(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

adv sports, hope yuan2 feels better..

me also itching for a gathering..
just wanna test water coz i took child care the whole week of oct 19 to take care of my boy so that my mum can rest..

was thinking if i were to organise a gathering at my condo's function room (cater buffet coz me got no cooking skills) on oct 19 (mon)lunch (my boy turns 6 month on that day itself as well!!) , maybe looking at attendance of 30 so that i can cater that amount.

my place is near lavender/farrer park mrt.

19 Oct Gathering
1. Jaime/preciouzalex

mummies, just wanna check with you , those bottles etc must sterilise until baby is what age. my hand me down steriliser just died on me yesterday.

thinking whether need to buy if need to sterilise to 1 year old.

Sorry to intrude. I have 3tins of 900g Enfapro A+ to let go. Overstocked and bb has decided to switch formula. Letting go at $35 each. Get all 3 at further discount.

Glenly, ya i quickly grab the tall chair without thinking...

LovJ, i am SAHM

Adv_sport & poohwei, hope both ur gals recover soon. take care

Jamie, i can join the gathering on 19 oct, but my hubby also joining. Alone cannot cope

after many months of bfg, i have decided to stop bfg. every few days, i will have engorgement.. since then, bfg isnt enjoyable for me.. i couldnt enjoy the process of my 2 girls growing up.. haiz.. its unbearable.. its not as if i have no supply thats y i have to stop.. the supply is too much for me to cope..

anyway i just bought a medela freestyle less than 1 week ago.. i'm letting go at $430. it comes with 4 bottles, teats, storage cover, cooler bag and i will throw in additional 4 more storage medela bottles. in addition, my avent manual pump will be thrown in as well.

rc_cola, jaime, gie, thanks

poohwei, wish ur bb speedy recovery, too!

re: nasal aspirator
mummies, any recommendation on where and which brand to get? i try to clean yuan2's nose but unable to remove the mucus...

re: 19 Oct gathering
yeah, it's replacement hols for deevapali -- so yuan2 n me can go

jaime, still can cater for less than 30pax -- minibuffet from neo garden/lexin -- difference is no food warmer... neogarden has free delivery for 1st time order...

shers - do wat will make you a happy mum. :)

jamie - will hv to give it a miss. exam marking period equal no life period for me. tks for organising.

re sterilisation of bottles - i will stop once bb start on solids. will juz rinse bottles with hot water before using.

feb_mum,
my whole family including my hb have been nagging me to stop because every few days my massage lady will come and clear my engorgement.. i have think it through over the weekend, i will stop.. but luckily i have always store ample supply of bm in deep freezer.. that will last for another 1 mth... so by then, shermay will turn 6 mths.. at least i have tried my very best to bf her for 6mths exclusively..

alot of things to sell when i stop bfg.. hahhaa my less than 1 week medela freestyle pump, i stored up alot of breastpads!!! medela storage bottles and lids, avent sealing disc, sterilising tablets, linear milkbags, 2 bottles of unopened fenugreek, 2 bagful of nursing teas!! super sian!!!

any mummies want to take over, please call, sms or PM me okok

shers - i understand wat you are going thru. all mummies wan to give their best to their little ones. but we oso need to have a balance betw our needs and theirs. good that you hv ample supply of frozen bm for shermay. i will oso be stopping end of the mth when rebecca turns 6mths. time to get a life, haha.

oh oh..i think maybe if less pax also good, easier for me
never organise before. dont know whether can cope with baby (coz my mum not ard to help).adv, thanks for suggestion, will get mini buffet also can...

shers, if u think its a right decision, it will be. there is no right or wrong. the more you ponder, the more wasted time is spend on it.
i also pondering every other day when to stop, coz everyday spend 2/3 hours pumping esp during weekends but i persevere til oct 19 (baby turn 6 month) before making final decision.

19 Oct Gathering
1. Jaime
2. Gie + Hubby
3. adv sports

I'm home on MC since Thurs, now little Hui Xin has a little runny nose.. still cont'l to bf her as I am taking bfing safe medication from doc, the dosage is very mild & I think 'cos of this, I'm not recovering as fast!

