(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

Pacifier:
I bot the NUK pacifier.. Tried for the 1st 2 time, she spit out..

now, mil patting her to sleep, she suckle the pacifier (3rd try)! tho, quite reluntant to give, but compare with fingers (which the bro is doing), pacifier is easler to quit in future!

hi dodo,
i love cakes from pine garden,
http://www.pgcake.com/
but their website not updated so if u live near AMK mebbe can check them out...their cakes are really yummy!

star,
its funny how i sometimes wish i had ur problem of baby drinking too much!
mine is 7 weeks, still drinking only 80ml! very upset that my SS is going down after trying so hard to increase it due to her lack of demand.

i also find the original PIS funnel small...sometimes the side to my nipples get red after pumping.

tinkles mum,
i'm using PIS too. where did u get the bigger funnel how much is it? let me know if it helps to express milk faster. somehow i feel the PIS doesn't really empty the breasts completely.

muffintop,
when i first started (baby was 5 days old), i'd pump in the mornings and i managed to get 50ml from both breasts. then i continuously try to pump after each feeds and drink more fish soup to boost supply.

after 1 week, i could pump about 200ml in the mornings and bout 150ml in the evenings or night time...but its very tiring. in the begining, i got my hubby to prepare the pump in the mornings. now my maid is doing it so i dont' have to worry bout the sterilising bit. i think it really helped to have someone else help to prepare the pump at diff times of the day.

re: baby poo
TBF mummies, do you notice if your baby poos more often if you eat more fruits and vegees?
my MIL keep asking me to bring baby see dr coz she's pooing after every feed. i thought this is normal for TBF babies. but wondering if its also because i am eating more vegee and fruits now.

May I know how much did you buy for the Medela PIS breastpump? I am currently using Ameda breast pump passed down from my sis and would like to get a new one, just in case the old one breaks down. It seems that the amount of milk yield is not much. Any good feedback for the Medela Breast Pump? I have called up the distributor and the price they provide is $708! Is it suppose to be so expensive?

Cheekz

it's very normal, my PD has reassured me.. he said can poo up to 12 times a day hahahaha! waste lots of diapers tho!

rc_cola,
wah can poo so many time? Until now my gal at the most poo only 3 times leh ... but let go gas many many times a day hahaha ...

thanks poohwei, audrey, cheekz n joyce. Guess I just have to try a morning pump. I find it easier to pump after latch cos the nipples will swell after pump. Hopefully my supply will increase

Medela pis
It comes w the soft funnel m size. To get the l size, can get from mums n babes . There is one at tampines one. Another reason to shop!

Buddy, that's the price I got too. There is a bulk purchase for medela freeystyle gg on now....

muffintop,
But Medela PIS is a 2-phase breastpump. I think freestyle is a single phase. Heard that suction is better for 2-phase breastpump. Dunno if want to invest in such an expensive one. I am on 100% EBM and hence, need a good breastpump. But also hesitate coz not sure if supply will increase. Afraid after buying, no more milk, then I will faint.

ling, i try using the cotton bud...but bb keep using his hands to push me away...then suddenly he sneeze and the nose shit fly out ! haha...

tinklesmum, at first i also thot i cant handle if CL left...but today is 4th day...i am getting use to it already...like SK, i also tend to my bb alone at home in am time...i wake up ard 9am for feed, then bathe bb at 10am, change and play with him a while then i put him on the rocker to sleep on his own..after that i take my breakkie and do some housework and laundry....in fact i feel better this way, cos not too stress...very happy and fun ! then the pm time, my mil comes back and i feel more stress...haha...

lily, my bb also let go gas many times a day...and the smell is the same like poo poo...i always got false alarm by him...

anyone can tell me the bb BCG is jab at where ? backside or arms ?

<font color="ff0099"> porky
my girl's bcg at the left arm haha i saw and i thought wat happen to her arm, whether insect bite her!

den yesterday i went for post natal checkup n my gynae say kkh inject on the left arm cos if backside, sometimes might "rot" cos all the sweat n stuff.. hahahaha.

u put jayden on rocker.. is it the blue blue one? or the hole hole one? i want to buy the fisherprice one... i got the pink hole hole one but she dun like hahaha</font>

block nose/dirt:
now I use cotton bud to remove the dirt.. if really too block, I remember the elder kids, hubby suck out the mucas using his mouth.. subsequently, we bot the Pigean mucas suction kit!

