(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

All MTBs, think my bb got to bear with me sharing the same small little room... flat only ready in 2012... by then bb is like 1yr plus liao ... hahaha

ceres>> i'm also thinking where to get like a list of items to buy to prepare for a newborn baby.

like so many things to buy but dunno start from where....especially milk bottles (what BPA free one lah, etc), teats, etc.

ceres : in Hospital the nurses will guide u with that on day 1 le... as i only know either CL or mum at home will guide ard...

Mrslong: Ahh... i actually gonna just buy what i like. i also dunno like need to see if have this or that.

Beannie: 1 day only i sure panick & forget. My mom also scared. she say too soft when i small she also dun dare to bath me... -.-

Wah, ceres.. ur dog very good life..

Talking abt dogs and babies.. I was telling my hubby tat we need a new babygate for the kitchen to prevent BB from climbing in.. his response was... why do we need that, jus put one piece of the playpens for dogs at the kitchen door will do.. *faints*

Playpen tat I use are those loose pieces of metal gates that can be attached together. I was like asking him back.. the dogs dun even dare to go near the playpen, but what if BB pull on it and the whole piece falls on him/her.

His answer becomes more ridiculous.. dunno if he's trying to be funny or wat. He said.. he/she do that one or two times will learn not to do it liao.. *speechless*

ceres: Sometime i pass dark green motion too.. i dun think there's anything to worry about. Actually it was also the dark green motion that makes me suspect I am preggy in the first place. Cos never had it before. Haha!!

went for my antenatal appt yesterday. dr confirmed that i'll be getting a girl! :D there's a list that records this kinda info right? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ceres>> i think those pre-natal class will also guide you on how to bath the baby, breathing techniques, etc.

as for your stool color, i think it's normal. you taking multi-vit rite? cuz sometimes the supplements we take will affect the stool color but it's ok. That's what my gynae said.

Nok: Ur hb very funny... that is so dangerous lor.. dunno got second time or not after the first.

My dog quite gd lor.. me & HB dote on them alot. They bring smile to us almost all the time ma. Hope my BB will also be the same.

At KKH prenatal class they got teach bath baby ...

And give out samples bathing solution too during the class.

$150 after discount for a set of mosses baby basket cum rocker is it expensive .. I thinking to order from a friend as she is the supplier.

Yea taking multi vitamine & iron pills... took it for like more than 2 wks alrdy today then got this green effect. My hb say who frighten me? He say only frighten than will pass motion in green...

I see, will look into all these classes... $$ all flying!

siti>> i'm not too sure what's the market rate for the moses basket though cuz most likely i'd be getting mine from my HB's nephew.

ceres - yah.. he's treating my dogs like his BB, that's why.. carry my dog sometimes can turn to me and say.. see, he look like BB like tat hor..

mrslong, here's a suggested list of what to buy for your cutie pie.

Clothing

1. Home clothes (abt 3 sets, tops and bottoms/rompers)

2. mittens and bootees x 3 sets

3. receiving blanket

Dun buy too much clothing as you will be SWAMPED with loads and loads of them as gifts!!

Bathing

1. baby bath lotion (Mustela, California baby is good. Gynae told me not to use Johnson & Johnson as it is drying)

2. baby bath tub

3. anti-slip rubber mat to put on bath tub

4. rubber mat to change baby on

5. square facial cotton pads to clean babies face

6. dedicated small plastic tub to contain boiled water to wash baby's face only

7. diaper cream

8. Yu yee oil (for newborns, gynae told me not to apply directly on their skin as their skin is still v thin. Just rub on your hands and then "wave" them above baby's tummy without direct contact)

9. diapers!!!

10. tissue paper to dry baby's butt after pooing or peeinng

11. small dedicated container to put water to wash baby's butt afte pooing or peeing

12. cotton wool balls to clean baby's butt after pooing or peeing (can buy from Chinese medical hall)

13. DUN buy wet wipes (KK nurse told me that they usually have chemicals and that is no good for newborns. SHe said to use cotton wool and clean warm water and that will be good enough)

Feeding

1. Milk bottles x 2

2. Milk teats x 2 (dun buy too many first in case baby doesn't like it, NUK is supposed to be closest to mummy's mipple, so babies supposedly take to it easier)

3. Steriliser for milk bottles and such

4. Small tin of milk for standby in case breast milk not enough

Washing

1. Baby detergent (Kodomo etc)

2. Baby bottle detergent (Pigeon etc)

3. Brush for washing baby bottle

4. clean towels to be used only for laying bottles out to dry or covering them

5. dedicated metal pot with lid to put used milk bottles if not sterilising immediately

Sleeping

1. pacificers if you intend to use one (buy 2 first, in case baby doesn't like that brand so that you can try others

2. bedsheets

3. waterproof mattress protector

4. sarong if you using yaolan

Hope this helps! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Rmummy, thanks for the list. I've also been looking around for one. So many things to buy/prepare!

noknok : ur HB very interesting leh... but true too my mum also tells me that ... my 2yrs old cousin used to be itchy hand to grab water mugs n such - as long as he can reach or die die he reach for it - once he touch my bro's metal mug of hot drink on the handle only, now he dare not even touch any mug/glass/bottles lying ard... can always test him by puttin ur mug on the table for him to purposely touch, my bb cousin only dare to stand far far n pat his chest...*Scare* hahaha

xbeanniex - that's cute.. haha.. self learn

BB purchase list, for those shopping around Taka or the first few years, there are lists in hardcopy that you can take too.. include maternity stuff like nursing bras, etc. I did a comparison between the two before.. there are some differences.. so I guess what you want to purchase ultimately still have to be decided

and oh...does anyone knows if eating too much peanuts is no good for BB??

me been eating a lot of peanuts stuff (e.g. kacang putih sugar peanut, peanut butter jam, etc).

