(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

mylvera: ah yes, that's what's hippo is talking about!
Hippo: We got a flyer in the lil blue goodie pouch from last week's prenatal class about that product.

xoxo>> i'm wearing birkis since i'm preg till now and they're getting tighter haha, my hubby and me were telling bb to pop in oct. haha coz my hubby need to attend to some big conference in end sept and i'll be having my LAST papers in 19 and 22 sept... so if i pop in mid sept... everything gonna go haywire liao. =\

i have not done with my shopping yet hahaa all waiting for the taka bb fair!

hi oct mums...

i post this up again hor... in case any1 miss out anything, can get at taka fair...

Checklist of Purchases

Baby’s Room
Baby Cot
Musical mobiles/ Merry-go-round
Mattress (3" or 4")
Blanket
Bumper
Pillow/bolster case
Bedsheets
Mattress protector
Changing table (optional)
Cupboard/Chest of Drawers

Clothes for baby
Mittens/Bootees
Cloth Diapers (Can also be use to wrap baby)
Nappy liners
Blouse/shirts - long and short sleeves
Suits - pants and long shirts
Rompers
Handkerchiefs (get plenty of them)
Face towels
PILCHERS (pants worn over nappies)

Baby bathing
Baby wipes
Bath tub
Anti-slip mat
Changing mat
Rubber mat
Bath towel
Bath sponge (optional, small cotton handkerchief would suffice)
Baby soap/bath lotion
Baby shampoo
Baby oil
Cotton buds
Baby powder with puff

Laundry for Baby Clothes
Buckets with lids
Basket for baby laundry
Nappy/clothes detergent/softener
Clothes hanger for drying mittens/booties/handkerchiefs

Feeding Baby
Milk bottles (big+small) + teats
Bottle scrub brush
Warmer cum carrier bag
Thermometer (to use when baby is unwell)
Large pan/pot (for sterilising)
Tongs (to handle hot bottles)
Electric Steam Steriliser (Pigeon/Avent)
Milk containers
Bags/milk bottles to store expressed breastmilk

Misc
Safety pins
Pacifiers
Thermometer (Check room temperature)
Nail clippers
Anti-nappy rash cream (Drapolene)
Oil for wind (Ru Yi or ‘White Tree Oil’)
Ziplock bags for checkups and outings.
Woodward’s Gripe Water
Sterile thermoplastic tray with swabs & swabsticks
Polythene bag for soiled diapers
Dish/ container (to wash baby’s face)
Care of the Umbilical Cord Stump
Sterile swab applicators
Sterile cotton swabs
Sterile container for cord spirit
Cord spirit

Accessories
Playpen
Stair/door gates (If you want to separate your baby & pets)
Rubber protectors for bedroom doors
Highchair
Walker
Bouncer
Stroller
Pram
Baby carrier
Car seats

Toys & Playstuff
Rattle
Mirror
Baby gym

Mummy Care
Maternity Dress/top/bottom
Pyjamas with front opening for breast feeding
Breast pump
Anti Stretchmark creams
Nursing bras
Maternity bras
Nipple cream for crack nipples
Nursing pads
Disposible panties
Cotton panties (larger size when reach later stage of pregnancy)
Sanitary pads
Panty liners
Bedroom slippers
Painkillers (with doctors prescription only)

Other optional items
Plastic bowl/ container, 10-12 inch diameter for both baby and mother
Electrical HotFlask (autoboil), quick access to boiling water for formula milk
Thermoflask without autoboil, for mum’s drinking water
Claypot or double boil claypot for mum’s confinement soup
Claypot or earthenware for cooking pig’s trotters in ginger and black vinegar
2 pails for mum’s bathing and face cleansing.

Hello, me back. Been feeling unwell lately so never come in. Not sure if any of you have the same feeling, my nauseous feel is back
Everytime after eating, there is a period of time where I just feel like throwing up. Now I have phobia of every meal time. Now only in the 31st week. Don't know how to survive the rest of the weeks with this.

wah, Lin, that is a really long list of stuff to purchase and after going through it, I realised that I have only... 50% of the stuff ready :eek:

one question though, what is are these (below)?? We need to take special care of the cord?

