(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

ju & tiny_m, haha, i cannot help but laugh when yuan2 did that :p i know mil meant well but we cannot expect the teachers to watch her all the time -- she is very active now, always crawling, standing n trying to reach for things... this morning i took a pic of her doing "cliff hanger" stunt @ IFC :D

adv,
dun even say ifc teachers. even we at hm, also may miss out some things.
aiyah... ppl who dun approve of ifcs will have a lot to say de...

ju: I stay at Kovan, rather near Shers.

Yah, i agree even at home we can't watch bb all the time. where got so free and babies are so fast, they do all sorts of funny things when u're not looking for 1 sec. Le xuan bumps her head at home everyday also mah..

Jaime,
No, they do have weekend. I sent my elder to their playclub bilingual class. I think their playnest should hv weekend if I dont remember wrongly.

EltonHouse, very x.

Adv_sports,

Kids/bbies will fall down at home too... it happens a few times to HX loh.. you are rite, we cannot expect that they are watch 24hrs...!!

I believe kids needs space to explore themselves.. even if they climb, they will need to know the rite way, so they dun hurt themselves so badly!

Re: NTUC-My First Skool
Tiny_M, my boy also starting the IFC at My First Skool next week. Is a brand new centre, v clean and spacious. I think for IFC is still alright lah, as for CC, we have alot of time to observe while our bbs are there, so no worries.

Re: Pat's Schoolhouse
Okipoki, u staying nearby west coast area? I will visit the jubilee branch and some other cc before making decision. Any good cc to recommend in Dover, West Coast, Clementi area?

So JG has weekend classes, shall check it out. Tks!

Re: falling down
My bb oso kena small bruises or cuts twice at the current IFC. Cos he wants to join in the fun of the older infants, chasing after them. I think this is normal, even at home, he always will bump into this wall or that furniture..

tiny_m,
shermin was sent to sfx at serangoon garden because my sil can fetch her to and fro since her son and daughter r in the same sch. but having seen they r always late for sch and fetch late, my hb says he fetches shermin himself. i wanted to change to the catholic kindergarten behund my house but full house already. and my hb says since shermin loves the sch, dont change. it is very nice for all the teachers, principal and admin staff to know each of the students names by heart.

i put shermin in presch rather than cc because i cant bear to send her to full day cc.. hahhaa

Pastries: Which NTUC IFC is your bb in?

Re: Pat's Schoolhouse
there's one near Kovan but heard different centers are managed differently. read that there are some centres that adopt Pat's curriculum, eg. Masterpiece (near Serangoon MRT). Those will be much cheaper than Pat's.

Shers: Sounds like a nice pre-school, can remember everyone's names! the catholic kindergarten looks very big! i thought you might enrol your girls there, didn't know so popular. must pre-register to get a confirmed place?

i like JG! used to send #1 to their holiday playnest progs. find dat the teachers are able to engage the kids very well. but too far so can't let #1 attend preschool there.

given a choice, i would rather send #1 to a playgp instead of full day cc. but the nearest, viable option to my mum's pl is a cc so no choice la.

tiny_m,
ya.. i think most catholic kindergarten teachers will rem all the kids names as well. they r more family type bah..

catholic kindergarten (its the name) is very big.. last time i didnt consider because it was under renovation, so dusty n noisy. didnt know complete so fast! oh yes! i might consider to change sch for shermin for ease of tranportation but havent confirm yet. i have called and put shermin in the waiting list already.
they have registration period every march for the following year intake.

Dumex Mamil promo!

buy 3 Mamil Gold Step 2 700g & get 2 tins of 400g FREE! (can save more than $30?)
to order, call 1800 265 3188 to enjoy free home delivery

Hahha..I am a kiasu parent. Tried almost all the different enrichment for #1. Here's my feedback n review.

Re: Shichida
My #1 was in Shichida for 1 year. She was an active gal and hence cannot concentrate on the lesson. A rough breakdown of the lesson which is 60 min long.

5 min: Welcome song, and warming up activities..(Gathering good energy...wash away bad energy)
5 min: Role play. They will give them toys to manipulate. Sometimes oven, fishing rods...
5 min: ESP. Mummy will hold 2 cards and baby will guess which of the 2 card contains the picture.
10 min: Flash cards/ Linking Memory.
10 min: Videos on foreign language/ flash cards
5 min: Memory game. Teacher will flash an item or picture. Students will take turn to guess which item the teacher has flashed.
5 min: Song time. Students will SIT STILL to watch the videos. No dancing or movement.
5 min: Goodbye song..

