(2010/04) April 2010 mtb

orangey,

you want to buy so many different pot? i only got 1 6 litre thermal cooker. i feel that don't buy too small cos you won't be bringing it out one. if you plan to have #2, then buy slightly bigger one. no point buying a bigger when #2 or #3 comes. :p

that one i was looking a 4.5litre and 6 litre, colleague told me to buy 6 cos not much difference.

BBDust ... schoolhouse by the bay is at kampong arang cc .. a bit open compound cos it's a CC ... and toddler class only PM .. i don't want PM class cos very disruptive to sleep time ...

and bbS is now on waitlist for playclub @ east coast .. cos it's too far to keep going to evans ... and JG evans is shifting in term 4 ...

XLH i use Britax Omega ... just changed it to forward facing.

piglet ... there's a star learners @ sembawang??

and childcare subsidy .. half day childcare $150 working mum subsidy. full day $300 subsidy.

celyn,

impressive list of soups! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] i usually jia liao by adding either brown dates (mi zhou in mandarin) or black dates or a bit of orange peel for a citrusy kick to the soup.

orangey,

for yong tau fu, crab stick and other processed foods, you might want to hold off giving to bbO before he can walk... my elders say a lot of salt/MSG. the guideline is once they can walk, their kidneys are mature enuf to process the salt. .... but up to you la... your baby, you decide, my baby, i decide [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

HJ

I put him on waiting list for forum cause that place is the nearest one to us now. hmm actually i shld try evans road too cause its even nearer to us.

piglet08

Yes I live in the north. You too? If I can be a SAHM then I would rather teach her on my own till she is 3 and enrol her in playgroups during this time. If I do need to go back to work then it will be cc.

BBdust

Think HJ has registered for the one in the east. Too far for me [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Which branch did you sign up bbL with?

Kinderland for cc... still considering the one at civic centre... but not quite what I am looking for (prefer landed with garden) though location probably most convenient. Uniform so-so only. Ha ha this mommy has very strange requirement for the choice of school! Noticed those church kindys have very pretty gingham pinafores.. so sweet!

Hi Ming,

Will I c u at Robinson's tomorrow then? Hahahaha.... I will probably go around 8+pm after my little gal sleeps since tomorrow robinson's will open until 11pm. Want to go and sweep miscellanous baby items like wet wipes, cotton balls etc.

cellow,

yah yah. all those are given after 18 months when he goes cc. before that he eats at babysitter's place.

i will add red dates sometimes. mi zhou is what? nice?

HJ,

Yup. There is a Star Learners @ Sembawang just Opp Sembawang Shopping Centre. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Btw heard of Little Tree House? Is It good?

Hi BBdust,

Evan road JG campus is confirmed closing down in Sept. U should stick to Forum. Once the school tells us abt the new location, i let u know.

syz

eh skool house international? north area not much choices really.

or like what piglet mentioned, star larners? little tree house

i waitlisted him for forum.

ruru

okie shall stick to forum then [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Syz,

At Sembawang, there is Little Skool House International, MMI @ Canberra, Star Learners @ Sembawang, Genius Littlehouse Montessori, Little TreeHouse @ Sembawang, Kinderland Childcare @ Woodlands Civic Plaza wor.

Wah Celyn, thanks for the list of soups! Really got to think of preparing this so that we can have homecooked dinners now that bb syz can eat "adult" food [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Eva

My girl got vaccinated yesterday. Last jab for Prevnar and 1st jab for Hep A.

piglet08 / BBdust

Am at Woodlands [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Thanks for the list! Will need to arrange for visits when I start to work part time next month.

MMI vistapoint is more for enrichment. Don't like the premises. Vistapoint has a Learning Vision... plus point is that is walking distance from my home.

HJ

Yes, bb syz will miss seeing bbS in class too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Cellow,

Is mi zhou the same as honey dates? I used that when I make pear soup for cough / phlegm.

celyn,

it looks like this... a picture is worth a thousand words in this case. this has a more mellow sweet taste compared to red dates. more suitable for soups, i think.

http://www.thechinesesouplady.com/large-dried-dates/

orangey,

i have this one 1.5L

http://www.nichebabies.com/product.php?id_product=39. Sufficient to cook C2's porridge. I got an extra inner pot to cook soup for the adults plus C1. w the limited space, the soup that comes out is very concentrated so i will dilute before drinking. the 6L pot is too big for my kitchen.

Ohhh Cellow I love to read thechinesesouplady too! yes yes that is honey dates [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

woofy,

cold war is over. i backed down when Mr C backed down last night and made effort to sayang C1. we are done for this skirmish.

he is my partner to raise the children. i need to remember that.

syz,

i m able to rationalise that for myself this morning. that Mr C is tired/exasperated and needs me to step in. if you had asked me ystday, i would have gone into a tirade on how men expect us to do everything. but that's not fair too. both of us are parents. we need to tag team each other, we are on the same team!

plus i mentally counted my blessings that he is even able to bring C1 out by himself. apparently.... this is very rare. but i take it for granted bcz well, Mr C is just that kind of hands-on dad, so i think tis normal, not extraordinary. for C1, he did everything that i did minus the breastfeeding. more hands-off with C2 as occupied w C1.

que sera sera on job seach / SAHM-dom / 2nd child. those are BIIIIIG life decisions there!

Ruru: Yes! You might see me at Robinsons tmw. I will sms you if I do go after work. May go during lunch time instead. Will see how it goes. But wipes etc are usually not discounted. Just the usual 5% rebate for members.

