(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

Jrrt: re expressing...wat if after 10-15 mins still got milk coming out? stop or continue?
my nipples are feeling bit sore now.

my mom say confinement cannot cry. will go blind..
she's scolding me now.. she ask me why i cry i dunno also. i just feel v lost =\

btw how to use hand to squeeze out the milk?

PY: it is normal to be upset. coz hormaones ranging.. ask ur mother to leave u alone?

shugar: continue for a while. can't be so much. max 20 minutes?

who's the one who has 150ml after pumping? Wah lao, I pump 15 min only so far at best 45 to 50ml one breast, only in the morning. The supply in the afternoon is bad.

py: massage your breast. sometimes i can feel some hardened areas. I'll rub it and massage it, and it comes out as milk. after that, the part will become soft.

Re:cl
I also get my cl from pem. Also cmi. it true tat she can do housework n cook. But come to looking after baby, cmi. When baby cry, she dun noe wat he want n at nite i have to look after him myself while she is covering e blanket comfortably sleeping. Even my hb is being disturbed by e cries n help to pacify him. becos of tis, i cry a few times though we not allowed to cry during confinement. My hb very angry n decided to change.

Tis current one is a bit slow in doing things n looking after baby so so only. Her movements are a bit slow like changing clothes etc, let e baby cry for some time. Telling if tis one also cmi, then straight away cancel. But my mum keep saying just tolerate until confinement is over. Cos she dun me to deprive of sleep n nutrients. n it very tiring to take care of 1 toddler n infant if i dun take enough tonics.

wat a terrible confinement!

regarding sore nipples, i find i only get them when there's no milk. when there's milk, it lubricates the skin, and my son doesn't have to suck so hard, so less mistakes made by him.

hmm, thank goodness my CL so far so good, though I had some complaints earlier.

she will wake up if baby stirs or cries. her cooking ok - she cooks in the afternoon. My mum will cook at night. she will wash and clean. my mother thinks she's a bit rough during bathing (forget what parent craft teaches, CLs simply have their own way), but at least despite her infringing on my privacy and making irritating statements like I don't have milk, she will make sure that when I'm feeding the boy, i'm comfortable, and he can latch on. She will help to adjust his head, or my support pillow and stuff.

She tells me one kid that she used to look after as a nanny super sticks to her. keeps insisting that he wants to go over to her place when the mother is home. so i think sometimes it's a bit sad for the mother when the child prefers another person.

luckily i never get from PEM. mine is from another agency.

btw i squeeze out some droplets.. but lets say if baby is still sleeping and i would like to give her to drink when she wakes up.. how can i do with the milk? put in fridge? (only a few drops only)

bless,
i only need to call up stemcord after i delivered. And i pay using the baby bonus. No cash involved. They will tell u what to do so not to worry.

Been too busy now as CL went back early by 2 days.

congrats to all mommies who popped!

py: if you are still at colustrum stage, then collect them and put in the fridge. That time i had so little, I just poured the few droplets into baby's mouth.

PY: put in fridge.. then feed by spoon later

Iceblue: hmmm.. well.. are u able to do confinement by urself? as in order confinement delivery.. and take care of ur kid urself?

ong: for baby bonus, is it must wait for baby's bc then can apply to get? this man my mother wants to hire to come up with chinese name will only return to singapore next week, then can check with him. so must wait.

btw, can i boast a bit? I beat the record of 9kg loss in one week! heee. I lost 9.5kg in a week. but tummy and thighs super flabby, not tight at all, just like the biggest losers on TV, they lost so much weight initially, but the flesh hanging down loosely

py: that means your milk is coming in! congrats!
it will be quite hard and painful, so keep massaging ur breasts to get rid of the hard parts when u are feeding baby or when u pump.

glass> my CL is feeding her FM now and i'm squeezing myself.. coz my nips are sore and i think i wont latch her for 1 day first.. nips gotta rest..

am i doing it correctly this way? if not my nips v pain

May i know, how long the max. we need to register bb name after bb born?
As i need to choose bb chinese name.
pls advise.

bt: 2 weeks.

py: don't worry about fm. yeah, i rested my nipples a while, plus i applied the purelan or dunno what from medela. helped a lot with my sore nipples that were bleeding.

py: in the mean time, use pumps just to stimulate the milk, or express it.

my nipples were painful only when my baby suckled.

PY>> Try to apply ur own milk on ur nipples.. I was told that this will ease the soreness and pain.. dunno true.. but can try lah...

no point using pump leh coz it's really miserable a few drops. haha i think i massage out better. at least wont stuck in the funnel ha !

