(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

sweetkiss, i snacked most of the time! like every 3 hours or even smaller breaks in btwn!

that's why sometimes i don't dare to eat noodles for lunch..need rice to sustain me longer..

but what's your colleague problem la! pregnant women definitely have more needs ma..be it cravings or intake for bb's growth!

haiz...but well, maybe she is genuinely concerned that you shouldn't eat too much also..else in future, bb too big and will have prob delivering..

sweetkiss>> sometimes i also dunno if i'm hungry or just mouth itchy or just want some tastes in my mouth (cuz me still hvg slight flat taste).

but i do snack esp. in the morning & after lunch. I can eat 2pcs of bread, 3-4pcs of kueh bahlu or 3 pcs of biscuits..every other hr.

funny thing is when it comes to dinner, my appetite become poor.

heee..i just finished 1 mandrian orange :p and i missed home cooked food so much!!!! Nowadays everyday, lunch and dinner all eat outside..feels so unhealthy.

i also dunno why, i can feel my stomach growling so i just grabbed some stuff to eat.....

Anyway she always think i am using my bb as excuse to eat but that is not the case. Sometimes really feel like tellin her to get herself preg and experience what i am going thru before she comments.

phy, actually a lot of pregnancy websites suggest eating every 2 hours. no need to eat a lot. my hb also encourage me to eat every 2hours. but the problem is that i'm usually not hungry, then next think i know, i'm nauseous. so now i try to have a cookie, or fruit every 3-4 hours. seems to help.

I envy those of you who have the appetite to snack. I get so bloated and full after each meal that I can't eat anything else extra after that, until the next main meal. And it's not as if I've eaten too much - just a normal sized meal.

I also hope she can be more sensitive. Every morn she says loudly in the office that my boobs are big, my tummy is big.. Duh! Obviously my tummy is growing big each day, if not grow flat meh?

Yes Babycoco. I agree with you... it is not like preggies have an enourmous appetite. not true you know.

I can only eat when Im hungry and that too my normal amount... not more than what I normally eat.

springleaf>> I snack cuz I'm a very small eater, i can't even finish a normal sized meal. Everytime even hv to ask the hawker to give me less rice/noodle...and yet i can't finish most of the time [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

springleaf, i envy you lor. If not i have to think twice before i snack each time or else i have to suffer all the stupid remarks~ I have a huge appetite now. Before i was preg i can barely finish a bowl of rice on my own. Now i finish all my food and still go for 2 slices of fruits. I need to make myself as full as possible during lunch or else i will get hungry even faster.

sweetkiss, your colleague never been pregnant before? quite insensitive of her i find.

when i went for last check up and i haven't gained weight, my gynae also said to take smaller meals, more frequently. we tend to fill up very fast cos we get bloated easily. that's why need to eat more frequently.

actually if hungry just eat...cuz dun wanna starve the BB.

but if you're gaining more than the ideal weight, then cut down on carbo.

take more fruits & salads.

Spingleaf,

My gyane advised me to eat small amounts but frequently so as to prevent the nauseous feelings from kicking in. Don't wait till main meals. I find that it helps.

Babycoco,

Ya, I agree. I snack on biscuits or fruits and don't eat so much at main meals. Somehow my morning sickness improves greatly

I usually have to take 2 breakfast nowadays.. one at home at about 7.30am and one in the office at about 10am.. and even doing that I'll be very hungry by lunch time which is 12.50pm. Maybe lunch is a bit late, I won't be hungry till like 6+ which is time for dinner liao.. so in total I eat 4 full meals a day. I seldom snack though..

Sweetkiss, Heck about those remarks. You are expecting now and need the energy so that BB will grow well. What's important is that BB to come out 白白胖胖

Mummies, care to share how big your tummies are now? Mine is 34.5''. I'm 18 weeks

Sweetkiss>> just ignore what your colleague says, you're the one pregnant, not her anyway. So dun get upset over this [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Such irony, my MIL keep asking me to eat more eat more...but sometimes it can be very frustrating, cuz not say I dun want to eat but I dun hv appetite or I'm already bloated.

