(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

feb_mum: u PM me your code...will vote for u.

Xmas party:
i cant joined...i work till 1pm.
and is very far away from sengkang. ...sob sob

Christmas gathering @ feb_mum's place
1) feb_mum
2) firefly_leslie & Baby Kayla
3) cheesecake & Baby Vera
4) juju & bb jodie (off work @ 3pm, so only ok if hi-tea)
5) ak & bb greg (can reach around 3pm. need to work half-day then go home and fetch greg.)
6)ibite & Baby Chelsea (Hee... I am super near feb_mum man!) wahahha....
7) tiny_m & Baby Le Xuan
8) adv_sports & baby yuan2 (work halfday, ok if high tea)
9) joyce_yong & baby Hui Xin (only ok if hightea, off work at 1pm)
10) porky_jean & baby jaeden (off work at 12.30noon)
11) shers + helper + 2 missy shers
12) Muffintop + bb Raphael
13) jling
14) Andrea
15) win + helper + baby frances
16) Bean + little bean
17) Babymay + baby + helper (to be confirmed)
18) Ling + baby (tentatively)
19)Poohwei+ baby+ toddler+ hubby+helper
20) ILoveSashimi + baby
21) Yuki + baby jayden + hubby (to be confirmed)
22) graceofgod + baby Joelle + Toddler Julian (to be confirmed)
23) Adrienne + 2 helpers + brent + tasha
24) mikojade + helper + nigel

3wkold,
alot of us staying nearby u le.. and we r going too!!
porky, ling lim, juju, tiny_m, me..
extreme east r goin as well.. bean, muffintop..

I worked till 1pm leh....how to go...
if bring bb...i need to go tampines to fetch her from mymum hse.
then by the time reach bukit gombak will very late.
bo hua take leave on eve...cos consider one day.

3wkold,
i only rching thr @ 3.30pm leh... think some also ard dat time.
gathering will prob last until 6pm.
see if u can come or not la

Feb mum says : sorry, dat wil b è final list, no more addition aft mikojade coz my humble 5rm flat can oni take dat many pple. Not nice if i chao hu bu zhuo. Registratn closed' tks v much

Ling, ya lor.. All along itch le.. Just nobdy jio.. Need someone to kick start then rest will move.. Hahhaa..

Audrey, then u not joining? Just messenger?

adrienne, mikojade - can pm me your hp no? tks.

you mummies really surprised me with your enthusiasm. at first i thot won't get good response coz my place so ulu and somemore christmas eve. but at last count, we have 33 adults, 23 bb, 4 tods. wow! so sorrie dat i can't accommodate anymore folks. worried dat you all will be very uncomfy if the crowd gets too big. looking forward to having you all at my place.

Hi mummies, need some advice. I start my night routine with my gal at 730pm every night (since she was abt 4 mths old ) and I intend to stretch it later. HOwever by doing so, I am worried that I may messed up her usual routine. She is a pretty routined bb. Her routine is sponge at 730, feed milk at 750, on the music and start feeding. By about 815, she will usually be asleep. During this time, there is minimal talking, no playing and eye cntact. My gal will try very hard to get eye contact because she wants to play . But if she doesn't get it, she will be able to "calm" down and sleep better.

Now if I were to move her timing to 830pm, then this would mean that i will only start sponging her at 830pm which many ppl tells me its too late and not good for bb. In fact 730pm sponge was viewed as late already.

Any advice for me?

