(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

juju - jodie going for competition? they always ask me to go. i told them the contest is already over by the time greg is ready to swim. haha

adv_sports - want to go together this weekend? greg doesn't the sitting float. he prefer the neck float. think because he can whack the water harder using that.

yeah mummies,
thanks for all the advice.. i think i will still stick to slow cooker. used back the method i used for Shermin which is similar to what Feb_mum used too. at least porridge doesnt have much nutrient only carbo.. hahah so prepare puree separately and add in during last half hr.

sgpv,
sorry to hear abt your girl. u muz hav been a v strong mom to weather this through...ganbatte!

adv,
ya sometime my boy oso like dat.. i sing songs to distract him. or hang a toy above to distract him coz he like to stare intently on moving objects

ak,
got competition for under 4 mths & 4-12 mths. so jodie is in 2nd category.
this wkend go whr swim? maybe i can join in.

adv, my boy also grabbing everything near him ! ifc taught me to use the ruyi oil metal container (with the ruyi oil inside) to distract him...then quickly change diaper first..hahaha...really challenging now..my boy just knw how to flip from tummy to back this week and cant stop doing that the moment he woke up

btw, my ifc here feed vege, chicken and fish porridge...but i intend to let jaeden start after 9mths or later

My gal's IFC is feeding her porridge now. Usually is chicken with brocolli or fish and spanich.
So far so good.

Btw,for a 8 months old,do they need 3 solid meals per day or twice a day? Right now, I am giving one rice cereal in the morning and 1 porridge in late evening. I gave her fruit-apple (mashed up) and banana too. Is that sufficient?

adv sport - i will slap rebecca on her butt (gently) when she flips while i'm changing her. she will protest a bit but sure helps to control her turning. or i will let her hold on to the diaper cream or wet wipes to explore. then i muz fasterly change her b4 her attention span is up.

mummies who are coming, i will place order for the food end of next week when i come back from my trip. so pl confirm no of pax and make trf by then, ok? kum siah.

re: bb swim
ju, wah, jodie going for swim competition? nice!

ak, haha, coz greg the prince like to be "served food/drink" during his swim :p me also wanna check out the big pool @ yishun! yuan2 hasn't swim for quite a while -- dunno whether she still ok with the neckfloat... anway, she is a relax(or demure) swimmer -- not kick so violently like greg :p

wat time r u going? we normally feed yuan2 her cereal @ 10am -- if she dun fuss, we can head out n probably reach ard 12noon or earlier.

re: tame bb
may_mum, ur boy only sometime like that -- yuan2 is always like that! now drink milk also will stop halfway and start flipping *faint*

porky, won't jaeden bite the metal container??!!

feb_mum, yuan2 very "niu" -- i piah her bum she got no feeling and bochap me...

re: IFC food
porky, ibite, yah, yuan2's IFC will add different vege to the fish/chiken porridge...

ibite, check out the link below :-
http://www.kkh.com.sg/PatientHealthLibrary/ChildrensHealth/FoodnNutrition/Weaning.htm
6mth -- 1 meal per day, smooth puree food
7-9mth -- 2-3 meals per day, soft lumps and thick consistency
9mth ~ -- 3 meals per day, roughly chopped/minced food

Sgpv,

feel so sorry for ur gal. Hope she get well soon. U must be damn tiring also with this problem.

Febmum,
can u send me an sms on ur acc number, so that i can tt to u.

Gathering,

I think this time round we can paste the name tape on us right? Cause so many of us is going, plus new faces too.

bean/ adv_sports,
she was given steroids also. later Dr.siva explain thats the powerful medicine to be given if its all over. my gal dont need so powerful. she was given cetaphil for bath, topicream for moisturiser and then for 1 week fucicort (antibiotic cream). I see results in 3 days time.

previous doctor gave allergy drops and desowen (too powerful)

I bought Hope relief cream from a spree organiser. Didnt use yet. For basic rash I find GAIA soothing lotions helps and clears a lot.

I would try La Clinica Organis Soothing lotion if it appears next time. She got appt in Jan in KK, I will buy.

ILoveSashimi,
My gal born on 10th May 09 in MT Alvernia. She was 1 month early. I didnt mind early as it was mother's day thou was bit shocked & was asking staff if can postpone delivery haha

Btw do not feed baby with soya milk if no valid medical reason as Soya milk effects harmones. search online for phytoestrogen and isoflavins related to soya infant formula. soya milk triggers early puberty and not good for babies. Even as alternative hypoallergic formula should be choosen. my baby very stubborn she refused to take hypoallergic and no choice feeding her soya. Her doc in KK was disappointed also she didnt take hypoallergic but no choice. Mostly around Jan will try again w Nan.

