(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

Hi LovJ,
I stay at sembawang.

Any mummies express breast milk for baby without latching? how do you warm the EBM outside? Do you bring hot water and mug out or just ask hot water from restaurants? or which nursing rooms have hot water dispenser?

Hi jling.. I usually express without latching. My older twin can't latch...so might as well I express for both. Only when I have lumps, I get the younger one to latch. If at restaurant, you can ask for hot water...if not, you can bring your own water to warm the milk.

jling, alot of us express milk instead of latching =).. some malls hv hot water and even bottle warmer in the nursing rooms.. else u can bring ur flask or request frm the food courts or restaurants lor..

cheekz, can understand.. now dat my mom doesn't help out much with hailey, it's v hard for me to find time to pump and pump QUICK cuz hailey only naps 30mins! so i only hv 30mins to pump on a single pump. lol. i also notice she drinks lesser when latch. usually will doze off first. hahha.

rc cola, my mil said it in a rather sarcastic manner. as if like i v free at home all day..

Lily
U moved to Yishun? tot u were staying at AMK..

I think one of the days we should meet, so that we can share stories abt our countries haha..

Take care, try to take some vit C, it helps to build up your own immune system.
Sahm not easy, no one to hold the fort if you are sick.. i cant imagine next year, i should not be sick otherwise.. no one will be sending Meg to sch, no one feed Kea, no one do housework.. wah faintz!

Jamie
Haha.. my MIL knows i wont be free at home, so she said it very nicely.. :p haha

My MIL is very nice lady, tho sometimes she gets bad mood occassionally but she is nice :p

rc cola, i try to believe dat my MIL is nice la. hahaha. she always say things sarcastically which altho it's prob her "pattern' i find it very rude lor. some ppl sarcastic bt funny she's sarcastically n insensitive. hahahha.

pumping/latching,

My girl takes abt 3 tims 120ml of ebm when I am at work, I pump early in the morning & night at home & pump twice at work! She will latch whenever I'm home or out with her during the wkend. My yield each time range from 140ml to 240ml each time!

I dun cover when latch my girl at home, but will use sling or shawl when latch her outside! I find it a hassle to go search for empty meeting rooms or nursing rooms, so I just pump discretely in my open work desk using shawl to cover! Colleague even commented that the sound of the pump sounds like printer!

jamie nov,
my mil ever tried to peep over my shoulder when i was bfg my gal in my room during confinement.
she can even ask hubby my nipple long or short. say long easy to bf, got more milk!!!

jamie nov/ rc,
ur mil say like dat still ok la... if i'm sahm, i also wanna bf until dry up!

rc,
my prob is my gal like to pull away a few times while sucking, so if jus cover her mouth, very easy to kena exposure! haha!

I am new to this thread. Allow me to join in once in a while cos I dont have time to come in daily. This topic on bfg is very close to my heart. I wish I could bf exclusively for 6 mths too but the reality is I am already in my 4th tin of formula.

I can only express half of what baby needs. I used to be able to 'save' on bm by latching baby on. But it's a painful experience each time. Recently baby has been pulling away and crying at the breast. Anyone has this experience before? Is it because there isnt enuf bm?

Baby doesnt cry when I unlatch her but can drink up to 80ml of FM if I supplement her after the latch. So I get worried if she is having enuf if I only latch on.

Those who are bfg, how do you know your baby has had enuf? My baby used to unlatch herself but now because she keeps pulling away, I am not sure what that means. How long do your babies latch on nowadays? My baby is 4.5 months now.

glenlyn_lyn ,,

my bag = transformer lo..haha..

1st x turn yellow (coz i keep about 5yrs never use tis bag..lol) ,i bring to colour wash at china sq (tis shop do alot of brands bag) to recolour to white n pay $120..

2nd x (1yr later) ,turn off white,bring again colour wash to recolour white pay $120..