Care of the Umbilical Cord Stump
Sterile swab applicators
Sterile cotton swabs
Sterile container for cord spirit
Cord spirit

ddnikz>> yup. before it dries up and drop off.. but from what i've observed frm my cousins, the hosp will provide those cord spirit. It's like cotton pad.. but with the spirit so we just need to squeeze the liquid out from the pad and let it drip onto the baby's cord.. haha but i not sure if they still do the same now.. my cousin is 12 yrs old liao lol.

perhaps those experienced mummies here can clarify? hehe

btw regading the puking, i've puked 2 times on saturday.. heng there's still plastic bags which were left over from my 1st trimester in the car. i just vomited like a merlion lol cant control one

mylvera,
YAH!!! thanks a lot!!! hehe... hmm... think that's a good contraption to have. i'll prolly get that. dun wanna sit there and hold the stupid funnels while pumping... hehe...

miemie,
eh, HB din say anything leh. he's oblivious to these sort of things one lah. hahaha... unless like u knock his head or something then maybe he'll notice.

sweetzinc, xoxo,
haha... talk about footwear. i've been surviving on my havianas since like 1T. i just tell my frens if i'm meetg them that "i'm wearing havianas no matter where i go and i refuse to buy another pair of footwear" so far its been ok. never go to super high class place so no probs. haha...

i hope next time i can still fit into my nice heels man. otherwise i will cry. they haven't gotten the good mileage yet.

i have rib pain (not really pain, but its like discomfort lah) most of the time nowadays. gotta stand up straight then it'll go away. think bb hippo been turning up and down nonstop leh. feels like she turned up again. sigh...

i've been buying stuff on and off when there's like 20% discounts like at robinsons and all. dun really wanna wait til taka fair and then later peng san.

both normal night time pads which are extra long. heard those maternity pads like not very comfy. a lot of my frens seem to just use normal pads, but change more often. so am doing the same. also bought those absorbent sheets from guardian for lining the bed in case water broke? or post delivery stain the mattress?!

btw, what brands are u guys using for bb shampoo and soap? i cant make up my mind...

miemie: r u cammie?I gotten ur invite, just join
thx

xoxo/peiyu:Im having both tt feeling u gers mentioned
do u gers felt breathless as well? im like panting even when just sitting down

lin: ur list is dsuper long. same doubt as ddniks, wats the use of all the things tt link to cleaning of cord?where to buy those?

peiyu: did u ate something wrong? but again my mum did mentioned that when she had my sis, she vomitted non-stop also even during 3rd trimester while she had me, she cough non-stop instead but din vomit.

Hippo: heard fr my sis, john little having 20% now maybe robinson as well not too sure.

annette, hippo>> not sure leh. just suddenly got the urge to vomit..

haha i also cant make up my mind for bb shampoo and soap!! that's why i've been dilly dally till now, haven buy!! was thinking of using mustela. but kinda ex man.. or how abt pigeon? lol there's so many brands out there to confuse consumers like us!

So far i only bought a pack of pureen maternity pads.. from what u say, i think i gonna get the sofy 35cm or 40cm long one liao haha that's my all time favourite.

annette>> you can get cord sprits from pharmacy.. but i think not really necessary unless u've finish those that are given by the hospital ??

hi ddnikz

i do feel abit of umcomfy especially ytd night... i do feel that the feeling is due to want to vomit. so i faster get up and drink some water....

but i heard that morning sickness seldom come back after 1st tri. i also feel thats it mayb indigestion...

my ex-colleague who was in her 1st tri last time is also like this, hv this vomit feeling everyday after meal, but didnt... i guess this feeling reali sucks.. did u ask ur gynae?

hi sweet

i think mb u eaten too full? ppl say eat too full ll vomit de, i mean for pregnant lady...

dont mention anymore abt vxxxxx le, the more i mention, the more disgusting i feel...

must take care hor..

Don't need to get the cord sprit, the hospital will provide.

For baby shampoo, i'm using avent for a start. Later on, will most likely change to a less expensive brand.

ya.. the hospital will provide the cord spirit so dun need to buy ... now sure whether bb skin will be sensitive anot so i will be getting Cetaphil.

