(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

Hi Astro, can share the name of the LC in Mt A? I'm determine to latch on this time no matter what! I will need a good LC in Mt A to guide me.

Sweet Zinc>> Yes, my gynae did VE for me as I mentioned that I am having pink discharge.In fact for my previous 2 pregnancies, I dilated around the same time as well. And I delivered in Week 39 for both cases.

Astro>> My girl got the vaccine but my doctor said the vaccine cannot prevent the child from getting it. But the vaccine will greatly reduce the severity of the impact. Luckily for her was she dun need to admit to hospital...

Siangjiao>> Your dentist still can do root canel treatment for you, huh? My one die die he said cannot. Everything has to wait until I have completed my confinement, urgh......

Shopping Spree @ Taka Fair on 27 Aug
Meeting Venue: At the fountain area
Time: Around 12 noon
Objective: To get the cheapest deal in town
Confirm Name list (Extract from archive):
1. Joyce
2. Mie
3. Sweetzinc
4. mylvera
5. loke

peiyu: the braxton hicks is a form of contractions. but these are the 'rehearsal' contractions.. not the real kind. the real kind are painful..
.. it is common to have them..

ok. so are the boys' rompers up on your website liao? :p
what's ur website again?

sotong mum: me too is determined to succeed..
but then again.. i tell myself not to freak myself out if i really cannot.. for whatever reasons..

there you go.. Doris Fook, 96387660

Peiyu/joyce.. ahh. thanks for the list.. let me try this.. i put my name down. then i go sound out management if my leave will be approved first :p
Shopping Spree @ Taka Fair on 27 Aug
Meeting Venue: At the fountain area
Time: Around 12 noon
Objective: To get the cheapest deal in town
Confirm Name list (Extract from archive):
1. Joyce
2. Mie
3. Sweetzinc
4. mylvera
5. loke
6. Astro (TBC)

joyce: i see.. keep her hydrated.. she is already prescribed with lacto forte, i presume?

astro_pro,
haha.. i didn't check my vericose vein down there. may be i should tonight..haha...i too got piles but luckily the problem is manageable because i try not to strain when passing motion. and i will make it a point to eat food with lots of fiber if 1 have constipation. But then if the constipation realy bad, i will also bleed lah..

Astro>> not yet :p still taking photos hehee. will let u know again haa prob in 2 days time. need to sort them out haha!

so if i have the same contractions like the braxton hicks and it's painful meaning i'm in labour ?

Thanks Astro! I can't imagine if I failed to latch on again. All those cons of pumping exclusivly, I don't think I can do it again when I'm 6 years older.... spare me!! So gotta succeed in latching!

astro,
are u talking about sister kang? she conducted some of our pre-natal classes, especially the one on breast-feeding. i like her persona and approach.

sotong,
not sure if astro talking about sister kang. she's the lactation consultant at Mt A i believe. u can see her when u'r there. she's nice and motherly type. "sure have milk one, no such thing as dun have. just make sure latch on properly, i will help u"...

hippo: hmm .. the LC which i was reommended is Doris Fook.. erm.. i am not sure if she is also konwn as sister kang leh..
but i like the way she assures.. as what you have said :p..

aria: trust me.. u will know if u have any down there.. it is freakingly sore! *grumpy*
I bleed every time.. but there's really nothing i can do. sometimes loose stools also bleed! aiyoh.. ok. sorry for the distasteful topic!

peiyu: a rule of thumb. if u are having PAINFUL contractions at an interval of 5 minutes.. pls go to the labour ward liao ..
but for second time mothers.. normally as soon as notice contractions,, must go liao. coz 'no time to wait'! heh. SO exciting!

with teng last time. it was breaking of the amoniontic fluid.. not contractios that indicate the onset of labour for me.. eh.. actually i haven't had a chance to taste the power of a solid contaction coz i was under epidural the other time.. :p

Sotong: we will try.. and i think we will motivate one another in this path.. but impt not to burden ourselves with so much guilt if we *touchwood* cannot succeed.
.. a happy mother is what we all should aim towards
.. sorry.. me getting naggy.. heh..
i told my peers at the other thread.. if i whine.. tell me to buck up.. and try again.. but be gentle to me.. hahahahaha..

joyce, peiyu,

I'm also having BH contractions. Doc did a VE and my cervix has softened, but cervix still closed. She ordered me to reduce activity and gave me nifedipine to stop the BH. My BH are painful, but irregular. Like Joyce, this happened with my past 2 pregnancies too, but both were born at 38 weeks. Hopefully, i can tong until 36 weeks at least.

astro,
i agree with you about mrs wong!
and i also feel your pain re piles!!! It's terrible! like got one lump in your butt permanently!

mylvera,

try drinking lots of water -- BH can be brought upon by dehydration. i find that it works for me. also monitor to see if anything triggers it off. for me, it's caffeine! even chocolate, so now i'm dousing myself with water and no chocolate, no tea, no coke.
so pathetic right?

astro_pro
yes, i do agree wif u tt at times Mrs Wong comes across as being too over confident and brush off feedbacks easily. Can b v frustrating. But i din get to see her at all during my delivery period and the nurses were quite ok overall. Thankfully my son latched on well, which means minimal help fr them.

