(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

poohwei, i try use the bb cotton bud to dig my bb nose shit cos i saw there is some dirts inside his nose...i thot better clear it before it gets block right ? but he struggle and use his hands to push my hands away...aiyo, so difficult to do leh...how u do it ah ?

ju, then no choice loh...think ur gal prefer ur nipple as her pacifier..hehe

Hi mums, congrats on the little one. If you need confinement advice, tips and tricks, visit http://sg.******************/first_one_year

re:burping
wow, i realise that my baby isn't the only one who is puking after feeds...it really perplexed me @ first coz i didn't really bother to burp my #1 and she never had this puking after feeds issue and my LC also ever said that b-fed babies don't really need need to burp. she only pukes after b-feed but not when taking ebm thru bottle, so i guess, it could be her latching...but even after burping, she would still vommit one hour later, so i think its her tummy not able to contain so much milk @ night (i think @ night she's drinking more coz boobs more engorged @ night)

rc_cola,
will take ur advice and hope she out grows this stage soon...

porky,
i've learnt to pick up her signals to puke and then i will carry her in such a way that her projectile is aimed towards the floor...but sometimes i miss...

joyce,grace,
thanks for the tips...i've been reading gina ford and wondering how to start her on a similar schedule coz my baby is very haywire now...sometimes feed every hr, sometimes 4 hrs till next feed...but i guess joyce is right, they're too young now...but gina ford makes it sound so easy!

juju,
what do u do when u need to pee? i went out alone with my #1 when she was much older and i put her in the stroller.so when i need to pee, i looked for handicap toilets so i can bring the stroller in with me...but w/o stroller, and using only sling, i dunno how i can manage...coz carry baby, carry bag, aiyo, how?

poohwei,
hope ur baby is feeling better now

hello Lily..
sry hor..so late then reply ur sms.
so do u enjoy ur shoppin today..
i also went to KP at north point,got 20%percent sale.. haha..
good lor ur bb stil wan suck ur nipple..haiz.. i giv bb my "raisin" to suck suck and..he turn his head away... GRRRR...

hoops&yoyo ..
i also got grey n white hair..heehee..althought i only BF 1x in the evenin (15ml only)..i also don dare dye my whole head,so 1 day before bb full mth,i only reborn ,dye my front fringe,after hairdo tat evening i did not BF bb..

BabyMay
i prefer my bb to sneeze out,instead of using cotton bud or nose cleaner..i bring my bb see my PD 2x ,he 2x also say my bb nose got dirts,say i never clean my bb nose... oh..endup he clean for bb wit cotton bud n nose cleaner..

re :pacifier..
already on standby mode..in case CL go home liao,i cant handle my bb,then i wil giv him..suck suck n slp slp..

re : burping baby
my bb also took sometime to burp,so i wil make bb stand up on my leg and seat down and burp him again..

re : Vomiting
so far so good..my bb only vomite 1x when i try to change his FM(enflac) to S26..such a wasted only 2 scoop i use on tis S26..

Re: Cradled to sleep

last week when my bb(3wks old)fall sick,he cried n cried so we think its normal to carry n pat pat him slp,so the whole nite my CL cradle him slp.. few day after bb recover,bb back to normal..
tis 2 days again cry n cry,whole family member need take turn cradle him from morning til midnite..
my CL say mayb the BCG goin to pop out,so bb wil cry .. i also dunno how true..???

porky,
ya lor. on demand feeding machine & pacifier.

cheekz,
u got me there. so far, i dun nid to go toilet when hubby not around. i let u noe after tmr. bringing my gal to poly for her jab alone, wif sling.

hoops&yoyo/ sallen,
some salons offer no chemical dyeing, so is safe for preggie & bfg. can chk for dat. of cos, the colour dun last as long.

sallen,
crying related to bcg?
lately my gal's bcg start to swell, think she start her nonsense crying ard then also. now the spot start to dry up & peel off liao. can ask ur CL when bb will stop crying?

sallen, ur pd so good can clear bb nose dirt for u...i dont dare to do anything yet...he dont like...but bbmay say no need to clear wor...

haha...my pacifier also on standby when CL not ard...

re : BCG
this is at bb backside right ? i see a bit red when i bathe my bb this morning...u mean will pop out ?

