(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

MikoJade,
I didnt use the sterilising tablets, but I think the travller steriliser seem good
Worth a try ..

well said AK, i also have the same problem.

but i cant force him ow he puke and lagi waste!! so i let let him be when he start playing with the bottle

Ibite,
I realised I tend to buy alot for my #1, now with #2 I think I spend less on toys liao cos all are passed down from his jiejie

Shers,
Shermay looks so chubby if I do a comparison with Shermin
Chubby babe !

Ling,

I will put the un-finished milk back to the fridge. I have been doing this for a while liao. So far everything ok leh. Nothing happened.

RE: sucking thumb
Shermay has been sucking her thumb whenever she wants to nap/slp. Any way to stop her from doing her? i dont wish this to become a habit and i dont wish to introduce pacificer to her.

shers, when i give jaeden the pacifier, he will grab the pacifier with one hand and the other hand he will push in his thumb..hahaha

Shers

Its okay, they need to self-soothe. I dun mind my boy sucking thumb, no pacifier for him so far
I also bought only educational toys for my kids and nothing to hang on their stroller haha..
Another educational toy for kids is the stacking blocks and puzzles.. I think I bought the least toys amongst mummy keke..
Can start intro puzzle when they are about 1 yo or 18 mths.. very good training for their logic sense, hand and eye coordination, as well as training them to think.. happy to say my girl manages to fix her 16 pcs puzzles at 22 mths

Bean
We have been doing the same thing (#1 and #2), so far nothing happens.. I think just put directly to fridge once bb refused to drink, dun put in room temp for too long..

Shers
Shermay is chubbier than jie jie.. super cute!!!

Re: frog lily
This is cute, how much is it? Haha.. I like frog, I was once nicknamed as frog in my highsch haha.. dunno whats the reason behind, my frens just called me frog hahahhaha.. until now hubby likes to tease me as frog keke..

cola,
is it really ok? my mum kept saying that next time its v hard to kick away this habit.. worse than giving pacifier.

oh yes.. Shermay is much chubbier than Shermin.. Shermin was a difficult baby while Shermay is a breeze to me.. whahaha..

Shers,
I have introduced pacifier
For me, Ash is a difficult bb while Chloe is the easier one. Keke !!

I thought once we have heat up the BM, we cannot put back to the fridge. What I did was, the unconsume milk I put it in the Avent warmer

rc_cola,
they say at taka got sale now. Hope tmcan pop there after my gal injection. Wanna find exersaucer n walker for Rachel. Also wanna buy frog "lily" hehehe ....

i have engorgement on my left B.. extreme left.. is there any way to clear fast?? super super painful now.. cant express out!!

ling,

I think its okie lah. Cuz usually when my girl cannot finish her usual milk, she will cry after a while (like less than 2 hours). When she cry then I just feed her the remainder. But of course if its like 4-5 hours later, then I will throw it away lah.

So I just put back in the fridge immediately like what rc cola did.

Shers,

Claire is also also sucking her thumb before sleep, especially at night. She refuses to suck pacificer! So I just let her suck her thumb.

Shers,
I'm having it too! And since I'm at work, cannot let bb suckle. So while pumping, I press the engorged part damn hard. Very painful, but lossen liao. Still got lump, but think gotta do a few times

Unused bm
My boy also cut down his feed, n pd eveb suggest I up his feed at this stage. So end up easily throw away 50ml or so. Initially very xin tong, but I tell myself better to give more than not enough. I will bf as much frsh as I can. If not enough supply then intro formula

Pacifier/ suck thumb
My boy started sucking thumb as oppsed to putting whole hand in. If he self sooth, good lor. Every night when I put him to cot, he will cry. That's when I give him the pacifier. When he wuieten down, then I take it out n let him fall asleep.

Our babies are coming to 4 months or already 4 months right! Its such an amazing journey n if we look back at the pics, they have grown!

re milk feeds - bbs will go thru stages when they up their feeds or down their feeds. we juz got to adjust the volume accordingly. if they are hungry, they will ask for more or else, no pt forcing them to finish. they will juz fuss, spit out the milk etc if we force them. but very xin tong when it's BM. but i would not put unfinished BM back into the fridge, scare it will spoil. will juz sit it in warm water and if bb still doesn't want it after an hr, i will discard.

shers - you juz got to keep massaging the area. sometimes, might take a few pumps b4 it is entirely cleared. standing under the hot shower, putting a hot towel on the area will also help.

re thumb sucking - my #1 still sucks her thumb. though we intro the pacifier when she was a bb, she refused it once she discovered thumb sucking. we didn't stop her since it helps to soothe her and she will fall asleep on her own by sucking her thumb. a bit difficult to kick the habit and her thumb oso not very pretty fr the thumb sucking. but i'm not too worried abt it, afterall, you dun see any adults walking around sucking their thumb, so they will eventually kick the habit, haha.

