(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

Hi Jamie, you got PM.

Apparently alot of mummies gg tomorrow.. perhaps can share some feedback if the sale is good when back? I have only half day left for the rest of the year so I am taking leave on Fri PM. Will only reach there abt 3 if hubby and I not held back by work.

jamie,
i want to go early then can go else where shopping.. because of this, i take leave.. whahhaa..

lily,
cya there!!!

ladies, go earlier le.. then we can motivate each other to buy more more things.. whahhaa

shers,
u mean u will reach there at 10am? so if i take ur ride will be 9+ ur hse? let me go check w my mum again n let u know..

I will be leaving my hse @ Redhill for the Gimmill Sale at 0915. My car still have 1 space. Anyone needs a ride, sms me or pm me.

Re: teething
My gal's top 2 teeth are erupting and she has been biting me..Grrr!!! Jus pumped out blood just now. She is also on bottle strike now after my KL trip where she latched on 100%. Tough fight with her now...

I'm gg in the late afternoon, anyone need a ride from bugis?

Shers, can msg me on whether the sale is worth gg? I'm scared pia all the way there got nothing

My gal bum bum seems better now.. not as red though the skin is pretty rough.. Fingers crossed that she don't diarrhoea anymore. Intend to let her drink a few more days of lactose free formula before moving her back to the regular formula.

BTW, I wanted to let my gal start on Similac (we bought a small can for her to try) but previously when I tried to give it to her, she refused to drink and went on hunger strike. She sucked her thumb to sleep.

She now like her enfa lactose free formula. Does anyone know if I can mix lactose free and non lactose free formula together? Thinking of mixing 1/3 of the lactose free formula with similac.

Anyone need Nan Ha can help me to request friso at 6419 8484 then we do an exchange? looking for a mummy who doesnt mind to exchange sample to sample w/out top up cos friso is the only FM give 900g sample. Pls PM me if u r keen. exchange in the west

Mummies help help. Can someone advise if I am giving my gal solid in a "wrong" way?

For e.g. my gal currently drinks milk at 7am, 10am, 1pm, 4pm and 730pm. Now I have been introducing solid at the same time I feed her milk i.e at 10am (cereal followed by milk) and 4pm (porridge followed by milk). However by doing so, as I increase her solid quantity, her milk intake will be reduced cos I am feeding solid and milk at the smae time.

Now, I just read from babycenter that we should perhaps give solid in between milk time so as not to disrupt their milk intake. Like in my case, I should give cereal at 8am and 12 or 3pm.

May I know which should is more appropriate?

ILoveSashimi,

My gal is 8 mths+ and I replaced the milk with solids. Her schedule is something like this...

7:30am: milk
10:30am: rice cereal
1:30pm : porridge or milk
4:30pm: milk or milk
7:30pm: milk

2 solids and 3 milk.

Sashimi,
But how is it possible not to disrupt her milk when you are giving her something extra? Difinitely will replace some milk lor. Solids like cereals also has some nutrients mah. I read from my book "how to raise a contented baby" that is it right to replace the milk leh. And we should slowly replace the milk feed by increasing the solid food. By 8 months they should have 2-3 milk feeds a day only.
Ibite's schedule seems correct based on the book. My baby is eating 2-3 meals a day and abt 2-3 milk feeds too.

good morning mummies

re: discipline
rc, yah, yuan2 also smile at me when i say "mama beat" but will pause to look at hubby when he said that... maybe is the tone i used :p kinda of difficult to "DO AS I DO" -- coz she dun understand what i say yet...

ju, gd that jodie will stop when u talk to her
yuan2 bochap me -- will continue going forward to reach her "goal"!

re: solids replace milk feed
ilovesashimi, agree with bean -- solids will affect milk intake... in fact, the interval stretch longer for yuan2 -- up to 6-7 hour instead of her usual 4hr... oh, i read that introduce solids towards mid day -- so that baby has time to digest...

currently, yuan2 is on 1 cereal + 3-4 milk feed... now that she recovers from her cough, will intro 1 more solid soon

adv,
ya, stop for 5 secs only! haha!

btw, wanna ask u. jodie is taking 1 cereal together wif her mid-day feed @ ifc. can i add jar food into her cereal now? or do i pack it separately & let ifc mix to feed her?

Oh i see.. so I am worrying for the wrong reason then.. haha..

iBite: what time does your gal wakes up? My gal wakes up at 6-630am and while delaying her feed at 7pm, we have to rock her, hoping to let her goes back to sleep mode but 90% of the time, we failed and we ended up rocking her till 7am when its her milk time.