BBDust: Yep, looking at Bt Timah too but refuse to pay $1,600 psf which is what some units are asking for. Madness.

Syz: Heard Baby C wasn't feeling well? Hope she is better now.

bbdust

my ger taken her pneumococcol jab @2nd, 4th and 6th month and booster due in 18th mth....

is it because u start give ah boy this jab at later stage? i'm a bit confuse now?

heh syz,

actually i dun read her blog. i just googled and found the pix.

interesting ah? my soup skills are honed from observing my grandma throw things into the soup pot for many many years since i was C1's age. however, there are always new things to learn.

orangey,

even the 4.5L is tooooooo big for my kitchen.

get the 1.5L? doesnt take up a lot of space. i have cooked soup for 5 adults plus C1 in the 1.5L before... ofcos the 1.5L pot held more ingredients than soup that time... i crammed all the soup ingredients in, then diluted the soup.

robinsons sale

what is there to buy? i m mentally thinking where to put the new things if i start buying more stuff. nyet too much brain work required.

syz

oh ya forget my ger also got take Prevnar...so there is a jab due for her this week.

There is jab for Hep A also? I onlt heard for Hep B....is this optional?

Ming

Thanks for asking [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Her drippy nose came back after her party so had to miss the playdate on Sat. It was better but started to act up again during JG class on yesterday. I suspected that it is just sensitivity after her recent cold and this was confirmed by her pd yesterday so we went ahead with her vaccinations. How was Royce gym?

Which Robinsons do you intend to go? Centrepoint or Raffles City? Wondering if it will be worth the "stress" of going shopping during a 1 hr lunch break.

Cellow

Yes, have to count our blessings for those things that do go our way [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

syz

bbsyz is not well but u let her take jab ystdy?

my ger ystdy got fever and just realise she got appointment for her prevnar jab this week...still hesitate to let her take the jab or not =(

robinson-ya 1hr shopping is v rush. my office is just opp i still feel 1hr also not enuff

eva

eh mine only took 3 jabs including the last one at 1 year leh. he only jab when he was 5-6 months old.

call up the doc, they will advise u whether to let bbeva jab or not. the last time when my boy had fever the pd told us to postphone it.

Eva

Haha in this sense I am a pretty relaxed mommy. She is happy and active, eating and sleeping well, no fever even in the first few days when she had her cold. Felt that she is fine for vaccination. Pd also felt the same way but said was up to me to decide. Her reasoning is that her cold was 10 days ago and mucous now clear. Virus is gone. Lungs also clear. Usually when our bodies are fighting a cold our nose will be sensitive to allergens eg dust etc which is why her runny nose comes on and off. Important to find a pd who is like-minded ;p Otherwise i don't know when I will have to wait till for her vaccination! The last time bb syz had a cold, this off on drippy nose lasted quite a while.

Eva

I am one station away from Robinsons so still thinking. Plus the crowd! Nowadays prefer not to go into crowded places or rush here and there. Somehow after having a baby no longer have this I MUST I MUST CHECK OUT THAT SALE mentality. Last time will go to Isetan sale even during lunch hour.

so active so active!! off day looking after bbS and he's insisting everything must be done by mummy!! argh!!!

so decided on last min to bring him to gymboree for trial later @ tanglin!! i need to expense his boundless energy!!

HJ

Haha good idea! Make him so tired and hope he takes a good nap this afternoon so that you can rest on your precious day off!

syz

wow isetan more far le....

btw me totally opp u...last time dnt bother sales. even robinson & OG is just opp my office. but since aft got BB...i go crazy when got sales....buy this but that but all bb stuffs...

lucky now cut down in buying things unless really need it badly

ya syz .. u know how active he is ... half day and i'm almost flat!! when i'm not around he's ok with anyone ... with me around he's like a "nian gao" ...

thanks bbdust & HJ

now i'm back on track....the 1yo jab due is the add/optional jab Prevnar not in the bb booklet....so forgetful...nearly overlook this jab. only remember the 15&18mths jabs

speed reading... been super flooded at work. now got time cos waiting colleague for lunch. yup, 110pm and haven't eaten yet.

XLH: yup i have britax (think is royale). very good n comfy. no complaints so far. bought from taka baby fair, can't remember price, either 199 or 299.

Cellow: hugs. glad is over... yup we need to remember that daddies have MUCH lower tolerance for cranky kids than mommies. mine look after cranky baby for 2 hours is a super big deal liao. he says that he wants no.2 but also fear it cos 'i will be busy with M2 and he will be stuck with M1'. so he knows he has to do. but even now, he can get frustrated n lose temper with her. i'm quite sure if he had to manage her alone for one weekend (not even long one), someone will get hurt.

syz

hee sorry just came back from lunch let me get back to you with ur PM [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

HJ

hahah same as me, i am finding a place to let him burn off his excess energy... too too too too active. so i let him run and run and run about at home, in the playground and after he is so tired, he zz without me patting

Cellow/Celyn,

Maybe need advise from you mummies about honey dates. I bought a pack cause I saw on Tv and some books that honey dates is a great ingredient when it comes to cooking soup cause its sweet thus no need to add salt/sugar but I saw that they contain preservatives!!! Hmmm I'm not too keen to add in anything with preservatives given that I'm going to introduce soup on a daily basis. Maybe once in a while ok but nono to everyday.

Chips,

Got leh but i think the owner removed the tag? I cant find the post now [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] You go to your recent activity and see if can access?