(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

PY >> could you pls give rokiah a call. your blocked ducts / engorgement is seriously affecting yr mood and it shouldn't be. she is really darn good at using simple manoevures to clear the issue up. she makes house calls and if yrs is an urgent case, i believe she will quickly go over. her mobile is 9271 6091. she is not a doc, not a lactation consultant but known to many mummies and me, for being really good with the issues you have. take care..

PY, mayb you nd to get a massage lady do help you on the breast engrogement and also reduce the water retention. I haven't delivered yet so I do not know how well the massage can help but trust other mummies can advise and recommend.

shugar >> i neglected just one pumping session and it became rocks. no harm giving the recommendation i gave PY above...got my supply going again after i called her in. she also shared some useful tips.
- do not sleep on yr sides. whichever side you slept on, you'd find that blocked ducts would form there (it's true!);
- when lying on yr back to sleep, it helps to keep your arms tightly tucked at the sides, this helps to ensure the milk do not do a "backflow" and you'll find you've swollen nodes on yr armpits
- when showering, direct the hot water nozzle around the breasts and try to express in the shower, work out the small lumps you can feel. i bathe twice a day and i think this is a good suggestion. i usually schedule bb's feed immediately after each warm shower when ss would also peak
- drink warm fluids before and after breastfeeding.
- if bb has finished and you still feel there's stuff in the boobs, u must express them out..don't leave them for the next session (oh man..this is tough!)

hope these helps...and get well soon..

PY >> are you living in a condo or can get to one? just a thought, if you have access to a steam room/ steambath, go and use it, try to ease the blockage there. a fren of mine swears by this. i have yet to try this though

PY: re water retention, my swollen feet didn't go away until just one or 2 days ago. now normal.

pls stay positive!

PY, take xoxolight's advice & call rokiah asap. Dun let the prob prolong else it's going to affect you badly. U r not supposed to cry during confinement as it wl affect your eyesight in future.... take care! We are all here for u......

PY,
so sorry to hear about your predicament. you shud give rokiah a call since xoxo has already tried out her services. if you think u are spending a lot of time manual pumping, can i suggest u consider getting a good double electric pump? this is all affecting your mood and i think a few hundred dollars is a small price to pay for efficiency and convenience, and you can spend more time with charlotte!

the medela pump in style advanced is very well known to be quick and efficient. (btw, my LC told us DO NOT BUY MEDELA MINI ELECTRIC cos a lot of her patients gave her feedback that it causes milk supply to drop!) i'm using PUMP IN STYLE advanced and most of my frens have recommended it too.

anyways do bear in mind that you are the mother and you need to take care of yourself first, before you can take good care of baby. so do whatever it takes to get better, feel better, then you can have good supply for charlotte.

jrrt,
it was everyone around me lor. they saw that my and hb been sleeping so little just taking care of isabel that they feel heartpain for us lah. so they just wanna give well meaning suggestions. in fact, even my hb was a bit wanna surrender last night already. he slept like 1 hr day before yesterday, last night like 3 hrs. was very disheartened lah. but at least today PD cleared some doubts so we know its cause she wasn't feeling so well thats why cry so much.

thanks everyone for the advice given. its very much appreciated! i can see a faint flicker of light at the end of the tunnel...

xoxo,
no, i dun wanna give anything other than my boobs. hehe... quite adamant about that til now. i know there'll come a time when i have to relent. but for now, i'm pressing on.

tien,
hmmm... no sign of TIEN!!! maybe she went to POP!?!

xoxo> thanks so much! i've sms her liao. see if it's too late for me to call her. haa i'm staying at HDB.. no steam room leh haha anyway i will definately look for mdm rokiah. btw how are her charges?

hippo> hmmm.. will consider that if i really have problem latching charlotte.. coz i wanna feed direct leh.. sigh.. but now my main issue is to clear up the darn block ducts.