I think my gal has already instill the 6am waking time cos shes been waking up around this time for about 2 -3 mths. Perhaps I should give her milk when shes awake at 6 so that she'll go back to sleep? but by doing so, I am worried that her next feed at 10am may be too long a stretch for her.. arrgh.. i am so vexed.

ju, haha, 5 sec only niah...

i will put the puree in a separate baby cube -- will ask IFC to mix with cereal during the feed...

ilovesashimi, wat time does ur gal sleep at nite? yuan2 used to sleep at 7.30pm and wake up at 5.30am-6pm... now we delay her sleep to 8.30pm and she wakes up at 6.30am-7am... we will play with her, let her crawl here crawl there -- after last milk feed, she will be super tired and KO till next morning

re solids vs milk
ilovesashimi, my baby oso taking 2 solids and 2-3 milk feeds per day.. he dosent like to drink milk probably becoz prefer solids so i try to add in milk to the solids dat i am feeding him eg, cereal+milk, avocado/sweet potato/pumpkin etc mixed with milk.

re sleepin time
my boy sleep ard 8-8.30pm and wakes at 6-7.30am. ilovesashimi, since ur gal oredi hav a routine of wakin up at 6am.. why not adjust ur feeding schedule accordingly instead of tryin to make her sleep n end up u tired.. baby's pattern do vary as they grow...

re feeding @ nite
jen, mine still does occasionally once in the nite but dun drink much.. 40-80ml. could be becoz he dun take enough milk in the day or it could b a learned habit oredi.

sashimi,

My gal wakes up ard 7:30am then she will self entertain in the playpen. Then finally when she realised that we are still sleeping she will make noise! haha... Then we will make milk for her.

My gal's current bedtime is around 8pm. I did try delaying it to 830pm and she ended up waking up even earlier.. like 5-530am. But of course I only try 1 time. Do you think if I continue to delay her bedtime for 2-3 more days, she will sleep later?

There were times when we were out late (like sat evening) or when she has to go for injection (we bring her to doc after work), her bedtime can be like 10pm and yet she still wake up at 5-530am.

Re another concern about letting her sleep late, it may mean that I will have to move her bath time from 730pm to 8pm so that after bath, milk, on music, she will be asleep at around 830pm. Is bathing bb at 8pm too late? I can't bath her earlier and then play cos she will be too stimulated. She has always been on the bath, milk, music and sleep since 2nd mth.

Like what May_Mum said, I may need to adjust feeding but now that my gal is a 3 hourly feeding bb, by feeding her early, I may end up giving her 1 more feed cos I don't think she can tahan till from 6 (1st feed) to 10am (2nd feed).

adv,
noted, so it applies for jar food as well? so i scoop out some amount & keep it chilled till they mix for feeding?

jen,
my gal still wake up at least once a nite for milk

ju, yah, i would suggest that u separate the jar food from cereal... must finish jar food in 1-2 days -- so maybe keep in the fridge @ IFC better...

Jen, my gal does wake up for night feed. I hear grumble grumble sound in tummy... feel sorry and mix milk and she only take 20-30ml... something like thirsty ..

anyone been to gimmil sale and any feedback yet?

these few days, my gal will "talk/grumble a lot" during in the her sleep.
Anyone knows what causes this.

My hubby and i are quite disturbed about this, because we kept waking up.

hi hi my boy also wake up a lot of night..i hoping for the day when he sleeps thru..n noise like okipoki...

he sleep at 9plus 10pm ..he wakes up earliest by 7 plus 8.sometimes almost 9 which is gd for me..

This morning he woke up at 6am n refuse to go back to sleep...which hasnt happen before..sianz..

gimmill sales...back...if urs is a bb girl..maybe worth going .boys ah like me..i feel very limited and size like NB, 3, 6...those 12, 18, 24 quite rare ..

n those 5 pack rompers...really bad...all repeated design n colour, wonder who will buy even though its cheap...

only good buy those child is mine blanket for sgd 4..bought 2 last year, got another 2 this year...in case need to provide to IFC ( adv sports, must provide blanket as well right? some more must wash weekly??)

Jaime,

You are very fortunate, my boy wakes up at 6am daily
faintz !!

Gimmil, did I see you just now? Only met a few of them leh

i didnt see u..met shers...
very rush coz using lunch break..

still not as fortunate as those who get 6-8 hours uninterrupted sleep...
the most i get is 2-3 hours..then get interrupted..

