotten abt it & step on it and slipped. Luckily i fall front on my fours. I stand up slowly and go to the toilet to clean myself and lie down. Luckily, BB keep moving actively, then i heave a sign of relief. Was so worried he's hurt.

wah the thread is really running fast these days. its been hot these days but n now it is also raining in the west, finally a cool weather!!

Sweetkiss, I am also interested in the promo from f8angels, am I still in time to join?

Regarding in-laws, I also have my fair share of stories la, "jia jia you ben nan nian de jin" but I agree with mummies that we should all try to be happy at this stage so lets learn the art of ignorance altogether.

hi Morning,

Junie / ann: Ya think i am thankful for deciding to engage a CL also. Meeting e CL Agency on 24th afternoon. so can oni join u gals if plan in e evening.

ceres: i also agree wif junie. ur hubby so sweet to u.

LT: same as u.. i cun be bother also liao. I'm not thier maid.

sun tan: i also haf a water bottle wif me 4 my night drinking. but still i need cups 2 make milo n drink other stuff.

I did consider gettg resale initially but met a super bad agent. Paid OTP 4 e hse we like liao but when i do my homewk wif HDB, i was inform tat d particular flat cannot b sold yet haf 2 wait 4 another 1.5yrs b4 can exercise OTP.

Oh I juz r'cve a letter fm HDB informg me abt my queue no. Finally in e queue where can select flat liao.. But e flat oni b ready in 2016. So still hv 2 tahan 4 like 6 yrs..

sun tan: me too quite forgetful these days. Plus having bad calf cramps even after i put a few pillows under my leg. End up sleeping a few hrs a day...

Now really sleepy..

Working mummies, Can i ask hw are u gals planning ur ML? cos some of my colleagues tells me to get 4mths straight but some told me 2 use 3.5 months then keep 2 weeks for jus in case wo. Care to share?

Ann - that's a close shave...

Maternity Leave - May, depends on your comfort level actually and work. Due to my work, I will take 2 months ML at a go then the remaining ML will be spread over 12 mths...

May, re ML, i think it really depends on your employers. For me, i took my first 2 months consecutively and then i stretched out my last 2 months into 4 months by working 2-3 days a week for the last 2 months.

Reason i did that was that baby's routine was more settled after her 3rd month and i decided that i did not want to waste my time at home during her long nap times and might as well go to work and maxmise my leave. But i got v understanding bosses who allowed me to do it...

Hi May

Congrat tat u are in the Q to select ur flat... I am really happy for u... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] dont need 6 yrs to collect ur key... the most 3-4 yrs time...

For ML under MOM rule

An eligible employee is entitled to absent herself from work for four weeks immediately before and twelve weeks immediately after delivery, totalling 16 weeks.

Where there is a mutual agreement with her employer, an employee can flexibly take the extended eight weeks (9th to 16th week) of maternity leave over a 12 month period after the child's birth. The employee can consume an equivalent of eight weeks' worth of working days flexibly, up to a maximum of 48 days.

we are also entitle to take 1 week before EDD also ... for me I will take 4mths if my co still functioning.. or dont even need to come back fr Jul. the start of my ML

sweetkiss,

Me planning to take mid or end June bah cos my EDD is towards the end of july, so want to wait till my bump is bigger first [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Date: 24 APRIL 2010 (sat)

1. DQ

2. mrslong

3. Pann

4. Pris

5. Eliss with HB

Good Morning mummies,

Date: 24 April 2010 (sat)

1. DQ

2. mrslong

3. Pann

4. Pris

5. Kepsis

I can help ask if My SIL's function room is available. Will get back to you asap.

May: I heard from my Mum that its best not to engage CL from agencies coz usually the agency will eg collect $2k from you, but pay the CL $1.5k, and coz the CL only receive $1.5k, they will give you $1.5k service. Not sure how true but that is what she hears from her friends la.

ceres: wow your hubby very sweet, mine is ok, he tries to give in to me most of the time but he keeps nagging!!! like when we are walking on the road and if he sees a puddle he will alert me (which is i think quite sweet) but he will keep nagging me to keep a look out if i am walking alone, that i must take care of myself n bb etc etc.. and this goes on for a few minutes... haha... but overall i think i am quite lucky, i stay with my FIL n BIL, so far no conflicts.

suntan: me also having the memory problem, i can immediately forget what my mum ask me to do right after i put down the phone. was consoling myself that its normal for pregnant ladies to be forgetful. Hope once i deliver it will get better!