I delivered in Mid July'09 and have the following for sale....

For sale:

Packet Herb for showering during confinement period

QTY: 8 packets with 2 sachets of herb in each pack.

Usual Price: $3 per pack

I'm selling $20 for all 8 packets.

PM me for deal

i confirm going on 27 aug. took leave liew. :S just duno how to bring the stuff back after purchase :S wat time u all planning to meet? we can go Breeks (upstairs) maybe? normally quite empty.

baby shampoo/bath :
er..getting baby california.

baby bathtub :
u all bought oledi? i not sure to buy the normal tub and addtl netting or..the tub that has the groves.

pigsy,
thanks for the tip. yeah i think maybe i'll try the travel size one first!

annette,
yeah robinson's had 20% for most brands over the weekend. but i din buy anything.

sweetzinc,
i also cant make up my mind. sigh... leaning towards pigeon as well... otherwise i'll just get J&J. hehe...

Morning gals,

cant manage to read all posts too many liao. Have apply leave last Friday and have a super duper long weekend rest but still tired leh.

For Shampoo and bath, I will be using Mustela since my elder have been using and is good.

Any mummies intending to go out shopping today? Can help me check the price of Edison Chopsticks if you happened to see it? Thanks.
2792316.jpg

Baby bathtub
My hubby's sister gave me one which she got back from Mt A.

For NB, i will put on the netting cos i'm super clumsy. When baby slightly bigger, then will do without the net. But this time round, i expect Glynnis to want to play a part in bathing didi. Think will be quite challenging for me.

Sweetzinc,
I hope I don't puke like you do...:eek: Did you have a full meal? Or you ate something that your bb don't like? The last time I become the merlion is when I took bird's nest. that is during my 20th week. ever since then, no more bird's nest. (no choice, 9 times in a row of interval 2 mins. I nearly freak out.) Guess bb just doesn't like it.

lin, when the feeling comes, I don't even feel like drinking water. It is always after meal. Even if I just eat a bread for the meal. I asked my gynae last sat. She told me is the bloated feel which is common cos' bb growing, and thus squeezing the diaphragm... Still have 8 weeks to go, don't know how to tahan leh... cos' eat already like that, don't eat bb don't have nutrients!

ddnikz, miemie,
hmm... kodomo eh? ok let me go check it out.
saw in the sep thread that there's a dunkin donuts store that opened in Ion... wah... today gg for gynae appt somemore. think maybe i can conveniently POP over and have a looksee... ...

i better go, been nua-ing all morning... update u guys on isabel later!

am startin to list down the things and brands i wana get at taka fair. wonderin if you gals are doing that too? hope the fair is not disappointing..
by the way, been reading other threads abt the bottles..
question.. if i am intendin to total breast feed, shld i still get milk bottles in advance? if so, what size and how many? and do you all use BPA free bottles? avent bottles not bpa free right?
i will prob a manual avent pump to try out.. but not sure if i wan to use avent bottles.

and for mummies with experience, if total breastfeeding, still need to standby formula milk in case first 5-6 days no supply?

dreamygal > where r u planning to get e netting? so far i only saw once at mums&babes selling @ 29.00.

e chopsticks are so cute!

you can ask glynnis to sponge bb
or entertain bb while bb bathing :p

All :
a fren shared that we should drink plenty of fluid for the amniotic fluid. also flush toxins.

hippo>> haa yeah i think i will get pigeon.. J&J the other time got some issues with its tearless shampoo leh.. it was in the news..

ddnikz>> haha i puke when i ate bird nest too but that was in the first T or early 2nd T but now ok liao.

gal>> perhaps can meet for breakfast? or branch? haa earlier on i was telling miemie that can meet for lunch or hightea after that but my hubby told me he gotta rush to his mom's new place to "open door" ceremony at 3pm haha.