Okipoki,

Thanks for your reply. I think I will consider giving Bengawan Solo vouchers. Don't think I have the time to deliver the cakes.

Shall stick to S26 then.

which brand of manual pump is good?
thinking of using to stimulate supply cos realised supply is dwindling... very scared now. need to boost back supply.

hi, selling this pack of brand new sleep suit for $50. suitable for 9-12 mths. pls PM me if interested. tks.

2554401.jpg

Need advice from breastfeeding mummies.. anyone who's bf-ing and bb doesn't poo for one day? I thought that bf-ing bbs should poo several times a day but two days ago, my 4 week old bb didn't poo for one whole day. She only poo-ed 2 hrs after we gave her formula milk at night. Yesterday also, she didn't poo for the whole day and only poo-ed after being given formula milk. [I usually supplement one feed of formula at 1am or 3am so she can sleep longer].

She'll pee as usual and farts a lot. Is she not drinking enough breastmilk? She seems her usual self, alert when awake and can sleep for 2-3hrs after nursing. Is there something wrong or am I just paranoid?

Tiny M:

My baby had the same problem and we realised he was constipated. Too much wind in his stomach. Took us a while but we managed to clear his wind with ruyi oil, massage and burping. He could poo in the evening after being constipated for few hours in the afternoon.

Hi mummies, just wanna know what are some of the moms' arrangement for Month 2 after confinement leading to the date you return to work?

I want to have some private time with my boy so thinking of asking my mom to go back after confinement (she is my CL). Will the baby be tough to handle Mth 2 onwards? I cant get a maid in so quickly so thought of managing on my own.

Any advice? Thanks Mummies.

Juju

I am using pigeon manual - thumb up for this
u may want to try it too

Tiny M
dun worry if your bb is on tbf, they can poo many times or they can only poo once in say 5 days
last time my #1 used to poo once every 5 days hehehe.. but on tbf, so no need to worry ;) unless u mix with fm, then u might want to check with PD.

Porky,
the nose shit.. use cotton bud n damp with water then try to pull it out.. my boy yest cranky whole day coz of the shit! managed to pull out in the aftern then he ok n shiok!..

Tiny M,
My boy sometimes doesnt poo for a day.. but the next day will poo alot to like 'compensate' yest amt.. for one day is ok.. if too many days or the poo poo is abit hard, mean constipation. u try apply ruyi oil on the stomach n the bone near the buttock n massage it in circular movement.. will help in getting rid of wind n prevent constipation.

yest was sooo hot! my boy went cranky from the day before 4am to 3pm coz the nose shit stucked n making him uncomfortable.. then from 12pm to 9pm didnt sleep at all! wonder is it ok for them not to sleep so long? he is super awake n can play with u somemore... arghh...

Tinklesmum > Anyone is making you the meals? Im handling my bb ever since discharged fr hops. Only laundry n meals done by mum n mum's maid during confinement. Now after my conf, I hv been spending every entire morning alone ...after morning sleep, feed, shower, massage and entertain my bb till pm then hubby fetches me to mum's place for lunch and spend rest of pm there.

Sure you can try to handle bb alone.
Maybe try for a day 1st?

Massage
Ended my last session last night with the masage lady. She taught me how to massage my bb before shower. Was quite surprised to know that actually there's "something" (milky or cloudy-like fluid) inside my gal's nipples. Luckily, my bb gal dun feel pain when her nipples were being pinched. Haha. Mum, hb, maid and myself were quite taken back cos 1st time to know about this. Haha. Very interesting. She said boy sometimes also got that fluid in their nipples. Now, a nipple from my gal was not inverted liao.