Shers,
All the best to you. Do you take medicine to stop? At least, Shermay has full BM for 6mths. Agree with feb_mum, the happiness of both mum & baby is most important.

Sterilisation - I normally stop after 18mth, when they are fully on solid, by then, milk is not their source of food intake!

jaime/ feb_mum/ joyce,
the thought of stopping bfg made me tears.. haiz.. its undescrible feeling.. very mixed feeling - i want to spend more time with my hb and girls, another i want to bfg as long as possible..
seems that i'm not fated to bf long la.. #1 time, i stopped bfg after 4 mths because no supply.. #2, oversupply till engorgement..
ya.. i have to take medicine.. else there is no way i can stop.. the pain is killing me.. making me sleepless every nite.. later going to see my gynae to stop

ya.. my mum says that my supply is enough to last Shermay for at least 6.5mths, if dont give to Shermin..

Shers,
I understand how you feel.. maybe if Shermay latches on, the feeling will be different, however, you cannot turn back the clock.. when I was expressing fully for #1, I feel the same.. never look back & tell yourself, you have done your best. look forward..

Looks like stopping gradually is not a choice for you & you most probably ended up with engorgement again..

If you still want ebm for shermay, I have over supply too!

joyce,
Shermay latches on as well when i knock off from work.. but i still got engorgement.. i never look back..
thanks for your offer.. i have enough to last Shermay till at least 6.5mths.. no worries..
Shermin has grown up very well drinking FM since she was 4mths old.. so FM will be fine for Shermay when she turns 6mths old!

Shers,
Once you decided then just go for it. I think you already done what is best for Shermay.
I actually heard from a friend (who is a gynae in the US) that its actually enough to breastfeed till 4 months, where all the antibodies are available in breastmilk. After 4 months, BM and FM are equally good.

I'm also considering stop breastfeed for Claire when she turns 6 months.

Feb mum & Joyce, yes the instruction says add warm milk to the cereals. But I tried 2 times with milk and my boy cannot keep the cereals in his mouth and it keep flowing out of his mouth, so I decided to add water first, at least not so wasted. But he also cry when I mix with milk. Maybe I made too watery and he don't like.

Shers, wow, your supply can last Shermay till 6.5mths. That's good enough. I intend to stop expressing at 6 mths, don't know whether my supply will last till 6.5mths or not cause I freeze very little. I am also like you, in dilema. But I have decided to stop at 6 mths long ago. On the other hand, feel like continuing to express if I can. But I will stop at 6 mths lah, even though I bu she de cause I have been counting down to my boy's 6 mths since ages ago.

i'm fr aug mtb..i hav a mamex gold infant formula 700gm to let go.. its not open yet and expire jul 2010 brought at NTUC at $29.95. give me your best price..
brought it jus incase milk supply not enough.. if any of yr baby taking this formula, do PM me.. will to let go at a lower price. self collect at hougang. thanks..

Adv_sports, hope that Yuan Yuan recover soon. When my boy coughed about 1 mth back, I brought him to see PD. But PD says he is too young for medication even though he gave me a bag of medicines for standby. He says as long as baby is sleeping and eating well and is still active then don't need medication. So in the end, I just monitor him and did not feed him the medicine. Maybe you just monitor Yuan Yuan and see whether she has difficulty sleeping or drinking.

shers - ya, when i was considering to stop supply for #1, i oso was in 2 minds abt it. very tired to keep up with full expressing but bu she de to give it up too. but good thing dat when we intro semi solids to my gal, she started rejecting BM. so it was a sign for me to stop. now with #2, i oso in 2 minds again coz nov/dec is sch hols. it won't be so taxing having to express but still, expressing takes up a lot of time which i can otherwise spend with my gals and hb. so i tink for sanity sake, i shd still stop come 6mths. would have met the WHO guideline liao, hee.

bbmay - i heard fr a fren dat BM mixed with cereal will always be watery becoz of the composition of BM. y dun you use FM instead, then the cereal will be a smoother consistency and easier to feed. tink your boy haven't master eating from spoon yet so he's frustrated. it takes quite a bit of patience to get them to learn the new skill.