She just bought a new flat and moving in soon ..

gal>> drinking plenty of water will not increase the amniotic fluid leh.. coz when i had my DS, my amniotic fluid was at the lower range.. gynae told me there's nth we can do abt it. .. sometimes is because the bb nv pee or there's not much nutrition from the mom's food.

but my water level now looks normal already

vodkarib
if u intend to pursue TBFG, do tell urself that U WILL HAVE MORE THAN ENOUGH MILK for your baby from now on. Coz if ur mindset is alrdy wrong or not as determined right fr the start, i can tell u that u are alrdy on the way to failure. But wif the correct & +ve mindset, u will def succeed. I am speaking fr experience. While I was in my last trimester, I read up on bfg books and kept patting my tummy every now and then to my son tt i am intending to TBF him and I will make it a success. But i need him to latch well and cooperate with me so that we will be successful. it might sound so silly to u now but I really felt coz tt bond was established when he was in my tummy, he latched on well fr the day he was borned and there was no one to guide me in the hospital. Thou there were nurses to check on me every now and then, i felt confident coz there was no pain when he latched on then.

And since i am so afraid that the CL/MIL will secretly give baby FM, i did not even buy anything nor get any free samples fr the hospital to standby so they hv nothing to feed the baby. It might sound mean but which mother would wanna starve her baby? And i really wanna make it a success. If worst comes to worst, i dun believe we cant get the FM easily in SG.

As for milk bottles, yes u can still go ahead to get new ones but for me, its brand new and intact till i intend to introduce the bottles to my son when he was 3+wks old. I bought sizes like 120ml/150ml x 4 to start off. coz they dun drink that much in the initial stage.

Tt time when i delivered in 2006, no such thing as BPA bottles yet so din hv a choice. but for this time round, i am not intending to specially get such bottles as well. I use pigeon milk bottles only. tried a few brands like avent, NUK etc but my son takes well to pigeon's peristaltic teats. so for teats, i advise u not to get too many of the same brands. need to see which one baby can adapt to it.

juz a note tt though i use avent manual pump to express milk, i transf them into pigeon ones to feed my son. a bit of extra work but when u get used to it, its really not a hassle anymore.

Jia you, you will succeed if u put ur heart to it! And most importantly, inform ur hb of ur intentions and tells him that when everyone else discourage u in the 1st few days, he is supposed to stand by you and shoot them all down wif their -ve comments.
i made sure my hb got my msg clear and he would be my "guard" when the time comes. wif his encouragement and support, it will be a success!

dreamygal
i got tt pair of chopsticks fr the BP thru a fren for my son and niece. its a bit clumsy initially but now tt my son has gotten the hang of it, he loves it and demands for his chopsticks during meal time. but wah selling at $29 is a rip-off! i rem mine was ~$9/pair.

I hv seen a Thomas Train one retailing at $16.90 in isetan. its still cheaper than $29!

hey mummies, any idea where can i get this or something similar in singapore? This pic was taken from amazon.. but item can only ship within USA.. dun wanna use vpost coz hubby is buying other things as well and he prefers direct shipping ..

2792835.jpg

USD$16.95 only! haha

gal^ : I've got the netting already. I think its piyo piyo brand. Can get from kiddy palace.
She already told me she wanna bathe for didi and change his diaper... Haa...

vodkarib : I agreeed with jRT. Tell yourself you have enough. Breastfeeding is all about demand and supply. You need to latch baby at regular interval and empty your breast. This will send signal to the breast to produce more milk - not enough.
Most ppl failed in breastfeeding either because they did not stimulate enough or they gave up too early and easily.

jRt : Me kiasu. I read an article at my girl's right brain class that kids trained in handling chopstick early are better in term of brain development. I can't remember the details tough... But from then now, have been thinking of training Glynnis to use chopstick. Haa...

Dreamygal>> Glynnis is so sweet leh hehe no wonder they say first child girl is better as they will help mummy to look after the 2nd child hehe.. :D

Dreamgal
i think yes, somehow girls r faster in this sort of things. imagine both my son & niece got the chopsticks at the same time and my niece mastered it v soon while my son is not keen.

u try looking at the BPs in this forum lah. will surely b cheaper than $29, i think. $29 for a pair of chopsticks is a rip-off! even at $9, i oso find it ridiculous!

alternatively wat some of my frens do is they tie a rubber band at the chopsticks and got their kids to try and use it. they say it works the same.

huh $29 for chopstick, kena choke siah.