My 2 boys just had their 6 in 1 jab yesterday..now poor boys having slight fever. Have to give them the panadol syrup to soothe them..but they seem to like it..hee..

The doc was mentioning another 2 jabs.. pneumococcal and rotavirus.. anyone who's not first time mom care to share if these 2 jabs are necessary.. thks!

hope all are coping well!

need an URGENT help here! anyone have recommendation on bakery who customise 3D fondant cake? need this for bb's full month celebration on next sat! TIA!

hoops & yoyo,

my elder boy had these 2 jabs pneumococcal & rotavirus. he had 4 jabs of pneumo (starting his 6th week) and 2 oral dose of rotavirus.. pneumo jabs are known to be v painful though..

i think it's up to individual.. to me, i opt for these just to play safe coz the condition can be v serious if infected wi these.. however i know that for pneumo we can opt for lesser jabs, if administered from 1 yr old onwards, i think only 1 jab needed..

hoops & yoyo,

mayne u can read more abt the vaccines then decide?
this time round i will still let my younger boys go for the jabs.. but maybe will opt for lesser jabs of pneumo, maybe will start to have the jab when he's 6 mth old..

just some thoughts, maybe u can go for GP (the one u frequent often and trust the doc well) for the vaccines, they are generally much cheaper than PD.. and the meds administered are the same..

Havent been able to post for the past few days. Bb has been doing cluster feeding- latching on almost the entire day. I was trying not to give her the bottle until 1 mth later but had no choice cos my nipples were so sore from her perpetual sucking and her huge appetitle. i breastfed her on 2 Bs, gave her another 125ml of B. milk during the night feed, hoping she will sleep and wake up 3 hours later but no! After the B. milk , she wants more! At 3 weeks plus, she drinks more than 200ml.. is that normal ?

Blocked nose

My bb has blocked nose yesterday and she seems like she can hardly drink properly hence my hubby went to get the Nasal Aspirator to remove the mucus but doesnt seem to work so brought her to the clinic and doc says never to use the nasal aspirator and asked my hubby if he has ever tried it on himself!
She gave us a bottle of drop to clear the nose .

We also asked her how to clear the nose sit and her advice is : Baby will sneeze it out . Alternatively, we can use cotton wool , wet it and twist it thin.

star, i ordered angel face n tic tac toe -- like the ang ku kueh and choc cake. wah, ur bb big drinker! mine takes abt 90-100ml for nite feed -- will last her 3-4hrs...

re: nose shit
yah, i super uncomfortable when i see a huge piece of nose shit -- tried to dig out but got push it further *wacko* then bb choked on milk and shit came out together thru nose!

re: cranky
does u bb get cranky after an outing? mine will get cranky the next day -- maybe still not use to noisy environment outside *haiz*

re: awake time
dunno whether it is a cause of worry -- my bb only wakes up and cries for milk.. after that, will zzz... her awake time is very short -- is it normal? wanna play with her leh -- that's when she is alert n not hungry...

yesterday I ate 1 big orange, and today my baby girl has pooped alot on both occassions so far!!!!! Must be the citurs fruit. The past 2 days, she only pooped 1-2 times a day.

I tried a new schedule on my girl who's 6weeks this coming Sat. She slept from 10pm plus till 4am plus. That's 6 hours straight. I'm so happy. Hopefully it continues this way.

Abby,
Hey hey... me too! Yesterday I tried a new schedule. My girl also slept 6 hours from 9pm to 3pm! Me and hubby super refreshed today!

adv sports, her appetite is enormous! Dun know if it's ok. She has gained 1.1kg since the day we brought her back home.