my #2 is on the pacifier but the prob is i have to climb out of bed in the middle of the nite to put the pacifier back if she wakes up crying wanting it. she can't self-soothe unlike my #1 who thumb sucks.

comparing my two gals, i tink my #1 is far easier than my #2. #1 is very easy and sweet-natured. #2 is very fussy. well, shdn't compare them too much, afterall, every child is different and a gift from God.

feb mum & cola,
thanks for the reply on the contraceptive measures! feb mum, agree wi u that the "ring" method seems to be abortive in nature, and i heard some side-effects on this also, my gynae mentioned to me he ever delivered a baby who was conceived when his mum had the "ring" inside her uterus, coz the shape of the "ring" did not attach well to her mum's uterus and hence baby was conceived and borned with a mark on his face (the mark of the ring)... poor thing..

re milk feed and unused BM:
same as feb mum, i will not force them to bottoms up coz very likely they will vomit later on.. and i will also place the bottle of unfinished BM in the warmer for an hour, if times up i just threw away.. got once hubby thought bb was hungry so warmed up the BM but bb slept and woke up 2.5 hours later for milk, i poured away 180ml of BM! heartpain.. and hubby kena scolded by me.. haa..

feb mum, sometimes i cant help but comparing the 2 boys also.. my situation opposite as urs.. elder boy is quite a fussy boy and younger one is a very easy baby so far.. pray hard it stays this way.. hee.. very interesting to see both their different characteristics emerging, just love them so so so much la!

shers,
massage the blocked area REAL HARD with ur fingers! keep massaging it b4 and after pump, must be real hard that u feel the pain.. i had this when i expressed BM for my elder boy, the TMC lactation consultant used her 2 powerful fingers on that spot and it cleared, super painful!!!!!!! but u will be v relieved after which.. jia you!

re: force feeding
i heard cannot force feed, else bb got bottle phobia, lagi worse.

gie,
bo bian... try to lun bah... hugz

Unfinish ebm - leave balance in warmer, throw after 4 hours! ↲
Engorgement - use almost hot towel and massage on that area!

feb mum - i like your take on thumb sucking. yes, i have never seen an adult walking around sucking his thumb. *thumb up*

thanks for concern.
yesterday nite i called my lactation consultant (my massage lady) to clear for me.. i developed pus at nipples *OUCH*.. after 1.5hrs of massage, hot stone, blah blah.. didnt clear.. when i was able to leave for hospital, my massage lady tried again.. and luckily out came the milk!!! all cleared!!!
i nearly died when she did the massage for me.. was crying and screaming non stop.. my mum asked me to stop bfg after this.. said no point suffering.. 4 mths is good enough already.. but i think i will still carry on la.. because i think i have gone this far to bf and i must try to bf for at least 6mths.. maybe after that, then consider..
anyway lumps all cleared!! so today have to pump more than 2 times in office to make sure the flow is there.. so mummies, dont pump only when u feel full or worse, engorgement!! try to pump every 4 hrs.. this is what my massage lady advised...
also, take note of yr nipples in case there is signs of pus.. because of 1 pus, my areola has blockage of milk that unable me to express out despite massage, hot towel, hot water in bottle (to roll), cold cabbage, pressing.. all method i have tried..
my massage lady even commented that i was lucky because out of 10 mums who have this problem, only 1 can be saved.. most will end up in hospital scanning, using needle to prick out the pus and medicine to stop bfg..
what an experience!!

Ju,

Yeah lor... But MIL feels that I just let her be when she dun want to drink is spoiling her! Arghhh...I got a feeling now my gal got phobia of MIL coz she cries and fuss when she carries her but when I carry over ok le...

RE: unfinished bm
usually i will pass the unfinished bm to Shermin.. usually she will take it and drink because i always tell her 'Shermay cannot finish, u can help her to finish? dont waste mummy's milk ok?'
unless Shermay rejects milk, then i will put back in the thermal cup and use it within 1hr.

Joyce,
unfinished bm can keep for 4hrs??!!! i thought last time u told me only can keep 1hr!!???

Shers

Glad that your engorgement cleared.. used to have that during bfg days for Meg coz i was exclusively pumping then..
That's also the reason i stop bf after bfg her for abt 7 mths.. every mth i had the blocked duct prob.. not to discourage u tho, but i think since u have gone tis far, just hang on for few more months k.. jia yio!!

Hubby used to help me to massage and after cleared can c the fountain milk spurting out..

Re: thumb sucking
Same sentiment as feb mum.. they will outgrow it sooner or later.. and thru enough now my girl doesnt suck her thumb any more, tho occassionally during her sleep, she will put her thumb back and suck hehehe..