Sotong_mum
think i've heard gd comments abt Doris Fook & Sister Kang b4.

Jia you to bfg! U can do it! Yeah!

Re: Shopping Spree @ Taka Fair on 27 Aug
I think for those who can meet early one can go ahead first as I have the check-up beforehand.
I think we can start to share our handphone number for contact purpose. MTBs, you may wanna to send your contact to me in the following email address [email protected] for consolidation then can share out to those who are meeting on that day.

JRT: so doris fook and sister kang are two different persons?

yes i prefer her nurses more :p

heh. that's my personal take about her lah.. sorry if i make any mtbs who like her uncomfy..

mata: hihi
.. eh.. i dun have that lump feeling. but i sigh each time i see blood..:p hence now i good girl.. then start take iron! hahaha .. such regular blood loss.. kekee.. i sound so gross! :p

astro pro
i think they r different persons, if i am not wrong. mayb u can try to do a search on these 2 persons in this forum.

We r all entitled to our own opinions. No one is right or wrong. In this way, we all learn from one another too.

i tink we should all meet at one place on 27th aug.. and everyone wear a rose on your blouse? wahahahahahha.. just kidding la.. our big tummies are obvious enough ya?

wah... envy envy.. all the mommies planning the trip to taka baby fair already. am sure will be fun, too bad i def cannot take leave on a weekday morning. blah!

BH: i've been having lots of it too! irritating! actually now my biggest complaint is the feeling of having something stuck up my ribs. anyone with this feeling too? quite painful when it's permanently there and the kick/punch oso comes in there. hard to sit and work! i'm cursing each time i have to sit down for long period of time to mark! agony!

all the best to all of us intending to TBF!!
i am like most of you.. hoping that this time round will be able to latch on more succesfully right from get go. last time, i fully express milk for 2 whole months before adil caught on the correct latching method. i've got one inverted nipple (wierd rite??) so he had trouble there. but after 2 months he was ok. direct latch is sooOO much easier! so much more convenient so hopefully this time will be better!
jia you!!

woah 2 of us already contracting and dilating?! woohoo! exciting!

asteo, mata>> omg... i hope i can tong until 38th weeks at least.. coz if i pop ard 36 or 37 i will miss the chance to sit for my papers

famela>> inverted nipple can be corrected.. last sat Sister Kang showed us this device that can be used to correct inverted / flat nipple..

For me, the bleeding gum is just seeing the toothpaste foam change from white to orange colour. Not tasting anything. I took the calcium pills, dosage around 1200mg. then I drink high calcium milk (daisy). After awhile, the condition turns better.

Went for my checkup last sat, my baby nw weight 1.3kg at wk30 head turn down already but he still dun wan me to see his face hai.... give up liao.

Anyone here enaging a post natal massage lady after ur delivery? Can it be done after confinement or do during confinement? veri blur....

blurmummy
your bb is smaller than mine?? My gynae said my bb very small size, 1.4 only. At week 30, this is considered small. This week is 31, hope the next time I go there she will put on some weight instead of pushing all the weight to me **faint**

I am engaging post natal massage lady. Have to lah.. put on ALOT of weight despite that I never really eat too much. I heard that if you go for c-section, it will be around 3 weeks after you give birth. Natural birth should be earlier.

oh ya i forgot to update on my gynae's visit at week 28.. i cannot believe it. my boy is 1.2kg at week 28?! omg.. how come so big?!..jialat. must be all the orange juice and durians i am taking.. wah liew. i on steady increase of 2.2 kg per month.. :S. and the last time.. a week ago. he was only 600g.. which was normal.. now.. i gain 2.2 he only take less than half of what i gain.. ? kaoz.. heads down.. his ultra scan makes him look like a puppy! ha..

hi famela: long time no see.. yes. i have the pressure at the ribs and down there.. :S

JRT: yep.. that i am aware.. just thought I need to be mindful of the words i sprout. coz i can be a bit abrasive at times

hippo: not going for the taka fair gathering ah?

hi sorry to interrupt...

I have an Brand New Avent Manual pump ISIS Out and About Set that comes in the bag, never been opened as I have another set.