Not too sure whether anyone's feeding their kiddo nestle rice cereal. Just wanted to share some info I found off the net from other mummies when I realised my girl had rashes on her cheeks..
Most brands of rice cereal being sold at the stores now with the exception of very few contains soy and corn starch with the former being an ingredient that might cause allergy.
I couldn't figure out why my girl was having those rashes since I thought rice cereal was suppose to be well just rice...
Anyway have stopped feeding her the cereals and her rashes have subsided.
So thought I'll share some info just in case some other mummies were thinking of feeding their kids rice cereal. Think its better to cook porridge since you can be assured that its 100% rice

Fireflies80, Thanks for sharing.. I will need to take note of it.. My boy is okie with it.. He eating it for 2months le.. Mayb, I think is different bb react differently?
U got let her try teaspoon or 1 tablespoon b4 giving large serving?

morning mummies...

fieflies,
My gal also hv rashes at her mouth area ever since i started her on cereal ley. So is the cereal that causes the rash?

andrea,
I'm giving her HT and recently juz open a box of Nestle Gold rice cereal with apple & cranberries. The rash started once she start cereal ley.

Hello Mummies

Wow.. gathering at feb_mum place is so well-responded :p

I am back from my trip.. my boy was alright the whole trip, not cranky, sleep/nap well, drink well, take cereal/jar food well..
Now both babes are sun-burnt like tomatoes hehe… both kids were also good during flight.. not crying and happily playing :p

I survived my first trip with Kea, just like during my first trip with my girl.. so conclusion.. can go for more trips hahaha!~

m00n, my bb taking all Nestle series.. so far so good.. Maybe u start by giving teaspoons first?? U c got rash or not.. This is what the polyclinic nurse advise me: " Give in small amt to test first.." If bb not suitable, he/she will show rash within minutes....

moon : I was feeding cereal then added other stuff like pumpkin / spinach / carrots / apple puree etc.
she reacted worst when fed only rice cereal so i cut out the rice cereal then feed her the rest and the rashes went away. You might want to try to remove that from her diet first. Feed her other stuff like fruits since chances of allergy is much lower.
i read from other forums that earth's best rice cereal is 100% rice and its also organic. Have yet to buy to try as its only available at carrefour and market place.
but think best to feed porridge.

Andrea: i gave her a bit to try. no rashes and when gradually increase the rashes appeared and more jialat. A lot of mums already started feeding their kids si shen brown rice? So mabbe porridge is fine? hehe dunno... beats the cereal anytime. so poor thing the face.. :/

Quite surprise that baby food contains ingredients that have higher incidence of allergy..

I am also feeding nestle rice cereal.. My gal loves the rice and mixed veg. I am also feeding HT cereal too but she seems to prefer the nestle cereal leh. :p But i think she is allergic to yogurt leh coz her rashes appear after eating the strawberry yogurt jar.

fireflies, what kind of rash is Kayla experiencing? Shermay has rashes near her mouth area ever since she is on semi solid. even i feed her fruits or puree also got red rash.. the rash will appear after each meal and when weather turns bad.. if that call food allergy? i'm feeding shermay HT cereal too..

Sher, to what i know shermay is having food allergy.. The polyclinic nurse told me it will appear around the mouth area..

rc, welcome back
sounds like a good trip! hmm, m tempted to bring yuan2 on a trip, too!

re: food allergy
fireflies, thanks for sharing. I must read the label on baby food clearly!

shers, yuan2 will hv red spots on her legs when weather is bad (HOT)... PD prescribed baby wash n moisturer for sensitive skin.. hope she outgrows this fast!

shers.. am not firefly leslie
my girls name is charice.
the rash feels rough almost like ezcema and its reddish. not itchy though. if its itchy then allergy likely to be worse.
i have been reading up on food allergy, not limited to mouth area, can appear anywhere on body and also on cheeks.
Shers, if shermay's condition not serious i.e. does not get worse and disappear after each feeding or it's not itchy should be fine. my girl's worsen that's why i stop.
not all rashes are food allergy, some may be contact allergy meaning all kind of food as long as in contact with their face, mix with saliva + sweat will develop rashes.

fireflies,
blur me! hahhaa.. so far, shermay's rash is ard the mouth area.. and after each feed, will disappear within half hr.. yes.. saliva also trigger her rash also.. all along i tot shermay has sensitive skin.. so after each meal, we will use damp cloth to wipe her mouth, hands.. i will keep a lookout for her body as well.. thanks for the information.. tml i'm bringing her for vaccine.. i will ask PD on that as well..