So happy that there's all of you here.. if not i really dunno who to seek advice from

wah biang, just saw a video of a scene in Victoria, a pram rolled down into the tracks, the train came and ran over it, and the baby was fortunately ok!

Btw charlotte is 4 day old today. my CL gave her 60ml per feed. is this too much?

2 days ago, the nursery staff told me per feed is 30ml. now i ask the CL she say she drink 60ML (including my EBM) !!!!!

Annette>> Haha ... so your snoring neighbour was only in for observation ward ah? If she hvt deliver, then chances of me "meeting" her may be high lor... becos I'm induced next Mon/Tue leh, hahaha .... *pray hard* By the way, how's your stay so far? Food good?

PY>> Dont cry okie? Hugs Hugs. I know the engorgement feeling is terrible, I remembered even putting on a nursing bra can be super painful but the positive thing is it did go away after a day or 2 for me when I keep pumping religiously (yeah, poor nipples suffered as a result).

Rooster>> Wah, your CL got special requests for coffee ah? Sometimes I wonder these CL are here to help or to give us more things to worry about?!?! I fully empathise ... It's not as if we ngiao and dont want to buy her the brand she wanted but during this confinement period, we do hv more things to worry about and take care of, so I think she's not considerate enough and still want to ask for such things.

Didnt hear from Astro also, maybe went to pop also???

i agree with hippo. The medela pump in style advanced that i'm using is very good. My friend recommended that long ago, and I got it during expo in June.

Just 12 min, my rock hard breasts go soft after pumping.

and PY, don't get too caught up with direct latch. The more impt thing is supply.

ha ha ha ha guess what i told my hb abt the milk intake that my CL feed her.. he told me that time she did ask her "eh why now 40ml?"

CL replied "30ml of water.. i put powder become 40ml"

HAHAHAHA very funny huh!

my hb just went "orh" =.=

PY >> call her..!! she attends to calls even at 1am..prb with these type of blocked ducts /engorgement is that it gets worse by the hr if u don't resolve it. i really hope she can help you.
fyi, i am also using the medela PIS advanced...worth every penny except that i wished it has a hands-free version...if u do intend to buy it (i am not familiar with any other pump), switching it on to the 1st phase at near max and applying some direct pressure on any blockages can sometimes help to clear the blockage too...don't despair, we all go thru' this and you'll be fine really soon okie?

hippo >> good for you! i caved in to FM and water..now bye to FM but still giving her sips of water to help bring the jaundice down. hope both our little ones would recover from J soon..

eh her ringing tone is an overseas line leh.,. then after that operator says "the no. u call is not in service" i think she nt in sg?

xoxo: what's your blood group and baby's blood group? I overheard a PD telling my neighbour at the ward that the jaundice is very bad because she's O + and baby B+ which is super bad combi.

PY you can try cabbage. Put it in the freezer and then take out and put over the breast for 2 hrs. don't remove it during these 2 hrs. leave the cabbage there.

seems like a lot of us are having CL woes. my CL is quite mild compared to what some of you have experienced though. but i cant tahan the fact that taking care of bb is her core job n she can f**k it up. my EBM is so precious but the way she allows bb to drip it all over the hanky infuriates me! i knew it is her problem when my sis came over this afternoon to feed bb n not a drop of milk went to the hanky. my mil also corrected her on her way of cooking. i also corrected her on how to clean the bb's eyes. isnt it very basic???

my milk ss has remained constant so far doesn't help since bb's appetite is growing. turning to FM at least once a day. it's so tough being a mummy... help!

glass >> i am O+, bb's O+ too..but the daddy's B+...

PY >> 40ml not overfeeding..some mummies on this forum was advising me earlier that if we overfeed, bb will puke it out anyway.

PY oh you tried cabbage and doesn't work. u have to use hands to express. very painful but once it is out it is okie. hang on and it will be over soon and no more engorgement

hi j lim,

I also pay 2k. But mine is from agency. 1st one is malaysian n 2rd one is singaporean.