There is a huge diff w cow's milk intolerance and allergy. I wonder if her eczema triggered due to cow's milk trial recently/ healthytimes oatmeal or just the dust allergy (due to apt demolish beside my place)

for constipation/ diahhorea banana helps and ur right rice water is still good.

yday I tried finger millet cereal and I am HAPPY, she poo thrice today very very soft and confortable. she might be feeling light now

adv_sports,
I feed my baby when changing cloths/ after bath. while maid helps to hold bottle I fast fast apply moisturiser and change cloths.
during nappy changes give them a toy and I play nursery rhymes almost regularly

may_mum, yuki lim
thank you. in july I needed the most. so painful to bear she cant take my breastmilk. by the time she can tolerate my milk dried up

Adv sports, hahahah you finally had a taste of your baby's "niu"-ness... wait till Yuan2 can sit up easily by herself.. that's the ultimate.. Claire doesn't just flip over.. she sits up! So the moment I take off her diaper.. she will flip over and sit up with her bare butt on the changing mat and start climbing about!.. Haizzzzzz

Adv

Haha.. dun worry u will be experiencing more of the wiggle woggle wormy actions from yuan yuan! More to come..

Bean
Hehe.. u are rite! Now my kea also once put on mat, immediately flip and move about, with or without diaper!
Some more now kept crawling to jie jie, and stand up by supporting on jie jie’s body! I am so scared that Meg will push him away and then he will fall down!!

My girl bit my boy’s nose yesterday. He now likes to crumple his nose, I think she probably thought his crumpled nose is cute, tts y she bit him!

sgpv,
*pat pat on the shoulders* not easi for u...
is finger millet the same as yellow millet??

adv, tink even if my boy fidgeting tink mild one compare to Yuan2 haha coz he dunno how to flip! oni will turn his head over shoulders but not flippin over. *flip* ur babies here all so active.. my boy v lazi one.

re: flipping
aiyoh! changing diapers n clothes r so troublesome now. 1 flip and they r in all directions. can't even tape/velcro the diaper properly!
frm centre of the bed, flip, edge of the bed. scary! somemore, can flip in diff directions, safe position to dangerous position.

may mum,
dun flip better. i prefer pre-flipping stage. haha!

juju,
haha ya after readin mayb its a blessing in disguise.. but tink will b so fun to watch ur baby flip here n there leh :p

i still waiting... hopefully one day he can flip even though he's coming to 7th mth tis week.
if cant flip dunno whther he will slow to crawl or not haha

maymum, i agree with ju..pre-flipping stage is the best..can tape diaper nicely ! now tape one side and the other side cant tape properly...wahahaha...sometimes i forget to take anything when he poo..i must carry him with me to take..else i so worry he will flip and landed on the floor..my mil will kill me !

porky,
ya lor! 1 flip can flip until dunno where. last time still can predict whr they are!

maymum,
dun flip nvr mind. some say bb will skip milestone de. bb chelsea crawl before sitting leh. so its ok de

adv_sports,

Thanks for the link! Very useful info there!

Re: Flipping.

Yes. Maymum,some babies do skip milestone de. My Chelsea dunno like "all of a sudden" can sit unsupported yesterday when she turn 8 mths...hahahaha... Now got chance she will sit up from crawling position. The teochew saying of 7th month sit,8th month crawl,9th month teething not very true on her. She got 2 tooth already too! No more bo geh! hahahhahah :p

haha my bb can sit but not v stable kind.. but still would love to see him flippin oh..i see alot of bb flippin v cute

oh i oso waitin for tooth to pop out ah... coz pop out the crankiness will b over haha

maymum, my boy got 1 and a half tooth liao..hahaha...but still cranky cos more tooth coming out...

btw, ur boy might flip anytime leh...cos my boy also consider flip quite later stage...at 6mth 1 week he suddenly flip infont of me at night time when i just trying to change pjs for him...luckily i was just beside him else dunno wat will happen..so u must watch out

I agree w porky, my gal co sleeps with me. if she awake then she crawl backwards (her tummy still touch floor) and then lucky saw her on the edge.

my gal flip suddenly also (5month 3rd week) but she was so excited she flip flip flip whole 1 week even drink milk also flip. i put her on bed turn to cupboard to take diaper. she already on edge rolling and flipping. so be careful.

she sleep 360degree rotation at night. so now she sleep in her bed.

my baby co sleepin oso quite "stationary". he doesnt sleep at the side... oni lay flat on head with arms spread out.. thruout the nite oso like dat.. tink turn at most 15degree oni haha.

