(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

babytum, that's great. at least got someone for just in case. your husband is so involved! very good!
my husband keeps thinking my son has fever, he has this he has that. He's over paranoid. He buys lot of stuff that we already have or will have, or it will be useless soon. He thinks so much about buying a bag or shirt for himself, but he spends money like water on baby!! Esp when they aren't really necessary.

py: u kept saying it hurts when ur pump. is it because the funnel is too small for your nipples? hence abrasion?
btw, the parentcraft number u call is a hp number, or the main line?

Hi mummies!!
Hahah my stubborn girl still doesn't want to come out. Today is her EDD!! Going to see my doctor later and see what are the options...been 'imagining' the scenario. The options are probably:

1) Induce (I hope it's today)
2) C-sec which is likely to be another day.
3) Wait again...

Aria: Your girl is sooooooooooooo pretty! Pretty eyes!

Gal: You are most welcomed.

Re: Breast Engorgement
Was doing some reading. PY you might want to try this massage method from this website. BUt it has some conflicting methods from the usual...can use as reference. http://www.essortment.com/all/breastfeedinga_rszt.htm

Here's another one. I remember someone shared this link earlier.

http://www.kellymom.com/bf/concerns/mom/engorgement.html

So, mummies jia you and wish me lotsa luck hahaha...

glass>>> well, good that husb is keen to spend on baby... better than the other way round. im sure we overbought many things also but well, think all first time parents go thru this phase... got second one then know wat u really need...

so bored now in ofc.. waitg for lunchtime then can go off liaoz.. hahaha.. then weekend can go shopping again! treasure all my weekends now.. days are numbered...

Hi all im finally able to get online.Shortupdate from me.

BB Matthias said HI to all aunties here^-^
He arrived on15oct morning, Wt 3.3kg (gynae's scan wt 3.5kg), head circum 36cm(gynae's scan 35cm,fortunately thru cs if not be long labor:p)and hes 49cm long but till now still dont wanna open his eyes,hubby mentioned he only open once in the nursery.One gd new is bb can suck quite well from my nipple,not sure if hes able to suck out any columstrum but the pedetrician said he low sugar,need feed him formula milk n he keep throwing out since this mroning

Misery since check in till last evening, theres NO single room at all sobbbbbbbbb and im put to 2bedder and tt rmmate of mine SNORE SO LOUD,worse then my hubby ok my god.fortunately shes discharge yest and this new rmmate of mine din snore haha.both of us still waiting for single rm haiz...
I still cant get down the bed, just remove from the drip.Cant only get discharge on sun sob,my back is like so itchy from 1 whole day in bed since the operation.Managed to upload bb pic too

Angie:thz for ur sms ye
hows ur gynae checkup?

Tien:r u in labour aldy?

Astro/loke: how abt both of u?any dong jing since our EDD so near.

3116563.jpg

Annette: Congrats!! It's normal for newborn not to open eyes so fast lah. Matthias is soooooooooo adorable!!

And nope...I have delivered hahahha....today EDD leh!! Hahah...see my Stuborn Diva! Kekeke...shall see the doctor later and see what she says lor...

Hee yeah I get to update the table again!

Astro>> Yalor, still working. Yesterday last day liao but will still work a bit from home. Hey, I hv seen gynae, baby getting big based on ultrasound measurements, so I'll be induced next week! I had better enjoy this weekend or do whatever last minute thingy I need to do before I pop.

PY>> Think the rash is quite common. So far, both my elder kids hv it. My PD last time told me could be possibly because of the skin reaction to different environment (last time in womb and in amiotic fluid, but now is outside environment with heat, sunlight and air.) He gave me some cream and the rash will subside pretty fast. Hv you consulted a PD?
Think you being first-time parents will be more stressful esp when your family is unsure of how to help. But I'm sure you're doing fine. Consult doctors if need be and they can provide you with all the reassurances.

Ariajo and Anette >> Congrats! Your babies look so lovely leh!!! By the way, Annette, you staying in Mt A right? No single room ah? I will most likely choose double room and am hoping my neighbour is not the noisy or snoring type!

Iceblue,

I'm doing confinement @ hm ALONE too. From bathing to feeding, i do all the job. My mum wil cook & bring to my house since my parents stay opp.my block onli.
So far, i can say i coping quite well & i prefer this way too. coz i can do watever i wan. which is different fr my 1st confinement whereby my MIL did for me last yr. It was terrible!!
I have oso gt one 16mth old little devil girl. But lucky tt she is with bb sitter during the daytime.