If i noe cl is not worth it, i rather dun hire. I hire liao, hb also busy, cannot rest too.

When i tell her, she still angry. she forget e timing for e next feed. N my baby keep crying. I noe he hungry. When i tell her she say not yet. I told her he hungry if follow ur timing he will starve for 3.5 hrs.

If i send her back, my mum will surely say something. Cos my 1st confinement is done by my hb n she think tat it not properly done n did not take enough tonics. So tis time she ask me hire cl so tat i can have enough rest n tonics for 1 mth then have e energy to take care of 2kids after 1mth.

If e cl continue to make mistakes, i will surely send her back. I rather deprived of sleep n tonics at least i can take care e baby myself. I dun mind next time old liao, here ache there ache. Wat i wan is the best for my kid.

Sorry to interrupt. I've a Techno Chest Freezer to let go, bought it in April this year to store breast milk only and it's still under warranty. Self collect in Sembawang, PM me if you are interested.

PY: my bb's appetite has grown to more than 40ml, i tink. in tmc, he was drinking 40ml per feed n i realise these days he is "asking" for more when i only gave him 40ml. i wd think 50ml+ now but then again, every bb is different.

xoxo: u give ur bb water? i remembered in class, we were taught not to give bb water. but my sis keeps saying this is the best way to bring down jaundice. i m in such a dilemma.

PY: I read that hot compress can only put on a while... too long will cause engorgement to get worse when he milk supply increases due to the heat. Did u try cold compress? I'm trying out now.

Haiz, so busy today as we are moving back to our own place tomorrow. I forsee more problems when we move back.. no more mom to help us liao.. full hands on. Gulp! :S

hippo
U r welcome!
If any of my advice helped, I am so glad tt it worked.
Yes, babies r v smart. they hate gg under the light. tts y i stayed in wif him on the 1st day he was admitted for jaundice. ended up this boy kept wanting to latch coz of the security and comfort. the moment we put him down in the box, he started crying and cant sleep well. so poor thing. my heart ached so much. in the end, his jaundice din go down enuff to b dsicahrged. so on day 2, we were advised to go home and leave baby in the hospital for max exposure to the phototherapy. i went back to latch him 2 times and he took my ebm when i am not ard. the next day my son was discharged.
v heartaching i know. and mayb coz they cry more when they r put inside the box, they swallow more air thus causes wind oso. vicious cycle. hope her jaundice drops soon! u take gd care too...
ask ur hb to take naps in the daytime else he will fall sick soon. by then he cant take care of u both, he has to stay away fr u & baby too. so get him to rest as well.
i agree tt no harm to give baby a few sips of water... by spoon... anything tt will help to bring jaundice down, i will do it! my son took 7 wks to clear his jaundice completely despite him hvg the same blood grp as me... so its not true afterall leh.

PY
u muz learn to relax else u will suffer fr PND soon... let go, let go.
get ur hb to tell CL not to mix adults' & baby's clothings to wash. its simple reason, she muz b dumb not to know. try not to stress urself wif such things now. if ur hb can handle it, let him do it for now till u feel better.

RE: Cabbage Leaves on boobs
I've heard this method is v effective but it oso diminishes the supply drastically and it might b irreversible. i advise this method only as a last resort.

U know wat i wanna suggest? if the chokage is sooooo bad & baby's latch & pumps cant help, last resort --- get hb to suck out for u! it sounds disgusting but hey if it can help to relieve u of the bad pain, i cant think of why a hb wld refuse. besides its not poison milk lah. the idea juz sounds icky but i believe an adult is capable of clearing the blocked ducts effectively. i've heard of a fren tt asked her hb to do tt when she was so desperate and it really helped.