Does any of your babies wake up for night feed and how many times? Do they push themselves to sit or you assist to sit and they can sit without holding anything?
Any of your baby can stand easily with support and try to walk?

I guess I got too many questions. But my baby wakes up every 2 hrs canot sleep le

Hi sgpv, my gal used to sleep through the night but ever since she knows how to flip to her tummy (around the same time as yours), shes been waking up in the middle of night. Plus shes teething which makes it even more frequent.

ARe you sure your gal wake up for milkor shes too used to having milk? Last time around 4th mth, we tried to train her not to wake up for milk by delaynig her feed. Its very tiring but since I was still in maternity leave so I hang in there.. Its tiring effort but definitely worth it.

My gal is too used to being rocked to sleep so in order to delay feed, I have to rock her till she fall back sleep again.. and I keep doing it each time she wakes up till I cant delay anymore then will prepare milk for her. It takes abt a 3-5 for her to drop the idea of waking up for milk.

We barely enjoy the peacefulness of sleepnig longer hours but behold, there comes the flipping and teething..

Now another prob, she flip onto her tummy when sleepign and she doesnt know how to sleep on tummy and ended up crying for help. Then each time we have to rock her back to sleep. So tiring..

I saw on baby center that now (6 mth)can introduce a transitional object to help bb to soothe back to sleep. Wonder what oject can this be? Cos she puts everythng inside her mouth and I am worried about introducing anything cos she will suck or bite..

At 3 mth, she knows how to suck thumb to soothe herself back to sleep.. now she doesn't. Wonder how to teach her again?

Forgot to mention that my gal can sit unsupported provided she don't lean to either side or lift up her head too high..

She just learnt early this week to "dive" from sitting position to crawlling.. so funny. But she doesn't know how to change frmo crawling to sitting position. Wonder how to teach her this. Any idea?

sgpv - wow, you have really been through a lot! jiayou wor.. so far my girl never wake up for night feeds, always I feed her at midnite while she is still sleeping! haha, I scare she goes hungry overnight..

RE: Flipping
Its really like going to war during bathtime/diaper change. Immediately put down, she will turn over and now my girl is trying to crawl, so she will hold on to the cot rail and try to push herself up.. really cannot leave her alone..

re night feed
my boy wakes up once or twice. now mayb due to teethin.. he wakes up even more often, dun wan milk and wan to suck pacifier..

re sitting
sgpv, my baby need my assistance to put him in sitting position..after dat remain unassisted for very short while.. still v wobbly like a humpty dumpty..

re standing
baby's granddad used to play wif him by holdin him in standin position.. say to train his legs.. juz yesterday when i was feedin him in stationary walker. tink he too hungry for food n suddenly lunge forward to grab my spooon in standin position. in an instant oni then he lay flat on his bum again hehe. tinkin of gettin jumperoo or exersaucer liao but dunno which is better.

Thanks all for the replies.

I have same problem like Ilovesashimi. She isnt able to sleep properly. Even putting her to sleep is difficult now. I do not see any teeth yet. I have a cradle to save me so I swing still she goes to sleep around 10-15mins.

I read in babycenter to drop night feed to dilute milk till only water left to feed. I mean first day you give her 3 oz of water w 2scoop of 30ml. then 2-3 days later you dilute further to 3 oz water w 1scoop of 30ml powder and then finally just water. Babies wont like to wake up to feed water so they will sleep through.

However Genuinely sometimes babies will be hungry. I realised babycenter singapore, US, India and UK weekly newsletters are very much different in terms of development and growth. So I read all

Also in another UK community forums I read that 8-9 month babies and even later also wakeup genuinely for feeding after trying rice cereal w milk etc., I read in babycenter it should not be turned to learned habit but then if they really hungry cant ignore right? I feel I shud let her have 1 feed and if she hungry again then just give water. Do you think its good like this?

My baby can sit if assisted (she cant push herself to sit) she will sit unsupported for sometime. And trying to lift her tummy off floor and crying when doing it.

I taught her rollover and some other techniques from these videos
from the below video I too felt like recording milestones of baby so some bits and pieces wise I have recordings may be when I am old enough boring will make an album ..hehe

http://www.parenting.com/article/Baby/Development/Baby-Milestones-Nates-Monthly-Development-Videos

roll over
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lNoYbgXXBaQ
Sitting
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rY1-wK7w99Q&feature=related
sitting & crawling
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bYjs4kQ2UMU

how to handle choking.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-jNx5AIC6UA

Crawling
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Tfl1tNB81qs

This is really very funny.
baby and father creeping
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-LUwbfPn1rk

These videos and many more help give idea. Since she is my first baby I dont know many things nor have an idea how it will be done by them at right time.