Re: unused ebm..
For my boy last bottle feed (about 6pm), sometimes he wont finish the milk coz he sees that i am home, we will keep in fridge and re-heat until Meg's last feed at 9pm.. she will finish all off.. My girl now auto take out bm from fridge and ask me to heat up for her last feed hehe..

iBite
Yeah, if bb cant finish, dun force feed, give him some interval time (ie 20mins) and re-feed again later.. if really dun want, then bb is still full..
MIL issues are never ending one.. oops.. not saying anything about my mil coz she is very nice already after hearing what all of you have mentioned here..

Lily
If you see the "lily" frog, can let me know how much.. too exp i wouldnt buy or it will end up as white elephant in the toy trays..

rc_cola,

Let her rest and re feed again is not spoling her rite? How would a young baby knows? When she is older then discipline her then she will understand!

ak,
cola,
thanks for your advise yesterday! i think this will happen to working mums who r pumping in office.. she will only latch for her last feeding at nite and once in the morning.. i'm trying to let Shermay latch again since last week.. at least when i'm back from work.. later going to pump 3 times in office for this week.. to make sure that the engorgement doesnt come back..
btw, how u stop bfg last time? auto no milk or take med to stop? during Shermin's time, my supply just stopped..
i think i will just continue to bfg for as long as i can even i have engorgement every mth.. whahhaa..
my massage lady also cannot tahan me.. a mummy of 2 was crying and screaming for 1.5hrs.. whahhaa..

piggypig,
my neh neh isnt wei da.. whahahhaa.. slightly bigger than b4 only.. whahhaa..
every mummies r wei da!!

bean,
u using medela?? my hb says he wants to buy me medela since i so ke lian.. whahhaa.. he says like that i can pump faster and more frequently.. can tell me abt yr feedback since u have used avent manual and medela

Hi Shers,
I was pumping exclusively for my #1 fo 11 months previously too. Had blocked duct issues for the 1st 6 months! Always kena high fever of 40 degree and my mum will tell me...aiyah, just give up lah.

Now that i m latching n pumping, i enjoy bfging more. If i just pump exclusively, it feels more like a DUTY. If i latch as well, i feel that it is a bonding time..so i dun feel so sad and find bfging a time consuming task. I love to see Xuan smile at me when she latches on. Its such a heart-warming sight.

Jia you!! Now, i just pump out 4 times a day although it means that my supply will remain that high. I am simply too afraid of blocked ducts n engorgement. Now, at the slightest sign that block duct is gonna happen, i will pump until very dry and make my gal latch. Then i will go to the bathroom n hand express again. (Messy thing to do cos you need to massage n press! Dun do it in the room cos you will have difficulties cleaning up the place.)

Btw, i ordered the swing liaoz! MIL gave the approval. She was so funny, asked me if i am getting a pool for the kiddos since i told her that it is a big item. Now, we have to think whether we want to place it indoor or outdoor.

shers - i've the avent single electric pump. i'm not using it anymore. do you want the motor? it can go with your avent manual pump. sms me if you want it. you can collect it at my place tonight.

Hi Shers,
If your milk supply is high i.e: More than 300ml (per combined session), it is definitely more worthed it to get the medela ones. Get the freestyle one from overseas spree (no local warranty). Cost only $500? Or taka is selling at $799 (with warranty). For u, i recommend freestyle cos u are always on the move. Freestyle is VERY portable. When i showed my colleague my freestyle, she regretted buying her PISA. Too bad, they did npt have freestyle 2 years ago. If not, i would not be owning 2 pumps.

I personally find that avent manual is suitable for pple who are pumping ard 200ml per session. I tried it once. While it is able to empty the breast better and you see more "sprays", it is more time consuming. For medela ones, it is best that u massage and "press" the Bs at the same time. Towards the end, you need to try to hand express with the pump still on.

I have Avent BPA Free bottles for sale at $24 per set, promotion for my BP this round - I remember Shers and Sarah were keen on this and they're in this month's forum right?

Let me know if you're still keen.

ak,
thanks! i'm thinking of getting medela because i have heard good feedback.

poohwei,
okokok.. there is a spree going on for freestyle.. with nett price is S$485. i'm getting that..
ya.. morning i can yield 500ml for both Bs and every session abt 350ml during the rest of the day.. just that i hope it will reach me b4 24th sept.. coz i'm going bangkok end of sept.. thanks!!

Shers

Not to worry, just sharing our experience with each other..
I heard ppl said medela pump is quite painful, dunno if its true, I have not used before.