This is what is included in the bag:
A manual breast pump offers you total control of suction level and pumping rhythm.
The unique Philips AVENT Manual Breast Pump assures you enhanced efficiency, being clinically proven to express more milk than a hospital electric pump.
Patented Let-down Massage Cushion clinically proven to be effective.
Easy to assemble and use. More milk, naturally.
Gentle vacuum mimics baby's suckling for steady milk flow.
Soft massage cushions trigger natural let-down, like baby.
With insulated travel bag and cool packs.
Clinically proven.
Set include: 1pc ISIS Manual Breast Pump, 2pcs Breast milk container (125ml/4 oz), 2pcs Breast milk container (260ml/9 oz), 2pcs Extra soft, Newborn Flow Teat, 2pcs Cool pack, 2pcs Bottle stand/funnel cover and 1pc Microfibre insulated travel bag.
By Philips Avent, USA.

http://www.motherswork.com.sg/product_info.php?products_id=160&cPath=36_59&osCsid=4b424351fa7dd4575067382eda2c0435

Retail out at 162sgd willing to let go at 120sgd. Local Set.

Let me know if interested

astro,
your piles seems really bad..you didn't check with your gynae? last time, i ask a female GP to check because I was wondering if i need surgery to remove it..haha..she said mine is not so bad lah..so, no need to remove.. just try to avoid straining during motion passing..

re BH:
mummies, BH is painless, a tightening sensation on the tummy. It's like suddenly you feel your stomach so stiff! First time mummies usually don't know how to differentiate lah..
If it's painful, it's the actual contraction. You might be experiencing irregular contraction and you need to check with your gynae. don't delay ok? give her a call just to play safe..

famela,
i got 2! you're blessed at least with one normal nipple! mine is big time inverted! it took me so long to practice latching with nipple shield.. after that i still have to unpractice it and practice latching direct when my girl can suckle well.. i hope i don't have much problem with no.2..

astro>> 1.2kg at 28th week is not big leh. my gynae say it's average :D haa. My baby is 1.3kg at 28th week lol... she say "ok lah ABIT average.. but is ok.. we dont except all babies to born the same size" haha and ask me dun go on diet

astro,
1.2kg at 28 weeks is big? i thought it's average because I remembered my gynae telling me my baby (1.12kg) is average size when i was 28 weeks. she said the size is according to the age of my baby. but i do agree with you durian somehow add pounds to our weight! my gynae was shocked when she noticed i put on 4kg in 1 months time! i was very shocked too cos before that, i was putting on weight in terms on 100s grams and 1kilo kind.. suddenly just balloon 4kg!! she said you can afford for now since you didn't put on much previously but next round, pls do not put on so much anymore *-*

aria jo
i think i am starting to pile on now tt i am in 3T. @ 27 wks, total weight gain was only 2 kg. then last wk @ 28 wks, i gained another 1 kg (total 3kg), this wk i gained another 1 kg. I think my body is seeking revenge for all tt i din gain the previous few wks.
At this rate tt i am gg, i will gain 4 kg in 1 mth, juz like u and my gynae will faint!
but at least i am gaining weight, its normal. When my weight gain was up and down, i was worried.

Famela
Did u try using the nipple puller (4got wats it called) now? I heard tt if used in time, it will help.
my sis has flat nipples and this time for her #2 she used them in time and now she is successful in latching when she did not succeed at all during her 1st preg. I am so happy 4 her.

aria/peiyu:average? *fainted*.. coz.. i refer to the norm.. it is only 1kg!

aria: hahahaa.. i cannot afford too many.. not next round.. this round also cannot! :p

i think i should tell gynae.. next time checkup about the piles :p

my frens at the other thread has this hypothesis that the second child.. assuming both carry full term.. will be 1.5kg heavier.. hmmm. seems like the case for me leh. gynae commented that 'it is a good size. will be as big as rayner or bigger'..

abit above average lah not a big haha.

1kg at 28th weeks i think too small liao lah! my next check up will be next fri i think baby will be at least 1.6-1.7kg at 32nd week lol!!

jrt,
yep, yep.. once in the 3rd trimester, our baby weight will gain tremendously.. i remember my girl during the last few weeks gain 300grams every week! by the time i was full term, she was 3.5kg. when she came out, i was quite suprised to see that she's big..haha.. may be because my niece was so small when she was born that i had a notion my baby should look around there and look fragile kind..

i think you're referring avent nipplet? i never get the hang of using it and sold it to another mummie after my delivery. suppose to wear it to sleep or something but it just kept dropping off the next day i woke up. gave up lah!

