(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

Some more on heart burn.

Source: midwife_3pxl%2C00.html,http://parenting.ivillage.com/pregnancy/pthirdtri/0,,midwife_3pxl,00.html

Question:

I am in my 34th week of pregnancy and I am suffering from heartburn on a daily basis. I have been taking Tums to relieve my symptoms, but this is no longer very helpful. I eat smaller, more frequent meals, which I'm sure helps a little. I also sleep with my head elevated. I've heard that liquid antacids, such as Mylanta and Gaviscon are okay to take. Please help!

Answer:

In my practice, I recommend all of the things that you are doing. Research studies confirm that liquid antacids work better than chewables and the ones you mentioned would be fine to take during pregnancy. I've had good luck using Titralac with my clients.

Medications such as Pepcid AC are not generally used during pregnancy, but there is some support in the literature for their use in severe cases. No fetal or maternal problems have been identified.

hi Dqueen: the maternity bras I bought from Taka very ex, about $99 [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] but no choice coz mine was already big before I got pregnant. I tried M&S but the they also don't lie flat on my chest - you know, the part between the 2 cups? But these Taka ones do. and they're very comfortable. the 2 aunties there will help you find the best fit, one that will last till childbirth so that you don't have to buy any more maternity/nursing bras throughout your pregnancy. sigh..this is what happens when you have big boobs lor...

oh, those 2 aunties said to drink sugar juice (fresh one) so that babies come out pink and clean, instead of coconut juice. To drink starting from Month 8. They said drinking coconut juice, some mothers encounter weak legs.

Anyone heard of this sugar cane thingy?

clarins oil - got mine from swanston at chinatown for $56. have been using since i was 11wk pregnant, i've used about half. i also don't rinse off. usually apply before i go to sleep.

bras - this auntie at triumph suggested buying regular bra, but remove the wire. so that's what i've been doing. find it's quite comfortable.

Thanks for all the comments given on honey. I have checked with my gynae and she says there is no such logic. She even joked tat maybe the myth of not taking wild honey is to prevent our kids from turning wild... haha...

With that... there is more assurance for me to take honey now. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

By the way, had my scan today and confirmed my baby is a boy. Can start sourcing for baby stuff now.

Noknok, thanks for all the infor! Ok, i think i ate too much le :p

Pink, congras! My next apptm is on the 9th..hopefully would be able to see as well..

hi yo...

doc is 90% girl... erm...can i take it as 100% le??? but..he's a vri funi gynae...initialli he says can't tell yet...den later...he labels a 'M' on the scan..n i said " Male ah?" den he continues to type " Miss World" n i jumped up from the bed...so so so happy..but in de end..he still says 90% girl lei..

Starxin - U are lucky 90% gerl ... I have enough boys on my collection .. I am the only tiara at home.. 2 Boys + 1 men .

Doctor suspect now my 3rd is a boy again .. So if really 2 more weeks confirmes ULTRAMAN baby than i dont need to shop much .. But if Strawbery ShortCakes than the whole house going to be pink ... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ica - I dun really dare to drink sugar cane juice leh... some stalls place their sugar cane on the floors loh.. and I doubt they wash them before squeezing the juice out.

babycoco - how to remove the wire?? I jus bought their T-shirt bra without wire.

Suntan - my appointment on the 9th too.. hee.. hopfully can tell.. but my collegue who see e same gynae just confirm their bb's sex leh... his wife is due in april.

Seems like everyone knows BB's sex liao.. can't wait to know mine.

ecym - not only the stall owners.. but the whole process of how the sugar cane end up in the stalls.. I dunno.. It jus something I'll think about before ordering sugar cane.. I still do drink once in a while but not often..

morning ladies,

i heard drinking coconut nearing the end of your 3rd trimester may induce delivery & make it easier for baby to be delivered...dunno true or not though [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

morning gals!

sugarcane is cooling one rite?

oh ya, can we request for trial class for the yoga b4 we sign up? any idea??

ica: thxthx! abt 99bucks for comfort, i tink it's worth it..

gonna chk it out tmr! =)

nok nok, you can cut a small hole on the side, and pull the wires out. i've done that to 2 of my bras. so much more comfortable now. plus later, can always put back the wire.

Went for scan yesterday to check baby's condition heart, limbs etc. All in good order and heart was beating very well.

HB was very anxious and told doctor to see if we can find out sex. The baby made a big flip and showed us his butt crack... I was laughing till I had tears. Therefore, we were not able to see the baby's sex at all... so we have to wait for another 3 weeks for the detailed scan. hahahaha

But Im most happy that the baby is in good form and strong enough to kick and flip over hahahah

mummies who have started to feel bb kicks / movement, do u feel it everyday at this stage? mine was very active for 2 or 3 days...then a little quiet yesterday....hope bb is ok...

mrslong i dun encourage those DIY pilates leh. Might hurt yourself without any instructor's supervision. But if you really want, i think those DVD rental shop has them...