Previously I stopped the milk productions by pumping less.. ie usually pump 4 times a day, dropped to 3 times, after 3 days dropped to two times, after another 3 days, dropped to 1 pump.. and thats it.. tho I can stil squeeze out milk every now and then after that :p

Poohwei
Ya I agree exclusive pumping make us feel like a duty! Not enjoyable at all.. I hope my bb doesnt self wean this time so that I could bf him as long as I could..

Have been doing pressing while pumping thingy for so long..

shers,
Unfinished EBM
I dun remember mentioning that can last only 1hr leh..(perhaps other mums), but if no warmer, I think cannot stay so long.. 'cos for my girl, mil will try after 30mins or 1hr.. usually she will finish.

Stop Expressing:
I stopped gradually, from 2 pumps to 1 pump in the office.. then no pump..
I think if sudden stop, it will be hard for our body to adjust!

Ibite

Ya.. let her rest and re-feed is definitely not spoiling her.. I think they are still at baby stage which we still cant discipline them yet. They dun understand anything, and they have just come to this world. What we can do is to train them to have a routine, thats it. It would be very good if they can drink all the milk, if they cant, its probably they are still full. Y make a big fuss rite? As long as we dont starve them, its okay..
Sometimes elderlies tend to think they are more experienced than us and insist on their way.. (my MIL is quite modern, she has this attitude that Its your kids anyway, so I will just follow your way Every parent wants the best for their baby so your way should be the best for your own baby)

good morning mummies!

m back at work after a 5-mth break! gonna spend my first day clearing tons of email... unable to access FB, lucky still can access this forum

gie, hang in there... u will soon get ur freedom!

jean, r u feeling better? hope ur vomit n diaherra has stopped... m having running nose from spring cleaning yesterday -- m sensitive to dust... wat a way to start work!

feb_mum, yup, hubby/me gotta put back the tutu when it drops at nite!

shers, ouch, sound so PAINFUL! glad the blocked ducts r cleared... jia you!

poohwei, m pumping ard 60-100ml per session -- hence still using avent manual pump... thot of getting an electric pump when i return to work but think my supply will drop further -- better dun waste $...

Adv
Welcome back to work!

Tis morning my girl told me sth Mummy can you please dun go to work? Let Ama go to work instead haiz.. I felt so sad to hear her saying that, told her when Ama goes home, mummy will stay at home with you whole day then she gave me a big hug + kiss

Any chance to increase our supply, mine has been stagnating for quite sometimes hahaha..
Now that bb wakes up less at nite, supply is adjusting by itself, morning yield is getting less as well..

yeah! i just ordered the medela freestlye.. hopefully will reach b4 i go to bangkok..

cola,
u want to try nursing tea?? the 1st and last time i tried it.. the result is scary for me.. yr Bs will feel full in less than 2hrs after u pump.. i bought 2 packs of different favour.. u want?? i'm going home tml, i can pass u some on thursday. i can meet u at CC to shop wor.. whahaha

<font color="ff0099">shers,
wah bangkok!! so fun!! i used to stay there when i was in my sec school days.. haha my dad is still working there..

got new shopping centres liao!!</font>

Good afternoon mommies!
My girl has been on formula and these 4 days, her poo has this greenish batch. Its as if u had ate vegetable and it came out from your poo. (ghee.. sorry if you're having lunch now)
Does anyone has the same experience?

Should I bring her to see the doc?

Visit us at http://dressuplittleone.blogspot.com

audrey,
ya.. i will go bangkok every yr to pray.. i wldnt do much shopping coz my hb needs to meet his biz partner.. so i think i will be lucky if i have half day for shopping..

adv-sports,
have fun for yr 1st day at work!!

Shers
Yes, would like to try nursing tea, didnt buy coz not sure if I will like it.. u wanna pass to me or u wanna sell me?

CC opens at 1.30.. that day I went early, not open yet.. btw the cc is referring to cheong choon? Thurs I will be on halfday ler, remember my hi5? Hehehe.. actually now I wanna take half day on wed also, but I have training session, see how first.. we can always meet since we are pretty near to each other rite?

U going Bangkok? So nice, bringing yr kids? Or with hubby only?

Kate
Not to worry so long as yr baby is fine and active..

Sorry to intrude on you like this. I'm from the Sept 08 thread. I'm relocating overseas soon and I have quite a few baby stuff especially BN bottles and shoes to let go cheap. Items are all in very good condition.

I do hope you can help me out by checking out my web album. Or sharing it with those you think may be interested.

If you are keen, do PM me or email me. I'm also open to giving further discounts if you are taking a few items.

Thanks for your help!

Enjoy your motherhood!

:D

http://picasaweb.google.com/shopzhere/MovingHomeSaleBabyStuffGoingCheap?authkey=Gv1sRgCOTfmZb__-HzLg#