Shichida has NO trial classes!! =P. You kid must be able to sit down!!!! Very very impt!!! Plus you must be a hardworking parent to practice flashing cards with ur kids for 15 min a day..I was a lazy mummy..so never really see the impact.

RE: GUG (1.5 hours)

#1 has been there for 1.5 term. Terminating soon cos she has learnt the zoophonics.

10 min: Free Play
15 min: Story telling time. Introduction of characters.
15 min: Zoo Phonics
10 min: Art & Craft Time
10 min: Snack n drinks

Re: JG Playclub for toddlers.
Programme is pretty similar to GUG. However, they do not have zoo phonics and they go by themes. The theme for this term is transportation. Really impressed with the teachers. Will be moving my #1 to edudrama class.

For JG Playnest,
They do not really have sat and sun class. Hence, i have waitlisted my #2 for the sun and mon class (0900-1030) for next term. My mum will help to bring her to class on Mon.

For more info on these 3 centres, you can pm me.

Actually, you just need to "splurge" for ur #1 and u can teach #2 on ur own.

pooh wei...
think GUG got weekend class, how come u never consider GUG for your #2?

coz i interested in GUG or playnest..but playnest restricted coz they normally have weekday class...

u tried bibinog??

hope i can be as knowledgeable as u on the enrichment classes that i am going ard trying with my #1...so that next time for #2..i know exactly which is gd n suitable...or like wat u say teach ourself..

thanks for the comment on shicida..i also bought flashcard..now white elephant at home...

Hi Jaime,

Not signing my #2 for GUG cos we are already doing zoophonics with her at home. Hence, i will only send her for classes that i cannot teach.. hehehe..

For JG, i am pretty impressed with the teachers. Something that i am still learning...They are so dramatic!! Plus the activities that they planned out for are all so "dirty"!! E.g: Dip the hands and legs into paint and PAINT!! Wont ever do that at home.

Hi Shers,
You are right. No wonder the timing does not tally..hahaha

poohwei,
i hope to do a trial class with Shermin at JG. maybe after CNY, i will find out more.. sounds so fun! get dirty!
for shermay, i will still sign her up for GUG.. my hb always says have to be fair. haha

poohwei - i agree with you on JG. so messy, but so much fun. tings i won't do at home coz i'm ocd, but fun to do in sch where there are pple who would clean up the mess for you ;p and the teachers are really very engaging. tink many are from philipines. too bad in terms of location, juz not convenient for me. intend to bring #2 for the holiday programmes in time to come. last time there is disc for citibank card holders, not sure if promo still ongg.

Hi Tiny_M,
Mine is Clementi My First Skool. :)

Hi Poohwei,
Thanks for your info! From what u descriped, JG sounds fun! Did u went to JG at Evans Road? How old was yr gal when she started Shicida?

Hi Juju,
I am also considering Shicida, JG, GUG, but have not enquire on trial yet. Problem is my bb v reserved when outside, only at home then he is very happy...

Re: Flashcards
The flashcards I bought are also white elephant now.. some in the car, some at mum's place, some at home but seldom flash.. Esp my bb always v tired when we reached home.

Hi Feb_mum.

They still have promotion. I started off from last term's holiday programme. There is also early bird discount!! So max discount is 25% i think.

Hi Pastries,
I am at the Forum's branch. Evan's is more fun cos they have outdoor water play. Forum only has indoor play. However, its harder for me to travel to Evans as it is mainly accessible by cab or car only.

Pastries,
Yes around that area. I have done my research previously. You can try Agape Little Uni @ One North, I like the environment or Learning vision at NUS or Science Park. There is another one pretty further Odyssey @ Alexandra.

Adv-sport's Yuan is with a CC at science park seem good

pastries - i went to the JG at evans rd. i like the environment there. they hv water tub for waterplay and sand pits for sand play on top of the playground. and i noticed dat they sterilised the toys immediately after each session.

Feb_mum,
I agreed with you, Evan is better at least they have water play
And parking I think much easier than Forum.

Poohwei,
Thanks for your clarification on Shicida! Seems like Shicida is more on IQ, right brain training stuff. Seems like JG is more of what I would like my bb to do.

Feb_mum, ok, thanks. Evans Road is also nearer for me though not much of a distance from Forum actually. Haha!

Okipoki, I have visted Agape Little Uni @ One North and LV @ Temasek Life Sciences for their IFC when I was preggy. I prefer LV during the tour. But end up I chose another IFC which now I am withdrawing my bb out. I would prefer CC nearer to West Coast because Science Park or Buona Vista area needs a detour for us..

Odyssey at Alexandra.. unless I am not switching job, haha! But will check it out! Thanks!

