(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

IloveSashimi,
Even I tried cry it out method (I tried to put her to sleep at 9pm twice and one time at 4:30am when she wanted MILK to go BACK to SLEEP) and it is heartache. usually I give her bath, off light, switch on aircon/ fan and give milk. she will drink and flip to otherside to sleep. ever since she is trying to crawl when flip on tummy she is TRYING to do it in sleep also so end up waking up.

But when I tried cry it out method it took longer than her usual routine and I reverted back in 2 days time. I guess I am happy to follow my previous method (I thought dependent on milk to sleep will not be good... but she is self soothing with it)

Re: solids
until 1 yr babies main source of nutrition is MILK only. We give solids for them to feel the texture and get used it. otherwise in olden days breastmilk is primary source for first 2 yrs.

My friend's baby currently 1yr old and her routine is 3 meals a day and 4 times milk.
Breakfast - Finger Millet porridge/ soup
Lunch - Rice w lentils/ Legumes or Veg
Dinner - Cereal w fruit
4 times milk and 1 time fruit juice. This I find is good routine.

My baby currently ezcema again and she is totally refusing rice/ cereal. So she is on MILK totally and I dont have any complains. Let her decide what she wants and when she wants. (If I offer her solid usually if she wants to eat she will put/push spoon in her mouth otherwise she will reject spoon) THats how I understand her requirement.

DOnt be in a hurry to replace MILK so fast. Solids doesnt give as much nutrition MILK will give. And do not hurry in replacing FORMULA w cow's milk also as COw's milk doesnt give complete nutrition like FORMULA.

Hope it helps.

ANd also to add:
YES solids will reduce milk intake. And I remember during diahhorea should not offer solid to infants and for adults only soup/ porridge/ yogurt. Its not that it is wrong but if you are in her place u wont feel like eating anything or want to upset tummy.

I remember one of my friends offer her baby rice w legumes when her baby is diahhorea and she vomit in no time. She didnt even take milk as it is painful in throat. After sometime offered milk. (btw she got rotavirus and they didnt offer drops at right time.. recovered w difficulty)

Many things I do I will think what I will do if I am in her shoes. So when itchy w ezcema I would wear cotton, plenty moisturiser and remember not to scratch but baby dont have control so put mitten also.

ilovesashimi > My friend is working as a dietician in local hospital, she passed me a weaning guide. Let me know if you need them. They are in hardcopy and will scan to you if keen k. Cheers.

Sashimi

U can try starting her with rice cereal & home made purees like carrot, potato, apple, avocado etc. intro slowly & see how she react.

Alternatively, u can also go supermart to buy Healthy Times(organic) baby jar food. A lot of varieties to choose frm.

a lot of mummmies here are HT fans.

enjoy weaning, is fun

Re: advice

any mummies here can enlighten me if mil buy u watch, what does it mean huh, shd accept or not? very confused...

Win

I think since your mil bought it for you, just accept it, any reason for rejecting?
In Laws are like parents, whatever they buy you, just accept. This is how I treat my in laws, and I hope they also treat me like their own daughter (which in some ways they do :p)

Sashimi,
Yes, just try out some homemade purees and cereal, take it slow and dun rush..

feb_mum, i heard from sharon ling that she is joining us in the xmas gathering...but her name is not in the list..did she email to u ? i gg to pass her the baby cubes on that day

win, my mil never buy anything for me yet..so i cant advise u..hehe

cola

in short, our relations are moderate, nothin much to talk. previously went overseas together & she paid for the trip. dun wan her to spend so much as i not so close to her; seldom buy her gifts on mother's day or even her bday.

when we go out for dinner during weekends in our courtship days till now, shes always the one paying regardless coffeeshop or restaurants. everytime hint to my hubby to pay(occasionally he will), he will say aiya mummy will pay one lah.

btw, my gfs told me when mil buy u watch, it signifies treating u as her own daughter, dono how true is it....but sometimes when she talk to me, somehow differs....

Win
Haha u got nice in-laws, just accept the gift :p no need to ask why how and whether u should. Since it is a gift just accept it. Life will be too troublesome if we think too much about it..