Re : Rashes

Mummies, take note of the milk rashes that may occur at ur bb neckline area too. I have encountered for my No.1. When u tilt ur bb head, u can c tt the neckline may be red & is most difficult to clean. So be very careful. You can osoapply nappy rash cream at the neckline to reduce the rashes if any. Hope this will help.

Re : Sales Items

1) One packed opened NB size Mamy Poko diaper (Left back 49pcs) selling @ sgd $13. (Original is 52pcs per pack bought from NTUC).My ger has outgrown the size & is using S size now. She is onli 2wks old. Hehe..Too big liao at birth. 3.895Kg.

2) 3 Bottles of new & unopened DOM letting go @ sgd $25/bottle. I hate the DOM taste so onli had 10% of the opened bottle for both my confinement last yr & this yr. Hence,i guess the remaining bottles are of no use to me liao. Hence letting go.

Collection @ Yishun Ave 2. Pls contact me @ 98382772 if interested. If getting the above all, special price @ Sgd 85.

Babytum,

I delivered @ 39th gestation wk. And my ger weigh @ 3.895. My hubby somemore told me that when the nurse took her weight, they thought the weighing machine spoil. And say re-weigh again. Haha..

glass: hehe guess 1st few days bb looks abt the same, i told my hubby make sure he know whicih is our son haha.today the nursery has a total of 20+babies wo

Tien: congratz too
when did u delivered?our babies born same day? hehe mine is elective c-s, how abt urs? induced?u were still shopping away on wed rite.

Bluesea: ya im at mount a.guess oct alot bb wo. just now nurse came in n told me maybe there be 1 single rm ask me if wanna, waiting for hubby to decide.aldy2 days 1 nite passed but if once change be paying single bedder charge for all days like not very worth it.ya hope ur rmmate not of tt i had yest terrible lor very loud wo, i wore aero wkshop type of ear plug u know still can hear faint lor.n hope u dun get her, coz she was in for observation only, be due soon if not wrong

annette: mathias also very handsome wor.. hahha.. chubby chubby one.. very cute.. i chope! hee... anyway, i also got no dong jing..

hb's grandma just passed away this morning... i'm not allowed to do anything...

annette: u at which ward? i also at Mt A deliver yesterday noon. me at ward 360A mine also 2 bedded cos they dun have 1 bedded when i come in on wed.

2 more days and I will be free..
will be sending her home on sunday thou her actual last day is till ntx tuesday.

My newfound knowledge from the CL (which i think is full of shit):
Baby cry = hungry
Baby dun sleep = hungry
Baby dun fall alseep after being fed = Still hungry

Whenever baby cries, she will push the baby to me and ask me to breastfeed. After latching, baby still does not want to sleep, she say I got not enough milk, baby still hungry, thus cannot sleep.

On 1 occasion when baby keeps crying and she shove my girl to me for direct latch, when I took over my girl, I realised that she actually soiled the diaper. So i bring back the baby to her and told her baby need a chg of diaper as she poo.

The CL just commented : Aiyo baby, why do you need to cry so loud when u poo". With that she continue to watch her drama series and ignore my presence. As if what I told her is "FYI" and not "FYA".

Have been grilling my colleague for recommending this lousy CL to me (colleague commented she is good)..

I complained : she does not wash my clothes
Colleague : you can wash your clothes yourself using washing m/c, whats so diifficult

I complain : she dun wash baby clothes daily
Colleague : why do you need to wash baby clothes daily
Me: Germs
Colleague : after wash, all germs will be dead.. why bother

I complain : she dun clean the stove after cooking
Colleague : she is not a maid, why must she clean up

What a lousy recommendation, think I will kill my colleague when I am back to office after maternity leave

glass,
U need 2 apply b/c 1st b4 u apply 4 bb bonus.great tat u managed 2 shed of 9.5kg.4 me jialek liao cos like stagnant liao.i put on ttl 22kg so expected 2 hv a hard time 2 shed off those excess.btw,enjoy yr time nw cos u gonna b real busy when d cl go bac unless yr mum is helpg u.

I am so busy nw since cl went bac ytd.nw then got time 2 rest a bit.sighs...

Congrats 2 mommies who popped!

aria jo : My Glynnis too. She will cry when she wake up in the middle of the night and see me latching didi.

In the morning, she's ok.

ong: Oh man, I think I need to move to my in-laws place when CL leaves coz nobody at home to help me. Mother only free much later.

anyway, i think i've stopped losing weight already. THis morning I weigh, I put back 0.5kg.

rooster: think expectations were not laid out in the beginning. how come so many CLs buay zi dong? how much u pay for her?

hello glass

This blur rooster is paying 1.8K for this CL who treats my house like a hotel stay.

