(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

H Shers, I'm staying at telok blangah. U stay at west side right? Actually we also dun mind plcs in orchard or holland v bur worried abt transport though. Haiz.. Dilemma.

Hi adv_sport,

U r right. My #1 was formerly from LV @ Kent Vale. But Learning Vision lost the tender..So we just stayed on with the new vendor who is cheaper, supposedly as good and the location is more convenient as compared to the New LV location at Science Park.

Childcare are so pricey!!

USA Grad Student Research with Singapore Parents - Quick Survey

Thank you to those who have completed my survey - I have already received 20 responses!! I am hoping to get 10 more so I can do my comparison study. Can you share this with other parents you know? I really appreciate the help and am so excited about studying in your country! Here are the details...

I am a graduate student at the University of St. Thomas in the United States (Minnesota), participating in a study abroad course in Singapore at the National Institute of Education. The study is to learn more about couple's relationship as they take on the role of parenthood.

The following people are invited to take the 5-minute survey:
* Have you had your first (and only) child in the past six months to 24 months?
* Do you live with the co-parent?
* Is it the first child for both partners?

To start the survey, please click the link below or copy and paste it into your Internet browser.

http://www.surveymonkey.com/s.aspx?sm=odvEJo1BPt_2bCF3hlE7BK7g_3d_3d

Participation in this survey is completely voluntary and confidential. Thank you for your consideration.

Robyn Maley

Audrey, time flies, 9 months liao. Happy 9 months to Andrea too!.

Happy 9 months to Rachel, Rebecca and Isaac also.

Last, but not least, mummy also want to wish Ming Yang happy 9 months and stay happy always.

Last after last, all babies stay happy!

Morning mummies ....

My Princess 9th month liao
hpw time flies ... N tm she will meet with my mum n dad for 4 days.

Happy 9th months to andrea, rebecca, ming yang n isaac

Ak,
Ya.. Go cc no need attend pre-sch.

Ilovesashimi,
Me stay at northeast la.. I think distance is quite impt esp pre-sch. Who is going to fetch your kid to n fro sch? Unless u r talking abt fulltime cc where u or your hb can do e job before n after work.

My girl is attending a pre-sch at serangoon garden. Though its only 10mins drive, sch bus requires her to board e bus an hour before sch starts. In e end, hb decided he does e job of fetching to n fro. He says disturbance to work but he takes this as bonding time.

Happy 9th mth to andrea, ming yang, isaac, rebecca n rachel!!

Happy belated 9th mth to shermay & keagan!!

Happy 9th mth to andrea, ming yang, isaac, rebecca n rachel!!

poohwei, yes childcare is v ex -- esp for infants!

re: teethign gel
i applied on yuan2's lower gum last nite -- phew, she slept thru till 7am today! though i had to put back her pacifier a couple of time, m glad to do away with the nite feed. hope my sleepless nite is over!

As someone compared my mom didnt bother Bpa non bpa as those times they used glass bottles. There is not much adv milk formulas. I was BF and if at all no milk we were fed diluted cow/ goat milk. There are no readymade food 4 babies and not many junk foods available. There are no SARS, swine flu nor had to worry on flu jabs. There are not many cases of ADHD, Autism, ezcema, asthma etc., No global warming, not too much pollution etc., comparing this fast phased life with those days is like comparing apple with an orange.

ppl from everywhere do research, read reviews on strollers, car, home, pre school before deciding. Sounds these are very imp subjects to do research work. I kind a stupid mum doing readups and reviews on baby health.

My intension here was to share what I read/ know/ experienced personally. I thought If I could save $$ and PD trips by simple remedies I should share. Because I made several trips to PD by intro HT 3 months ago. That was my experience on HT and happy bellies. If I share it will become another ground for taunting.

I never intend to post to hurt someone. Those who were offended I already apologised in prev. posts.

Audrey:
special note to you, dont dare to give stupid names to my baby like eintein or president. Ur rude comments and taunts are unhealthy and nonsensical and spreading unnecessary disharmony, being nasty doesnt prove your point also

Ilovesashimi,
Re: Preschoo
I am checking on presch & playgroup in my area. I stay in telok kurau road. Is marine parade/ east coast near to u? Heard got lot of good ones w neutral accent.
Re bread:
I will PM u dtls.

All mummies:
Wishes to all mummies whose babies celeb 9th month.

Sgpd, heehee ok no problem. Ure really fierce, I'm afraid
my deepest sincerest most humble apologies to u and ur curry-fed baby. Pls pls pls forgive me!!! Forgive me pls sgpd!!!!!!!!!!!

jamie

i also got no idea. haiz. btw after reding the posts on cc & pre-sch, i kinda confused. shd bb attend k1 & k2 before gg to presch or???

