(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

Shers when u boil veg, for eg: pumpkin, the nutrients will go to the water which is used to boil it. Then we will jus throw away e water aft taking maybe 2 tbsp to mash and to get the right consistency. Porridge u consume tog with the water so I guess nutrients is still thr. Slow cooker my mom says can preserve e nutrients In the food. So very nutritious. My mom nv gif me prolong cooking food, frm wat she says! N since nw we are able to control wat our babies eat, we can make It better by giving them more nutritious stuff ma!

jamie,
i better go and dig out the link on where i saw the prolong cooking stuff.. its not recommended to use slow cooker.. made me so URGH! I always use slow cooker when Shermin was younger.. i think the more i read, the more confusing i will get
what i do now is steamed and blended.. so minimise lost of nutrient - i hope.. as for porridge, i think i will soak the rice in water 1 hr b4 cooking.. so help to shorter the cooking process also..
my mama says i grew up eating food from slow cooker.. hahhaa.. so she says no problem using slow cooker..

feb_mum - do whatever most convenient for you. just let me know how much to pay.

shers - maybe just them eat blended salad puree. no cooking all nutrients intact :p (just joking, no offense)

ak,
hahhaa... good idea!!! somemore vegetables le.. i got to be careful in food now because Shermay is more sensitive.. for Shermin, i just cook rojak porridge and she can eat also and she didnt develop any funny rashes..

Feb_mum,
super good ideas..

Shers,
I will bake if time permits!! maybe as early as 22nd as I on leave that day for other things!! X'mas cookies? my log cake - have not tried b4.. Jap Cheesecake? Oreo Cheesecake?

cooking porridge,
I will wash the rice, pan fry to make them dry, then grind them.. like this, cooking time si super short (just like the ikan billies)!

does that means that using slow cooker is a better choice? maybe can use slow cooker to cook the porridge 1st... and add the puree in when porridge is done?

hmmm... heat kills nutrient.. I dun think so much le.. btw, plain rice = carbo and what else? what abt pre-cook (steam), freeze that most Western cookbook reccomended??

Hi all ladies,
I would like to share very old traditional indian recipe for babies
1 kg FInger millets
1 handful of rice
1 handful of wheat
few cashew nuts and almonds
1 handful of (i dont know what it is called in english but in hindi "jawar" can find it in mustafa)

Finger millets contain lacta bacillus good for babies. Nursing mothers can take it in the form of porridge or think soup (during confinement some parts will give everyday) and it passes through breastmilk.

For the recipe, check the millets for any stones (very small white in color, you will know it is stone when it is hard) after checking soak the finger millets in water (if you soak in the morning) clean it properly, wash and put the soaked millets in a cloth in the evening and tie very tight till all water goes off and leave it overnight. next day morning when you open it will sprout. Put on a paper/ plate/dry cloth and let it dry in indoors not OUTDOORS. every 1-2 hours just mix and it should become dry and bit crunchy.

Heat a pan (very low heat for roasting) roast the millet and all other ingredients seperately(rice will puff a bit) grind all ingredients. Store in air tight container (I prefer to store in fridge) and can use 2-3 weeks.

Usage wise take a tablespoon and mix with hot water leave for 5-10 mins and feed the baby accordingly to baby's appropriate feeding temp.

To start with make 1 cup of millet with 1/4 cup of other ingredients. My baby got sensitive skin and eczema very fast so I exclude nuts and wheat for now.

I wanted to try Si Sen brown rice. Is it safe for sensitive babies? Can anybody share pls.

joyce - you confirm baking a cake? if you are, i won't order log cake. let me know ya?

mummies coming for christmas gathering:
let's do funds trf. tink on the day itself will be rather chaotic, would prefer not to handle $ then. my posb savings a/c is 189102496. use your nick to do trf so that it's easier for me to tally. $10 per pax. tods and bbs foc. pm me when you've trf. tks.

re loss in nutrients - actually, whenever there's cooking/heat, nutrients will be lost. so like wat ak said, unless you give raw salad, no way you can avoid loss in nutrients.

i've heard that slow cooker/crockpot will result in loss of nutrients becoz of prolonged cooking. but using slower cooker to cook porridge is far far easier than stirring over the stove. so for sanity sake, i still use slow cooker to cook porridge for #1. i will cook the rice first, aft 1 hr or 30mins before the porridge is ready, i will put in the puree and cook together for another 30min. so far so good. now dat she's no longer on puree, then i will put the raw ingredients in the rice and cook together for 1.5hr. my gal likes cantonese style porridge.

btw jowar is called sorghum in english. I exclude this as well since baby is sensitive. You can add ingredient one by one to check if baby is ok or not.
And sorry for no intro, I am new in this forum

My baby gal born in May 09 (premie) in MtA

Jamie: The doc advised against giving cow's milk for my girl. So I just continued BF. haha I think if hailey is fine and both you and hubby are ok, think should be okie to give.