PY>> my fren had very bad engorgement the other day as well.. she went back to Mount A and the nurses helped her with the problem.. they used both hot and cold compress, but im not sure which one first..

hippo>> your Isabel not winner liao, twinky's baby is the winner for the baby girls! hers weigh 3.895kg!

and renting the light home for jaundice, my PD adviced against it coz he told us we will end up with heart-ache, and pick up the baby more often etc.. but since you have already rented the light home for treatment, hope Isabel gets well very soon! Gambate!

dreamygal : haha. i got say the no biting and the open mouth big big. hahahaha. :p

phlegm like sound :
eh my baby oso like that. was concern why it seems like he is wheezing, like got air and breathing through mouth. He has been gaining weight.

Anyone has any tips on how to burp a baby effectively? my babe seems to have a lot of air.

Just now went to visit bb at TMC and pass EBM.
BB had been fed so he not interested to suckle. and I have 3 big lumps on my left boob! owww.. have tried massaging but still pain. so was in the room pumping out while my HB spend time with him.
But.. duno why while pumping i suddenly felt v emotional and v stressed up. at the end only manage to pump 30ml in total
. i just felt like hugging my bb (but he sleeping soundly oledi so i din wanna bug him). just feel irritated and was in tears. but duno what exactly is bothering me.

and wound is starting to hurt again
(yes..did take cab)

bb looked 'white'/'fair'. is it a positive sign that jaundice is down?

xoxo : wah.. the tips on engorgement. i going to try. to sleep with hands at side (a bit tough though..coz' once in zz land....hand can go everywhere). one of the lumps is near the armpit. haii.. left boob got lump on east, west and south

PY : *big hug* my friend oso got someone to massage her boob and it reli helped. dun worry there is help available.
or, u tink maybe u wanna call parentcraft and ask them if u pop by they can help to clear it for u? i not sure if they do that or not though.

Hi mummies, i have few bottles of NeurogainPB Fish Oil (for pregnancy) to let go. Selling at $26 per bottle. PM me if you are interested. Thanks..

Mie,
haha isit? My isabel got dethroned? But still top few lah right?!
i felt the same abt the light equipment as well. But hb cant bear to let admit. Luckily we r able to discipline ourselves n put her there whenever shes not being fed. I think getting rid of the wind in her tummy helped a lot. She can even settle under the light. So thats good.

Jrrt,
u shudve seen how they draw her blood today. Very VERY heartpain. They poke the needle into the back of her hand!!! Yah hb finally getting some sleep now. We have delegated our helper to take over looking after her for tonight, only bring her up for feeds. So that helps. That flicker of light has become a faint light in the distance... At the end of the tunnel...

pumping out.
hi. i am a little unsure. when we pump out every 3 hourly
1. should we pump 15 minutes max only
2. or pump out until reli feel quite empty?

thanks for your compliments on my babe

re:engorgement and blocked duct
i too experincing it a few days ago and it took me a 2-3 days to "kind of" unblock it.. that's like 12-18 times of pumpping? now, i still have blocked duct i think but not so painful, so i just leave it. hopefully slowly with the regular pumpping session, the block ducts will slowly go away.

re:bb jaundice
actually the pd suggested we leave bb in the hospital because sometimes the parents didn't do a proper job in tanning the bb that in the end still got to admit to hospital. a lot of parents seeing bb so uncomfortable and crying and this creates lots of stress back at home too. so, best leave it to the nurse to do the job and at the same time, parents can get a well rested night. i couldn't agree more! not that i' heartless but it's best to get it done with and can discharge bb the very next day lor.

gal,
actually it's up to you how long you want to pump. for my 1st one, i pumped more than 1 hour! of course nipple v sore lor but i want to achieve more, so no choice grit my teeth and "ren". for no.2, i'm still expressing abt 45 mins to 1 hour to empty my breast as much as possible but this time round, quantity more, so no need to pass 1 hour..hehe.. meanwhile, i lubricate my nipple with lanisoh cream of my squeeze out a bit of BM and smear around the oreola.

ginger,
my MIL told my hubby the same thing and said the nurse told her last time. but of course we didn't follow lah.. are you BF your baby? if so, just BF more often and the water BM is sufficient lah. I scared i feed water, my baby too full to drink my milk leh..

vodkarib,
i accumulate the feed for the same day and keep in fridge for 2 night and if still not feed to bb, will store in freezer. did that for my elder, no issue at all.

