(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

Pegsfur,
sorry i was tryin to say sad thing but most impt u got a healthy baby now

oh cos i remember the other time u say u feel strongly it a gal keke maybe i remember wrongly

Pegsfur,

I have alot of discharge nowsadays, and I'm starting to get worried.
How do you know that your waterbag was rupture the last time?

Sweet stuff
For me the test strip had a faint turn of colour. The nurse told me to cut down on sugar.
Been snacking on the sunsweet prunes, is that too high sugar content?

smurfy, pink
was on bedrest for most of this pregnancy, in the beginning 3 mths was due to spotting, then everythng was ok for 2 weeks, pass into 2nd tri, then last sat started to have discharge and blood clots and early contractions, so went to a & e and luckily bb is ok but got to resume bedrest again.

my concern now is incompetent cervix due to the contractions so will be heeding some friend'[s advice to go for weekly scanning.

pink,
i can understand your need to know. if i were you, i will also want to know the amnio results immed esp since already decided to go for the test. but have you thought about what you will do when you rec the results?

shirley,
the FA u are refering to is the detailed fetal scan scan at week 20 right? yr risks is abt the same as mine, after taking into account age, cos i am 34. mine is higher than the average women age 34, so the gynae did advise amnio but i am holding back. will be going for a fetal cardiac scan tomorrow and see how it goes, if the scan is normal, the risk factor will drop to 1000 plus, that's more acceptable.

baby s, mich
i also can't stomach plain water, so been taking a lot of flavoured drink - non carbonated - what i did was to trick the tongue by diluting 1/4 flavoured and 3/4 water. so far it works.

pegsfur,
congrats on yr prince and his cute headstand, here's wishing you a safe and successful pregnancy.

babymaking

What is early contractions? I've been having some cramping in the middle of my tummy, but I can't really differentiate it from wanting to go toilet hee.

pegsfur, i feel so touched when you shared that you had tatooed owen's name on your wrist. I am sure he knows in heaven how dearly he is missed by you and your hb.

babymaking, does this mean your gynae has to "sew" the cervix up?

pinkmama,
Ya lor .. gonna heed yr advice and buy lemon later

jul,
I'm not sure leh .. i think it's just a normal test to test for infection.

baby s,
At first i thot it was urine, until i got puzzled cos the whole pad was soaked without any smell or colour. Called the gynae at nite and was asked to go to hosp immediately. Hiaz ....

Ya, Owen shall always be a part of me

<font color="0000ff">bbabymaking</font>
ai yo... ur condition does sounds serious... who's ur gynae? oh by the way, i read abt those similar to ur case really needs lots of rest and sometimes bedrest..hope ur bb will stay in ur tummy till full term.

but how u know it's early contractions?

<font color="0000ff">pegsfur</font>
*pat*pat* pls be strong n positive for this pregnancy k? let owen has a special place in ur memory and moves onz..

pegsfur, yeah lor.. i think thats what happened to my friend too..

I think i am having a boy... plus my dh keeps praying for boy! ahhaa..

my mother and colleagues keep saying its a boy, cos my nose red and a bit bigger..

<font color="ff0000">*check if nose is bigger..*</font>

piggy,
Oh .. i c .. it's ok lah, dun worry. Its true that the most impt thing is bb is healthy

kikilala,
I didn't know at first, and i thot it was urine, cos i heard preggy will also sometimes leak urine due to the tummy pressing on the bladder. But then again, i'm only in my 4th mths, tummy not big so how can tat be?

Anyway, i put pad when i went to work and when i came back, the pad was soaked. I was puzzled but still din know wat was going on. Went out for dinner then came back and called my mum. She said she never heard of anything like dat. At that time i was still in this forum so i posted and asked. Bear saw my posting and asked me to call gynae immedietely, and was told to go hosp.

When gynae checked, my amniotic level already dropped to 5, normal is 10. Next day, dropped even lower to 1. Sad lor ...

mich,

Cos i was missing him so much and i can't be looking at his photo every now &amp; then. So decided to get the tattoo on my wrist ... it's permanantly a part of me (dat's the most impt thing!) and i can look at it anytime i want

pegsfur
wah! too far. I live in jurong west. =(

kikilala
Not sure if sunsweet prune contains any sugar they add or any preservatives. I hate it how Singapore doesn't sell sunsweet chocolate coated prunes!! Maybe we should switch to the fruit but it is sour to me!!

I went to research about prunes and found this page. http://www.whfoods.com/genpage.php?tname=foodspice&amp;dbid=103

"Normalizing Blood Sugar Levels". I wonder if it can help to lower my chance of getting gestation diabete since my sugar level is high also.

congrats on your little prince! focus on your little prince - you need to feel happy for him to be a happy boy.

<font color="0000ff">ladies</font>
today i feel ok, but think that i look 'messy'. thinking of going for a good haircut or a good manicure or a good facial..me in punggol now. anyone any good suggestion somewhere nearby value for money?

babyS, i also heard if during ultrasound scan...if baby always face out, its a boy....if baby always face inside and show butts, then its a girl...dunno how true....hehee

i dreamt twice dat im having a boy...so told dh that most prob its a girl cos ppl say dreams r opp of reality

RE: Discharge

How to differentiate between normal watery discharge vs amniotic fluid? Sometimes in the morning, I get little bit of watery discharge, so I also worried that it may be amniotic fluid.

mine always show side leh.... hahha.. always lying on back..

that time during oscar scan when there was a top down view of baby, dh thought he saw something in between the legs, but not clear.. i told him cannot trust him, cos he boy crazy. hahaha... it could have been anything lor... ahhaah

as long as baby is fine and healthy, boy or girl i dont mind.

babyS,
ya i also have that, clear, watery, odourless discharge and I also worry if its amniotic fluid. Forgot to check with my gynae yesterday.