She even have special orders :
She told my hubby she need coffee for breakfast, so my hubby told her that she can take his 3 in 1 coffee. But this "fully automatic" CL told my hubby she only drink particular brand, ask my hubby to go and but the brand for her.

She even hinted she got backache after blowing fan whole nite. and say she feel aircon is better at least aircon makes the room cool and wun cause backache. rooster act blur but the persistant CL told rooster that aircon comsumption is not very high.. ON 1 whole day aircon cost $1 nia

rooster : aiyo! ya tink ur colleague has v diff expectation of that CL. Those are basic worr. bb cry = hungry and only hungry? :S

went to see bb elias this morning. hmm jaundice level is now 14+
He still kenot come home. hope tomorrow's test will be v low level. *pray* less than 10.

When bb is at home i latch like every hour (from 1/2 hr to 3 hrs gap). last night no latch. pump at 1am. wake up 6am coz' my nightgown wet! and got engorgement
. i going to diligently pump every 3 hours and after each latch liew.

er..can i ask those glass bottles that TMC does not have cap.
Other than getting it from the TMC shop below (which sells 1 cap at $1), any idea any other place got sell?

jrrt : issit ? womb will drop :p er i haven heard b4. hee.. okay will tell my hb need to take cab and walk less.

going to take afternoon nap then be milked again. ;)

rooster>> can imagine your frustration with your CL!!

anyway saw quite a bit of sharing on bfeeding.
wanted to check for advice...
my baby always got this phlegm like sound after bfeeding..wondering what is the problem.. he is pretty ok, jus that it takes a long while for him to clear that sound..i called parentcraft - they jus say try to burp him otherwise he is fine. anyone with that experience

as for pumpin..i am also experiencing low supply i think? maybe 10-20ml per pump. i tried to pump and then store in one container. and then over the day, pump another 10-20ml; and i will then combine all this milk which has been in the fridge over 12 hrs and then store and freeze them when i have about 60-80ml. is that correct?
parentcraft actually advised me to store EBM in fridge for not more than 24 hrs. and i shldn't trsfer milk that has been stored in fridge for e.g. 12 hours to the freezer.
any advice on above? cos it will be really silly of me to try to freeze 10-20ml in a glass bottle rite?

Rooster & Moo
No wonder ur coll say this CL is good... coz ur coll is so crappy!!!! so much nonsense!

Stupid CL made such comments abt ur baby!

My CL dun like air con. She uses fan but the fan does not blow directly at her. I believe she is doing this for gd reasons. and she oso dun allow the fan to b blown directly at babies.

Heee, i support ur decision 4 u to kill ur coll when u go back to work!

Thanks for the replies. hehe dun have time to reply one by one :D but really appreciated.

Yes my CL ask me when drinking or eating, MUST SIT DOWN. and ask me dun walk ard too much. coz womb will drop..

Guess what i spent abt 4 hrs ytd till 4am+ expressing out my milk/colostrum till my whole leg SWELL!!! water retention coz i sit too long? CL said one..

coz the engorgement was pretty painful .. and i use my fingers to squeeze out each and every drop of it.
Tried to switch to the pump but nipples became more swell .. and latching will be a problem liao.

Sigh.. u all think the engorgement will go away as well as the swell in the nipple if i continue to use my fingers to squeeze them out? it's v tiring.. but i dun want my nips to be continue to swell.. right now i think my left one is better as charlotte can latch on pretty well this morning but not the right side.

With regards to putting baby in yao lan, it is not advisable to rock your newborn baby using yao lan as it may damage their brain. But it's no harm to put them in yao lan without rocking them coz they wl feel more secure & their head shape will be nicer also.

glass: it's the hp no. if the funnel is small, then what brand is betteR? i'm using medela harmony (manual pump) coz eventually i hope to feed her direct

Bluesea: PD check up is next week.. right now i dun overwrap her and see if the rashes will subside anot.. CL said the desitin is too oily.. i only started to ask her to apply ever since her buttock became so red. and it didnt go off the next day.. so she say some babies not suitable for too oily cream blah blah blah... btw her face got a red patch after i latch her today.. i guess perhaps is my sweat? wah lao i'm sweating like nobody's business man! i already try to wipe my body as frequent as i can ... and CL dun let me bathe. i told her i want to bathe 2 times a day..... =\

envelope: yes if i let bb sleep yao lan.. the shape of the head will be my main objective too.
thx for the link! will get hb to do it together later

Rooster & Moo >> wah lao! that's too much. but my CL sleep with me too.. (w air con) in fact)

coz i need her to take care of the baby.. my poor HB end up sleeping on the floor.. hai

Hi mummies, long time never come online. I delivered my gal on 12 Oct. Natural w/o epi and her birth weight is 3.72.

