(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

D Queen,

I heard of that too. Previously my niece correctly predicted her didi..and she says mine is mei mei..hehhe will see if she is correct.

Noknok,

wow really? guys also cant bf? Haha cant imagine the "scence"..hahah!!

My colleague just gave me this list on what to bring to the hospital on the day of your delivery.

For mummy:

1. Identity card & admission letter

2. Doctor's letter if applicable

3. Pre-natal medical reports and bills (for Medisave withdrawal)

4. Toiletries - toothbrush, toothpaste, hairbrush, facial foam

5. Towel

6. Handkerchief & tissue

7. Clothing - 1 set when going home

8. Pyjamas with front opening - 3 sets - private hospital does not provide sleepwear

9. Sweater for mummy; jacket for daddy

10. Disposable panties

11. Maternity pads - hospital's may not be good or comfortable enough

12. Bedroom slippers

13. Socks

14. Handphone & charger

15. Camera

16. Breast pump & storage bottle - If possible, breastfeed from beginning

17. Nursing bras

18. Breast pads

19. Plastic bags

For baby:

1. Baby wrap-a-round

2. Mitten & booties - 1 set when going home

3. Clothing - 1 set when going home

4. Wet wipes

5. Handkerchiefs

MTBs : my HB also very kind to let me have it over at my mum place as at his place he knows there's too much constraints i very stress too as everything happens too fast within 6 mths time and suddenly cannot even eat favourite food...

suntan - yah... I showed my hubby the article and ask him if he wanna try and he said no.. haha.. it's in the Jan issue of mother & baby.

haha! I drink ribena everyday!!! but i mixed with lots of water, and make sure that it's not too sweet! don't like to drink plain water T_T

Yea the bottled ones are VERY SWEET!! Don't drink that anymore ok?

We should also drink more avocado juice, and almond/walnut/hazelnuts/sunflower seeds. These are super good for baby.

how about the Rexodon Vit C? can we still drink it?

Yvonne, nope the doc didnt check, cos i remembered some mentioned they were able to see the gender at week 14, so i asked the doc if she can see my bb's gender? she said it was too early to tell.

sweetkiss, my gynae also told me the same thing when i was there during my last visit. He say he will help me to see during my next visit.

Btw, any mommies has good female gynae to recommend? Cos i have a fren who is having some problem conceiving and she and her hubby is thinking of gg to consult the Dr. But she looking for female gynae and mine is a guy. So any recommendations?

Mrs long,

You;re seeing Dr Eunice Chua too at TMC! Haha, maybe we've seen each other b4 at the clinic?

hmmm, i also want to eat sharksfin but my hb checked on the net, it says actually the fin contains the highest level of mecury. i was ????

Hi Ica, I will be going for my gynae visit tomorrow morning. Hopefully my baby can me it to me [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Based on all the online test, my guess is a girl too[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

a lot of mummies know the baby gender le. so good. can start shopping!

i wan to know mine too! these few days i can feel my baby movement/kicking more often [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ohya, yesterday i heard my colleague said that drinking more ribena baby will have bigger eyes! donno how true this logic are.haha. but again packet ribena can be quite sweet.not good to consume too often too.

Vivie, congrats on getting a boy! Seems like two of mummies with EDD 21st July are expecting boys! I can't wait to know mine! Next checkup only next Friday.

Have a busy yet enjoyable weekend preparing for CNY, mummies!

ica - how many weeks are u in now? i suppose u will feel your baby movement soon. its like butterfly fluttering in your tummy initially.

ya i was telling my colleague how is ribena link to a baby eyes leh?? lol

ica - she is serious wor. when she was expeccting her no. 2, she heard it from don't know who and she started drinking ribena often and true enough her daughter'e eye was born big n breautiful.but i told her the dau should be following the parents eyes la.hahaha

i am going to see my gynae coming monday.i hope i can see baby gender too but i find it hard to see clearly coz my gynae using older machine [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

ica - haha. i don't know true a not..but both my colelague and her husband eyes are average size.but don't drink too much ribena coz it can be quite sweet unless you buy those bottle syrup which you have to mix with water so it will not be so sweet.

phy>> Yes, I'm see Dr Eunice Chua of TLC. my visits are usually on Sat morning [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Suddenly feel like eating ice cream....those old school Lime with vanilla ice-cream stick type but my HB dun like me to eat ice-cream when preggy, hehee.

Yesterday i made 3 bottles (600 ml) of ribena, felt so guilty so i gave my last round of ribena to hubby.. somemore he made the last bottle for me hahha!

