(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

<font color="ff0000">raincloud</font>

Hehe judging by how long u tahan-ed to test HPT, I think no prob for u to wait for week 9. If u're like me (u know how I can't wait :p), I can't wait for week 6 liao! haha

Raincloud,
wk9? a bit long leh if u can wait den go ahead if not i suggest wk6:p

kikilala,
i tink by wk14 can see the gender liao..

<font color="ff0000">fat bobo</font>

I wud have tot u wud want me to go see gynae quick quick so I can ask the IPL question for u *sniff*

jul.. couple of days before i tested positive.. i oso dreamt of my colleague had a bad fall.. n there were lots n lots of blood.. i went to check on online dream dictionary (which i owas did to analyse dreams..) it said seeing blood is a sign of live or something.. pregnant woman often dream of blood de..

dun worry too much okie.

pegsfur, i think animal innards are high in vit A.. i know they say liver has a lot of vit a...

donkeymami, yeah if do the triple (*something* test, that is blood test, can do at clinic. $100 plus only. But we decided to do full, so oscar test is blood test plus ultrasound (to check curvature of neck) and doing at TMC...

raincloud

I believe the malays eat a lot of mutton. So don't think the mutton causing fits thing is true. Else they will be getting a lot of pp with fits.

I just ate mutton satay last weekend. Yummy...

talking about dreams, b4 i was preggie, i had a dream. I was at home, heavily pregnant. then my mum was with me.. i remember i sat everywhere with a towel below my backside cos i scared water break. I was then resting on my bed, and water broke!!I can still remember warm warm feeling one.. hahaha

we didnt tell anymore we know of the news yet...
thought will surprise the old folks during CNY dinner. this will be the first grandkid for my dh side. ILs have been nagging for almost 5 years already, they definitely will nag again during CNY, so for once we can answer back... hahaha!

i think the theory about eating mutton is cos mutton in chinese is 'yang' rou... sounds like "yang jian fong'= fits....

<font color="ff0000">fat bobo</font>

Thanks! Made me feel much better.

I'm ok actually. But during the dream, it was like... panick.. can't stop the bleeding.. mentally prepared to say sayonara babylet etc.

Guess we tend to dream of whatever we think too much of when we're awake.

<font color="ff0000">babys</font>

Tracing the origins of these do's and don'ts do seem to make them sound just a teeny bit ridiculous hor?

BabyS

Yang Dian Fong's name came about not becoz the origin of the illness if from goat lah. It's becoz the patient when in fits give off a scream that sounded like a goat. That's why have this name. Cannot because of a name then relate to the illness. Have to investigate further. We are all educated pp here, so we have to be more discerning when it comes to such stories.

I hope none of us here are thinking of abstaining from bathing during confinement too. It's so dirty and imagine the amt of bacteria and germs that we'll be passing to our bb during breastfeeding. If you're not going to bathe, then i would think that it's better you don't breastfeed either.

mashy,

I have the same thinking of u ... when i had my confinement the last time, my mum kept forbidding me to bathe &amp; wash my hair. But when i went home i bathe secretly oso cos i simply can't stand it.

jul

Totally agree. If u trace back some of these stuff, it makes u feel even more curious why there are still pp following them, esp in this educated society. Don't they ever question the reason for all these?

Like some of the traditions that singaporean new moms carry out during their confinement, even the chinese in China don't do that. So it makes it sound even more ridiculous lor.

pegsfur

I believe one of the reasons abt not bathing and washing hair last time was coz there's no ready hot water, and the weather was colder so can lead to chills to the body. But i read in the china website that they can bathe, esp in summer. They must also make sure there's a good circulation of air (not wrapped up like Singaporeans). They said have to be watch out for heatstroke. Somehow when it spread to Singapore, pp forgot that we're in hot singapore and not China in winter.