Rooster, I also having the same prob with my CL. same thing.

Baby cry = hungry
Baby dun sleep = hungry
Baby dun fall alseep after being fed = Still hungry

and always ask me to give formula. and mine worst. she also use washing machine wash my clothes and dun mop after cooking.

She will nap in the afternoon. she sleeps more than me.

Why so difficult to get good CL?怕

no no annette I haven't delivered! Today is supposed to be the edd! Haha I must have typed wrongly.

Just saw gynae apparently bb engaged but I'm not dilated at all! Waiting game still goes on.. Doc din want to induce today cos she say chances of inducing 0 dilated mum will fail and end up c-sec. So she say see her on tuesday and hopefully I will be at least 1cm dilated and she can induce... Otherwise have to c-sec...but she won't wait beyond tuesday cos my placenta is showing signs of aging.. Looks like I'm the first here to hv an overdue bb!

regarding womb dropping.

My mum has been telling me not to squart. If realli needed to go so low, better to sit on small stool.

I have another version for the concern on cannot drink water in standing position. This will leads to urine leakage in future.

vodkarib - re: phleghm like sound
It seems common that most baby will breathe with phelghm like sound. I remember asking PD before for my #1, he mentioned its normal as long as baby dun show signs of difficulty in breathing

Here is an article for your read-up
http://www.drgreene.com/21_363.html

PY- expressing milk
Which brand of breastpump are you using? I supposed they should have a ctrl to select the level of suction. If you have swelling nipple cause by pumping, maybe its bcos you have adjusted the suction to the MAX. try a lower suction speed.

rooster / mymelody : Even my mum also like that...
Baby cry = Hungry.
Baby dun sleep = Go find mummy's breast.
Baby cry and don't sleep = Didn't drink enough milk, go drink somemore.

I always tell my mum i don't want him to keep relying on my breast to fall asleep. Haiz...

Now even spoon feed him, he is not interested. He will let the milk flow out of the side of his mouth and continue to cry loh. He just want to suckle.

Last night i lazy to pump, this morning my left breast was so painful. Plus notti baby never latch on properly - left nipples bleed twice today.

gal : You are very gentle. You know what i always tell my boy??
- Quick!! To your right...
- Open your mouth big... I said big big...
- Urggg... NO BITING!!
- You notti BOY!!
Oh no... i am such a violent mummy. Haa...

mymelody

I understand how you feel and your frustration
regading her request on formula milk.. better keep all your formula milk away from her reach

Mine ask me for formula milk on her 1st day. I rejected the idea. she went to ask my hubby for it. My hubby told her we did not prepare FM for baby, she was hinting my hubby to buy a tin as she mention my milk will not come in so fast.

On hearing that I purposely told my hubby : my confinement will stop immediately the moment baby is fed with formula. U go and buy FM, I dun wan to do confinement.

Since then she keep quiet and nvr dare mention FM in front of me.

During my 2nd day in hospital, I could express 60ml in every 2 hrs. by the time i went home, I could express 120 in 3 hrly.. wonder wat she meant by not enough.

rooster,so fed up right. we are so tired liao and still so much crap. just now i express out a bit she kept asking me put where. think she wants to give her the EBM tonite.

mine also say dun do housework. she dun even help me sweep the floor leh. now she is sleeping liao.

hi mymelody,

U give birth liao. Congrats.

My cl also like tis. At nite, my hb n i have to wake up n pacify baby. She tell me she need to eat bread for breakfast everyday n also lipton tea for tea break.

Y nowsdays cl are like tat? Really regret hiring cl but no choice.

Hi, I am new to Singapore Motherhood. I have just given birth on 2 Oct. Just wondering if we need to give our CL an ang pow at the end of the confinement... Is there a standard amt? I got my CL a week after baby was born. Last min thingy cos I couldnt manage. I was in a rush so didnt check her age. When she arrived at my hse, realised that she is 70 years old! My mother and MIl freaked out cos worried she would drop the baby or would be too old/too blind to do stuff but luckily, she is ok lor...not fantastic tho'.