Re: Bf

Actually there is no right or wrong, just do what you deem is the most comfortable for yourself and babies.
FM kids are growing up as fine as BM kids.. so long as they are feeding sufficiently, and growing happily, I dun think we as mummies need to be too stress over fm or bm. That is my personal view.

For me, I hope to cont bf as long as I am able to, coz I find it very convenient.. can go out without bringing anything. This convenience was not meant for me during my #1 coz she just refused to latch on. I stopped after she turned 7 mths, and I know I have given her the best that I could. She is growing up very well with FM after that..

Ladies so just do what you deem is the best!! Mummies are the greatest no matter if you ever bf or not.. (my mum never bfed all of us but I still think she is the greatest woman in this earth).. with your love and care towards your kids, they cant be bothered if they are ever on BM or not hehehe

juz back from lunch @ home with hubby -- yuan2 is in happy mood today, keep smiling n laughing out loud
by right, she is suppose to be taking her nap -- maybe she knows mummy is coming home
hubby said she is coughing and can hear the phelgm sound...

bbmay, yuan2 is still active, drinking n sleeping as normal... we give her the medicine twice instead of thrice a day... will reduce/ stop when her condition improves...

shers, u hv been great to total BF shermay for so long! my supply is low -- can only provide 50%... will stop at 6mth too.. then dun hv to find place/rush home to pump at next movie date with hubby :p

Hi Shers,
No need to feel sad abt not bfging anymore. Right now, i am keeping up with my supply becos i wanna provide for my #1. Felt guilty cos i decided to cut my supply when i wanted to conceive #2. So its pay back time. Maybe, by 6 months, i will just cut my supply so that its just nice for my #2. Cos i simply love the convenience of latching her anywhere and anytime. No need to bring so much barangs like wat RC_cola mentioned. Now, my supply is so high that i need to bring my pump out if i go out for the whole day. But i should say that i am quite blessed. Just need to pump max 4 times a day, 15-20 min max each time. Hoping to cut to 3 pumps a day soon. Very tiring.

Once you start on FM, you would also love the convenience cos you do not need to pump anymore. That happened to me for my #1.

Taka is having 15% storewide for card members from thur to sun. Dunno if it is worthed going.

thanks for all the support! later i'm going down to see gynae.. luckily i have been keeping store.. else i also dont know how to switch to FM so sudden.. and i'm glad that my supply can last Shermay at least she turns 6mths.. anyway she is turning 6mth end of this mth.. thats pretty soon also..

shers, u r very wei da already ! can bf till shermay is 6mths old...my SIL keep nagging at me say why i dont bf jaeden...but my supply so low until totally stop...wat can i do right...many ppl say baby on bm will not fall sick easily or get fever during vaccine...but there is nothing much we can do..just enjoy the process. at least i have tried to bf till full month..hopefully next bb i can bf loh..

bbmay, tat time jaeden got cough my pd say better not give medication...then his cough get worse until he cant breathe properly when sleeping...so i bring him to my company GP..after take the cough syrup his cough stop less than a week...i regret not gg to see GP earlier...once his cough recover i can see him smiling in his sleep...i feel so happy in my heart. but now ifc got bb coughing away again...zzz

jaime, is ur place very near to farrer park mrt ? how long is the walking distance ? cos i can apply half day leave and join the gathering...will put my boy half day ifc as well and fetch him to ur place..but i no bring stroller..so i worry need to carry him and walk so far..

Shers: Think we'll all feel sad when stop bf-ing but do what u think is best (and happiest) for you and your kids. U need a break from your breasts sometimes.. I also thinking when I wanna stop bf-ing esp. now pump at work very mafun. I'll sms u tonight on the arrangemt to get the stuffs from you.

adv_sports: Glad to hear that yuan2 is better. that time my gal took about 2 weeks to recover. PD prescribed her medicine but she said those are very "weak" medicine, just to relieve the symptons to make her feel better, won't cure the flu and cough totally. Oh, PD told me if give FM, make it more dilute.. Try to make yuan2 comfortable ba.. That time my gal sick, she can only sleep on her tummy or else her nose will block.

Poohwei: my gal poos once a week lo! dunno where she keeps the poo..

babymay: U may wanna try using a smaller spoon? the spoon i use is super small so even with BM the cereal doesn't flow out even tho' my gal keeps sticking out her tongue.