Shers: Feb mum is right. Unless you eat raw food, then there won't be a lost of nutrients. No heat no nothing just peel the skin and eat like what animals do! But obviously, we cannot do that. Anyway, our society is so affluent that we are consuming much more food (hence more nutrients) than needed, hence a little lost in nutrients is ok. This is what I feel.

febmum, this arrangement is fine with me ! will tt to u tmr

joyce, i wan oreo cheesecake !

bean, u r fast ! i haven look out for any gift yet...will go search this weekend...hehe

wa u gals so fast..
i havent got the chance to go out n shop yet everyday at home.. haiz.. what is the condition of the gift ah?

Hi sgpv/ fireflies - i feed my gal with brown rice si shen fen from yu ren sheng since she was 6 mths old. Anyone done the same?

Btw, its very heaty so cannot give too much.

shers,
my mum uses this metal container to cook the porridge for awhile then put into the pot (using internal heat to "cook" the porridge.. aiya .. suddenly cant rem wat is that pot call!!! dun noe if u know wat im describing.. :p

febmum,
i will cfm with u next week... sorry for the delay..

ILoveSashimi/ moonyuki,
Any rash observed when you feed si sen? my baby all over rash after having healthytimes oatmeal. she was fine initially with rice cereal but then try again also rash for rice cereal.

she got no choice food from the market as cow's milk allergy. nestle, friso all contain milk in their cereal
recovering from eczema. Next week will start giving her home cooked rice.

feb mum - thank you

Hi feb_mum, i transfer le

Hi yuki, so i alternate between brown rice and barley cereal and bb poo better.. no longer hard hard.. but these few days she has diarrhoea.. so i stop barley for the time being but still continue to give brown rice in view to stop diarrhoea. By the way, do you cook it using stainless steel pot?

hi sgpv, so far no rash.how old is your bb? maybe can grind rice like the rest of the mummies did and cook it like cereal?

Btw yuki, how old is yr bb and how much u feed brown rice each time? Mine is 6mths and 3 wks and I have been feeding her 1 tablespoon since 6 mths. Dare not increase for fear that she cant drink milk which should be her main source of food. My 1 tblspn come up to be half a bowl of pigeon bowl.

sgpv,

no rash for my boy..

ILoveSashimi,

my boy is 7month plus now.. i feed him brown rice around 5spoon n mix 3spoon of FM le. he can finish everything. then 3 to 4hrs later he drink milk again..

hi, me oso feedin si shen brown rice.. so far no rashes. giving my boy once daily. i use 2tablespoon powder will end up as 3/4 adult bowl..been feeding my boy since 5.5mth

ilovesashimi, how come muz use stainless steel pot to cook arh?

my mum taught me to cook in rice cooker together wif the rice rather than over the fire.. less heaty coz using the steam from rice to cook.

but i din reali follow coz i dun cook rice everyday :p

my si shen brown rice was from yu ren sheng. There are 2 types: 1 instant and another to cook one. Mine is to cook one.

When can i start to replace my gal's milk with cereal or porridge? Is it too early? Shes drinking 5 times each day and each time its 150ml

sgpv - I mixed the brown rice si sen powder inside the HT brown rice cereal, so far so good.. no rashes leh.. but I dont feed brown rice every other day, alternating with the nestle rice cereal and HT barley rice cereal

RE: Porridge
I read in books that prolonged cooking does kills the nutrients. So what they recommend is to blend the rice then cook, as it cooks faster. And its true, took me around 15-20mins only. As for the veg/meat, can steam then puree/blend and mix it in. As baby grow older, can just chop and mix.

ilovesashimi,
mine oso cook type. i bought from chinese medicine hall...juz cook over pot for few min until pasty..

actuali oso dunno when can start cereal or porridge.. coz in parents time they seem to intro as early as 4mth. i guess cereal shld b fine as long as 6mths n above ba.. for porridge, startin later coz nothin much to flavor it now.. gotta wait until bb can take in ikanbillis or meat etc then intro to him.

em.. how to blend the rice when the rice is wet har? I thought I saw some discussion on this somewhere but I cant find it now.

My mom just bought a kind of rice thats for porridge one. She said this is better cos softer faster. I cant cook it now cos my gal diarrhoea.