PY: got two methods to help relieve the hardness

1: warm massage.. use warm towel to massage
2:cabbage leave put in for a whlie.. will relieve hardness. but dun use too long and excessively coz will reduce milk supply.. slightly..

ok i think i really suffering from engorgement now.
i going down to parent craft tml and seek help.
it's so painful and i dun think i can sleep tonight

PY: tink we are in similar plight since we delivered on the same day. on day 3 i totally rested my breasts and asked nurse to bottle feed FM. the hardening of the breasts started in day 3/4. i find that massaging my own breasts was at an awkward angle so i got husb to do it. it helps.... we actually saw droplets of colostrum n milk!

by the time i went home on day 4, i tried expressing using pump coz stubborn lad still refuse to latch (btw, i have given up n resorted to EBM). my first attempt resulted in 50ml of EBM, which is just nice for his current appetite.

dun push yourself so hard. give your nips a day to rest n get ur husb to help to massage. once u see droplets of milk, you can try to latch charlotte on. if there is not much supply when u pump n u do not want to waste, can consider using syringe since that is what the nurses at TMC did for my miserable colostrum. oh, n dun worry abt teat confusion. my boy is fine wif avent teat even though he was bottle-fed using NUK at tmc.

tien / astro : thanks for the tip/article. will monitor.

tien : hee... i was trying that method. think someone also mentioned.
i told my HB abt it that i was trying to teach bb day/night by keeping quiet when i feed him. er.. my HB say but u still talk to him at night wut (it is true, i will ask softly to bb 'r u stil hungry'? 'stop for a while ya while mummy burp u'? ' helo..wakie wakie...' ;P okie okie.. i shall try to zip my mouth at night.

annette : i not sure if its related
but last night he slept and demand for feed around 3 hr gap. only diff between previous nights and last night was (d)
a) i wore long sleeve bb clothes on him
b) swaddle him
c) put blanket on him.
d) put a towel over half the cot so that the wind from outside/within the room dun go into the cot. however of coz the cot still got ventilation half the cot is not covered by the towel and there are some holes at one side of the cot/playpen.
summary : bb like to be super warm. (i tink if i am the bb i will sweat buckets already)

hippo : haha . agree about the 'those that already popped are PENG SAN. was wondering how the others do it.

JRRT : my mini siren made us deaf the other day. we found out why. he got a lot of air/gas. poor boy. now i burp him before feed, in between feed, after feed, or whenever i duno why he crying. still learning. still learning.

funzee : vaginal recovery.
er.. today is my day5. i stil feel sore down there. walked from tmc to novena sq. almost reach novena sq my wound start to hurt. can not walk v fast.

PY : bra with sore nipples. ur bra is the nursing bra type? if yes its soft no? then put the disp breast pad ... is it better?

ipheh : baby Elias also.
Jaundice hit 17.9. Admit to TMC today level 3 nursery coz' level 4 full oledi. but I went to see him at dinner time today and he looked a lot better. so.. *cross fingers* maybe PD will say can go home tomorrow?
hmm am tinking we may have met then since its same day? :p

saw a few baby photos.. so cute!!! here's a picture of my princess Naia taken during day 6
She's so so alert! Opened her eyes right after the delivery! Doesn't she look mature? Look like a full month baby! Shes's been drinking quite well, abt 80-90ml every 3-4 hourly since day 5. Suprisingly my milk supply came in really fast this time round. May be 2nd pregnancy and i only stopped BF my girl this march. Can expressed like 120-140ml within 15-30 mins! So,the excessI gave it to my elder..hehe...I got 1 problem though, Naia is showing sign of nipple confusion and doesn't like to latch. Haiz... will not give up though. Will try to latch again when she's 2 weeks old and hopefully by then, she can suckle harder..
3115518.jpg

Astro,
how old is your boy? My girl is 2 and she's so clingy to me! It's scary lah.. sometimes i really got to go somewhere to hide when my MIL wants to bath her. Else she will insist that i bath her. The 1st few days worse, she doesn't even let me expressed my milk let alone latching Naia. Now, day 8, she's slightly better and is ok with my pumpping my milk..

ginger: yeah i called up the parent craft hotline at this wee hrs and they ask me to take 2 panadols on top of the painkiller that i'm taking for my stitches... so i'm expressing out using my hand and fingers now.. and i dun think i'm gg to sleep.