Any of you worried about the labour? I've been hearing so many stories that i ended up having night mare, now i hope time passes slower coz everyone keep telling me that its very very painful during delivery, and that i will definately need epidurial, but i am also advised not to use that coz it is not good for our spine. Any of you have any comments? And i just heard yesterday that other than epidurial there is also other types of pain killer that helps in delivery called the 'laughing gas' and some electrode machine. Anyone heard of that???

Date: 24 APRIL 2010 (sat)

1. DQ

2. mrslong

3. Pann

4. Pris

5. Eliss with HB

6. kepsis

hi kepsis, i had a natural birth for my first baby without any epidural but i used laughing gas. To be honest, i dun think the laughing gas helped but it was a good distraction and good to "pyscho" myself that it was relieving my pain.

I didn't want to use epidural cos i heard that it might be harmful to the baby...but some ppl tell me otherwise. But i guess i am a bit kiasu and also, its cheaper without an epidural! :0

As for the pain, i think so long as u are mentally prepared, u can tahan. i am the type who is very scared of injections but i managed to tahan the labour.

Personally, i felt that it was more painful when the nurses put their hands inside you to see if your cervix has dilated! whereas for me, labour pain is more like a very bad stomach ache....

Morning mommies;;;

May-Congrat for ur Q...haiya me ballot for 4 times liao all ko song...resale flat e COV is damn high..dnt knw hw mani more yrs to go before i cant dnt nd to live wif e ANTS..hurhurhur.

Ann-aiyo be careful hor.. n i heard during the month tat we gave birth is the hottest mth...erm...

Ceresng-sterlise it...hurhurhur..nw they hvnt even dig it out for me so i am gona get e new wan..cant imagine putting the 20 over yrs of cloth over my BB new buttoks..

ML - most prob taking all 16 weeks all at once as it'll be quite distracting to work if take on n off I feel.. also need to clear it before I resign if I really stop working after bb come out. Also need to clear the 6 days childcare leave.

I heard some mums recommend leaving a few weeks so that you can take on and off.. Cos BB tend to fall sick easier esp if they go to infant care. And once they fall sick take quite a long time to heal. So the ML will come into use when that happens. 6 days CL won't be enough to take care of BB.

Hi kepsis, dont be afraid of labour.. it will come sooner or later so might as well get it over n done with. Then you can hold your baby in your arms! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I am sooo looking forward to it.. i have about 3 more months to go, cant wait! As for all the painkillers.. epidural is the most effective where it totally numbs you. Laughing gas works for some.. it makes you "high" so it takes the edge off the pain, however you will still feel pain. For the Electrode machine, I believe it is called TENS... they don't really use it often here in SG. Apparently not so effective

Jaslin and those who bought Farlin items at March BB Expo - their playpen stock will arrive this Sunday, you may want to call them to cfm the delivery slots...

haha i am in two minds about the date of delivery. excited to see my baby and anxious about the labour pain. will probably opt for no epidural - and use "laughing gas" like Rmummy. hopefully that's ok. the thought of labour still makes me shudder.

noknok, i'll be taking probably about 8 weeks of ML so i can have another 8 weeks to "play with". hehe.

for care after i go back to work, i'm still considering between infantcare and my sister's nanny. MIL talked about engaging a maid but i told her no. not comfy about having a maid handle my child after all the horror stories. hmmm.

Morning Mummies!!

ML: when i gave birth to my gal, my edd was 24/9, so i plan to start my ML at 20/9, who know she so anxious to see the world, she came out on 9/9, was planning to take 10 wks of ML, so I still have 6 wk, but end up, the PT gal decide to quit, so i have to shorten my ML n go back to work.