It doesn't mean being pregnant, u hv to eat for two.

yup, actually have read quite a few article whereby they mentioned that we should not have the mentality of eating for 2. And we would only need to eat more during the last trimster and even then, the calories intake should not be too much. My appetite actually grew after i am preggy..nowadays always have to control and dun over eat.

nok nok, me too. i have 2 breakfast, and an early lunch. after that i'm not hungry anymore. but will have fruits around 3-4pm. and then a small dinner. so now, my hb makes me eat more during lunch, as that is my main meal.

hi... im backie.

wow... missed out so much over 1 afternoon...

sweetkiss: your colleague is so annoying.

so kaypo one...

but i also snack. hee... on biscuits.

esp @ abt 10+11+ in the morning (i took bfast @ 8ish).

then lunch abt 12, some biscuits abt 4plus...

then home for dinner.

however, like mrslong, i dun eat a lot for dinner. cuz not much appetite.

suntan - agree with you.. articles I read all suggests that we need only 300 calories more per day.. that's like 3.5 apple or 2 packets of small fries or 2 cups of milo only.

babycoco - tell ur MIL tat u cannot eat too full.. if not will hv MS, wait eat all throw up how?

noknok: ya, we only need additional 300cal /day.

but too bad all the eldery have the impression that preggers should eat for 2.

i always tell my mil i cant eat a lot during dinner cuz i'll puke ALL out b4 i sleep.... hence she doesnt 'force' me to eat.

cuz i told her i eat a lot in the day. which is true! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

dqueeen, actually so much healthier to eat lesser for dinner, right? but funny, when i was about 5-6 weeks preg, i used to wake up in the middle of the night, very hungry, must have biscuit. now i'm ok. maybe eating more now.

mrslong, My gynae never measure. I did so myself.

sun_tan, I never thought of that..... But I noticed that my tummy seems quite small when I wake up in the morning then grows bigger throughout the day.

Does anybody know what is the normal weight gain when we get pregnant? At 18 weeks, I've already put on 6kg! Is that too much?

Finally called Mdm Ida today, her appt book is already is already quite full so cannot take me. Says she would recommend her cousin..does anybody know if her cousin is as good?

Pris, Healthy weight gain should be 12-15 kg. I've put on around 3.5kg. Sometimes weight gain can be due to water retention. You may like to ask your gynae if your weight is ok.

Hi pris, I was recommended to Mdm Suriah by Mdm Ida. I think Mdm Suriah is her cousin right?

Personally I do not know how her skills are but I spoke to her for about 20 minutes and she was very nice and patient to explain all the procedures she does for the massage.

Mdm Ida told me that Mdm Suriah is fully trained by her and she said so far no mummies had any complains. I booked with Mdm Suriah cos i am convinced that they can deliver what they promised~!

mummies, usually when you feel your bb movements, is it below the belly button? this morning, i felt a sharp movement near my rib cage. can't be the bb right? how can bb kick so high? hahaha

pris,

Weight gain also have to depends on the BMI of the mummy before pregnancy. If is underweight before preggy then the weight gain is much more than those with normal BMI or those who are overweight. Let me see if i can still find the link or not.

pris,

here is the link:

http://www.babycenter.com/0_pregnancy-weight-gain-what-to-expect_1466.bc?scid=mbtw_preg15:650&pe=2UyZZzp#articlesection1

It depends on how much you weighed before you conceived and how appropriate that weight is for your height. The relationship between your height and weight is expressed in a number called a "body mass index," or BMI. You can calculate your BMI here.

The guidelines for pregnancy weight gain are issued by the Institute of Medicine (IOM), most recently in May 2009. Here are the most current recommendations:

If your pre-pregnancy weight was in the healthy range for your height (a BMI of 18.5 to 24.9), you should gain between 25 and 35 pounds, gaining 1 to 5 pounds in the first trimester and about 1 pound per week for the rest of your pregnancy for the optimal growth of your baby.

If you were underweight for your height at conception (a BMI below 18.5), you should gain 28 to 40 pounds.

If you were overweight for your height (a BMI of 25 to 29.9), you should gain 15 to 25 pounds. If you were obese (a BMI of 30 or higher), you should gain between 11 and 20 pounds.

If you're having twins, you should gain 37 to 54 pounds if you started at a healthy weight, 31 to 50 pounds if you were overweight, and 25 to 42 pounds if you were obese.

