(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

Hi SP Lim, congrats on the milk supply! May i know when you said pump at night for higher milk yield, what time do you pump? How many weeks does it take you to reach 200ML in total ah? so envious

Caroline:
'cos breastmilk is more dilate, which consist of 70% water, it's easier for bb to digest/absorb, hence, bb gets hungry faster & we need to feed more regular. On top of that, bm is also cater for bbs at different stages.

Hi Muffintop, Jamie, Adv sport,

I’m also a May 09 mummy, delivered my gal via C-section 2 weeks ago. I’ve read your reviews about Ida’s massage and would like to try her service. Do you mind giving me her contact number?

Thanks in advance

Hi Tinkles mum,
I am a slient reader and just realised that we are both encountering the same problem. Baby doesnt latch much and was forced to go on 100% EBM. Currently, my milk supply is not high too. Can express around 80-90ml in the day time and up to 140ml around 2am. Guess night time will yield a higher supply. U can try pumping at this timing. By the way, may I know how long do you pump each time? I am using Ameda breast and need at least 30mins to express out the milk. Is it too long?

Hi Buddy, I pump around 15-20mins each time cos my nipples hurt by then. I have friends who pumped around half an hour too... so I think it should be normal.

Thanks for your advice, I will try to bump after midnight starting tonight.

Comfort sucking
I tried not to do that to my gal starting last night but had a terrible night though. Began to feed her before sleep so that (hopefully) she can sleep longer but she cried ...wanting to be carried. Think she already developed the habit of being carried to sleep in the pm and night. Morning still ok. So ended up I gave her the pacificer...it worked a while but cried again (that was already 1 plus am). Also began to let her sleep in her playpen, also worked awhile while sucking the pacificer but ended up sleeping next to me on the bed cos easier to "ja-ga" the dropped pacificer. Think it was about 2am plus before I could doze off.

This feed (110ml) could last till 9.30am. No spill too. Couple of occasional short sucking in between the night. Is it ok to continue that? I realize my gal dun need bottle feed or long sucking on my breasts at wee hours/past midnight. Then the next feed will be in the morning when I wake up already, about 9am. This has been going on for > 1wk.

Her feeding regime
Currently about 3hourly a feed. Partial bf with fm topup. About 5 feeds a day. 9-10am, 1.30pm, 5pm, 8.30pm, 11.30pm (all estimated time). No bottle feed or bf after 1am feed. Couple of comfort sucking. Volume of each feed has been about 100-110ml. Will let her drink 10-15ml of water per day. I let her suckle only at night when im lying on the bed (more comfortably). Last feed before I sleep, I try to make it before 1am. (To control her feeding timing at night too.)

Just wondering if any of the experienced mum encountered any difficulties in this type of feeding pattern after returning to work or not? Can this be worked out?

Hi mummies out there, may I know which brand of FM did you give to your bb? i gave my bb Enfalac but it seems like its to heaty for him. He has prob passing out motion. He uses alot of force when comes to poo poo and sometimes he even cries. His backside is very reddish. So now thought of changing to another brand. Any one out there uses Mamil Gold?

Just had my baby's full month celebration yesterday. We ordered from Bibik's Catering, Economy Buffet $8 per pax. We had 51 pax on guest list and ordered for 48. In the end less than 10 pax didn't turn up, got so much left over.

My FIL paid for it. So didn't lose out. Managed to get more ang pows than gifts. More than cover for the buffet. : )

Feeding:
Now I only feed baby from Bs. Didn't express out ever since a few days after hosiptal discharge. But she's getting enough milk. She has grown and gained weight. Chubby. Now I think she's quite heavy, leaving my skin red after lying down on it. ;p

Pacifier: My girl spits out the pacifier. She doesn't like. She can tell it's not my Bs. So pacifiers are useless to me.

Didn't do the traditional giving of ang ku kuehs and sorts. Save $. Think catered food is more than enough.

Some people say not to shave bb's hair, some say shave better. Aiyoh...but I find that it's ok for a boy but for girl like not so nice leh...

We had our girl's full mth celebration y'day too! We had too much left over too! Poor hubby, mil & helper will have to eat those left over for these 3 days!

My girl is now botak! We believe, after shaving, the hair will be thicker & nicer! Will even trim the eye lashes so that they will grow longer too!

hi taurus, my baby also drinking Enfalac but only once a day the rest all BFg so still ok not so heaty. Maybe you can try giving your baby some water after the feed to reduce the heat.

my friend told me tht mamil gold is too sweet for infant, i am not sure how true.