Have u heard of Caterpillar Cove at Ngee Ann Poly?

Pastries - not sure what time do you intend to send your kid to the cc. the traffic along Ngee Ann Poly can be very bad in the morning.

pastries - fr wat i know, caterpillar cove is very popular, not ez to get a place. even staff is put on waiting list. seems like they have very good curriculum coz NP offers childcare dip. and yes, traffic in the morning there is horrendeous! i'm glad i no longer hv to travel to moe hq for work ;p

Poohwei,
I heard some institutes on brain development got DNA test. Does Shichida got DNA test included in the package?

Re: IQ courses, flashcards, DVD series, TV
I was keen on GD baby course. I let my bb watch "your baby can read" dvd series. She watched starter Cd and started on Vol 1 then lucky I found below thread discussing on below 2 yrs watch TV (of any kind) and recommended book. I immed. stop the dvd series. It was 3 months ago.
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/36738/2476238.html?1259639730

Not sure if wat is mentioned true or not but I may not want to know by exp. on bb. I ll wait till she reach 2 yrs. I got nursery rhymes music CD which I play.
U can borrow recommended book from NLB and read screen time chapter.

Now I let her watch BabyTV for 10-15mins when required and no DVD series. (sob..sob... got lot of dvds, waste of $$) But now no DVD/ TV sometimes very bored on how to entertain her...

good morning mummies

poohwei, wat is zoophonics?

oki, yuan'2 IFC is in LV @ Temasek Life Sciences Laboratory in NUS. LV @ Science Park II is newly open this year (after LV lost tender to NTUC for for Kent Vale site).

re: baby learning centre / enrichment class
personally, i find shicida/LNT too "serious"... and it is very tough for most babies at this age to sit still... JG/GUG/GS are more fun as the class consists of many short segments(10-15min) -- babies can learn thru play

here's to share yuan2's experience @ trial classes
http://tkdo-lifeslittlejoy.blogspot.com/2010/01/bb-trial-classes.html

re: HFMD
gosh, yesterday IFC informed us that there is 1 case of HFMD at IFC -- the girl was sent home immediately when an alert caregiver found spots on her body while bathing. this girl is in the older infant area -- but yuan2 always wanna join them! The incubation period is 5-7 days -- will monitor yuan2 closely and keep her at home during the weekend...

my colleagues said HFMD is spreading lately -- some of them have to take childcare leave when their kids got it... hope yuan2 won't kenna, else no visiting for her 1st CNY...

Hi sgpv,
There is no testing at Shichida.

Hi Adv_sports

Zoo phonics teaches phonics using animals. They will add on movements so that kids will find it more interesting.

i.e:
a - Allie Alligator: Extend arms forward one over the other to form an alligator mouth, fingers becoming teeth. Open and close arms from the shoulds and say the short letter sound of "a." as in "alligator."

b - Bubba Bear: Reach either arm above head to an imaginary honeycomb. Bring the honey to your mouth, as a bear might do and say the letters sound, "b."

c - Catina Cat: Pretend you are a cat washing your face with your paw, and say the letter sound, "c."

d - Deedee Deer: Use two fingers of each hand to form deer antlers on your head and say the letter sound, "d."

e - Ellie Elephant: Clasp your hands and swing them from side to side as a trunk and say the short letter sound of "e." as in "elephant."

f - Francy Fish: With your hands in front of your chest, place the palm of one hand on the back of the other hand to form a fish (make sure you have a thumb on each side). Then wiggle your thumbs and say the letter sound, "f" (sustained sound).

g - Gordo Gorilla: Simulate peeling a banana, saying the letter sound, "g."

h - Honey Horse: Slap the right side of your upper thigh with your right hand, suggesting a horse galloping. At the same time, say the letter sound, "h."

i - Inny Inchworm: Using your index finger, bend it up and down, then move your hand forward suggesting the movement of an inchworm. While signaling, say the short letter sound of "i." as in "inchworm." (You can "dot the 'i' " by touching the tip of your nose with your index finger (Inny's head).

j - Jerry Jellyfish: Move your shoulders, arms and fingers in a wiggly, jelly-like fashion and shake like jelly! Keep hands and arms in front of your chest, not to the sides of your body, as you say the letter sound, "j."

k - Kayo Kangaroo: Make two fists and pose as if boxing. Give a little punch with both fists, while at the same time saying the letter sound, "k."

l - Lizzy Lizard: Place your hands under your chin (palms down) with your elbows lifted up, level with shoulders. Say the letter sound, "l" (continuous sound). Make sure to keep your tongue in your mouth to keep a pure "l" sound.