blurmummy,
for my 1st pregnancy, i did post natal abt 2 weeks after delivery? massage done by an indo masseur and she told me it's 2 weeks late. My tummy went flat after 10 sessions but still flabby lah. For this pregnancy, I plan to engaged madam Ida (high recommended by forumers here) and she told me the massage should start almost immediately to see better effect and must be done on consecutive days. Plan to take up 10 days as well. She has different practice/belief from my indo masseur, so I really don't know who to believe.

astro,
i told my gynae the same concern too that 2nd pregnancy baby tends to be bigger but she told me that subsequent pregnancy we also tend to deliver early, so baby might not have time to put on more weight. Make sense to me.. May be will be just slighly big but not overly big unless well, our body "tong" until full term...hehe..

inverted nipples: haha! now my nipple is "corrected" liao. after my son latched on from when he's 2 month old til i stopped BF completely it's more or less not so inverted anymore lor.. hehehe... not symmetrical but it's popping out somewhat and will be easier to latch on i believe. that's why hoping that this 2nd round thing will go smoothly!
i see see my own nipple i think no need to use that nipple thing oredy lar.. unless you all think i should...? should i??

astro: hiya there! ya lar long time no don't have time to come in to reply. been reading though.
very uncomfortable right the feeling?? she kicks and punches my ribs u know! can be painful at times. but most times just irritating lar.. when i'm trying to sit at the table to do work like i said earlier. grrr... later she come out i will smack her little tush a little! hahaha

baby's weight: i haven't gone for my 32 weeks check up yet. it's next week on the 17th August. but at 28 weeks she was approximately 1.3kg according to gynae. i figured that was safe and average. it is average right? adil wasn't measured til the 32nd week and by then he was 1.98kg so i don't have a basis of comparison as yet... what do you ladies think?

post natal massage: i booked mine already. same old lady i used last time. booked her for 2 weeks from the day i get back from hospital.

famela: ha. that's what those ladies told me.. eh.. 1.5kg sounds too much hor. how about ..0.15kg heavier? that is more manageable hor? :p whahahaha..

aria: ha..

wah.. all the big bbs here.. :p

aria jo
yep, heard tt 2nd baby will b heavier. i am hoping its not too bad. my son was 3.1kg. and now @ 29 wks, i am feeling like i am carrying a huge watermelon ard. i muz hv ballooned alot this past wk coz suddenly my colleagues were looking at my tummy as if they had nvr seen it b4.

4 my son, gynae estimated his birth weight to b 3.6kg and i kept asking him not to grow too big 4 me to deliver. so i was pleasantly surprised tt he weighed only 3.1 kg at birth.

yah prob its the nipplet. heard fr my sis tt its supposed to b worn to sleep and its always dropping out!

RE: Post-natal massage
I did mine 12 days aft delivery coz tt was the 1st time i bathed aft delivery. B4 tt i was super sticky. thereafter, i din do massage everyday coz it was super uncomfy to bind and end up feeling oily. eeekkkssss! this time round i'll prob do the same.

RE: Babies' Weight
At 27 wks, mine weighed 960g and gynae said its normal. now tt i see u girls compare like tt, OMG, think mine is v small! but i bet she's piling on weight now at the rate i am gaining. Well, she better be!
Famela, hahaha u r so funny! 5 kg?! dun think so lah! Ur tummy and mine abt the same size now... and gosh, i am several wks later than u... i am huge now...

astro>> haa yah lor i hope she dun gain so much also.. gynae said according to her weight, she should be ard 3 - 3.2kg at birth.

nipple,
good for you! mine went back to almost original state.. pengz.. i think i definately have to use nipple shield again. to think mine has corrected itself..haha..

astro,
0.15kg is not manageable, it's negligable..hehe..

jrt,
tell me abt it. I feel like penguin! Now i understand why some pregnant mummies walk like that. I'm so conscious of the way i walked and try to walk to leg closer together..haha..

ha.. i tot i'm the gundu one that don't know how to use the nipplet. so, it's a common thing..haha..but your sis good lah still managed to correct her nipple.

Re: Nipple shield

The nipple shield is to prevent baby to have direct contact with our nipples right? so meaning we need to put that on when BF the baby? haa sorry ah i not really sure how it works.. and it comes with different sizes if i'm not wrong.. so how i know what size i belong to ? o_O?

pei yu: yeap. the nipple shield.. is put on when bf-ing.. but use that only when u have sore/cracked nipples.. i tried. but it doesn't really work leh.. :S.. erm.. u have to agarate liao. the size.. heh..

hahaha,the biggest bb so far I heard is only 3+kg. Hav't heard of 5kg one before ;p

Funny enough, my gynae said my gal only 1.4kg. State abit on the small side. I thought she should be ok. i have been putting on alot of weight these few weeks... Life is going to be tough after birth