My elder son can use chopstick very well since 2 year old (better than me) even the teacher very suprise. Just keep let them use and they will master sooner or later. I let my son use normal chopstick since day 1.

sweet>> Munchkin has something similar.. MOthercare and most big stores carry munchkin stuffs...
went Robinsons over the weekend and finally bought my baby car seat at 20% off.. they gonna deliver this saturday.. woohoo

thks for the advice jrt. was worried cos dun wan to feel guilty for not giving bb enough milk

i think u r right.. i shldnt get any formula milk at home. cos i suspect my mum will get panicky and foil my plans by offering him formula milk at night. cos she already started saying things like "are you sure u wana wake up in the night to breastfeed him?" that kind of got me worried. i know mum wants me to rest as much as possible during confinement but oh well... need to convince her that Breastmilk is best for bb!

gotta start talkin to bb to tell him to coop with me on BFing

and i guess i will do jus like u.. cos i think avent pump is gd but prefer pigeon bottles (and products in general). will buy all these in advance so that i dun hav to worry abt shopping when bb is out.

vodkarib
no problem! am always glad to share my experience wif u all.

since its ur own mum, its easier to "brainwash" her as compared to if its ur MIL.

she means well and wants u to rest at night but 4 me, i was so looking fwd to each bfg session tt i dun find it tiring to wake up at night to feed at all. and my son was a really frequent nurser ---> every 2 hrly, even at night.

Juz rem: U will nvr starve ur own baby, and ur brains will receive tt signal to produce more than enuff milk for ur precious baby.
Be +ve and u will surely succeed!

U dun hv any flat/inverted nipples now rite? if u hv, its the time now to do some prep work. If u r not, then u r on ur way to successful BFG.

yah juz get the neccessities now but dun unwrap them yet until u need it so there is no sabotage secretly.
my steriliser was oso not unwrapped till i needed it. i am tt KS lah. i wan to prevent sabotage in the family coz my ILs were staying wif me then & my CL. they might mean well but its not wat i wanted so i really wanna avoid tt.

peiyu, I thought I saw something like that in Tangs leh, though not as nice. Not so open concept one. Each slot comes with pockets.

sweet: i saw similar organizers at one of the retail shops in KKH. I can't remember the price or the name of the store, but it is the 1st store selling baby items from the women's tower. Price wise was quite reasonable so i was thinking of getting 1 too. There are 2 kinds of design. If my memory didn't fail me, it's about S$30-S$40.

I am looking for a reliable and experienced nanny who is able to taking care a new born baby start from dec'09 or Jan'10 onwards around punggol field area.

Could anyone recommend one for me? pls pm me at [email protected]

Thank's a lot.

fei

Elly,
Thanks for the info on SPD. First time for me to hear this. Will definitely read on it and google abt it. I have roughly go through the article you shared but don’t think mine is that serious. Mine is really the bone that is painful. Like or-che kind of feeling? First time for me too.. But I think it’s gone already. I believe is the hormone acting up again because when we’re in the 3rd trimester, we will have a surge of hormone again, very similar to 1st trimester. So, some mummies will get the MS again and last, I started to have the heartburn again. Thankfully, it’s subsided now. And I started to bleed more when I brush my teeth which stop when I was in my 2nd trimester. So, I strongly believe the hormone surge is preparing my body for the birth 

Yes, for my 1st, I really don’t know what is Braxton hicks. The sensation is like tummy tightening and it feels like your stomach wants to explode..haha.. Super uncomfortable but it’s not painful though.

Peiyu,
Quote: when the tummy gets harden for quite alot of times in a day  you’re experiencing Braxton hicks contraction 
The organizer that you saw from amazon, I really doubt it can stay that shape. I bought something similar from isetan baby section and it always slant down with the weight from the baby wipes, containers, etc. I had to do something to it to make it upright. It only looks nice lah but in reality never so sturdy..hehe…

Re: spirit swap/ cord spirit to clean the umbilical stump,
According to my nurses at raffles hospital when I gave birth to my no.1, the latest practice is not to use alcohol swap because research has shown that water can equally do a better job. I cleant my girl with only water and baby oil and no infection or whatsoever. The thing to note is to ensure the belly button area is not damp.