(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

jayamum, i think asians still a bit more self conscious. i also can't imagine having anybody looking at me when i breast feed. but like all the new moms here, breast feeding sounds like a huge challenge.

pink: i think i shd b eating a bit.. avoiding the raw fish.

cuz i cant succumb to my fave YUSHENG!

love the vege & sauces... yum.

hopefully can 'smuggle' some small slices of fish with the vege into my mouth! yumz!!

I already had yu sheng 2 weeks ago (MIL kiasu) and i secretly took a slice of raw salmon.

Sometimes I really think I am a bad mother because i keep craving for foods i am not supposed to eat. Eventually i will lose the battle and the food ends up in my tummy... And i cant get enough of spicy food (laksa, curry, etc) too!

sweetkiss: do u eat the cockles when u eat laksa?

or those w fried kway tiao?

i also love all the unhealthy junkie food. =P

Jellypurin - I think hand pump will be great for those who are not ready to invest heavily on an electrical one as yet. It's way cheaper then electrical one and if feeding on demand esp during maternity leave, then it'll be only for the excess to store for future needs.

For those who want to go strictly on Breast milk and dun intend to supplement with formula milk, I read somewhere that a breast pump maybe needed in the hospital as well to express out jus in case BB need milk in e middle of the night if they're not staying in e same room as you. Also, lactation consultant in the hospital can also guide you on using of the pump. 2nd / 3rd time mummy pls correct me if I'm wrong.

DQ - I will try to avoid cockles cos in general, they're not very well cooked, they're jus being dumped into the dish at the final stages just before they serve e food. Also, the bowl that they store the cockles where they toss them into the food, usually are kept at room temperature and you've no idea how long are they out of the fridge.

noknok & sweetkiss: hee.. ya lor.. i dun dare to eat this. think it's very potent~

sigh.. my pimples prob still here. depressed... always reappear aft they've healed.

DQ - do u hv pimples b4 pregnancy?? I constantly hv acne problem, but it got way better during pregnancy, then my collegue was telling me that it'll all come back after pregnancy. So sad.. Be consoled that yours will only last 9 mths if it only appears becos of preggy hormones.. whereas mine won't be gone. sobz.

Oh no I have been eating the cockles in my laksa and fried kway tiao! =( Ok shall not eat it anymore...

For yusheng, if it has been tossed with raw fish, I just take one mouthful. If I eat with my own family, they will lou hei without the fish slice first so that I can eat, then after I take my portion, they will lou again with the fish =)

BF really sounds challenging... I really hope that all of us will have a very smooth BF journey, and we can all encourage each other here, as well as share tips and advice! I read somewhere in a book that I think in the last trimester, it is advisable to do a nipple scrub when in the shower, then apply moisturiser generously. This will help to strengthen your nipple for the "battle"! Let me try to find the info again and post the accurate information here.

I find that my nipples are getting kinda dry, and tends to peel, so I use the stretch mark oil (suitable for boobies) and apply onto my breasts/nipples as well. Hope this is ok...

Wow you guys really follow by the booked ..

I love cookles and raw salmon ...try my best to avoid them..

But at times it still goes into the tummy ..

noknok: ive acne prob.. but it stopped aft i started some doctor's prescibed facial pdts.

now even when i use the pdts, it's not effective anymore! all my good frens r back to visit!

kat: so sweet of ur family members! louhei w/o fish slices... then let u eat 1st. hee...

wondering if the sliced raw fish is replaced with abalone, can we eat?

siti: cuz i v kiasu... i haven touched any of these... plus under the tight scrutiny of my husby, ive no chance.

i tink i mite not be able to smuggle any raw fish slices on my plate.. cuz my husby will be the watchdog. sianz.

Noknok, i am also prone to pimples (comedones) especially at my BACK! During 1st few weeks of pregnancy, i had small bumps on my forehead, chest and back... Currently i have a few small pimples on my tummy! No idea why~~

Kat, mine are a bit cracked and dry too, since 1st trimester! At first i applied aloe vera gel and it got slightly better but now i am using Palmer's nursing cream. It works for me as the condition has improved. But how am i going to do a scrub on it if it is already dry?