For us, it was always my hubby who pays but anyway my in laws are alright one, my FIL brews coffee for me, my MIL bought my kids gifts, and we brought our in laws for holidays sometimes.
I sometimes went shopping with MIL, etc, so far so good. I guess when we treat them nicely they also treat us nicely and vice versa :p

win, u got such nice mil !

so far only i buy birthday gift and xmas gift for her every year even before we got married..mil never buy for us before

good morning, mummies

it is a tiring n fun weekend! we brought yuan2 to see xmas lighting @ orchard rd -- haha, she fell asleep on the stroller (as usual) and missed out most of the sights *haha*

win, ur mil is very nice
like rc said, accept the gift with thanks and she will be happy...

rc, very nice of ur mil n fil to take turns to look after ur kids

porky, so nice of u to buy mil presents
i din buy any present -- but the "best" present i "produced" is yuan2 *haha* now she so happy to see yuan2 when we visit her

post the attendee list again coz it's in archive. below is the most updated attendee list i have including payment. any more changes? i'm placing food orders on tue, so mummies who have not trf $, can you do so by tue 12nn? my posb savings a/c is 189102496. i will be off to bangkok on tue nite so will appreciate no more changes to the list, esp after food ordering is done. tks.

shers - can you inform adrienne? i dun have her hp no.

Christmas gathering @ feb_mum's place
Time : 2.30pm
Date : 24 Dec (Thurs)
1) feb_mum
2) firefly_leslie & Baby Kayla
3) cheesecake & Baby Vera - paid
4) juju & bb jodie - paid
5) ak & bb greg - paid
6) ibite & Baby Chelsea - paid
7) tiny_m & hubby + Baby Le Xuan - paid
8) adv_sports & hubby & baby yuan2 - paid
9) joyce_yong & baby Hui Xin
10) porky_jean & baby jaeden - paid
11) shers + helper + 2 missy shers - paid
12) Muffintop + bb Raphael
13) jling - paid
14) Andrea + bb winston - paid
15) Bean + little bean
16) Poohwei+ baby+ toddler+ hubby+helper - Paid
17) graceofgod + baby Joelle + Toddler Julian (to be confirmed)
18) Adrienne + 2 helpers + brent + tasha
19) mikojade + helper + nigel
20) sharon + bb

adv sport - tks for posting the list up.

porky - yes, sharon joining us. she emailed me directly sometime back.

win - wah, your mil so nice ah? got gift juz accept loh, dun nid to tink so much. maybe a nice gesture to buy her something over christmas or cny too. all for goodwill purposes :)

Updated again:

Payment: POSB savings 189102496
1) feb_mum
5) ak & bb greg - paid
13) jling - paid
15) Bean + little bean
19) mikojade + helper + hb + nigel - paid
20) sharon + bb

Updated again:

1) feb_mum
5) ak & bb greg - paid
13) jling - paid
15) Bean + little bean
20) sharon + bb

win, cos every year i get xmas gift for my own family members so i will get 1 for my mil too

adv, guess my mil dunno how to appreciate loh since i staying with her...i also thot the best gift i gave her is our little jaeden...but nowadays she quite pissed off when i ask her to help me carry jaeden for a while...mayb due to jaeden is teething and cranky...so whenever i ask her to help me carry him, she will say " see lah ur mummy dont wan u again" she appreciate her elder grandson more cos dont stay together...every year seen twice only more fresh...anyway every yr xmas i will get her cosmetic or perfume gift sets..she loves it

hihi Feb Mum,

I have made the transfer....PM u details.

1) feb_mum
2) firefly_leslie & Baby Kayla - paid
5) ak & bb greg - paid
13) jling - paid
15) Bean + little bean
20) sharon + bb

how come my mil didnt give me things? :p hahhaa... my mil and fil make sure that we have enough fish and fruits in our fridge.. i'm glad to have them doing these because i know nuts abt buying fish..

ling, my mil also gv me bracelet..that is for wedding only...other then that she never gv me any gifts...my hb birthday she got gv him red packet and cook mee sua hard boil eggs for him in the morning...but i birthday she never give me red packet or cook for me at all...

win, we stay tog 3yrs before married...then stay apart for 1/2 a yr...finally stay tog again for 2yrs...i think is more then enuf time lah...but in her heart still thinking her elder son, DIL and grandson is better...

shers, ya my mil also make sure "her" fridge is full of fish, meat and vege...cos scard his son will die of hunger when she not ard...hahaha

Anyone wants
1) Similac discount voucher - $3
2) Mamil gold discount voucher - $5
Can pass to interested mummies at feb mum's gathering. All the vouchers are expiring 31 dec.