Peanut might cause BB to get allergy / asthma is from the western side one. A few websites suggests that if you or your hubby has got asthma history (and some others), better to avoid peanut. It's not a chinese saying. So I avoid peanut as much as I can.

http://www.babycenter.com/404_is-it-safe-to-eat-peanut-butter-during-pregnancy_10315711.bc

http://www.dumex.com.sg/feeding_and_nutrition/pregnancy_nutrition/article/which_foods_should_i_avoid_during_pregnancy

ceres>> ooh, i just hope my BB won't hv food allergies le.

anyway, i just searched on babycenter website & here's what i found:

"It's fine to eat peanuts while you're pregnant. The Department of Health says that there is no evidence that eating or not eating peanuts while you're pregnant affects your baby's chances of developing a peanut allergy.

Despite this advice, you may still feel reluctant to eat peanuts, and that's understandable. Talk to your GP or midwife if you have a family history of allergies and are worried about the effect eating peanuts will have on your baby. It's also worth remembering that, as long as you're eating a healthy balanced diet, excluding peanuts from your diet will not do you or your baby any harm."

ceres, mrs. long: the peanut allergy is mainly for those mommies or even daddies who already have some kind of allergies, so when pregnant, it's advisable to avoid peanuts, eggs, milk, etc. to prevent babies from having the allergies too. you can google and look it up.

I'm avoiding peanuts now. My cousin's kids are allergic to peanuts - inherited from the mom. the eldest one cannot stand the smell of any nuts, else he'll get rashes. and worst case scenario, can lead to death

omg... this is so scary! I don't think i have any background of allergy on this. Anyway, i won't touch much on peanuts.

oh, so if me & my HB doesn't hv food allergies, shld be ok i guess.

aiyah...of all things why i crave for peanut butter jam. shucks :p

mrslong.. babycenter's 3 gynae suggests different things leh.. I've attached the links above for those who want to read up.

Some mums also commented problem with peanuts too.

I guess it's up to individual ba.

oh, sorry. i forgot to mention that my cousin's kids have the peanut allergy but the kids' mother does not. and her brother's kids are also allergic to peanuts. i guess must be in the genes. they seldom fly coz they serve peanuts in the plane. once they flew back to Oz and some one ate peanuts in the plane and the elder one developed rashes. My cousin and his wife are both chinese, so it happens to every one, not just ang moh

think on the safe side, just avoid it.

ica - I was refering the saying is from western side meaning, there are some medical reports on it, but conclusion are not conclusive. Whereas compared to chinese sayings, there are no medical proves on those. Am not trying to say that it'll only affect ang mohs.

oh, Noknok, i don't mean that your post imply that it affects ang moh only. just that usually we don't hear of asians having this peanut allergy.

If my hubby is lactose intolerant will my child have the same problem also? But i heard from the talk, the Dr mentioned usually ppl with lactose intolerant are caused by the mother not taking dairy products during preg.

ica [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

sweetkiss, I think no one can tell you the answer leh... since i dun think anyone knows why some people are allergic to certain things.

just went NTUC during lunch to buy Nutella jam instead already...hehee.

btw fellow MTBs, my girlfriend just email me a prepration List of items for Mummy & Baby.

if you girls are interested, PM me, I'll email to you.

Peanut: I think if you take a little bit, it would not develop allergy in our kids. Like you all always say.. moderation is the key word. Any food that you take too much is not good too.

Eumora: OMG!! Alot more promotion coming up for it. I saw 1 sell even cheaper. 1 box free 1 bar of soap at $110. So it comes up to only $22 per piece. If do self collect, any $3 discount. This is even cheaper than the buy 1 box and 2 pcs soap free.. which is $25 per pc. Should have buy later.

Ann: i also saw alot abt this soap. What is it for?

MTBs: u all got use any oil now to prevent stretch mark? i am using the clarins oil but only like once or twice a wk...

Dumex vouchers: Hey girls.. did u all notice that some of the vouchers they give like the Mother2baby voucher and Cover Looks Voucher will expired even before our BB is born? Mother2baby voucher will expire 3 mths from date of issue. Cover Looks Voucher will only be valid for 45 days from date of issue. Wondering what's the point of giving us vouchers that expire so soon.

Today morning Dumex call say will deliver the goodies to me soon... wat sample pack drink for mothers etc.

Well, all these voucher is for u, whether u use it or not ur choice. They dun really care, all they want to promote is actually the milk.

Faster go buy or use it. If not also wasted...

freebies, what can you expect [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ceres: The soap is like a miracle soap if you go to the link posted by Jo_lyn and see. Can use anywhere on your body, hair and face. Not sure if it is true. Jayamum had tried and she say it is real good.

I also using Clarin stretch mark oil now. Oh.. the soap can also help to lighten the stretchmark on your tummy.