Jul_04: Yeah ... who knows, I may be able to tahan lah ... hor?

piggytoh: I would love to do at Week 6 leh, but my gynae won't be available until Week 9. Unless I temporary go see another gynae first. Any good ones to recommend? And can I just make appt to do ultrasound?

mashy: Yeah, as chinese, more often than not, there are myths surrounding us. I can't help but believe some of them coz' it personally happened to my own brother. Although I wish to take it easy but probably coz' this is #1, I tend to be more cautious. You're right about the malays eating mutton and also okay hor ... But I know if I were to eat mutton and if anything were to happen to my child, my mom would make me feel so guilty coz' she specifically warned me not to.

mashy,

Ya lor .. and they say windows must be closed at all times in case they got the chills from the winds.

U know, there was once i was at my gynea's, waiting for my turn, this lady was carrying a newborn, possibly for a check up, sitting next to me. Omg ... she was stinko leh ... den from the look of the hair &amp; neck, it's very oily lor. I'm sure she followed our chinese confinement customs strictly. But shldn't she at least wash up a bit b4 going to the clinic?

<font color="ff0000">mashy</font>

I guess maybe it's the better ve safe than sorry. Bcoz when something happens, it's convenient to find a scapegoat &amp; say, see? shd not have this &amp; this &amp; this...

<font color="ff0000">pegsfur</font>

Oh my! Whoever went after that lady v poor thing... imagine lying on the same bed???

raincloud,

At first my gynae also not available until i'm week 9, so i made appt to see another gynae, Dr Watt from Raffles. Went at week 5, only can see the sac.

raincloud,

Ya, she did an ultrasound and asked me abt my m/c history. Was supposed to go back to her 2day but since i've already got my own gynae, i cancelled the appt lor.

jul/rain

haha, i don't call that safe. It's more like lack of hygiene. hahaha. I would say we shouldn't let the older generations' ignorance rule us. And worse, carry on to our next generations. But to each his own lah. I mean it's your own body, your own bb. So whatever happens, you alone are accountable. But must warn u, some things u really need to discern it yourself. Esp the part abt bathing. Last time those mothers don't bathe still ok coz a lot of them don't breastfeed their bb. Now with so many of us breastfeeding, a basic level of hygiene is important. Don't sacrifice your child's well-being so that you 'won't get aches in future'.

gals
I am definitely one of those who need to wash hair &amp; bathe daily.

gals

anyway, if it gives u any comfort at all, now there's a herbal wash meant for new moms during confinement that u can buy in med shops, so u can bathe ok? Don't be dirty...

I thnk still able to wipe body with herbs or something during confinement ba...my SIL really can tahan not washing for a mth leh! She juz wiped with wet towel using the herbal water then use powder shampoo. I really wanna salute her! I am not sure if I can tahan anot..

Hahaha! Sounds disgusting leh mashy....

But i do heard from my MIL a few incidents on those who really bathe during confinement, they got bloated after that leh. My hubby's granny also kena blown by the fan on the head after she bathe during confinement, there is a lump or (ba lu ku) on her head now. Sometimes still causing her very bad headache. Thats y dunno to believe it or not also...

fatbobo,
My boy eczema is getting mild now, but have to apply steroid cream fr time to time

Pricilla,
Oh, I only took black vinegar, but i like the sour sour green chili which soak in white vinegar. NIce Nice

pinkmama,
Oh, ic.

I am back from my sleeping, the thread moving fast.

I showered and washed hair during my first confinement, my mil could not say anything since I have to handle bb on my own and also machine wash all our laundry since she said she could not and did not know how to handle baby.

I told her since clean baby and doing all laundry need to touch water then I see no reason why cannot wash hair or shower. As long as we dry ourselves well and blow hair dry should be ok.

All my window were opened for air circulation too and at times I have the fan on.

mashy, quite alot of malays and indian has fits and heart diseases that I know. So for me to play safe, I will avoid mutton.