Re: 19 Oct Gathering
1. Jaime
2. Gie + Hubby
3. adv sports
4. tiny_m (tentative, prob will attend with my hb)

as for me, i can provide 100% of the BM if though my supply is considered low to moderate, coz my boy doesnt take much milk also (which is also a problem) , so my freezer storage is not moving much since i started work. i plan to stop when my freezer storage runs low, and to introduce the missed feed with FM at that point in time.
till that day comes...

only a bf mum will understand the feelings...hubby of bf mum also cant understand n emphatise...to them "got formula mar"

on a happier note, for the gathering, maybe can let me know by this friday so that i can secure the function room...coz 19 Oct is two Mondays away only!!

jaime,
i agree with u.. only bf mums will understand this feeling.. especially how much we want to bf our babies..
my hb is ok with me bfg.. but within 1mth, i have countless of engorgement.. slpless nite, midnite rushing to hospital, calling in massage lady in the middle of the nite.. he says no point suffering.. i have been losing myself and abusing my breasts.. he says that Shermin can grow up healthy and good with FM.. y cant Shermay.. and i have been very busy with my 2 breasts until i cant go out happily..
with these, i have decided to give up..
i think yr hb might means this as well.. just that he puts it simply by saying 'got formula mar'

I strongly agree with Jaime. Although i have bfed for both my #1 and still bfging now, my hubby will always say: Aiyah, stop bfging loh..if it is so troublesome or painful (cos my right nipple is cracked, n have not recovered fully.) So hubby of an experienced bfging mummy also cannot understand.

Re:Bfging
Last weekend, my MIL complained abt why i am feeding my gal under a shawl. It is so hot! I was like..Hmmmm..so what? I bfed openly arh? The rooms are all on the second floor and i would need to climb up and down to bf me gal. Plus, i am already using the thinnest possible material for my shawl. Grr..If i am at home, i wont be bothered. At their place, i respect the presence of my BIL and FIL, so i m more discreet.

Anyway, if i ever need to stop bfging for #2, i would need to wean her off my Bs first. She is ADDICTED to my boobs!! Only latch on if i m at home. She will reject bottles.

poohwei,
i understand ur feeling. when i bf my gal under shawl, mil will say "no one ard, dun nid to hide" in a sarcastic tone. but ppl who hv been in dat house noe dat maid/BIL/SIL/kids walk in & out of the living room. did she mean my boobs r free for all to see??

juju, pooh wei, y ur mil like dat? she wanna c ur boobs ah?

shers, actually i considered stopping at 6 mths too (ailey nw abt 4mths +) bt sometimes i also think, since im sahm might as well bf.. then my stupid mil also said aiya, u everyday home so free might as well bf riteeeeeee.....

long time no chat! actually, i've been reading the posts here and there, but really no time to sit and join in. hope some of u still remember me :p

adv_sports,
wishing yuan2 a speedy recovery! anyways, remember i wanted to bring MA for swimming? that plan always kena jammed! she's now got a runny nose which she got from me. i had such a bad flu over the weekend, now slightly better but so worried MA will get cough too!

everyone @ home is sick except my hubby, my elder one is coughing again and back on her ventolin.
sighs, its never ending...now i haf to stay home till everyone recovers!

shers,
hey u did ur best. i really admire ur efforts, take my hat off to u! i cannot imagine the pain u went thru to come this far! shermay is one lucky babe!

i've been "fantasizing" bout stopping bfg too.i am a lazy mummy who hates to pump. but in order to have a life, i have to constantly maintain the pump sessions otherwise, SS will drop to just enough. this constant maintenance ( pumping, keeping track of expiration of milk, keeping SS up with soups, etc, cannot diet, cannot exercise) makes the bfg such a "chore", sorry to say this, but it felt like that now that i am feeding via bottles.

with my #1, she totally rejected bottles, so bfg was such a splendid experience. she weaned herself off @13 mths with no drama and i didn't have to take any pills to stop...it just dried up and she didn't want to latch anymore.

this time round, i have to constantly schedule @ least 2 pump sessions per day or SS will drop. not too bad since i am not working now, but i prefer to latch on, so basically end up SS also drop from time to time, dep on my laziness!thats why i admire all those mummies who can be so disciplined with pumping!

i hope i can last till MA reaches 13mths, just like with my elder one. but when i get back to work in jan 2010, i am really not sure how it will be like. hopefully can still bf.