PY,

My ger drank 90m-100ml when she is 4 days old. Sometimes, may peak to 120ml lei. Her PD was like.."wow..drink so much already!!"

But nw, 2wks old, she drinks abt 70-90ml every 2.5hrly liao..dunno why..She gt the habit to drink til fall aslp then dun drink liao..

Me only pump 15mins every session... up pain.. c-sect wound also pain...

Haiz.. saw Diana bb pics taken by Kelly.. very tempted and was thinking of engaging her service... Her schedule is fully booked and the earliest she can make it is nov liao...

yippee!! bb elias jaundice is now less than 10 n is back home.

ariojo / pigsy : thanks.

py : i met one of the teacher. tmc parentcraft got service to help clear block ducts.

gal> i called up mdm rokiah already. recommeded by xoxo. she will attend to me on monday
right now i'm pumping every 2-3 hrs and the engorgement is not so bad liao. and charlotte can manage to latch on too.. but now my nips are sore... quite difficult to latch correctly as she was crying and like trying to find the correct position.. sigh... sometimes even latch wrongly, i also just let her be.. =\

xoxo> she call me ytd.. told her abt my situation and she say she is coming back to singapore on monday. i'm really really looking forward to her.. she say "yah i think u need my service badly. pls dun give up bf" haha.

RE: milk intake
wow.. didnt know their appetite grew so much within days!

hippo>> yeah i told my hb i wanna get a dual electric pump.. if the CL leave liao i gotta take care of charlotte.. and if i have problem latching her on, i think my pumping out also can.. at least i wont be that stress.. eventhough i like to feed her directly. hai.

hmmmmm avent electric pump good?

mie> u using avent right so far so good?

aiyoh i dunno why whenever my mom call to check on me, i'll definitely cry.. sigh.. i think i too emo liao..

<font color="0000ff">Where's Astro &amp; Loke?</font> 难道你们俩个去生了???!!!

hippo
they drew fr blood fr her hand ah? I cant rem liao... aiyoh... i thot it was fr the bottom of the feet? but now i recall, yes, think its fr the hand oso. my son kena drawn 2 or 3 times...
yes, the flicker of light will come... u will not always be at the bottom of the pit.
things will surely get better as the days go back when the routine is set.

gal^
as mentioned, each boob shld take max 20 mins to express. Or u mean when u pump beyond this time, milk jets r still squirting out fr ur nipples? i think quite unlikely leh. if its v weak jets and milk is not squirting. can stop liao. dun overpump. ur nipples will b v sore.

aria jo
u pump aft each latch or u exclusively pump only?

PY
not every baby needs a lot of milk and of coz, there r some whom dun need as much oso.

did u try to let charlotte latch when she is not so hungry so she is not so angry? hopefully this will give a better latch &amp; u dun suffer.

u wanna get dual pump? if so, avent electric is exp leh. i got ameda dual pump at isetan yest. its one of the cheapest and more reliable dual pump i know. of coz there r medela ones but i've heard the noise is generates is super noisy. unless u get PIS which is almost $800. so i got ameda, which i tried it wif my #1 as well. so far my fren &amp; my sis is using it and got gd comments abt it.

yah hor! where is ASTRO hahahahaha.. must be leh

hmm jrrt, how much u get the ameda pump?

i didnt latch her when she is not hungry.. CL says if not hungry, she wont suck... but is true leh she nv open her mouth =\

Jrrt,
exclusive pumping la. Dun think I'm the goddess of bm. Ha ha. If after latch still hv so much I should go live in the farm liao and be a cow. Haha