Jaime, Oki

On bad days, Kea also woke up like 3 times, on good days only once.. haiz! anyway, i do hope he will get thru this period soon. As much as i want to forbid him to latch at nite, he still opens his mouth wide with eyes clothes (search for nipple) and drink milk! grrr!!!

Mummies are very wei da rite!

Mummies ..

back frm gimmil .... for girl got alot to choose
but size 9M n 12M abit diff to find. Very hot inside n Rachel cant tahan. For sundress, romper n top $4/pcs or 3 for $10, 2pcs set dress $5/pcs or 3 for $12, 2pcs romper/ set $7, 3pcs /set $10.

Forget to choose pant

for me is opposite...i feel after he latch..he sleep longer uninterrupted..n faster to settle...

but my boy prefer water than BM or FM..faintz..but i know after drink n drink water also not satisfy to fall into deep sleep

do u think its the gender??

Jaime

Really ar? It's the gender meh? I dun recall my girl has such prob before, in fact she was a really angelic baby in terms of sleeping thru.. Haiz! I am thinking after he turns 1, i will totally stop him from latching at nite liao.. and will start to train him to sleep on his own!

Jaime,
Erhm quite a fair bit leh, damage at $83 leh

Mine is daily wake up 3x a night, I think he is searching for the n but I have stopped bfg le. I will only latch him if he still fuss after drinking FM

Looks like you girls enjoyed shopping @ gimmil! Too bad, I am just too far from there!

Nite waker,
My girl also wakes up abt 3 times at nite to latch.. dunno when will she sleep thru!

Think i m quite blessed. My gal will latch and sleep from 11pm till 7am(min) uninterrupted. Normally, i would be the one who will wake her up for milk depending on my schedule. When i am working, i will latch her at 0530, if its weekends or sch hols, i will latch her at 0730. Then she will doze off till abt 9am. Nowadays, she takes 3 naps only. 12noon (30 min) , 4pm(1 hour) and 8pm(30min).

Re: Gimmil Sale
Was in a rush cos hubby was waiting. Didn't buy a lot cos i already have a lot from my #1. Hence, i took the 12 and 18 months only. My personal damage is $40.

Nice meeting Lily, glenlyn, Porky, SK, Mikojade, GraceofGod, Jaime_Nov, Michelle? and Shers. Too bad, cant stay long to chat with u gals. Did i miss anyone?

Re: Blister

My gal developed a big blister on her finger. size: 1 cent coin. It burst just now after we applied California baby cream for her. She was in so much pain when we tried to clear the "liquid" from the blister for her. So heartache. Any idea as to what will cause baby to have blister? She seemed to have bite herself as we saw "teethmark"...but dunno if that is the cause of the blister.

Re: Gimmil Sale
any kind mummies provide me the details?
gimmil Sale address? when is it ending? what time to what time?
i want to go too...

Hi Twinkle

X'mas clearance sale
BRANDED Baby/Kid's wear
upto 90% off
Date: 17 to 19 Dec
Time: 9am to 8pm
Add: 43 Tampines St. 92 Gimmil Building

Hope all is well for all of you...

Nice to meet some mummies today... So lucky the weather was not extremely hot... so could still tahan a bit... basically, I was carrying my girl while my maid went around grabbing clothes... Then we sieved through the pile she selected... Total damage is $80 but I think it's worth it cos really quite cheap. Didn't go to the one last year so was happy to know I could grab some good bargains at 3 for $10
Haha, my maid also bought something for herself

Waking up at night:
I am one of the lucky ones who have babies sleeping through the night. She sleeps from 7-7.30pm right through to about 7am...Very seldom, she wakes up in the night now... I suspect it could be due to the fact that she is a small eater and she has enough food in the day: 3 main meals and 4 milk feeds (2x bottle and 2x latch). Apart from that, my hubby and I are quite heartless creatures when it comes to training kids for bed. We let them cry, both my boy and girl. The message is 'No matter how much or long you cry, you are not getting out this room! Learn to fall asleep by yourselves!'Now I put my 2 kids in the same room with girl going to bed first, followed by my no. 1. First 2 nights were hellish for us (boy kept singing and making noise to wake mei mei up. When I interferred, it got worse, then 2 of them panda eyes the next day. Hubby said 'Leave them in the room. Let them get used to each other's nonsense...). After that, it has been great so far... about 10 days now...