3rd x ( after 2ndx recolour about 3 mth later again turn half yellow),then giv up hope go change black n pay $200..hubb say i crazy..lol

after change to black look abit funny lo.. later i free i post FB..u go see see bah..tat's y i don like tis brand bag..but hor.. now they got pink colour
look so sweet leh..haha..

adv_sports & poohwei.. hope ur precious recover soon..

Sallen, they charge u only $120 for colour wash ah? but isit gd? the other shop at far east charge me abt $200. Siglap also hav, heard more ex.

Haiz..Just brought my gal to see GP again. She bite so hard at her lips till some vessels in the lower lips broke. Now,her lower lip is purple in colour. GP was also surprised that she did not feel any pain. High pain tolerance like mummy!! It will take 1-2 weeks for the purple colour to go off. In the mean time, must take medication to prevent inflammation.

Anyway, just checked with my GP. Apparently, ventolin inhaler is more mild as compared to the ventolin syrup that they give for cough. Plus it is easier to administer n more effective. So i had made the right choice to use the ventolin inhaler for my gal's cough. Her cough has improved a lot. Thanks for all the well wishes.

Hi Lush,
My gal tends to "cry" at my breast nowadays. So i have inculcated a bad habit: Rock n latch her at the same time. When i do that, she will just latch on quietly, sometimes even smiling at me.But usually, she needs me to rock cos she is very tired liaoz. So need me to rock her to sleep, using my boobs as the pacifier.

How long does she feed then? Baby now starts pulling away after 10 min. Just 2 weeks ago, she was feeding up to 50 min! But her norm was 30 min before all this pulling away happened.

poohwei,
glad to hear that ur girl recovering well..

re bfg:
like what most of u said, happy mummy & happy bb is the topmost priority. and many of us grow up well w/o BM also. so just goes wi ur heart and believe it's the best it will be the best.. actually beside BFing, i think more importantly it's the value that us as mummies instill in our kids.. how we teach and handle them will mould them into ppl wi different characteristic and behaviours.. so i always remind myself to work hard on this aspect! (coz im a rather short-tempered mummy :p)

for my #1, i fully expressing BM till he 1 yr old (when i knew that i preggie wi #2).. he just refused to latch on and i gave in too early.. so for my 2nd boy, i try to latch on more and hope to continue to BF till he 1 yr old or more.. coz i dun trust the milk powder here in China, and bringing so many tins of FM from spore is simply too cumbersome! and actually i enjoy the feeling of bb latching on..

jamie,
haa! ur MIL abit like mine.. sometimes she will say those funny remarks loh.. but after sometimes i notice this is her "pattern" la, she may not have ill intention just that she always dun say things in a nice manner.. so i bochap her remarks most of the time.. hee :p

2 days ago when i was expressing while watching TV, i found that my right nipple unusually painful so i looked down at my funnel, and guess what i saw?! BLOOD! i had pumped abt 20ml of blood! showed hubby this bloody sight and he got a great shock! my right nipple cracked and till now it still hurts abit while i expressing..had applied Lansinoh nipple cream, hope it recovers soon..

mummies using Medela soft breastshield:
does urs "thin-off" and peel? mine yes. and i had changed twice already.. wonder what's wrong wi that..

dodo,
oh no, sounds so painful!!!
which pump u using? i'm using the medela PISA.

sounds likes u have v tender skin, i am using the normal breast shield, so far ok...the only mutilation i get from nipples are courtesy of my 2 girls when they were newborns...now mine toughen up. but i am still traumatised by the memory of the sore/crack nipples...

hope urs heal soon!

dodo,
yikes! scary leh... hope u recover soon!
sometimes i scared to use my medela mini electric bcos of this. sometimes it pumps until very dry feeling, like almost skin gonna tear!