Ribena tastes soooooooo good~~

I was told that there will be a 2nd trim scan that MTBs will need to go for. Does anyone knows what is this scan abt and what is it for?

astro gal - even if true, i can't take too much ribena or anything sweet. gynae told me cut off sugar totally coz baby big for her age and i may develope gestational diabetes if i don't take care coz my dad had it. so later around wk 28, i'll be doing a diabetes test.

pink - is it the detailed scan? Wk 20-22?

ica,

Pink,

Is it the detail scan which we need to go when we are about week 20? Its to scan for the bb hands, legs, organs to make sure its developing properly?

think the detailed scan is to check whether BB's organs, hands, legs are developing well.

my gynae also said can even check whether BB has cleft lip, etc.

sun_tan>> cuz it's cold but then everyday i also drink cold drinks at lunch, hehee.

yes, we are thinking of banking the cord blood in StemCord.

mrslong,

We are thinking of stemcord too, cos think its cheaper than cord life and its better, cos they stored the cord blood in 2 locations right?

sun_tan>> i think Stemcord is slightly cheaper but i've not gone through in details what other differences Stemcord and CordLife hv.

cuz my friend signed up with Stemcord so she recommended me to sign up with Stemcord too.

Sun_Tan: I am thinking of going to Cordlife. Still researching on all info b4 making any decision. What about u??

Re: Ribena & Ice-cream

I been drinking & eating lotsa of these 2 stuff. Think i need to cut down b4 my sugar level go really high. Hee..

mrslong,

I thinking of gg with stemcord too. I was at their seminar last sat and then they have discount. Ya with the discount its cheaper than cord life. Not sure if i apply now still can take the discount or not.

jo lyn,

1 thing of why i prefer stemcord is that stemcord holds the cord blood in 2 location. Its safer that way and can (touch wood) use for 2 times. Cos once cord blood is "de-frost" you cannot use some and freeze back the rest le.

i can't wait to do up my baby's nursery room...now looking at those wall decals available @ winkplay, to see how i can decorate the room [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

sun_tan>> oh ok...i wld like to attend their seminar to know more.

how do u know when they hv seminar? Was it published in their website?

mrslong,

Yup, they will publish on their website if there is gg to be a seminar.

Also just to share with you mommies, during the seminar, there is this guest speaker from Mt A, she is the prenatal course lecture. She mentioned that if you have inverted nipples, and if you wanna breastfeed your bb by latching on, then it might be a problem. If gg to express out, then its ok. There is this gadget which you can buy from pharmacy to correct the inverted nipple problem. However she suggest that can only start to use after week 16.

congrats to all mommies who already knew the gender of your baby! i think mine have to wait for another 2 weeks..cos my next appt is on 20th only nia...haiz!

nowadays really have lots of pretty stuff for baby gals...and they are all so cute! i always can't resist looking at them whenever i pass by these shops [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ica - oh..then u better control your sugar intake.

sun_tan - what gadget is that? sounds wonder for mummies who has inverted nipples

astro gal - ya man! but funnily, since i got preggers, i tend to like salty stuff. before, i used to like sweet stuff. maybe that's the way my body is telling me "enuf sugar" haha!

i read that if you crave certain foods, that's your body telling you what you're lacking. eg. if you crave red meat, it's to do with iron deficiency

astrogal,

I duno whats its call, but she say can get it from pharmacy. Will ask my gynae about it the next time i sees him. But according to my sis, if u use breast pump, after sometimes, the inverted nipple would be corrected and the effect is permant one [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] So inverted nipple would only pose a problem if you gg to latch your bb.

cord life banking

Hey hey if anyone wanna sign up, think if quote a current member's name can get discount? (referral discount)

I don't sharing the discount with anyone who is interested. Can just split the savings.

I banked my #1's with cordlife. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

sun_tan,

Ya, that's how we can save some $$ here and there too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

for #2, I am thinking of just donating it though.

Actually to check, if i donate the cord blood to public bank, would we have priority should anything happens and the cord blood has not been used by others yet?

Do u mummies feel hungry at this hour when working? I do.. I just took 3 love letters to eat and my colleague went like, "You don't eat so much lah, is it your mouth itchy or hungry? Later you grow fat" loudly in the office.. She's always like that! What's wrong with taking some snacks, even if it's my mouth itchy?? I dun see any wrong lor.

sweetkiss, nothing wrong with snacking lah. and it's not like you finished the whole container of love letters. my mom said you should eat when you're hungry, as long as you don't overeat.

oh, the last time i went for check up, my gynae just said i shouldn't eat sashimi or raw fish. everything else can eat.

sweetkiss,

Ya now that my appetite has improved, find that I'm hungry every 2 hours. But I try not to snack so much.