So many ppl had their baby full mth celebration already. I dun have buffel as there are too much arrangement by the in laws, so after countless of arguement over the full mth, i decided to just give cakes to relative. Angry!

i really can't wait for my confinement to end soon...counting down ti get out if this place.

Hey Joyce:

We didn't keep the leftovers, most of them are curry-based and had been left in the open for several hours already. Not sure whether safe to eat, later got diarrhoea worst still. ;p

My girl's eyelashes quite long already. ;)

Had my lunch, did laundry and searched for my hb's jeans etc all with my girl sleeping in the sling.

Then woke her up to feed. Cuddled her awhile. Now she's lying quietly in the cot with music playing from my hp. ;)

I'm so glad days of catered confinement food are FINALLY over. Quite sian of the food...

I had started the catered confinement only 1 day after my girl was discharged which was 1 week after she was born. Means I have been eating more than 1 month's worth of confinement food since hospital. Yesterday was the last day!

So happy! Had char siew rice with cold home made barley for lunch. Topped up with fresh milk. Yum!

Hi Mummies..

have been reading bean's posting, which is really very encouraging..

During my #1, my girl was supplemented by fm + ebm.. only when she was in her second month, then we started on total ebm for her until 7 months plus.. milk supply will only establish around 2nd month or so..

Taurus

My #1 was on mamil gold until now.. she is doing okay...

For my boy, he has been on tbf since birth, i didnt really do pumping.. only pump when engorged, but now I have been letting himto take 1 ebm.. so have been religiously pumping every morning at 9am.. so far my yield is about 300ml both breasts..

Hi taurus

my gal was on Enfalac now, right now she is oki with it.
I did notice she need to make force while passing motion but the stool is in nice shape.

I did heard from my fre that S26 is heaty n did have sugar intake. Also when i was waiting for my gynae, i did heard from a patient's relative son did have blood in his stool when he have S26.

Now my boy sleeping pattern at nite has gone haywire. sleeping at 11pm, feed at 2.30 or 3.30 am.. then every hour wake up for feed til 8 am.. haiz.. what should i do...

How is your baby's sleeping pattern at this stage? Can any baby share?

Hi Taurus,

My son was drinking Mamil Gold when he was first discharged from the hospital but he was throwing out milk and "Lao sai" like crazy (like 7 to 8 times a day)

We switch to Friso Gold immediately and he is oki now

I had a bad bout of infection last weekend and had to start anti-biotics. I consulted both my gynae and PD who advise me to halt BF temporarily because the anti-biotics is too strong for a 3-week old. Now my bb has to be on FM for 5 days. He used to poo 8-9 times a day, now only 2 times a day. And I have to express and throw away the BM. So sim tia. Hope to be able to resume soon... sigh...

Taurus,
I was consulting the nurse which brand of FM to buy. She said Mamil Gold is closer to BM. But we bot Enfalac cos we had some samples given by hospital at home and the bb seems ok with the taste.

been a few days since i last login.. been crazy over #1 esp.. mayb because i developed slight fever and sore throat.. think of the stupid weather.. dont dare to eat any med due to bfg. just hope will recover soon.

RE: S26
my #1 was drinking S26 on top of my ebm during 1st 2 months. was heaty till her poo is hard. so i changed to enfa. S26 is heaty and the highest fats level. so far my #1 is still drinking enfa.

RE: pumping
since i'm feeling feverish. not sure whether is it engorgement or what. but i have been latching and even pump out when feel full. my mama asks me to pump every 3 hrs in case its really engorgement that cause feverish. any mums encounter this?? so far my yield is abt 180ml-200ml at every 3hrs. if i drag till 5hrs, i can get 300ml-320ml.

RE: nite feeding
i bottle feed #2 at ard 10+pm then next latch is ard 3+am and next latch is ard 7+am... i have been monitoring her feeding esp nite time. so far this is the schedule. if my gal can continue this way, at least i only need to wake up once in the nite to latch her and latch her again before i go work.

cola, maybe u can try to bottle feed yr bb for the last feeding then latch him during nite time??

so far i heard that nite milk has the best consistency so latching is better than pumping out. not sure y.. anybody can advise?

hi rc cola...u must be tire out like me..my yonger twin..he is very fussy- cries even after he's fed and clean. Wonder if he's colic- gng to check wif the doc this Wed. The older twin is ok- plays by himself and smiles most of the time..

anybody has this experience b4??

emptied both breasts. then half hr later latch, can feel glush at breasts... the feeling is like milk rush.. then feel breasts even more softer.. does that mean that my breasts r not really empty though i pump out all??

just to check. pump all then latch is better or latch then pump out is better?? my way is better means will ease any blocked ducts

re:night feeding
My gal, now wk 6+, last feed will be at 11+pm, 3+am, 7+am

Sometimes her patterns do change... my CL told me my gal quite lazy to drink milk, never try hard to drink full full at one go.
Especially day time, she might just drink 10 mins, then wait an hour later cry loud loud for milk again...