<font color="ff0099"> tinkles mum
i'm also alone with andrea most of the time.. morning mum goes out to market, afternoon come back awhile den go out to take care of my granny.. husband works from noon to nite time teaching ..

so i'm with andrea the whole day, 70% by myself.. its quite ok la, the worst that can happen is she will cry non stop and very loud. very used to it alrdy haha when she cry i will make the crying sound LOUDER den she will stare at me hahahaha.

carry her, feed her, and i always sing song to her and she cry louder maybe she thinks i suck hahaha.

but i always tell myself, once she's older, she won't just lie there n cry anymore.. she will walk, and when she talks, she won't be "easily" pacified already.. so i'm enjoying the times i have now when she's still a tiny weeny baby and cannot talk back hahahaha. jonas is so cute</font>

audrey,
i went for my post natal check up about 2 weeks ago leh
do emotional screening also ... they scared got PND.

Porky,
which rocker u use for jayden?

audrey,
me also most of the time spend together with rachel ... but i enjoyed that moment with her. Almost 6 weeks with her i know her pattern alreay. My hubby evening than go home ... Fisherprice rocker got pink colour.

<font color="ff0099"> lily
yesterday my checkup i do PAP smear and my gynae ask me to do pelvic exercise - squeeze ur backside muscles to tighten up the area.. she say because down there loose liao hahaha

she say if i don't do 80-100 squeezes a day, next time when i'm old my womb will DROP OUT HAHAHAHAHA.

i want to buy the fisherprice rocker either the $109 one or the $139 one from kiddy palace. got all blue, got blue n orange.

really got pink? i saw bright star brand, got pink but that one cannot use until toddler.. i think i buy fisherprice la. but dunno which one yet..

yah i also 6 weeks with andrea, i noe her pattern (tmr our girls will be 6 weeks cos same birthday haha)..

she will wake up den want milk, den want me to sayang her to slp ..

last nite she slp from 11pm to 6am.. 7 HOURS HAHAHAHA cos the WHOLE AFTERNOON she never slp.. so cute</font>

<font color="ff0099"> pre pregnancy shape
i ask my gynae when i will ever fit into my old levis jeans (size 24, now i'm size dunnnno wat)

she said 9 months to 1 yr later..................</font>

Lily: I'm not sure for certain. But I think my bb likes to be in the sling leh. Maybe like in the womb. Snug and close with the rocking motion when I walk. She will sleep after being in it for awhile when I go out.

Audrey: I'm even skinnier than my pre-pregnancy weight now. Think Sat my girl is 6 weeks. So I think it's different for individuals.

<font color="ff0099"> abby
wahhhh so lucky!!! my upper body is back to normal but my lower body.. THE HIPS..... still cannot pull up my pre pregnancy pants.... zzzzzz.. pull up until the thighs den cannot go up anymore haha. </font>

tinkles mum - i've been alone at home with my bb since confinement ended. it's definitely manageable. juz work round bb feeding schedule. my typical day goes like this: wake up btw 6-7am for 1st pump. shower #1 then bb. prep ingredients for lunch. breakfast after hb and #1 hv left hse. do hsework (laundry, mopping etc). cook lunch. eat lunch. 2nd pump. nap. shower bb around 4pm. i shower. 3rd pump. cook dinner. hb and #1 come hm. eat dinner. spend time with hb and #1. 4th pump. sleep.

abby - dat's fast! i took a longer time the first time round, tink around 5-6mths. but hips and chest expanded a little so hv to get new clothes. this time round, i'm shedding the weight faster coz most of the pregnancy wt actually went to bb. but still haven't fit into my old pants and jeans yet, usually the hip area takes a while to go back. hope i didnt expand too much this time round.

