(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

babys

Btw nvr heard of Thal incidence in my side of the family. But must cfm with my mum this weekend, & ask hubby to ask his mum too.

But u know, sometimes my mum in denial one. Gynae asked me whether got family history of diabetes, I told her my granpa got. Mum immed blew up, asked me why I told the doc that? His wasn't serious, din even need medication, blah blah blah.

I was like.. er.. it's a shameful thing meh? Dun tell doc later she cannot watch out complications even lagi worse right? So really dunno if I can trust her also *sigh*

Morning girls! So tired today and feel so sad for no reason.

RE: OSCAR result

My ex-gynae never told me about what HepB, chicken pox, rubella immunity or iron, thalessamia ect... I dont think the result got stat about those also (unless I didnt see clearly).

Jul Your hubby had to test his blood? and ur mom followed u to the gynae?

BabyS :D I saw the rainbow. From office and back home!

reira

I did 2 tests together. There's the OSCAR which is one thing, & the blood test for the HepB, rubella etc. Chkn pox is I KS add on, coz I kena chkn pox twice & I wanted to make sure my immunity is there.

And yes, norm the hubby will also test his blood for the same HepB, rubella, Thal, HIV etc thing.

Nah.. I was talking to my mum after the gynae appt, then I told her abt the declaring family history thing lor.

Jul, it is important to let the gynae knows all the medical history. I took oscar test becoz we do not know the medical history of my mil's side as she is adopted daughter and has no idea of her biological parents and siblings.

\ b { \ blue { cloudme }}

you are right. that time when i was 1.5 months pregnant with my son, a friend passed away cos he had major thalessimia. only 28 years old at that time. typically people with major thalessimia cannot live long..i suppose that was why the doctor advised them to terminate. i was v scared the last time. i thot alot and broke down, that time dint do OSCAR (doctor dint tell me to do that) only till 20th week then i could have a peace of mind.

jul,
dun let my sil story scare u...ok...u will be fine

maybe ur's is like me...that time i got #1 my normal blood test show iron weak(not triple test)...
so doc give me iron pills and ask me to eat more "red meat" to push up my iron level...
but i am not a carrier...

Pris

Yes I agree. Dun share family history how are they goona diagnose u? Not just for preggie, but also for other full body check ups etc right?

I dunno y my mum has this prob. Even when she's sick, she will say that she isn;t sick, no need medication, no need to see doc, just sleep it off, and she will be coughing her guts out for more than a mth. Dunno what to sometimes..

And then when I need to declare medical for insurance, she will tell me not to say that I have heart murmur prob. Wah liew, then if I really kena heart attack, I wun get any money coz I made false declaration right? Dunno what to do with her sometimes..

Me on the other hand, is the KS type. Will tell the doc everything. And hopefully when there's something wrong, she will be able to pick out tell-tale sign.

tell you gals sth funny - i just started since 19 feb on calcium.. the calcium seemed to have gone to the 'wrong places'..instead of going to my bones n assisting the baby, i realise my finger nails are much muCH HARDER than before! perfect for filing! haha.

Jul, my doc never told me can get blood test. OSCAR also got blood test right? but it doesnt test those which you stated?
_______

Anyway, do you girls have a good digicam or camcorder (those where u can record video of baby when baby is born) to recommend?

I want to take loads of pics for my baby when he/she is born!

cloudme, fjm

I'm ok lah. Not that I am totally not concerned, but not panicking either. Just impatient to know the final verdict I guess.

I do hope we are not both carriers lor, else will have 25% chance leh

Pris

Yeah chkn pox is an additional one. Guess they're not too concerned with chkn pox over here.

fjm, \ b { \ blue { cloudme }} <- delete all the spaces :D

Jul, it is definately good to tell doc everything that you know/remember!

<font color="0000ff">fjm,</font>

well...that's the reason as seems that their gynae predict the child will not live long...so "chang tong bu ru duan tong"

reira

Norm blood test is done at week16. But since I was doing OSCAR, m gynae norm recommends to just take blood one time, rather than having to take blood again at week16.

Speaking of red meat... I do eat quite a lot of red meat. Last thing I expect is lack of iron lor. I can understand lack of calcium, vitamins &amp; minerals, but not iron lor.

Reira, I am not sure Sg allowed you to view the birth process in Sg, I only know they allowed to take photo when the cord is cut by the dad. etc, first bfd or when bb is place on you after birth.

Pris, serious? T_T I know Aus can because one of my friend recorded the process!!

Anyone know if TMC allows?

I am still in need of recommendation on good digicam and camcorder!

Jul, dun be upset by her, maybe she feels insecure after sharing all the medical history. But explain to her it is important if not something happens, the dr will take a longer time to diagnose the case because all the additional testing which involves more cost and time.

Jul, don't worry too much. Borderline most likely could simply be anemia (lack of iron) as its not easy to differentiate anemia from thalessemia. In previous blood tests before this, did you have anemia? If no, then not likely to be thalessemia either.