She say engorgement will take 4-5 days to heal. I need to express it out if not will be worse... and i am quite happy now coz the milk is coming out leh. :D hopefully the pain will go off asap! i cant use pump.. coz my nips are sore
so only can use hand and fingers la. but the 24 hrs hotline told me can use pump but smaller action.. but i still find it v painful for my nips .. i dunno how many ml i've squeezed out coz by the time my feeding cup is ard 1/6 full, charlotte is waking up for milk liao then i just pass to my CL lol really like a machine man..

tonight is milking cow for me ha ha!

re: jaundice
Naia was also hospitalized for a day. Her jaundice was at 16.4 or something. Minimum to admit to Raffles Hospital is 15.2. I think we're the only parents that didn't when our babe got hospitalised for jaundice and in fact kinda expected it and felt a sense of relief that i can take a 1 day break..I'm so so bad! Anyway, she's back and now still finding ways to juggle things!

Hi all, i see ur jaundice level quite high.. was that the measurement for day 2-3 ?

Charlotte's jaundice is level 7 on the 2nd day... so i hope her level remains.. but i heard that it will get worse on day 5-6..

btw what is the best timing to sunbathe them and what is indirect sun huh? =.=

Astro,
just figured out she gets cranky nv hard to settle her when she pang sai. Seeing PD for jaundice review later. Will check if her tummy ok cos she PS like twice in last few hrs.

jrrt,
Feeding during the day was every 2.5hrs. But since 10pm has shrunk to just under 2 hrs gap. The HB on the verge of KO cos he been sleeping under 3 hrs taking care of me n bb i feel damn heartpain.

M under pressure to intro pacifier or bottle feed ebm during night time. HELP!!!

Hi mummies! Those who hv popped, congrats on ur newborn bbs!! For those who hv yet to.. Enjoy ur quality time now..

Been reading silently for quite sometime now.. My bb was out on e 1 oct, was an induced birth cos bb was not putting on weight.. As for my birth story.. Ha! Very dramatic!! Lol!
Gal/funzee
My epi wound took abt a week to recover. So gal, tong another 2 days more..
Py
Before i discharged from Tmc.. The nurse actually advised us to sun bathe Eshton before 10am. Or wat i did, put him near e window where there's a bit of sun light shining in

PY: my PD says if got jaundice, by day 3 or 4 can tell alr leh. when u discharged on wed, did PD say anything? we were also told to monitor the number of times he pee/poo, colour of eye white etc.

i was told sunlight between 8-9am is nice, not too strong. but remember to protect her eyes when you put her near indirect sunlight.

me also milking cow now... haha.

Glass,

Thanks. two week so short ah.
Need to go feng shui shop there to see what name suitable. I wanted to go there, but it's confinement period.
Can't i do it after my confinement period?

Glass,

Thanks. two week so short ah.
Need to go feng shui shop there to see what name suitable. I wanted to go there, but it's confinement period.
Can't i do it after my confinement period?

*chope little Naia the Adorable*
feeling bluesy. i think i am going sots already judging from the frequency i am feeling blue PRE-delivery.. God bless miser and my family POST-natel man... *sigh*

ok. going to bring teng to his little gym class.. hoping i feel slightly more cheerful then.. back yakking and reading the forum later..

ciao..

Hello all, im still in the waiting game!!! For those same as me.. it's alr mid Oct... sianz...

After hearing so many horro stories of CLs, im hoping i did the right thing to give up my deposit on CL. but without MIL and mum also.. hopefully husb can do a good job.. though he also blur but at least i know he n i haf the same stds of handling babe.

Am on 38th week and baby is 3.5! Is that big???!!! Gosh.. she's growing so much.. Im so worried.. but doc does not seem worried at all...

PY
my mum is an advocate of yao lan but not advisable to let baby sleep in yaolan when he's still so young... his backbones still so soft? the babies in our family will sleep yao lan when they r almost 2 mths old.
dun let the CL tell u wat to do. newborns dun need yao lan now.
alot of old wives tales during confinement say cannot cry, cannot watch too much TV etc... 4 me, i had minor hormonal imbalance int he 1st few days i got home aft delivery. i cry for no reason. but it went away by the 1st wk and gynae says its normal. prob ur body oso adjusting now and thus the hormones might b a lilttle haywire now. dun worry too much.

shugar
u express till the milk jets stop squirting. even when i was expressing every 6 or 7 hrly, each boob max 20 mins only. dun over express. boobs will feel v sore.

glass
each person express diff amt. dun compare and stress urself lah. u r doing well.

gal^
dun walk so much! why u walk fr tmc to novena sq???? tts a long distance & u hv barely recovered fr ur wound. best to rest as much within the 1st 2 wks so wound can heal properly. and there is a saying tt says rest so ur womb wun "drop".

aria jo
ur girl so cute! and yes agree she doesnt look like newborn! so fresh & alert!