Abby, bean,

Please share your new schedule!

tinkle mum,

saw your post. i have both the medela PIS and Avent maual pump. Strangely the Philips avent manual gave me double the yield of PIS and PIS is painful whenever i used it. I m gonna try getting the larger size funnel to check if the yield was affected by the funnel. Else , i can only conclude the electric pump doesnt suit me

my bb normally wakes up 7ish, I make her take 10am nap until 11plus am. Then feed, change diaper. then i put her in the cot with the mobile on. once in a while i will chat with her.

my bb falls asleep quickly in the heat. when i buy lunch i put her in a sling and take her out only after i've eaten. the next nap around 130pm till 4plus. must not let bb sleep more than 5 hours in the day.

then i will let her feed, change diaper, wipe her down. then buy dinner with her in a sling.

She will sleep a little here and there. by 10plus pm after feeding n changing diaper I will settle her to sleep.

bringing my bb out for awhile daily helps with her sleep routine.

Yes, my girl also doesn't really sleep alot in the day time now. She wants attention in the day! So during the day time I'm kept quite busy tending to her.
Oh during the last bottle feed, I will dim all the lights and tell her its bedtime! Day time I will make the room as bright as possible.

Thanks SK. I will prob try for a day and see how it goes... let me talk to my mom first.

Stars - I just switched to Medela's bigger funnel and it solves the prob of my nipple pain. Maybe you can switch to the bigger funnel too to lessen your pain. DO you mean vigger size funnel can yield more? Manual pump also can yield more?

Star,
I also got 1 bottle baby nasal hygiene to clear baby nose cos i dont dare to dig out... so just spray that one 1 time n baby will sneeze n after that her nose become clear

Porky,
I read at baby magazine that pacifier recommended by dentist to baby. So for my gal i buy that brand lor ... waste another 3 another brand, cos that pacifier can fit baby mouth perfectly just like nipple when they BF

tinkles mum,
when i use manual pump, i get twice the amt of milk. Hence i have stopped using the PIS for a few days.Also, when i use PIS, my nipples feel sore hence i m thinking of buying the bigger size funnel to try if the soreness can be alleviated and at the same if i can get a better yield with the bigger funnel cos somehow, i feel the standard size funnel that comes with the PIS constrict the nipple movement .

Lily,
thanks for your tip. My hubby presses a few times to clear baby's nose and he couldnt get it cleared yesterday! hence we went to the clinic

i need some advice.. for total breastfeeding mums who latch on, on demand, how do u find the time to pump out? i am trying to pump so that I can go out for a meal and was thinking of starting to stock up. but if bb is feeding every two hours, eg, 1pm start, feed for half and hour, burp 10 mins, next feed at 3pm, i only have about 1.45 to start pumping. by the time i finish sterlising, it's around 2pm and to pump for 20 mins, by 3 pm, he needs to drink and i have already emptied my bs.. please share your experience?

Hi muffintop,

I pump after every 2 latches. Dunno if it helps.

Re: IT show
I just sneaked out with hubby for the IT fair and lunch just now tho i am still on confinement. So shiok. Bought a new camera to take pictures of both my princesses.

Re: Pneumoccal Jabs
I only started giving my gal the jab after 1 YO. Cos the younger they start, the more jabs they have to take. This jab is VERY ex. So i try to delay. Also, i chose to take the jab cos my #1 was going to childcare, thats why i tried to play safe.

Re: Nite fussing
My gal was fussing from 3.30am to 5am this morning again! My CL says it is part and parcel of their growing up and they are trying to adjust to the day and nite timing. Is that true? Baby is less than 2 weeks old.

muffintop:
do u use sterilizer to sterilise the pump? if so, you can sterilise in advance, once bb stop drinking, finish burp, you can pump out, immediately!

I usually pump in the morning when they are super engorged 'cos sometimes she dun empty my Bs. So far, with this routine, I have abt 8 bottles of 70ml in the freezer now!

Alternatively, you can pump when the duration of next feed is longer, maybe after the last feed of the day or early in the morning, b4 the 1st feed..

<font color="ff0099"> muffintop
my baby latches on and is on tbf as well. i also don't know when to pump so i dont pump. and when i pump, its v little so i don't bother pumping.. its quite tiring like that cos i have to be with baby all the time..</font>