Sharon,
kekek i opp u my baby so far show side view n my HB n 1 of my friend say dream of baby gal haha shall see if dream is opp applies in our case

i was just thinking..

we all sure have some form of dishcharge.. discharge got smell no good (infection), no discharge also no good (may be amniotic fluids).. haiyo..

babymaking,

Ya, the FA is the 20wks scanning (but previously when i had my #1 i didn't go for that, bcoz the OSCARS test is good.)

What is fetal cardiac scan? same as FA?

thanks reira and smurfy. i called blissful nails...eva cannot make it. now looking at revival. but revival i must take a long ride to reach..*lazy*
how much is revival charging normally? me normal-to-dry.. skin type.

for those who ask abt contractions, can differntiate. contractions come with tightening of the abdomen, and some backache, may be with or without any type of increased discharge, also when you change position, the pain will not go away or the tightening will not ease.

actually i started with groin pain, which i thought was expansion of the womb on the ligament, so i causually mentioned it to my gynae and he said to watch out for tightening of the abdomen.

mich,
so far no need yet, cos the last VE, the cervix was still tightly closed but this can change any time, that's why need regular weekly gynae visits.

smurfy
my gynae is SF loh, he's rather pragmatic, warns that some women are just unable to keep their baby in their wombs thru full term.

when i was admitted to KKH previously for ectopic couple of years back, i came across this lady who lost two pregnancies, 1 singleton and twins due to very early contractions. she also was his patient. they also could not figure out why early contractions happen and it remains a medical puzzle. But that woman was damn strong, she had to deliver one of her twins and the baby head broke off during delivery and remained in her womb until the other twin was delivred some weeks later, however the other twin also did not survive.

i remb during that time, i was very emotional when i heard about her case and just couldn't stop crying in the ward. that was a couple of years back.

shirley

no, the fetal cardiac scan is different, this one measure the blood flow to the fetus heart and make sure the heart chambers are properly formed. it is said that DS will have some sort of heart defect which can be detected thru this scan, so if it's normal, then chances it is a DS baby is much lesser.

I thought everyone have to go through the FA scan at week 20, didn;t know it was optional.

Pegsfur, check with your gynae first before you go for prenatal massage as well. My gynae is not in favour of it so I avoid.

Priscilla, ya actually i dun even know what is FA, until now i am having my #2 with a boarderline of OSCAR result then i know something so call FA @.@

Fetal cardiac scan, i will check with my gynae whether to do the Fetal cardiac scan for my baby.

My gynae from Raffles Hospital, i still remembered clearly when had my OSCAR result for my #1 she said "good, the result is good, so no more further test."

And i also didn't ask what kind of further it is....

Shirley, who is your gynae, they will normal tell you about all these scan, Oscar test, CVS, Amnio test, more specific blood test if there is a need who the blood test result is +ve of stuff like thal., etc.

For my case, I have spotting scare last week, I went to ER straight and did a U/S and another more detailed U/S the next day and saw Dr again on Mon where he said the U/S was ok but he still did another U/S and listened to heartbeat rate to confirm and I list to him all the possible cause of spotting and he told me through the U/S he ruled out all.

<font color="0000ff">bbmaking</font>
i know which mummy u r refering to.. i was reading the stillbirth threads a couple of months back when i read her story.. she has since then adopted a bb girl.. very very sad...

when u say groin pain... it's at one side of ur lower tummy right???? i oso has that.. everyday leh..and i got slight cramp almost everyday... but i tot those traditionalist will tell me it's because of the cold drinks i take? or womb expanding??? i wanted to ask gynae the other visit.. but totally forgotten coz of the good oscar results..

eeksss...

Smurfy, the one that has precious moments on the tomb to remember her children? She is very strong and glad that she has adopted a bb girl.

<font color="0000ff">{bbmaking, pegsfur</font>
u know, me scared of premature or stillbirth this time round.. i dunno why before my mc that time, i kept on reading m/c threads and it happened.. this time i keep on reading premmies thread and stillbirth threads.. :x

I cannot take it lor ... the last time i tried to read, my tears were already flowing non-stop the moment i saw the pics, can't even manage to read the post.

I must say she is really a strong woman.

pris,
Tks, i'll chk with gynae b4 going for the massage

<font color="0000ff">babymaking</font>
you rest well, and dont think too much (or at least try to steer your thoughts clear of those images. eg read books about how to take good care of bb. goodness, head broke off..v traumatic.

thanks! heard abt them, found them ex initially for a punggol location. but $48 for a try - suppose v reasonable! hee!

wait a min - be careful, pegsfur, abt pre-natal massage. you may also want to ask your gynae first. some sharing - me SUPER interested in pre-natal massage, cos back occasionally ache for this pregnancy and i want to take my mind off puking and the boring routine. read a thread about a highly recommended massage lady called ida hp 94249829 got her and her hubby to my house do for my hubby and my mil. i observed, seemed good! but no matter how i coerced her to do for me, she refused. and said only after 6th month.

now punggol raining cats and dogs..*yawn*

babymaking/smurfy, I have been following the story on the blog for a while now... heartbreaking. I'm really happy for them now that they have adopted another baby.