Hi dodo
I can fully understand what u mean. u did not pump out 20ml of blood. Its 20 ml of milk mixed with some blood. To prevent the wound from worsening, start off with the lowest suction n slowly increase it to maybe 60% (For PISA). Apply nipple cream at the wound b4 pumping. Acts as lubricant i think. Do not pump more than 20 min at one go. Try to air ur nipple. Keep the area as dry as possible. I resorted to using Medela breastpad cos they are more "airy". Not like pigeon types which has plastic backings. Also, avoid latching on the cracked side if possible.

My cracked nipple has been there for a month liao. Not bleeding anymore, but healing very slowly cos pumping everyday.

My funnel also peels! No choice! no need to change unless the funnel cracks. Lifespan of softfit is approximately 6-8 months if u use it abt 4 times a day?

hi Joyce,
cross our fingers!

Shers,
You are a great mum! I know is hard for you to make the decision. I can feel for you...I salute you!

Nowadays, time is fully occupy by work and baby...
I'm still TBF my girl. Only pump once at work, which needs 300ml for my girl at IFC use. She drinks quite little at IFC, but when I pick her, she'll starts latch-on almost every hour!
IFC teachers told me is normal for BF baby.
My superior is ok for me to take some time for expressing milk, as long as I manage my work, then is fine for him.

My girl is currently at my workplace's IFC. Learning Vision @ work. The H1N1 thing is over, so, I everyday Happily send my girl there, play with her, then only go to work.
after that Pia my work.
after lunch time then go expressing milk. I'm lucky, as my workplace has proper room and pumps for BF mum to express milk. I always use the Medela Symphony, if is occupy then only i use Medela Lactina.

After work, I'll be fully latch-on.
Still haven't decide to BF until when...

Shers - I think you are a great mum already!

adv_sports - hope yuan2 is getting better ya!

jling - I also total express out without latch since I discharged from hospital after delivery..

so far I've been pumping 6times per day.. 3 times at work and 3 times at home.. haha.. think pumping milk like my hobby LOLzz.. my office also has BF room, fridge and sterlizer.. so its quite convenient too..

Be careful those who have cracked nipples. Remember to apply nipple cream. I had it cos I think I didnt moisturise and air dry enuf after each pump and then I kana mastitis. It was a most painful experience in my life. Was so tempted to give up bfg after that.

The worst part was the supply greatly reduced after that and took me one month to return to the original amount.

Hi Dodo... Sounds scary!
must be quite hurting...
Remember to apply the nipple cream often...
Hope u recover soon...

When I observe my funnel peels, then I'll try to get a new one and change.

your HT orders are ready for collection. hv sent you an email with my hp no. pl confirm your collection date and time with me soon. so far, hv confirmed with sk, who will be collecting for jamie and andrea. vera aka cheesecake will collect it herself. tink adv sports is collecting for joyce. tks.

juz dropped yuan2 @ IFC -- hope she will be ok... last nite, her body temp went up to 38.3degC --gave us a scare! gave her one dose of paracetamol and reduce to 37.3degC after 30min *phew* maybe her body temp went up after a full feed -- will try to measure before n after a feed next time... this morning, her temp is 36.9degC...

re: HT food collection
feb_mum, thanks for the arrangement... will c u on sat

vera, noted

joyce, will drop the bag @ ur mum's place on sunday when we go marketing.

Jamie, Juju

I think MIL/PIL issue is never ending one.. of course sometimes I get irritated by what she said, like what u all said, I just take it that it is her pattern, dun take into heart if she said sth which I dun like to listen.. I think that’s y our relationship is so far so good.. but I deeply appreciate both my fil and mil’s effort to come and take care of my kids, if not I wont have the peace of mind to come to work..

Haha.. my boy also like to latch and unlatch, just be more careful lor hahaha so that I wont get myself exposed..

Dodo
20ml of blood sounds scary.. I think electric pump sometimes suck too hard, tts y bleed..