But anyone has tried this kind of rice before??

cheesecake/ Ilovesashimi/ moonyuki
My gal is 6months 3 weeks old. she went through a lot of health problems since birth. she got cow's milk allergy. Doctor didnt check properly and end up giving antibiotic which she got thrush for 2 months on n off. cow's milk allergy started out with diahhorea more than 10-15 times a day with streaks of blood. She had diahhorea for 7 weeks and that time maid was terrible. (she was so merciless she wash milk bottles w water and told me washed w liquid cleaner, since I needed help that time didnt send her back and Had to do all the baby work myself)

went to NUH specialist and very disppointed gave her medicine which is supposed to be given to adults. no result. after checking tons n tons of website I figured out my breastmilk may be cause without consulting doctor I removed all medication and breastmilk out of her diet and only soya milk and HUGE improvement. My breastmilk had cow's milk protein (which I consumed for calcium during pregnancy) SOya formula had problem with constipation. Have been diluting her milk since Novermber and she is fine now.

SO I scared to start her on rice cereal but then she is hungry baby so I gave her healthy times rice cereal since most in supermarket got cow's milk.

now she got eczema. 2 days back got hope relief cream from one of the spree organiser in SGM. hopefully it helps. ANyhow I been to Kinder Clinic in Paragon Dr.SIva and he was kind and explain everything and gave medicine, moisturiser and explain how to control future occurances.

His suggestion grind rice coarse and then cook with veg. ANd also to give rice water. TOday only started on traditional finger millet recipe. Hopefully next week will start home cooked rice w veg/ fruit.

ILoveSashimi,
you gal got diahorea? switch to soya milk till she recovers and dont feed her solids. If you give her yogurt, you can give her yogurt w rice n mix w water to make it thin.
Give her lactorel forte and take her to doctor. Dont waste time get the stool test done for culture and rotavirus. If these are not issues check what she consumed last 1-2 days.

If you are breastfeeding, You drink pomegranate juice and after 1 hour express milk and give to baby. She will recover.

sgpv,
Really sorry to hear abt your girl. I understand is really stressful when you girl is sick, but do be strong for your girl. My girl had some form of rashes (on her arms and legs) when she was younger. Brought her to see doctor which the doctor gave steriods which only cure the problem temperorily. My friend recommended me a cream only found in KKH pharmacy, it called La Clinica Organic Soothing Lotion. It works wonders for my girl and her rashes are gone completely and her skin is now smooth. You may want to give it a try. Btw if you stay in the east, you can come to my house, I can give you a little bit to try on your baby.

good morning mummies
TGIF!

sgpv, welcome
sounds like ur gal went thru a lot -- u take care and hope ur gal will outgrow her allergies soon! my gal has slight eczema (red spots on her legs) -- PD prescribed TOPICREAM to apply twice a day. After 1 week, no more red spots *finger crosed*

bean, thanks for the list! IFC serves fish n chicken porridge for 6-12 mths. will let yuan2 try @ home first before taking the food @ IFC.

feb_mum, yup, i intend to use the slow cooker method
will start yuan2 off with porridge + pumpkin + spinach 2molo... hope she will like it

btw, hv transfer $ and PM u.

Good Morning,

Feb_mum,
I will confirm with you.. when do you have to order? 'cos my hubby may not be in town, if like tt, I think I may not be able to go gethering liao, unless I bring all 3 kids + helper!

Hi sgpv, my gal also 6 mths and 3 wks old too.
She's born on 13th May @ Thomson.

Ya, my gal has been having diarrhoea for the last few days and yesterday her stool seems better. Not so watery and no more white curd.

She had diarrhoea once when she was 4 mths old and that time my PD advise to switch to soy which I did and she doesn't like it. So in the end we diluted her formula and use rice water to make. It helps.

So when it happened again this time, I am doing the same thing. Gave her rice water but I did not dilute the milk though. Cos she started "commando" crawling and putting everything inside her mouth plus she's teething.. I guess all these contributes to her diarrhoea.

I am continuing to monitor her poo and hopefully all goes back to normal today. I stopped giving her barley cereal these few days but still continue to give her brown rice hoping that it can make her stool firmer.

mummies, my day has arrived -- it is becoming more challenging to change clothes/diaper for yuan2! She is flipping here n there -- and grabbing the wet tissue box, diaper cream, ru yi etc *faint* how to tame her??

re: bb swimming
any baby try the big pool at hwa xia yishun?

adv,
i dunno how to tame. i tried everything wif jodie (short of tying her down), she's still flipping n grabbing everything near her!

ya, tried the big pool last wkend. can accomodate 4 bbs in the pool.