(--)'"

i was reading some of the archives posting:

Lily, mothercare also got sales on pram. i bought the maclaren after much consideration. just nice quest mod was on sale so i grabbed 1!

though my confinement finished, my mum still continues to cook confinement similar food for me such as soupy based and fish.. to boost up milk supply... u can try to cook simple soup based dish to boost up supply esp we r bfg now, need to eat nutrient food else bm wldnt be GOOD grade. hehhee..

RE: diapers
i have been using huggies ultra and nepia. so far so good for both. prefer huggies ultra for day use and nepia for nite use. ever since CL left, i'm too lazy to use cloth nappy.. almost after each feeding, need to change nappy.. i just go for quick way. diaper!!! and religiously apply nappy rash cream.

RE: pacifier
i also introduced pacifier to my girl but she doesnt like. only suckle awhile then spit out. so i gave up. dont give pacifier also good la. i had hard time weaning off #1..

brought my gal for her 1mth jab - she has put on weight. she's now 4.6kg, no wonder the nb diapers are getting too tight for her.

i called nepia delivery. they are selling the diapers at $14. so those of you who did not go down to motherhood fair can still order via phone to get this pricing.

on fm, i'm using NAN, so far so good. for my #1, i used NAN for stage 1, then friso for stage 2 and now mamil gold for stage 3. i tink mamil gold is on the sweet side, switched to it to entice my gal to continue drinking milk. i find dat ants are attracted to the mamil milk powder, whereas i did not hv tis prob with NAN or friso.

re drinking frequency - those of you whose bb are oreadi 1mth old, how much and how frequent are their feeds? my gal is drinking 90-100ml ebm every 2 hrs. rather xiong. been trying to get her on a 3-hr schedule but not very successful.

My #1 on enfa since she is 6mths old, she took friso for stage 1. Infact, no particular reason why I changed. Anyway, I hv pre-stock enfa stage 1 for #2 tho' he is on tbf.

I'm new to this thread. Gave birth to my first boy on 21 May. Super new to mummy's lifestyle! Thinking of catering from Mum's Kitchen for my boy's first month celebration. Did any of you cater from them? If yes, which menu did you choose? Is it still necessary to give the first month cake to the relatives that I will be inviting to the celebration?

Heard that it is not good to celebrate the baby's first month late. How about the delivery of cakes? Cos I am a teacher and it's the school holidays now and I can't give the teachers the cake on time.

Anyone of you giving your child S26? Sher mentioned that the fat content is the highest. The hospital provided that and it seems that my boy is drinking well, so I'm not sure whether or not to switch brand.

Thankies in advance!!!

blueybubble,

I engaged Mum's Kitchen for my #1 full mth 3 years back. I took the full month package with them
I did not give any cakes to relative that attend the full month celebration.

As I celebrated the full month over the weekend, I delivered the cake to my office on the following monday
Perhaps u can try giving out cake vouchers if u dont mind bengawan solo.

If ur child is drinking fine, I dont see the reason why u need to switch brand

hi mummies, i have the following to let go:

1. Brands Chicken Essence (3 bottles x 70g, Expiry 211011) with 1 bottle of special edition 42g chicken essence. $7

2. Brands Chicken Essence (1 box unopen = 6 bottles x 70g, Expiry 211011) with 1 bottle of special edition 42g chicken essence. $13

3. EYS Chicken Essence ith dannggui n pearl extract(2box unopen, 1 box = 6 bottles x 70g, Expiry 11/11) retail @ $26.30, will let go @ $22

i have BENEDICTINE DOM as well, 3 bottles unopened 1 litre each, per bottle @ $35, take all 3 bottles for $100

pls pm me as i seldom follow up on this thread, thanks. self collect at buangkok mrt, sk.

hi... would like to check it out anybody has experience of breast engorgement?
How is it like?
I know the breast will feel hard, but how hard is hard?
I feel that outer is soft, but if i press hard then i'll feel the inner is hard...
Not sure is this normal or abnormal?