Re: 19 Oct Gathering
1. Jaime
2. Gie + Hubby
3. adv sports
4. tiny_m (tentative, prob will attend with my hb)
5. lovJ + maid (kiv)

pls add on if i have miss out ur posting. if got min 10 mummies, i will organise.

i will book the function room this sat.

per adv sport's recommendation, i will prob get lexin mini buffet is price at SGD 12 per pax for mini buffet between 10-19 person.

rc,
aiyah... jus listen & keep quiet lor. nothing much we can do unless we wan to clash wif them.

now, my gal dun seem to be very focused during latching unless she's very hungry. sianz...

thanks for all the heartwarming supports! yesterday went to the gynae.. my gynae is super pro-bfg de.. before i gave birth, kept asking me to bf for at least 6mths.. blah blah.. when he saw me (my breasts), he said better give up.. he gave me medicine to ease my soreness, engorgement and pus.. then he says anytime i want to stop bfg, just take another type of medicine.. within 2 days, supply will drop. this medicine is not harmful.. just make the supply drop alot! usually within 3-4days will stop completely..

i havent take the medicine yet.. i hope i can drag again.. whahhaa.. but i tell my hb and myself that i will definitely stop end of this mth..

just a word of caution to mummies, if u have a slight lump at yr breasts esp near the armpit area, please clear it! dont think its small matter just because the lump is small and doesnt cause u any trouble.. thinking back, i have been ignoring the small lump at my left breast that cause the engorgement!

shers,
your engorgement quite serious! got pus.. omg...
i pump 2 times a day.. n want to stop by end this mth.. tried to pump >12hr.. the Bs will b v full w veins! cannot take it...you really "wei da" mummy leh to gv the best to your bb even though u r suffering..

ling - in betw the 2 pumps, you can pump out 30-40ml juz to ease the fullness. this will help to cut the supply too so dat you dun feel so uncomfy.

shers - despite all the discomfort, not esay to take the step to stop rite? afterall, we go thru so much to est the milk ss. feel so sayang to juz stop. but, once you make decision, dun look back liao. you are a great mum!

me oso feeling so tired since gg bk to work. hv to wake up at 5am every day to pump and can't sleep early coz got to pump. every day oso sleep so little and rebecca is so fond of waking up at 4am to do her flipping. had given away most of my frozen bm to my sis so can't stop now. tink i hv enuff stock to last 1wk only. sigh.

shers,
kudos to u! now dat u mention, i recall dat when i had engorgement earlier on, it was the lumps near the armpit dat were very bad & the hardest to clear! thx for the reminder!

ling,
how much is ur yield when u pump 2 times a day?
for me, i can dun pump the whole day if need be. jus feel very full lor, nothing else le...

feb mum,
huh? u mean can pump abit to ease the fullness will cut supply also? i thought once pump will stimulate supply so i "ren" the pain.. with this possible to pump only once (in between with "short" pump to ease) to stop it??

juju,
2 times i can yield about 500-600ml.. the full n the Bs v hard leh.. you can tahan ar?

ling - yes, can, dat's wat i did previously. very drastic to juz reduce no of pumps. you need to reduce the supply first. wat i did previously is, at the usual pump timings, i pump out only half the yield. then after a few days, i can reduce no of pump. then, pump out less than usual yield. milk ss will reduce and stop thereafter.

I really salute those mummies who bf babies thru full expressing! I have no patience with the pump at all, think if my baby dun latch, i would have given up long ago!

wanna check with working mummies, how often do u pump and how much can u pump each time? those who pump long intervals, will supply decrease?

i'm pumping 3-4hrly at work now and my supply seems to be decreasing! last week (first week of work) i can pump 120-140ml per session (my gal drinks 3 x 100ml when I'm at work, sometimes supplement with FM if she needs an extra feed cos she dun take FEBM) but this week I'm getting barely 100ml! I'm very paisei that i'm away from my desk pumping so often but i cant pump a lot of milk even after a long time. How ah? BB still latches when i'm home.

vera: Wow! ur company so good! altho' my boss is very supportive of my expressing at work, i dun have proper place to pump. i usually pump at a storeroom (with aircon) but at least it's quite clean. I dunno how if I have to go out for meetings or trainings!