MTBs

My clarin oil name is "Huile Tonic". What's urs? i scared the lady gimme wrong one.. cuz recently my belly hair grow longer n darker..

hi ceres: i rem reading from this thread that if ur belly hair grows longer & darker most prolly u having a BB boy! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

right, MTBs?

vernie, ya me too, i can't feel bb move everyday. felt it quite strongly 2 nights ago. but nothing last night... always worry me.

ceres, yup, the clarins oil that i'm using is "huile tonic". it's light yellow in colour right? you know what they say about the belly hair growing longer? it's a boy :0)

mummies, wat abt pineapple tarts?

can we eat them? my colleagues were sharing CNY goodies yesterday..

n all of them said i cant eat. forbid me from taking even 1.

so sad.. only allow me to eat the crust! lol~

noknok, good luck to you and hopefully both of us can tell the sex on that visit!

Jayamum, haha your bb so cute! Do big flip..so far my bb didnt move much during the scans, mostly just move the hands and head abit here and there only.. cant wait to start to feel his/her movement inside me :p

issit? hv belly hair means boy? Ohh...then it just might be true lor.

cuz i seems to hv hair around my navel area whereas i didn't hv them last time. And I'm hvg a baby boy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i think i'll also eat bak kwa during the CNY...but as always eat in moderation cuz it's processed meat.

DQueen>> I still eat pineapple tarts cuz it's processed pineapple & not those fresh fruit cut pineapple. But just that pineapple tarts are very sweet, so eat in moderation.

babycoco, ya it worries me also...got kick very happy, no kick start to feel paranoid...*sigh*...wonder when we will be able to feel the kicks everyday...heard we have to monitor the kicks later on in pregnancy...

sun_tan, i am in Week 18...

mrslong

i am going to try out pilates at powermoves. expensive but i think it's better when u hv someone watch over the moves u make rather than doing it at home.

D queen - so kelian...so they scooped out the filing before giving you the crust? think should be ok. i asked my mom before. 1 or 2 should be all right.

Think all is ok to eat (CNY goodies) but in moderate... high in sugar level & so called heaty.

Wah.. hopefully a boy! My grandma was lecturing say ang pao must give more, generous get boy... "giam siap" (thrifty) will get gal... Lol. Laugh until my tummy pain.

I do feel the movement but not often & alot. small little action only. But i know only i can feel it my HB cannot so i always tell him make him jealous. Hah.

hehehe... so 3 of us will be doing our long awaited scan on 9th feb! Me, sun tan and nok nok!

Few more days to go!!! counting down...

I also can't wait for feel bb's movement. I think i felt it already, but it wasn't strong, just a tap in the tummy and the next second it's gone! Have experienced it for a few times..

Me having spicy mos cheese burger today, slurp! love the chili!!

Pineapple tarts can eat lar ... is the pineapple might be too sweet to eat too much so got to control eating ...

ceres : i really cant accept the folks way of mind of boy n boy... gal all receive neg. words... sob sob ... as if we gals lousy like that ...

CNY Goodies: My mum totally forbid me eating pineapple tarts.. not even 1.. once again.. she say grandmother say so.. sian ah.. everything grandmother say so. But come to think of it, i take one at my MIL place, she also dun know. Haha!!

Ceres: Your grandmother so funny one.. so next one if I wan a girl, I give less angbao during that yr? Haha!!!

Beannie: I'm ok actually i wan a boy.. this is my first pregnancy and i wan a boy cuz i think big brother is gd. Heh. Then next is gal cuz bro will always dote on sis or i will make him dote on sis.

Ann: yah lor. she very funny one. Hah...i was bored ytd was walk over to her hse & chat with her. keep sing opposite things with her make her fire up. :D so fun lor.

xbeanniex: even though they have not good mindset about girls, they still need us to have the babies, right *haha*

my gynae said i'm an incubator *haha* true la..before this i told hubby that he's the donor, i'm the carrier [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I envy those who can feel BB's movement.. still have yet to feel it.. maybe I dunno how to differentiate yet ba.

I think pineapple tart are ok to eat.. Like wat Mrslong said.. it's processed.. and hor.. I think pineapple tart are heaty cos it's baked.

Suntan - I kana disconnected already. Sorry.

ceres - I have opposite thinking as you... I'm the oldest in my family, and I took care of my sisters. Whereas my hubby is also the eldest and he has one younger sister. He knows nuts abt what's going on in his sister's life. Even can ask me for her hp number. I guess it depends on how we're being brought up ba.

noknok, its ok, i realised when you didnt reply..haha..

Actually seriously speaking, even if there is a sale, i also dunno what i should buy at this point in time..is it too early to get things like stroller, high chair etc?

Nok: ya lor but being smallest has its advantages... like cannot bully sis etc. Hehe... so i wan my gal the smallest.

i think jiejie (elder sis) will take care of the younger ones.

as for korkor (elder bro), i think they'll "protect" their younger ones more than taking care and some maybe even "bo chap" so i really think it depends on upbringing and the kid's character.