<font color="ff0099"> feb mum
yes its the hip area...i hope it wont be 1 yr before i wear back my old clothes.. i can only wear my maternity pants now..</font>

hey audrey,
me same as u

the worse part is my tummy, still looks 4 mths preggy!am now wearing clothes that can cover if not pple will think i am preggers!

i used to eat alot of roti prata with teh tarik for supper during pregnancy, now my tummy is like one big roti prata, so flabby!

abby,
u skinnier now? so envious :p

re: post-natal weight loss
how much weight have you lost since delivery? i lost 10kg...still have 8kg to go before getting back pre-preggy weight.

seems such a daunting goal. i've not shed anymore kg since i came back from hospital

<font color="ff0099"> cheekz
yah man....... the hips and the thighs yucks haha

my tummy still a little bit "loose" but i apply firming cream and i wear the girder (how to spell)..

i lost 10kg also.. another 5 to go..... zzz....</font>

cheekz, I'm like u. I lost 9 kg n stay stagnant. Another 8 to go to pre pregnancy wt, 10 kg for post wedding wt. Hee hee. I tbf, still no impact

Think my biggest concern is the expanded hip n tigh. n flabby tummy. Whenever I bind, it looks flat. Otherwise looks like 4 months preg!

Now fifth wk for me n I'm still staying at my mum's place. Heehee. But she very busy taking care pf other grandkids. Here is my schedule

Last feed around 9 - 10 pm, then 1-2 a,m 4-5am. usually at 6 a,m bb will be making a lot of stretching sound and hubby will carry him out to loving room to lie on the baby chair. My mum will take over to coax him or change diaper. Around 8-9, mum will bring him in for a feed. wake up n bath him around 10 plus, then feed him every 2-3 hrs interval. average 10 feeds in 24 hours. Before last feed, will wipe him and massage him. Poo little at every diaper change but usually have 2 major poo.
Thinking of moving back home but not confident in handling. Summo dunno how to cook.

Lily: I think the heat makes bbs sleepy too just like us adults. They perspire and become tired.

Bean: Hopefully our bbs sleep just like last night! :p

cheekz: i've lost my 12kg pregnancy weight. Lost another extra 3kg. So altogether 15kg. But must go tone up my tummy with exercise. Not yet, wait till 12 weeks after giving birth then can start.

because when I was pregnant I decided that I should not put on too much weight then needed. I ate healthily and did not gorge myself with food.

I haven't been wearing my binder for almost 2 weeks leh...Abit difficult with only myself taking care of bb.

re: binder/ girdle
does it really work?

this pregnancy i didnt put on as much weight as previous pregnancy. both pregnancies i didn't use binder/girdle (will take it off as soon as massage lady leaves the house, cant stand it coz very constrictive) but i find that i lost weight faster for first pregnancy eventho i put on less weight this time round.

perhaps it has to do with age? mebbe bigger weight gain + age will make the weight loss harder...sighs...

anyway, i got only 2 pregnancies to compare!

abby,
well done! wish i was as disciplined as you, then i won't be fretting so much now, haha...

even now, i can't zip my mouth, constantly eating coz v hungry from b-feeding!

muffintop,
eh, u now wk 5, i am wk 7, so u lost more weight than me :p
let's motivate each other to lose the fats and may our waist reappear soon

i have a super squishy muffintop lah!

audrey &amp; lily, i have the hole rocker and the FP rocker...but my bb like the FP one more...cos got vibration...haha...the hole one must use hand to push then can rock...but this net rocker no good leh...when push, got the eek eek sound...

audrey, is true leh..i also enjoy my bb as an infant now...when they grow older, wont be that fun anymore...like my nephew now 18mths...he will mess up the whole house !

btw, my bb name is Jaeden not Jayden...hehe

Sorry to interrupt. Anyone keen to purchase Avent IQ Bottle and baby food warmer ? I've a brand new one unused . Willing to sell 30% cheaper off the usual selling price in the market. Pls PM me if interested. Thanks.

audrey, ur gynae say 9mths to 1 yr...very long leh ! my gynae told me 3-4mths...i ask him got any pills to make me lose weight faster or not...haha...

i also start applying slimming/firming cream and wear the girdle since 1 week ago...now taking care of bb day and night alone...and sweat lots...hopefully can lose more weight...actually i not so bother abt the weight...but must lose the INCHES ! have also cut down on rice intake...