hippo
let baby decide how often he wants to feed. If its not feeding time yet, check for wet nappies, temp of the room, is he wearing too much clothings, wind in tummy etc... who is asking u to give pacifier & EBM? i read in the parenting book tt says by giving a baby pacifier, we r essentially telling them to "shut up" and they will nvr learn to "speak" the proper language to us wat they actually need. thou i know in asian societies we all r used to pacifiers etc. i tried giving it to my son when he was 2 mths old but thankfully he din like it. kept spitting out, which i was so glad so tt at least stopped my mum fr promoting the pacifier all the time.

wif regards to EBM, i wun totally oppose it and if u really feel u need to rest at night, then its a gd idea to let someone else take over. personally i feel once u tough it out during the 1st mth, it will b easier aft tt. besides when u let someone give EBM to baby at night, u wld still need to wake up and pump. so wats the diff? might as well latch... u dun hv to pump. juz my thots lah. most imptly, do wats most comfortable to u. dun stress urself. u need to b happy so ur baby will b happy too.

babytum
if gynae is not worried, then u shldnt be as well!

bt: get ur hubby to help or another relative to go down for you. I'm facing the same prob. The guy my mum wants to hire is overseas, and will only be back next week, leaving me only 2-3 days to register the birth!

baby: will your hubby be able to help u full time? coz we have to be resting after delivery, and cannot do a lot of things. Make sure you have food delivered, or else, all the taking care of baby and yourself will tire you and hubby out.

Glass,

sign.. Want to choose the name we like.. May go.. hehehe..
as it's a once life time to choose name for bb.. also wanted to see the feng shui master.. hahaha..

glass>>> yes, he has taken 3 weeks of leave. both of us first time parents so m prepared for the worst but what i dun is all the opposing opinions from CL, MIL and mum and get me so tensed n stressed up. food wise, i wil write down wat i wanna eat n get him to cook.. cos i also dun believe in confinement food.. i think just a normal balanced diet is sufficient.. im the more western thinking type.. haha.. so normal meal, can stil get him to prepare.. haf a maid who wil take care of hsework, so relieve husb of one huge chunk of task...

wish me luck though.. each plan has its problems im sure.. even though i can ask MIl or mum to help but i stil think i wld prefer them not to..

oh, if you have a maid to do housework, then it's great. one way to cut down on laundry, wear disposable panties.

has your maid taken care of babies before?

bt: i'm sure the master takes time to calculate. maybe send your hubby first to give the particulars, then he come back, then u go. or call up the person to find out how they go about doing it. I was at j8 when someone approached me at a roadshow for fengshui. they have baby naming.

Im also after 38 wk. bb @ 2.9. doc say ok.
Btw, Any mummies please advise on the C-section with epi? staple & stitch which heal better & nicer?

glass>>> yes, she has.. but wil not get her to take care of baby. wil use her as a guidance to husb until further down we more comfy first. firstly cos i think the stds might b diff in philn spore (no offence) and also that its better to let hubby b the one so he can haf the bonding wif babe. secondly, so many pp haf been sayin not to trust maid etc etc.. so far she is ok on housework, so shall c...

but wif her ard as an advisor n supervisor, shd b ok. at least she wil not impose her opinions on u...

sorry to intrude.
i've several items for sale to clear space.

Item 1.

Almost BN Medela Swing bundle for sale (with warrenty).

http://www.medela.com/ISBD/breastfeeding/products/swing.php

Selling for $320
Includes:
- Breastpump with draw string pouch(used less than 5 times)
- 04 storage bottle(used)
- 01 Cooler Bag with 01 ice pack(new)
- 01 CityStyle Breastpump Bag(new)
- 01 pack of Medela Wipes(new)
- 01 box of Medela Breast Pad(25pieces)(new)
- 01 PureLan 100 Nipple Cream(new)

Item 2.

nursing cover from pupsik studio used for 2 weeks at frambosie colour
selling $15

http://www.pupsikstudio.com/catalog.php?item=11

Item 3.

brand new but no box nursing apron from bebelove
selling at $50

http://bebelove.com.sg/product_info.php?products_id=223

Item 4.

brand new BECO carrier.
carnival is the print.
selling at $220

http://bebelove.com.sg/product_info.php?products_id=269

Item 5.

allerhand diaper bag.
used less than 1 mth selling at $70..
all accessories all in tact. colour is sunflower 105

http://www.allerhand.com/english/carryon.php

Item 6.

BNIB Lamaze Spin Explore Garden Gym
Opened to let baby try but realised that she has already outgrown it.
selling at $50

http://www.learningcurve.com/product/detail/LC27100

Item 7.

Almost new Capella Pink S705
Used less than 3mths
Selling at $250

http://www.taime.com/tnv/index.php?act=viewProd&productId=1207

kindly email me at [email protected] if interested. Thanks!