Fireflies80,
Maybe you can try to feed your girl organic cereals, like Bellamy's, Happy Bellies or Baby Nat. Usually those cereals, usually those cereals they will state, no soy, no gluten, no milk etc etc... I have been feeding my girl 100% organic cereals and foods (with exceptions of some drinks). She doesn't have any rashes.

Ibite,
You gal may be allegric to strawberries. My PD advised me not to give any form of berries, like strawberries, blueberries etc to my girl till 9 months. All these all high allegric causing foods. But I'm quite surprised that manny jar foods have strawberry and it says suitable from 6 mths.

Adv sports,
From what I know, I think some ingredient if existed in trace need be on the food label. If the food label doesn't say, doesn't mean its totally not in the jar!
The safest is when they say "No XXXX, no XXX" etc etc.. then its confirmed 100% doesn't exist! heee.. Cuz babies are quite sensitive and maybe even traces of the foods they will be affected. Not sure lah.. that's why home made is the best!

The reason why I'm so particular about food and allegy is because my hubby has ezcema, till now he still has and its not able to cure, I really hope that my girl does not have it. "praying hard every day".

Doctor gave me a list of foods that are safe to introduce from 6 months:
6 mths (super safe):
Rice, Pear, Prune, Carrot, Apple

6mths (safe)
Barley, Beef, Broccoli, Apriciot, Oat, Lamb, Cabbage, Banana, Wheat (unless have family history of wheat alllegry), Chicken, Potato, Cherry, Spinach, Peach, Corn, Plum, Turnip.

9mths:
Egg yolk (must be fully cooked), Berries (strawberry, raspberry), Soyabeans, Beans, Fish.

I realise that organic jar foods (like Baby Nat, Earth Best) are following this list quite well. Heinz and Gerbers don;t really follow this list.

bean,
thanks for the list. i hope shermay's just skin sensitive rather than food allergy..
of course home cooked food is still the best provided time permits. haha.. have u start feeding claire with porridge? btw, mummies here.. have u heard that prolong cooking can kill nutrient?
i wanted to find out more abt this..

bean - i think the jar food does not take food allergy into consideration. stage 1 is mainly single food type, stage 2 onward are mixed food, higher stages are based on the food texture.

shers: yes, it's true. so u can try steaming ur veg. it's better than boiling. =)

bean; thx very much for the list. =D do u knw when we can intro full cream milk? i saw on a heinz jar "creamy banana porridge" it has full cream milk. bt states for all stages. wat's ur take on tt?

joyce - i will order those supermkt christmas deals, did dat last yr for a christmas gathering at my pl, eat until full full ah, haha. not worth getting caterer, will kana surcharge coz christmas eve and our no of pax is small. and i tink potluck very troublesome lah, not all of us are good chefs and a no of you are working that day.

mummies who are coming my place - i'm proposing dat i collect $10 per pax. will use the money to buy the food and drinks. any remaining money, i use it to buy prizes, then we have christmas lucky draw at my place for the mummies. on?

jamie,
ya.. i also think steaming is better than boiling.. so suppose to boil porridge 1st.. then put steamed food into porridge once ready? porridge also boil.. does it mean? also slow cooker is prolong cooking.. very confused lor..
our era also just eat prolong cooking food.. y nowsdays cant? hahhaa..

feb_mum,
i'm ok with that! when u need us to tt $ to u, just let us know! dont wan potluck la.. very troublesome.. joyce can bring along her bakes!

Thanks Bean for sharing this.
Ya... She is taking the Heinz food jar. Today my darling Chelsea is 8 mths liao! Time files! Finally my school holidays and I am at home with her...

Sure feb_mum,u need us to pay you via fund transfer or pay on that day itself? Thanks for the arrangement.