Re: 19 Oct Gathering
1. Jaime
2. Gie + Hubby
3. adv sports
4. tiny_m + hubby
5. lovJ + maid (kiv)
If hit 10people hor, I'm thinking of asking milk powder companies or diaper companies to sponsor some milk or diapers sample. What u mummies think? Cos i rem March mummies got Nestle and some diaper company to give samples at their gathering at 6 months. I'm a yao gui mum, going around asking for samples cos my girl drinks FM once in a while and very bo hua i go buy FM and by the end of one month gotta throw the whole tin away (usually she only finish one-quarter of a big tin, so waste $$). Anyone interested? I can volunteer to ask the milk powder or diapers companies (thinking of Similac and Huggies)..

tiny m - i pump 3x a day, once in morn when i wake up, once in the afternoon at work and once before gg to sleep. abt 8-9 hr interval betw pumps. i dun latch. yield will vary slightly at each session but whole day yield on average around 800ml-900ml. sometimes a bit more, depending on no of letdown i get at each session. enuff for my gal's feeds for whole day.

cheekz, juju, poohwei, sharon & rc cola,

thanks for the concerns & advice!
ya, it's definately painful.. actually i thought my nipples already toughen up after all the expressing from my #1 times, but still got the cracked nipple.. sigh
it doesn't affect my milk supply, just painful when express.. hope it recover soon! but i still love my Medela PISA v much la, compared to my Avent ISIS Uno, it gave me so much trouble last time round!

shers,
thanks for the reminder!

tiny_m,
i want!!! can request for enfagrow also?

but i got lobang on cheap enfagrow la.. just that when comes to free, i also want.. hahha..

feb_mum,
ya.. when talk abt stopping, its hard la.. hahha.. now my lumps r cleared, i want to continue bfg again.. hahah.. very xin tong coz my supply is alot to me.. each 3hrs pump, i can yield 240-260ml already.. everyday, i pump ard 5times and 2-3 latches.. so u see, i can yield more than 1L.. if my supply is super little, i will give up..

jaime,
what time is the gathering? very tempted to join in le..

i prefer to organise on weekday coz weekend most mummies spend time with family, and that week is the only week i am not working..other than that day..i got no time to organise liao.

and i realise that monday for some is a public holiday to replace deepavali. so mummies may be free. hope mummies can confirm soon so that myself and tiny m can start organising

(tiny m, good idea. i also want samples coz i haven open any formula as yet. huggies good coz got swim diapers sample)

about pumping, my boy drink ebm during the day. latch once at 3am only coz day intake is low so no choice or also need to clear.
5 pumps in the day - 8am, 1pm, 6pm, 11pm and 3am (remaining side after latch) - can yield 150-180 ml per pump except 3am (coz latch oredi so less)

and do note first week of work..supply may be low . it happen to me also.
and my boy also dont like FEBM, so i do like 20% FEBM and 80% EBM to mask the fishy smell.

I really admire how u gals managed to pump so often at work. I am only pumping once at my work place for 20 min and i feel that its takes up a lot of time liaoz. For me, since it is the "off-peak" season, i am more free n less stress. So perhaps, that explains why my ss is almost the same.

Since my supply is super high, i always hand express after 15 min of pumping to ensure that all the lumps are cleared. Usually, i can still yield 30-40ml via hand expressing.

Hi Feb_mum,
My friend will help me to collect the stuff, so she will be smsing u soon. Thanks. Wow, you are also very "wei da!!" Donated all ur milk to ur sister. Why didn't u give them to ur #1? She dun like?

poohwei - ok, will wait for your fren to contact me. not 'wei da' la, juz dat i dun hv a lot of freezer space and since she asked, a bit hard to say no too. she only bf for 2mths then stop liao coz find it troublesome. sigh. anyway, my #1 doesn't take bm, even when i mix with her fm, she can tell the diff and drink until very chiam, haha.