I have thal minor and since I was in my teens, every single blood test I did showed "anemic" symptoms. And this never changed all those years no matter how much iron tablets I ate. Finally before i was married, I had an insurance check up and they determined beta thal minor.

Stage 2 test is a specific thalessemia test. That was how they diagnosed the specific type of thal i had.

reira, they usually only ask ur hb to test if the mother is a thal carrier... just to determine risk to fetus.

dunno y my back starts to ache. is it becos my tummy is bigger now thus the strain on my back? or becos of the way i sleep &amp; sit?

Jul, thats ur usual intake of red meats... but now ur usual intake of rd meats (that is one person's portion) has to be shared between two pple so may not be enough..

Huh.... u must convince ur mother leh, if have must say leh.... might be more trouble than good if covering up.. how about asking ur dad?

My dr just called me and said they wanna explain results to us in person.. so we went down then he explain and explain next steps of action.

U wanna make an appt to see ur dr to get more info first or not.. Cos mine was borderline too, according to my dr. But according to my GP and online articles, my results were fine.

i dunno about the diff stages.. cos my dr suggested to test my husband's blood to see if he got the gene or not.. if have then proceed to do DNA testing. but my husband's results were ok, so dr didnt continue.. (but i think my dr still thinks i have thal.. haha)

i know what u mean about being unable to ask questions.. i was in a blur also, didnt think of asking questions then..

bear,

Oh ya, i remembered u mentioned your strips also turned brown for the sugar test. So you didn't limit your sugar intake at all ah? How abt for current preg?

zen I am having backaches sometimes too and yesterday had this bad right leg cramp. till now my calves still hurts when i walk!

reira, only certain cuts of chicken is red meat and high in iron i think..

after my results, i keep looking for beef to eat man.. hahaha...

I found out also, that spinach may be high in iron, but there is some component in it that makes the iron hard to be absorbed.. so iron from meat source is easiest to absorb...

Pris

I find it quite kuazhang that I still dun have enough red meat intake. I eat beef maybe 1x/week, pork 2x/week, &amp; I tot I was pushing the limit coz we're aws told that we're not supposed to eat too much red meat.

Thanks. Actually I'm used to her "pattern" liao. Just that I sometimes get pek chek b/c I feel she's doing herself more harm than good. For eg, if looking for a job, she shd declare right? If she lies abt it, &amp; gets found out, she will be terminated one wor. Same for insurance &amp; things like med check ups.

U know, she recently told me that she had a m/c but din even bother to visit the gynae after that to check for ok. Many yrs later, she had an op to remove fibroids &amp; the doc actually found the umbilical cord inside!

I'm sometimes quite worried for her.

Babys,

My MS already gone! i can eat and drink as usual already

yesterday after work i saw the big big rainbow too
very nice

Mich

So that means after Stage 2, I will know for sure whether I am a carrier or just anaemic? I dun rem having had any anaemic results leh.

babys

Hmm.. anyway after the Stage 2 testing I will know lah.

Anyway as long as ur husband isn;t a carrier, the child wudn't have full blown Thal mah, so no need to keep testing liao.

Hubby still asked me, what is Thalessamia? I told him it's the di zhong hai thing, then he went? Huh? U mean our kid will have blading in the middle of his head? I nearly fainted.

Thal test?

Why when i had my #1 my gynae never ask me to go for it??

And also, they didn't check my DH blood also wor @.@

BabyS, i was quite scared of eating beef after I know I am pregnant!! Donno if fully cooked or not. Before I know I am pregnant, I ate like one whole month worth of beef meat (NOT FULLY COOKED SOMEMORE!!) when my boss treat us to a korean bbq restaurant. Made me so worried hahaha.

jul, yes, if you do this specific thal test, it will show for sure if you have thalessemia and exactly what is the configuration (there are many kinds of thalessemia carriers). I don't know if the name is specifically called "stage 2", but its not the normal blood best but only specifically test the thal gene. If no anemic results previously, most likely you are not thal carrier, so dun have to worry! Pple with thal like me always has funny blood test results which the doctor will scratch their heads over one...

shirley, great your MS is over. which week are you at?

reira, there'll be a normal blood test somewhere bet week 12-16 I think... dun worry, most pple have normal results.

jul, ur husband's response funny.. hee...

gosh, the story about finding the umbillical cord inside is scary!! thank God the cord didnt turn gangrene!!!!

re anemia, i was quiet surprised when i saw my iron dropped.. and i always no problem donating blood regularly...

My GP was sharing, even if i had thal and anemic, to have my reading of 12 (according to gynae's report) was very good already, quite impossible for me to reach 14 (based on a recent health check up and last time while in KK, always check for fun one.. haha)

mich my last visit to gynae was week 13 and the next time i visit will be week 20 leh!! die le i will miss the blood test...

reira, my GP did those tests for me at week 13 (thal, hep b, chicken pox and HIV)... routine blood tests...

beef yeah if i go eat steak and they ask how well done i want i tell them i want it very very well done. hahaha

Reira, I still eat beef but told them must be fully cooked.

Shirley, gynae will pick it up from blood test, so if -ve for thal., will not need further test.