<font color="ff0099"> porky
haha okok jaeden. jayden is another mummy's boy's name hor haha oops!

we also got kayden and kaiden haha.

i got the hole hole rocker but yah lor must push myself haha. tiring leh. i also got the yao lan but manual one. den i rock n rock n rock, she slp. the moment i stop, she cry hahahaha so tiring!

i thinking of buying the FP one cos seems like alot of pple have it.. good rite? the vibration like machiam massage chair hahaha. we have osim, they have FP hahaha.

porky, got one with music one without rite? which one did u get? i want to get one soon but also dunno which one..

yah today i carry andrea whole day n keep looking at her face.. play with her tiny fingers n toes.. den she fall aslp in my arms, i just keep looking at her..

i see little girls around 18 months also, their hands not cute liao. too big, not tiny like baby haahahah!

yah la my gynae say about 1 yr.. crazzzzzzzzzzy. yesterday she talk to me about contraception, ask me which one i want

condom
spermicide
contraceptive pills

she say she will give me any of the above, ask me to choose haha. i told her can buy outside, so she just prescribe the pills meant for bfg mums hahaha.

she say "condom not very safe.. spermicide not bad leh"

den i was thinking.. hmmm.. how she know? HAHA. i also not intending to have another child so soon.

i just want to fit into my old pants haha

porky: which slimming cream r u using? im so upset to see my tummy! got bulge like dat! n so soft like flabby with extra skin! i only use the binder but when i take out n then i eat food or drink stuff the bulge come back! angry! anyone experience dat too?

gals, I had wanted to start on a firming cream for the tummy too but one of my friends told me may not be safe since I'm breastfeeding due to the ingredients inside....is it true?? anyone knows?

jamie, it's like that, cos our skin there is loose alrdy so needs firming up. Anyway, mine has been like dat after delivery of my # 1...esp after a buffet treat...gosh, i'll have a lil belly.

jamie, i hv tt prob too. so now im putting on the cloth for at least 15hrs and at night will ask my mum to tie for me. l've gone back to pre preggy weight. bt there's still abit of fleshy part at tummy area. gynae says situp will help. bt due to me had gone thru csec, i will need to be extra dilligent working out to see results.

audrey, haha, me also like u... upper body ok but lower body still big -- still wearing maternity pants
my gyane also asked me to do more pelvic floor exercises...

jamie, u using ida's wrapping cloth to bind tummy? me very lazy to wrap...

re: bring bb out
our bb car seat is behind front passenger seat.. i dun dare to drive bb out alone -- will be distracted if she starts crying while i m driving n i cannot see her... though my fren put the bb car seat in the front passenger seat...

re: home alone with bb
feb_mum, do u hv helper? who will look after the kids while u r preparing and cooking meals?

Good morning,

This morning brought Hui Xin for breakie at coffeeshop then to marketing @ NTUC! She has been sleeping quietly in her pram after I bf her after I had finish eating.

After paying at the counter, I parked her outside ntuc (wif mil) while I went back in to get something, some kpo aunties came by &amp; made stupid comments, they were lucky tt they didn't speak in front of me..else sure kenna scold by me!

Joyce > those kpo aunties made nasty remarks ah?

BB Sleeping >
My bb can sleep for 3-4 hours in the day or even 5 hours just wondering how can I make the day become night for her? Was told that their schedule will be tuned after 40days. Be bringing bb for a haircut.

Joyce> did you bring ya gal to salon or trim by yourself? Any recom on salon which can trim bb's hair in the Jur West area?

Morning mummies ...

Audrey,
so good andrea can sleep 7 hours ... FP can rock like massage chair? So nice if can get one

Last night was stressfull
rachel already sleepy but keep on open her eyes big big after that i go shower she cry so loud until no sound make all woke up. At last i spray her nose cos abit block n she cry more louder, i cuddle her give milk awhile she fall sleep

SK:
Not really nasty lah..they said, wow, just full mth come out liao!!

My sis trim for her.. u wanna ask her to do your u? pm me, she stay Jur West

Anyone want to buy Pampers Comfort S size(84)? My gal cant wear it liao. Still have one packet to let go.. selling at $12/-. PM me if u want. Thanks

Me already got my pre pregnancy weight again n my stomach only abit more to go ... back frm hospital my mum help me to wear binder (the one like cloth frm massage lady) every day n after my mum go back i wear girdle until now

Abby,
my gal also like put her in sling so fast she will fall sleep
thats y decide bought spring cot for her to sleep.

Lily > Some salons dun dare to trim/cut bb's hair cos too young for bb I think. Then try my luck to ask for price and where to cut.

Joyce > Can give me ya sis's contact? How much would she charge?