may mum,
I have exersaucer(evenflo smart steps) and walker (luckybaby walker cum rocker). she likes it in walker than exersaucer. walker can sit stable like in a chair. exersaucer she will lean forward and doesnt feel comfy.

may mum, thank you. What to do have to get all info by myself. I had bad gynae and baby doc experience. After delivery me and hubby take care of baby. And didnt know what to eat and stuff. he give me spinach on 3rd day and I end up diahhorea w stitches on (hell break on me) My mom arrive only baby 3 weeks. So all the problem baby had my mom didnt know (never knew cow's milk allergy, intolerance etc.,) didnt get proper help and cannot rely entirely on doctor alo. Had to have info.

sgpv, actually, I drop my gal's midnight feed about a week ago. We just increase her last feed at 8pm by 1 more ounce and we just drop the night feed overnight. She seems ok with it. Got 1 time, she woke up at 5am wanting milk, we will dilute her milk, give her half the quantity (we gave 60ml) with 1.5 scoops of powder. After 2 nights, all done.

I read somewhere at 6mths, its a pretty good time to drop midnight although by doing so, I am actually reducing her milk intake. I just ensure that she has min intake of 650ml each day.

She used to drink 800-900ml each day.

mummies, my gal had diarrhoea on Tues but stopped when I gave her rice water. Hwoever she started having soft poo since Wed and I noticed she has white curd in her poo. Her poo colour is dark green to white yellow.

Is white curd normal? Shes now drinking enfapro and 1 yu ren sheng brown rice cereal in the morning. Could it be due to food? But I have been feeding her this since she turned 6 mths. Could it be food allergy after 3 wks?

Ilovesashimi,
Can you check if your baby stool belongs to one of the category in here
Decode her stools
http://similac.com/feeding-nutrition/diaper-decoder?wt=lp1

WARNING: Above page contains pictures of baby stool.

Well if your baby is having diahhorea due to food and all of a sudden but you started it out since long still it may be a problem if there is any allergy. Cause gastrointestinal layer might be fine when first started and might have decreased due to several reasons (I would sound very geek if i tell the technicals)
So babies can get allergy/ intolerance at any point even if they had that food before with no problem.
If its gastrointestinal related issues then breastmilk should give antibodies like ImmunoglobinA which protects intestinal immunity. When did you stop breastfeeding or giving expressed breastmilk?

I advise if you are visiting doctor, take a picture of her stool and show it to doc. because sometimes they dont understand or never seen something like that. Picture will tell a lot when we cant tell and explain w words.

If you are worried and the diahhorea gets worst. Better take one plastic box sterile it well and when baby poops, scoop a little and provide to lab within 3 hrs. Speak to your doctor on phone first. Bacterial culture / rotavirus takes 2-3 days time if you wait it may worsen.

If you suspect allergy, note down what new ingredient you gave her and delete it. Generally we dont give rice to babies when diahhorea. Banana should help (its good for both diahhorea and constipation)

Thanks sgpv, you are really resourceful. BB just pooped and I just compared to the one on the website and its normal!!

Yeah! Lets hope this continue.

Yes am taking pictures these few days just ni case..

btw.. what do u think about oatmeal cereal? I intend to bb try this.

Hi ILoveSashimi

My boy has eczema since birth and couldn't stop scratching his head when he sleep and PD prescribes lotion to apply on his face and head. This has interrupted his sleep throughout the day
Every of his nap in the day hardly last more than 30mins. His milk intake so far is 120ml or less and he's taking 2 cereal/jar food/porridge a day.

He sleeps in the evening between 7 - 8pm and his night feed is 8 - 10pm, 12midnight - 2am and 4.30-6.30am. Normally I'll try to put the pacifier back to him to drag the feed but sometimes may not work. Even his elder sis stop her night feed only at 13months old. My little boy prefers water than milk and I'm worried that if I dilute his milk, he'll wake up more often!

ILoveSashimi,
Thank you. Can I know what is the meaning of bb? Does your baby sensitive skin?

If you have to cook, use organic baby oatmeal not the ready to cook one.

Thou organic expensive, Try giving them organic food atleast for the first 6 months when you start solids.

If I cannot give her oatmeal and if she isnt sensitive, I prefer I give her oatmeal bath after her baby massage
She had a luxury spa massage and bath at home for the past 5 months at home with all the lentils/oatmeal etc., (contains protein which is good for their skin but then if they got prob digesting protein it will be too much for them on top of milk so depends on how ur baby takes)

currently she is on cetaphil
I dont like chemical intervention but no choice. mineral oil, sodium laryl surfate, talc etc., not good for babies.