Are the CL you all mentioned from Singapore or Malaysia? If from Sing, maybe higher expectation. Iceblue, I am surprised that she asked for a particular brand of food. Actually, I feel that CL are very highly paid. I am paying $2K for mine. She does not do housework but washes baby's and my clothes. She takes nap too. Think she needs it cos she wakes in the night to help change diaper and burp bb after I BF. But regretted not bargaining to pay $1.8K.

jrrt,
tks a lot for your replies and help. very much appreciated.

went to PD review today. jaundice is quite high. had to admit to hospital but we decided to rent the phototherapy equipment to do at home cos dun wanna admit. doc says she got a lot of wind in tummy that's why very cranky. so we got ridwin and ru yi oil for her. she seems to be more calm, but obviously still cranky because she hates being under the light.

can only hope it gets better from here!

PY,
jiayou! eh did u buy the hot/cold donuts? apparently quite useful for engorgement or have you tried the cabbage leave yet?

tien,
just a Mt E trivia for you. they will provide you two disposable panties which are very stretchable. i found them very good and comfortable and most imptly they didn't sit on my c-section wound. they are gauze-like and washable. so if u see it, dun throw away hor. can wash and reuse one. in fact, i bought a pack from guardian pharmacy. they're expensive but very durable. pack of 5 for $19+.

make sure you attend breastfeeding class there. its free and the LC is quite good. oh hopefully you get ward 4B (the all single bedded ward) cos the nurses are good and more attentive. i saw the 4A nurses, they look abit substandard. and they have same number of nurses for more patients. (those are mix single & double bedded).

gonna get some zzz... been a long day out to PD & gynae. harrowing experience with a cranky bb. will leave that story til i have time to come in here again. ...

PY: i ws up till 4am last night too! had bad engorgement that won't go away despite trying many things. got lumps that won't go away with any amount of massaging. So depressing.
Switched to my manual pump today coz worried the electric pump will make things worse.

Still having engorgement now....

astro >> my CL leaves on 2 Nov..i am counting down the days...really not easy running an actual household. spotted a tiny pimple on audrey's chin...didn't know newborns have...pimples? now red like lobster...i dunno if this is called sunburn...

bluesea >> rest more, sleep more..from the way the posts are going here, you know you'll not be getting any sleep at all the minute bb's here...i wished i was still pregnant!!

glass >> yeah, easy to get jealous lah...i was like, all the tai jiao went where? audrey didn't seem to recognise me...hehe, so i complained to her this morning..first time she opened her eyes and stared at me for at least 10mins..such a long stare..i wonder what she's thinking.

jRRt >> little red lobster today is tanned..and the part we covered her eyes with...is now yellowish-white...in a band!!! haiz..my mum calls her ninja turtle..

PY >> the confinement cannot cry bit...i think i must have broken down at least three times. this from someone who has not cried for years before my pregnancy..not used to all these drama but it does feel better...but persevere..you'll get the hang of it soon.

aria_jo >> Cute Naia!
annette >> Big harlow to Matthias! Get well soon!

envelope >> haha, if you threw the cord in, you can join me in my cloudy and mouldy gang liao...if backflow happens or if you need to clean the cord, just run running water through it. then air dry. i found a faster way to get the whole cord to dry up inside is the swing it like a lasso. make sure u do it for both ends..and you can then forget abt the air drying bit which always results in condensation etc.

hippo >> this jaundice thing is really unnerving. quite common yet when it happens, i really dunno what to say. hopefully isabelle gets well soon under the phototherapy thingy. i wanted to suggest that to the PD yesterday to clear up the issue once and for all..have u tried giving her abit of water?

I break down again today.. i dunno i just feel v depressing over my engorged breasts.. btw shugar, i tried HOT towel. yes VERY HOT! 100 deg and it works .. but mine quite jialat coz at the same time i have cracked and sore nips.... but i still continuing using my manual breast pump.. stayed up till 4am last night coz it was so slow in squeezing out the milk...

My HB was very helpless.. he called up the breast feeding counseling hotline etc
i just cry and cry.. i ask told him "not as if i dun have milk.. i have milk but it just cant come out.. (ok maybe i'm not v routine in pumping them out every 3 hrs) so end up there's a traffic jam.. and now the nips are quite swollen and charlotte have difficulty latching..
i feel v sad that i cant feed her directly...

btw i have very bad water retention all over my body. anyhow knows what's the reason? and how to cure it? it's worse than annette's water retention during preg! .. and i cant tiptoe.. can feel the swellness..

why everything is just not smooth!!!!!?

I think i made my mom v worried abt me.. since i'm staying with my MIL now..
she make sure she visit me frequently.. sigh but our distance is so far.. seng kang and bt panjang

I just found out that my CL wash baby clothes together with OURS!!!! ......... ARGH but right now my main objective is to breast feed charlotte directly successful... i dunno when will that happen...

i spent alot of time squeezing out the milk for her and the CL look after her... =\ i want to spend more time with her leh