DQ : I also got lots of out breaks of small/big pimples... i nvr had this problem before... but maybe due to preggy then hormones changes so ya the friends are visiting more frequently.

sweetkiss: i also haf them on my tummy!

gosh, so ugly... now the pimples dried up.. but left w some ugly marks.

how to take the studio pics few mths down the rd?? sob...

beannie: ive frens who told me.... ur skin will behave the exact opposite as compare to pre-preggers.

n i was smiling happily.... thinking my acne prob will leave me for the next 9mths. butbutbut... *wail*..

hello fellow MTBs,

tdy thread also move quite fast.

anyway, since we're on BFing topic tdy, out of curiousity, is it any boobs size or nipples size (other than medical issues), shld be able to breastfeed?

dunno heard from who many yrs back that nipples must be big then hv milk for BB to suck..hehee.

Yu Sheng: I don't really like the raw fish.. but I like the sauce of the Yusheng and the fried thingy (dunno what it is called. Hehe!!) in it. So I think I will still eat it.

Cockles: I loved them but had been avoiding them since I got preggy. Eating laksa and char kway tiao is never the same without cockles. Haha!!

mrslong: my gf got big nipples but bb didnt like to suck at all...

my the other gf got big nipples too, bb loving it for the past 2 yrs plus ... hahaha...

i suppose all depends on bb's acception...

Wah.. so many mummies having acne problem.

DQ - did u check w ur gynae if e medication for pimple previously prescribe is ok for use? Cos I was prescribed antibiotics lotion before, also bought rabbit cream from HK and Japan which is very effective, but I dun dare to use them anymore after pregnant when one or two pop out. Scared there's something inside that's not good for BB.

For dry nipples - I think can try applying Olive oil if afraid it'll affect milk in e future ba.

Mrslong - I guess so ba.. nv heard tat nipples must be big enough leh.. but mine had been growing bigger n bigger, then I ask mum during trip to Korea where they had hot springs if they'll go back to original size and her answer is nope.. it'll remain big after we breastfeed finish.

ann : my mum n bro will hide n feed me a 1-3 pcs of my favourite well hidden within food but nvr nvr let my HB knows ... hahaha ... as it is really hard hard hard to stop having them the moment u r preggy... hee

DQ: Yes! I got those small marks after the pimples on tummy recover too... If do studio shoot, can put concealer... If not photoshop away. Hahaha.

I read that if u BF correctly there should be no pain. One of my gf stopped BF-ing after a few days cos she said it hurt.. So make sure we must learn the right way to BF! I think the only worry is lack of supply?

xbeaniex>> hahaa....ya.

Wonder if anyone has any idea if we can show our boobs to our gynae & check if it's suitable for BFing :p

ann: i agree with u! eating laksa & char kway tiao is not the same w/o c-hum.

noknok: i very kiasu.. i stopped using the facial pdts initially, b4 i get clearance from gynae.

then i brot ALL the bottles of solutions (abt 7-8 steps everyday) for my gynae to approve one-by-one.

so far only 3 cant be used. because of the anti-biotic content.

oh ya, i got those facial pdts from niks maple clinic. went to c dr ong when i was prep for my wedding. she's very good... no wonder everyone has been praising her on sgbrides forum!

mrslong: my gynae's male leh... i cant help to to luff when ive the image of me 'flashing' him my boobies... lol~~ [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

DQ>> hahaha....ya, abit weird if it's male gynae.

noknok>> oohh, never heard b4 nipples will remain big after BFing too, hehee.

i heard b4 though that boobs size will become smaller if you BF but yet on the other hand, if you BF, you can lose weight faster.

mrslong: I want to say something but i hope everyone dun think i am pervertic..... --> no need to ask gynae check, ask hubby check can already. if u know what i mean. Haha.. =X

xbeanniex: So good.. my mum is the stricter one. This cannot eat.. that cannot eat. Especially if my grandmother say cannot eat then die die cannot eat. My MIL everything also let me eat. I think it's because she doesn't know what i can or cannot eat. Haha!!!

DQ: Wah.. u brought all your facial products to gynae to approve ah? I didn't lei.. I just continue using. But I normally just use cleanser and toner. Nothing else le.. not even make up on my face.

Sweetkiss : u know wat... my HB 2 nights back was teasing me ... n ya he wants to intimates with me ... lolx... then suddenly while he was sucking my nipple he look at me & ask me "if got milk can i have some since bb not out yet" i was luffing till tears also roll dwn... as now i m 15 weeks only ... where got milk ?

Ann: good lar ... we each got a side let us have the cants once while... heee

Hi Ladies any of you taking up antenatal programmes at KKH?