Really, for mummy planning to send ur BB to infant, pls be prepare, i'm not saying bb sure will fall sick, but for my case, my bal ML was used to taking of her when she fall sick when she was in CC for the 1st 6mth, also I used it to bring her for injection, check up etc... cos my AL was very little.

Painkiller:

I never took edi cos I scared the bill came out too ex, also scared taking too much, I will not feel the contraction, or no strength to push her out. I tried to take the laughinhg gas, end up i throw one side cos it make me feeling vomitting, maybe i'm hungry at that point of time also. hahaha...

I hoped this time round, my labour will be the same as my 1st one, but the time shorten. my 1st one, water bag burst at morning around 5am, and i give birth at 1pm. told 8 hrs. Lucky i was at hm and HB is off cos he on shift work too, else don know how to go hospital.

Geri, u can email them to ask, cos that’s what I did and she told me I dun have to find a group of mummies, she will extend the promo for me.

If not, I can help to ask for u too…

Kepsis: yes I am particularly worried abt labour pain and totally not counting down to it.

I have made up my mind to use epidural.. dun wan to think so much.

I was told tat if u wan, u shld take epi earlier rather than waiting till u r in deep pain.

Coz some ppl wan to try if they can endure but usually by the time they decide on epi, it is too late.

Hmmm so its true about the gas n electrode thingy, thanks!!! ya i think i will not opt for epidural then. its expensive too.

Okie going lunch with my hubby now!!!! yummy!!!!

aisha, sometimes it could be due to lack of sugar intake. go eat a bar of chocolate or something. sometimes when i feel nauseous, i do that and it's settled.

with regards to confinement and malay mummies, the wrap actually helps to get the mummies get back to shape. i'm half chinese so my mum believes in sticking to the diet of confinement food. she will prepare confinement food (which is basically just nutritious soup) and will strictly make me eat only the confinement food for like a month - the way she did for my sis on top of the urut and bengkung (wrap). if your worry is getting back to shape, maybe you shld also adopt this method?

Nok Nok, Im located at Suntec Tower 2. Was raining heavily this morning. Now the sky has cleared up.

Ann Ann Ann be careful my dear... My heart skipped a beat when I was reading your input.. Aiyo Aiyo....scary man. Im glad to hear you are feeling okay....

Me too... looking forward to baby's arrival and anxious about the pain. But I guess, at the end of the day, nature will take its course and prepare us for whatever that is awaiting for us. The doctors are just there to guide or ease the pain.

I TALK SO BIG>... wait till that day.....

cherry, its not nauseous but juz felt somthing stuck dwn my throat frm ystrdy n abit burning sensation thus d vomit...

shld try out d method u juz mentioned. bcoz sometimes i believe it depends on d massage n wraps too. for d soup i will try to ask arnd..

Aisha.. I had that similar sensation.. and took some Antacid (under gynae's prescription)... now all cleared.

So whenever i feel that way I take antacid.. and i feel so much better. It is heartburn... and then you either feel nauseous or you really vomit.

Jayamum, i'l b having my checkup tmrw so i think i shld ask for this medicine then... bcoz im scared if i take alot of medicine during pregnancy it'l affect d bb.. anyways thank u for d tips.

sweetkiss:ya I will email her but can you post the email add of the person you spoke to, think it is easier to talk to you. Any other mummies interested?

Ann: Do take care ya.

Kepsis: don think too much about the pain now cos we never know our threshold till we experience it. and many mummies have said that sometimes things happen so quickly that it will not always go accordingly to what you were expecting. Just opt for epi when you think you need it.

May: haha thanks cos I am trying very hard to "master" my art of ignorance cos I dun want put hubby in difficult position.

aisha, dr heng prescribed me with zofran when i was having bad vomitting. if yours isn't so bad, she will give maxalon first- for me, maxalon doesn't work. if it's really bad, maybe you can ask her for zofran - it's safe for pregnancy only a bit pricey and if she gives you the chit, go get it at kkh pharmacy, it's the cheapest there. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hope you get better. oh and enjoy the hospital tour if you're going tomorrow.

cherry, thank u for d advice. really appreciate it. n yes i will enjoy d tour n will check out d wall paper too! haha [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/biggrin.gif]