m - Missy Mouse: Place your hand close to your mouth as if you are a mouse nibbling on a small piece of cheese. While signaling, say the letter sound, "m" (sustained sound).

n - Nigel Nightowl: Using thumb and index finger of each hand, make round nightowl eyes and say the letter sound, "n" (sustained sound).

o - Olive Octopus: Extend each arm outward at your sides, using a waving motion to suggest the tentacles of an octopus and say the short letter sound of "o" as in "octopus."

p - Peewee Penguin: Stiffen both arms at the sides of your body (fingers out, palms down) and do a penguin walk, waddling in place from side to side. While signaling, say the letter sound, "p."

q - Queeny Quail: Illustrate the topknot of the California quail by placing your bent index finger forward at the top of your forehead, while saying the letter sound, "q" ("kw").

r - Robby Rabbit: Curve both hands, raising them to your chest to represent rabbit paws, while saying the letter sound, "rrr." (Be careful not to make an "er" sound, placing the vowel before the "r.")

s - Sammy Snake: Move your hand forward in the serpentine manner of a snake, saying "sss" (sustained sound).

t - Timothy Tiger: Extend your arms in a "t" shape to suggest a tiger holding onto the bars of his zoo cage. While signaling, say the letter sound, "t."

u - Umber Umbrella Bird: Place your hand over your head to suggest holding an umbrella. Tuck your other hand under your upper arm to create a wing. Then flap that arm as if in flight, saying the short letter sound of "u." as in "umbrella."

v - Vincent Vampire Bat: Bend and raise your elbows horizontally with your hands near your mouth. Form little fangs with your index fingers that come together to form a "V." Flap elbows up and down, say the letter sound, "v" (continuous sound).

w - Willie Weasel: Place your arms in front of your chest, elbows up and hands clasped with palms down. Move your arms in a wave-like motion. This suggests what Willie Weasel looks like when he is running. While signaling, say the letter sound, "w."

x - Xavier Fox: Crossing your index fingers, move them as if you were knitting. Say the letter sound, "x" ("ks"). (Xavier Fox is the only sound which comes in the middle - as in boxes, or at the end of a word - as in fox. "X" at the beginning of a word = the sound of "Z" as in Xerox.)

y - Yancy Yak: Form a "y-shape" with your thumb and little finger of your left hand, place your hand next to your ear, as though you are holding a telephone. While signaling (talking on the phone), say the letter sound, "y." as in "yak."

z - Zeke Zebra: Place your hands together and lean them against your cheek to suggest Zeke catching a few "z's" (sleeping). While signaling, say the letter sound, "z" (sustained sound).

Hi Adv_sports,

Was reading ur blog. Is Teacher Aida a malay teacher with tom boy hair style? Think she was my #1's teacher at Growing up Gifted previously.

Pooh wei: thx for the zoophonics.. =) I will print out and try on hailey! Lol!

Sgpv, I did GD for my girl. I'm doing Math and English with her. She can pay attention. So I'm hoping tt she did acually learn some words.

poohwei, thanks for info on the zoophonics -- it sounds so fun
wonder if there r pics or flash cards to reinforce the letter/animal to the baby?

yes, i heard aida is formerly from GUG

jamie, good that hailey can pay attention
yuan2 has very short attention timespan... so i gotta do different activities with her...

been reading the posts.. din know there's so much to know abt all these nursery preschool etc.. kinda blur but the posts are v informative.

poohwei,
wow.. u can remember all, impressed!... this zoophonics is for how many mth old ?

adv, wat is JG, GS ?

may_mum, JG = Julia Gabriel, GS = Genius Space

do bring ur baby to try out the different class... babies have different responses to each class/teacher/crowd. main thing is they enjoy n have fun

Adv_sports,

HFMD,
This can be quit serious! Hope Yuan2 will not get it.. Keep finger crossed. U know wat symtoms to watch out for?

Enrichment class,
my #1 went to Tummble Tots to learn music & climbing, can't remember what age already.

adv,
ya... my baby taken care by my mum now dat i resume my work after 8 long mths..tink sometimes bit bored for him oso, all these exposure to new things n play sound good.

btw, my baby reaching 9mths next week. he still dunno how to crawl leh..most of the babies here are all so active! wondering when my little one will do so..tink quite late bloomer or mayb never give him enough tummytime

may_mum, think most of the bb @ the baby learning centres r taken care by grandparents or nanny or mummy is SAHM... they get to socialize with other babies and learn thru play...

though yuan2 also does some of the activities @ IFC, i treat it as bb bonding time with me/hubby
it was really fun to see her reaction/response in the class
and also give us ideas on how to play with her at home!