3) Enfapro voucher - $5
expiring 22nd dec. Will post to the interested mummy FOC.

PM me!!

shers, hehe....she forget her son is married already with a wife at home to serve him mah...so she still treat him like a young boy

mummies with those with older #1 kids for advice

i want to introduce cheese and bread..

what kind? just bread like those adults eat..ie whole meal bread?

cheese- those kraft slices can?

Anyone wants
1) Similac discount voucher - $3 - reserved by PORKY
2) Mamil gold discount voucher - $5
Can pass to interested mummies at feb mum's gathering. All the vouchers are expiring 31 dec.

3) Enfapro voucher - $5
expiring 22nd dec. Will post to the interested mummy FOC.

Updated again:

1) feb_mum
5) ak & bb greg - paid
13) jling - paid
15) Bean + little bean - paid
20) sharon + bb

jaime - i gave my gal cheese cubes, the one with pic of a cow on the packaging. oso gave the normal kraft cheese slices. gd to give them wholemeal bread coz healthier but kids might not like it. my gal takes a looong time to finish wholemeal bread but she finishes white bread super fast.

ju - yes, noted dat. oh, forgot to update the list, pai sei.

1) feb_mum
4) juju & hb & bb jodie - paid
5) ak & bb greg - paid
13) jling - paid
15) Bean + little bean - paid
20) sharon + bb

I had 1 tin of 400g of Dumex Mamil Gold Step 2 (Expire on 23/07/2011) + $5 voucher off for 700g Mamil Gold Step 2 Newgen (Valid until 31/12/2009) letting go $10. Self collect at Admiralty/Raffles place(Weekday only). If interested can sms me at 97905232.

i've placed the food order. the menu for our gathering is as follows:
1) Traditional roast turkey
2) Honey baked ham
3) Black pepper ribye roast beef
4) Honey glazed pork ribs
5) Sushi
6) Pasta
7) Black forest log cake

yum yum!

Joyce, Adrienne and Sharon - I've not heard from you gals. Can you confirm your attendance via pm? Tks.

Logging off and gg off to bangkok! See you all when i'm back!

WAh.. I am drooling already with the menu.

Just wnat to thank mummies for the advice on weaning. In fact, my gal has tasted avocado, chayote, carrot, potato and this week, its cod fish cos my MIL bought it and she said to eat it while its fresh.

Anyway, my gal diarrhoea again. Weird that on Sat, I let her drank her regular enfa but she started having diarrhoea on Sun. So since then shes back to lactose free enfa again.

She pooed about 3 times yesterday and last night she was crying so badly cos her rash was really really bad.. Because she was in so much pain.. we can't clean her bottom properly and this morning found some leftover poo at her vaginal area.. arrgh..

The cream that PD prescibe doesnt seem to be much effective cos the rash keeps coming back once she starts pooing. Any advise from mummies on what other brand of cream I shoudl use?

All the while, I have been using DEsitin (blue).

Sashimi,

You shouldn't give cod fish to a baby less than 12 months (advise by doctor on prudent weaning) Its something that is high risk of allegies!

feb_mum, yummy menu! enjoy ur hols in bkk

re: diarrhoea
if poo 3-5 times a day, is that consider diarrhoea? since last weekend, yuan2 poo after every feed... IFC said not diarrhoea -- coz her poo's color is what she ate! she is on full FM now -- prior to this, she poo twice a day...

She is happy n active -- no discomfort when we wash her bum bum... in fact, she likes me to wash her bum bum in the sink -- smile @ the mirror and grabbing things ard the sink *faint*