Win
Children can go playgroup - 1.5 - 2 hrs when reach 18 months. Above 2 years old - 3 years can go pre-nursery. 4 years old goes to nursery and 5 - 6 years old go K1 and K2 respectively.

Preschool is just a term use for school that provide education for young children before they reach statutory education (primary school)

Not all preschool provide Pre-nursery class. Mostly Nursery onwards. My #1 attended Apple Tree play group at 2 years old, switched to pre-nursery when I moved to my mum's place. This year she is attending nursery class.

Yuki_lim,

My girl will be attending her third trial class this coming Sunday at LNT jurong east at 5pm.

They have two classes on Sunday at 2pm & 5pm for babies from 7mths to 12 mths. Each class has one baby in the class.

Perhaps you can check with them if your baby can join in one of the classes for trial class.

juju
In Singapore, statutory education starts from Primary 1. Even without Pre-school, children will be admitted to Primary school too.

Preschools have 3 years structured programme from nursery - K2. Not all preschool provide Pre-nursery programme. Pre-nursery is slightly more expensive than nursery, it's more like play group actually.

jasC,
oh... but now go pri sch also very stressed liao... K1 & K2 got spelling tests some more. once go into P1, as if must know all the basics liao

Win
Can skip playgroup too before attending nursery. Just let the children socialise, play around and get away from home environment. I let my girl attended the pre-nursery as the school she is attending offers pre-nursery. I rather let her attends school than to let her idle at home.

Audrey,
dont bully me la.. i am first time mom, still learning

JasC,
Can I check if I had to join bb in playgroup for ages 6 month to 18months. Is it considered pre nursery? Is there any tests or something for parents/ kids when joining pre school?

juju
That's true. There's many under-priviledged children from poor family who couldn't afford to send their children to preschool. Normally these ppl would be the drop-out at primary school, so the govt is providing many subsidies to help these families to let their children attend preschool. Imagine not only addition and spelling, it's too late to even learn to write at primary 1!

sgpv
6 months to 18 months, you may consider infant care centre, else I guess there are many enrichment classes like kindermusic, even the brain training like Mindchamp, Shichida method also enrol young babies carry in arm by parents too. Mindchamp and shichida are very costly though.

Good day mummies !

wah..lucky u all bring up this topic on preschool...else i also very blur..

btw, 18mths later is not consider infantcare already right ? then should be convert to what ?

lastly, Happy 9th months to Andrea, Ming Yang, Rachel and Rebecca !!!

Yeah...agree with Porky, it's good to discuss on the preschool topic.

Follow to what Porky has said, can mummies please give a general breakdown the basic procedure which our baby should go thru?

Can can be skipped or must attend before atending P1. Gosh, it's so much different from what I have gone thru durign my era. :S

Porky
your little boy is in ifc? After 18 months should be cc right?

SK
I guess nowadays those who could afford would send their children, min. from nursery to K1 and K2. Enrichment class is optional, such as I can read etc. Some would start with playgroup.

oic, JasC starts at age 3 or 4? Playgroups as early as 18months?

So many terms eh. Got childcare, playgroups, nursery then got enrichment classes.

SK

I'll register my Isaac boy for 2-hr playgroup or 3 hr pre-nursery for 2012 in 2011.
He should be in Nursery in 2013,
2014 - K1
2015 - K2
2016 - Primary 1

Sgpd, actually I never bully u, I'm just very direct and extremely sarcastic. Plus unhappy with the way u slam jar food n cereal. Better to be direct right?

And no one would say anything if u never kpkb about our way of feeding our babies..

Anyway, do u have facebook?

audrey: kpkb... lol!!!

sk, win: shall we send our girls to the same playgrp, nursery and preschool? kekekek!!

jasc: when shld we start looking ard for playgrp/nursery?

Jamie
I'm registering my boy for 2012 playgroup/nursery in 2011. Those popular school may have to register even earlier. Someone mentioned last week that the intake is full in St James for children born in year 2009? Some school no need pre-registration there's always vacancies.

You may have to keep a lookout or call up the school to check the when the intake start.

jasc, ya my boy is in ifc now..oic, so 18mths he will auto convert to cc ah..

juju, wat u mean by auto go to ntuc cc ? not in the same ifc as now ?

i intend to take my boy out from current ifc aft 18mths..and put him in cc near to my hse..

porky,
the ifc she's in now is operated by ntuc. so once rch 18 mths, will auto transfer to the cc at the other end of the blk

Preschool:

I think need to get feedback from parents who sent their kids to those school..

Some Apple Tree are good, not all tho..

I personally dun like ntuc cc.. talk to the school teachers/principal..

Visit a few & judge urself:
few things to keep in mind:
1. cleaniness/environment
2. staff turnover
3. things they teach
4. food given
5. teacher - kids ratio