Im thinking of signing up but wonder if have of you have any views.... thanks.

mrs long - My mum's on nv shrink back at all... can see cos korea n japan's hot spring are those naked kind in dressing room. But I heard most doc will say Boobs will go back to pre-pregnant size, but some mums experienced boobs grew smaller then pre pregnancy size and some remain as post pregnancy size leh.

Wah.. DQ.. 7-8 steps facial products... ask me to add one more step to cleanse, toner, moisturizer I lazy liao. Some more now still have to put stretch mark cream.. morning have to wake up earlier liao.

Hee.. my hubby dun restrict me to anything. Cos one thing, he dun read up as much as me and I always ask him back on e rationale and he'll be dumbfound. I just told him not to tell his mum that we ate this n that cos I know his mum will nag.

Sweetkiss: to my HB my boobs are milk bottles for my baby. I dont think the "pregnant women are more sexy" works for me [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I have discussed being intimate during this time.. but HB is afraid that it will hurt baby ... Sigh.

beannie, omg ur hubby so cute! Hahaha! I am wondering how BM taste like lor... anyway i also told hubby, next time if i have expired BM stored in the fridge, he cannot waste, must use it to do face mask. Haha!

sweetkiss - talking abt face mask, my collegue tat gave birth sms me one day that she jus use milk to wash her hair. After a few exchanges then I realised that she was on antibiotic and although doc gave her the go ahead to continue breastfeeding, she's not comfortable with the idea and uses the expressed milk to wash her hair.. haha.. she said dun waste. She fed her BB with those kept in e freezer expressed before she was sick.

Sweetkiss : My gf's HB once told me BM taste light n sweet... like very very diluted condense milk ...

this is what a man says after tasting from milk bottle not finished by bb.. so the dad didnt want waste it he had that bits of...

Jayamum: My hubby and I also scared that we will hurt BB especially when i had so many bleeding events during first trimester. So we had not make love since I got preggy.

Sweetkiss: Aiyo.. ask your hubby to add to coffee or tea la. Haha!!

Noknok: Wash hair?? Ya hoh.. maybe can do milk bath too for those who have bath tub.. dun waste.

jayamum, u must show ur hubby those articles that say it is safe to do it during 2nd trimester... And confirm with your gynae when ur hubby is around... Some parenting magazines i read also provided the positions to follow so it will be more comfortable for you. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

DQ, I had sliced abalone with my yusheng. Abalone's ok right? Anyway, everything in small amounts is ok lah.

BF does not depend on size of boobies/nipples! Hahaha. It all depends on the baby and your own determination/perseverance. I cannot imagine flashing my gynae leh! Later he think I'm trying to seduce him how?! Haha.

Actually I was thinking right, if our hubbies can aid us in stimulating our boobies i.e. sucking, will that help the milk supply when we give birth?

xbeanniex, what your hubby said sounds so familiar! coz my hubby also said before! So notti!

My complexion is also acne-prone before pregnancy, now still the same! So sad, but I console myself that it's not getting worse! *cross fingers*

mummies, do you find you're in the mood more often to make love now that you're pregnant? i read that this is due to the increase in blood flow, especially around the vagina.

Noknok: No la.. u need to add water to the milk too. When we go those massage place, they also did the same thing.. i dun think they use 100% milk.. would not be profitable. haha!!

babycoco: Yeah!! I do. But still restraining it becos of BB.

hmm...my hubby is currently my food screener..he dun let me eat anything raw..think yu sheng wont pass for him too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] ...

Ann, ya hor, he like to drink bubble milk tea maybe next time i can do a "home-made" one for him. Haha~

babycoco: I would say i have more mood compared to 1st trimester but i realized my labia will sort of swell the next day after that! It is painless and goes back to normal after a while but looks really weird. I think it is caused by increased blood flow also...

babycoco - yep, I do... most of the time I'm e one initiating, think he's also worried tat it'll affect e BB too.. But if I ask, he'll satisfy me.. haha

for some who experienced spotting initially, best to check with gynae if it's ok to have sexual intercourse cuz my gynae advised me to refrain from it then...

but dunno now can or not, hehee.

that day asked my HB...if we do it, like very weird cuz BB is inside me, then he said, be gentle lor :p

ya, my gynae also said no sex for 1st trim. but she didn't say anything about 2nd trim, so my hb & i assume it's safe, haha

We did ask our gynae previously and he mentioned that best to skip for 1st trim and only resume in 2nd trim. Have to be gentle. Actually we already resume it during the late 1st trim..so far so good [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] think most importantly is that the both of you should be comfortable with it.