Use our pregnancy weight gain estimator to find out how much you should gain (based on your height and pre-pregnancy weight) and to see how the pounds are distributed.

hihi.. sorry had been busy lately with work and spring cleaning...now then have time to come in and read the postings...wow.. this thread move really very fast...

Cordblood banking: just to share, i donated twice to singapore cordblood bank for my 2 gals.. for this one, i will also donate out. Have already contacted SCCB already. They will contact me to sign the documents when i come to 32 weeks. I think its a good deed for my family to make their first donation when they are born. It will help many cancer children and even adults. Though i am not a person who know lots abt medical science, donating our cordblood is a little part that I can play to help those poor children.

Once your cordblood is donated to the SCCB, in the event that you need and your cordblood is not use by others, arrangement can be made to let you take back and use the cordblood.. you can check with the staff of SCCB. They are willing to help you with your enquires.Fast response they have. ^_^... i not a promoter la.I not from SCCB.... just to share what i think of donating cordblood as another choice that mummies can have other than bank them with a private cordblood bank.

Woah!! The thread moves fast. Was at a workshop the whole day yesterday.

Sweetkiss: Ask your colleague if she is jealous that you are preggy and she is not. Boobs bigger, good mah.. can fill up our clothing nicely, tummy getting bigger also good ma.. no like getting fatter (I would add "unlike you". Haha!!)

Actually sometime I felt like my tummy getting smaller.. don't know why. Maybe psychological problem.

Movement of baby: I really cannot differentiate. Yesterday I ask hubby to feel my tummy, and he say he felt something kicking or punching like that. But he say or maybe his palm is pulsing. He also not sure. Haha!!

Cordblood banking: Most likely I will donate it to singapore cordblood bank too. I had done some research online previously, apparently, if anything happen, the cordblood might not be enough to save our baby too. Plus you cannot save the cordblood for life... at most 10yrs or so i think. So like what coolqoo mentioned.. it is the first good deed which our baby can do.

Man breastfeeding: I told hubby about the article you all mentioned and hubby ask if i wanna try. I suddenly felt so disgusted at seeing BB suckle from a man's chest. Haha!!

water rentention: anyone here encounter water rentention already? My feet were swollen up yesterday and i couldn't find my ankles. Even joke with my colleagues that if my ankle don't make a crack sound when i turn it, i didn't even know it's there. Maybe stand too long at the workshop yesterday. Today no more swelling le.

hi ann, standing/sitting still too long can cause water retention. next time, put your feet up and it should help. when i went to chinatown a couple of weeks back, my feet also started swelling, but swelling went down after putting my feet up for about 20 minutes. but i'm very prone to water retention. even before preg, if eat too much chips etc, sure get water retention.

I dunno got swell or not but my friend press my leg & say got abit water retention & ask me to massage if not if it get's worse will see veins etc... how to see got water retention or not?

I think when we press and it create a dent, then you have water retention. For me, it is easy to see.. front of feet puff up and ankles also puff up too.

sounds like donating cordblood to SCCB is indeed a good deed. where to find more info about it??

I have been having constipation. very xinku.

any mummies here experience darker color or close to black poo since pregnant?

Astro gal, I've had constipation since I conceived and in fact this was my first pregnancy symptom. The black stools is the result of the constipation so there shouldn't be any cause for worry. Our gut movements have slowed down a lot so as to allow optimum nutrient absorption by the baby but the downside is that it causes us to have more difficulty moving our bowels.

springleaf - actually even my normal stools during pregnancy also quite dark in color.. during constipation worst. when comes to constipation i can drop tears in the toilet because it will be so painfel [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Astro gal, I just had a hard time in the toilet - had to strain so much then when I wiped after finishing my business I saw blood, which scared me until I remembered about my constipation. See, you are not the only one

Constipation-i'm not prone to constipation but recently I have. I started drinking fybogel every morning. At least stool don't so hard now.

Pris,

No prob [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

As for constipation problem, remember, the key is to eat more fruits.

Sometimes i pressed my tummy hoping to get clearer movement of bb, everywhere is my pulse!!

same as my heart rate, left right middle up down all doop doop doop doop. haiyo!

Hi BB_gen,

congrats u have done the test, think i am the last one who going for the test.. try not to think too much..

also congrats on knowing the bb gender [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]