I know of friends in Vancouver migrated from China who loves lamb and mutton but they too avoid during pregnancy.

yesterday on the Chinese news, they showed men in Taiwan who contracted illness after eating mutton hotpot. One of them almost got a stroke. Then a TCM lady explained that mutton can be too heaty for some.

pegsfur: Must give my DH a big fat kiss. He managed to help me to squeeze in a slot on my 6th week!!!! Hopefully can get a peace of mind during the ultrasound!!!

mashy: I agree with you on the bathing during confinement bit ... I might be getting MIL to do confinement for me. Hopefully she's more 'open-minded'. I heard the older generation are not very fond of breastfeeding either. But I know my mom is a big advocate of that. So it's good to get support from her.

my daddy used to have many indian muslim friends..(they used to play soccer when younger..) alot of my dad's friends oso hv those problems.. of cos, that doesn't rule that mutton must be the culprit.. but sometimes, there's just some unexplainable coincidence bah.

as for baths during confinement..ya, tink still can bathe, but better to use those herbs, and hot water, dry immediately aft shower. i tink low air-con is alright (as long as not blowing direct), but fan will be too harsh.

many of my frens / ex-colleagues told me that confinement period is most important to recuperrate the body n even to pu back... some, they often hv backache, headache etc.. after giving birth, n not doing proper confinement.

im sure i will take shower n wash my hair especially... but i'll still make sure i use herbs n immediately dry myself well aft dat.. (cos nw..im those sort, aft shower, i will dilly-dally walk here walk there..dun really dry myself n take long time to get dressed kind..n i oso cant get dressed in bathroom de..i hfta cm out of it de..hahaa.) cos nw my knee already give me prob.. my other parts of body oso smtimes hv rhuematic pains le.. so i will take extra care when doing confinement..

I think the effects of the bathing during confinement will only kick in when u aged. So for now we may not experience anything but as time goes by, problems may come. I guess have to depend on individuals. Most impt thing i suppose is still to keep dry urself thoroughly after bath and not leave ur hair wet ba..

ya.. i love beef too...

me juz had beef pho.. was feeling so nausea during lunch.. duno wat to eat.. den wander into a pho shop... squeezed almost a whole lemon into the soup.

tink my MS kick in le la... -.- sianz!

taking abt beef... juz had bbq hotpot with my in-laws last week.. sianz.. all the kobe &amp; wagyu beef.. i hfta eat them fully cook.. but luckily it's good quality beef.. so still quite tender..

according to a nurse I know, most of the old people get the problem because they do supplement with calcium when they age. In fact, my dr instill I take calcium.

confinement, i think it boils down to one's belief and how she is brought up in lor... i do not bath daily during confinment, i use warm water boiled with herbs if i do, and on days i dun, i use dry shampoo for my hair.. i walk ard the house wearing bedroom slippers coz i cannot bear cold feet then, i onz the air con in my rm almost 24hrs a day, otherplaces, i just on fan but make sure they do not blow at me direct.. i clean my breasts with wipes before breastfeeding and wipe off and apply nipple cream after every latch. i spray / clean myself down-under with warm water in the toilet after every pee to clear away the bleeding (lochia). my health is oredi in those weakie types... so i choose to believe what is not knwn until old age lor.

ya smurfy.. i rmbr i visited an ex-colleague long long time ago... she wore socks n in slippers.. she really had all covered up..
i dun tink i can wrap up to this extend la.. but.. prolly the bedroom slippers part i might follow.. cos ya..like i said before, my knees already giving me lots of prob le.

mashy and jul, i dont really know much about all these myths and stuff, cos i dont believe in them at all.... all hear say one. haha..

and re bathing, i've already told my mum that i wanna bathe.. cannot tahan lah.. if dont let me bathe my mother will have to deal with her grumpy grandchild and grumpy daughter!! hahaha...

ya i tink all these really individual de lar...
like smurfy.. i tink hygene wise.. she did her part to clean b4 BF.. n oso wash down-under... it's good enuff for some.. n acceptable for many le.
of cos.. like ang mos..i believe they oso bathe..they oso go out shopping n all during the confinement mth... so...
but then agn... ang mos r usually tougher than asians la.. heee~