<font color="0000ff">wah so fast have gathering.. Jaime .. u start the ball rolling liao...

Shers,, U done a great job liao.. at least u can tolerate till 6 months..
I never even breast feed.. Too lazy .. and milk supply not enough.. So i give fm so that my maid can wake up and feed for me.. So

All of you are a great Mummy

I stay in Yishun... anyone stay near..

For the gathering.. me and my maid (KIV)</font>

re: bb swim
cheekz, aiyoh, seems like ur plan always get jammed! Maybe you juz bring her for swim at ur pool
i bought a doraemon waverider -- can't wait to bring yuan2 for a dip and let her wear cute bikini :p

re: stop bfg
erhm, m wondering -- can i still latch on once a a day with no pump? now, i latch yuan2 at 6am, pump @ 2pm n 10pm (8 hour interval). after 6mth, should i slowly reduce to 1 latch n 1 pump and finally juz 1 latch? wat's the recommended way to reduce milk supply?

i enjoy latching in the morning -- when yuan2 still blur blur
if i can, would like to continue till no more milk...

cheekz, wat is ur yield for the 2 pump sess each? all along u pump twice a day?nw i can only managed 2-3 pump sess and i notice ss really does drop..

shers, ur freestyle cant help to clear ur boobs?

adv, i also tot of latching twice a day - once at nite once in morning without pump bt i scared i dry up. hahaha. i enjoy latching in the morn too so i dun nd to be totally awake. hahha.

Jamie

Haha my mil also said the same thing, since I am gonna be staying at home, just continue bf hahaha..
Using manual at home is fantastic, I can walk around and check around my kids whilst pumping at the same time hehe

I only pumped 3 times a day (8am, 11am, 4pm) after that I latch liao..

Juju
My boy hates to be hidden inside the shawl, so what I do is unhide him, and the shawl will cover the spot where his mouth is sucking onto the B..

jamie_nov,
there've been many days that i didn't even pump the whole day! my sessions are all over the place!

i usually pump early in mornings and @ nite after MA sleeps. during the early bfg days, i could yield 300ml per sessions in the mornings and nights. then i had enough to feed my #1 also.

now, its only 150ml per sessions in the mornings/ nights.

i also realised that MA will drink more from the bottle. if i keep latching her on, my SS will drop alot and she will put on less weight.

i'm thinking of latching her on morning and nights when i get back to work. ie she takes FM in the afternoon. by then she will be 9 mths, so if she takes more solids, perhaps it can work out... i also dunno how to resolve this...still "fantasizing"

hi everyone... I'm oso considering if i shd stop bf-ing my boys when they turn 6 months in 2 weeks' time. It's getting more challenging each day as I'm on the move- meetings and trainings. I always have to ask if the place I'm going has fridge to store my EBM. My recent retreat...the hotel's fridge not cold enuff..have to trouble the staff to help me store in their kitchen fridge...thk God they're helpful. They came to collect each time I pump...it was pretty funny though...when I called the reception, they recognised my voice and said,'milk collection..? we'll be there soon..'

I'm planning to feed my boys with frisocreme when they turn 6 mths..anyone tried b4?

Hallo Mummies,

Long time never log in liao ...

Until now I still got cough, flu n fever on n off
hope faster recover cos my gal dont want my Mil carry her.

LovJ,
I stay at Yishun also n SAHM

any of u need Nestle brown rice sample? I got alot ... Just pm me if u wanna try. Havent try my gal yet. Will start next week when she 5 month 2 weeks

wah Lily.. Cool

But i still not a SAHM now. But will be focus on my family business.. so will be more flexible in term of timing.. can snake out.. hahahaha

I try nestle on my baby.. but can't work out.. I let my baby eat heinz instead.. cause the nestle make him skin all red red.. so stopped and feed him heinz brand.