Tinkels Mum, so far I only managed to yield 200 ml once when I pumped at 4am. I started pumping when my baby was 1 wk old coz I was letting my cracked and bleeding nipples recover. Now my baby is 2 wks 2 days old. I started pumping every 2 hrs and now increased to every 3-4 hours interval. My milk supply has now increased to ard 150ml for both sides. I usually pumped ard 20 mins for each side. I'm using Medela mini electric and there's only an option to adjust the suction, I'll start with min and slowly increase the suction so its not so painful. I'll also massage each breast when pumping.

Btw, I'm also trying to latch him once a day coz I'm really scared my supply will not increase.

Try drinking lots of fluid. My Mil has been giving me papaya soup and lots of red date tea!

hi sharon,

from my experience, engorgement means the breast is full. it can get rock hard, that will mean its very full...so i guess ur case means that its not the max level but it will get harder and harder if you don't nurse or latch...but it doens't mean that u're breast aren't full if its not rock hard...

i hate it when my boobs gets hard, its so achy and i can't sleep well sometimes it gets quite bad at night it will leak all over the bed, not nice to sleep with cold bm all over the clothes!

to prevent that, i try not to pump so much nowadays to reduce supply coz my girl drinks very little...she drinks only 80ml ebm and takes very long to finish that (bout 30-45mins)....any mummies here have babies who drink very little? she's so diff from my #1 who can latch on for an hour and loves to latch on all day!

Hi I have a bjorn air carrier selling for $110. In very good condition. 9/10 blue/dark blue colour.
comes with original box and 2 bibs.

pm me if interested. thx

Hi Sharon,
For me, Engorgement will mean Bs are super hard, feels lumpy and there is some tingy/ painful sensation. I hate it too like Cheekz.

My baby has been "trained" my me to drink only when she is hungry. Usually 2.5.-3hours long. In the past for my #1, my CL will feed her ebm on an hourly basis. For #2, i make sure that feeding is only done when baby is VERY VERY hungry. As such, even my CL is glad that baby can finish 90-110ml in ard 10-15min. So you may want to extend the interval b/w the 2 feeding time.

Hi Cheekz
I also would love to pump less but the Bs are really too painful for me to want to cut down. This morning, i went w/o pump and latch for 5 hours cos i had to bring #1 for PD review. When i came back, Bs were SUPER painful.

Hi Shers,
I pump 4 times a day after i latch on cos i cannot stand the engorgement. My yield are ard 300ml(8am), 250ml (1pm/ 7pm), 300ml(12am). If i dun pump 4 times a day, sure kena blocked ducts. Yes, you will start to feel feverish if you have engorgement/ blocked ducts. For that reason, i have cut down on fish soup cos i cannot be pumping non-stop as #2 is still drinking quite little. Think Baby Xuan is drinking ard 90-100ml per feed cos that's what she drinks at 11pm. Now praying that she will drink more so that i have less storage problem. I already have 5 packs of 150ml of frozen ebm at day 9! More coming when my #1 returns to childcare since she clears 4 packs of ebm a day for me. Luckily, i use playtex liners, if not sure go broke.

Now i can understand how Shermay was treating Shermin. My En En #1 simply adores my #2. She will go n hug her REAL tight and kiss her whenever possible. So scary. This morning, she even pushed me aside so that she can have the baby for herself.

My baby is also a lazy drinker. His feed is at 90ML-100ML now, but he ALWAYS fall asleep halfway, sometime leaving 20-30ML...

How long can we keep the BM in hot water for? Can BM be reheated after it's taken out from fridge and warmed up?

Currently I poured away after he stop drinking after each feed and it's so heart pain to waste all these BM!

Tinklemum > My gal still suckles during the night s I just latch her on my bs. Then can last till daybreak. Couple of times during the night...think the same if going for formula feed.

Milk Brand
I have been using Friso Gold since day 1...so far so good. No hard stools as I partial bf my bb with bm. Very watery stools. Can try Friso Gold if S26 or Enfalac dun work.

My friend who's working as a Pae Dietician was telling me to mix stage 2 with stage 3 FM when bb is bigger cos the contents of stage 3 milk are usually very high in sugar content. Not very gd to give them so much sugar ...cos will make them more fat. Stage 2's milk still more nutritious.

Had tried my 1st masage last evening. Very shiok but superly tiring now. Very cheap and good! Glad to hear that I have not engorgement prob or block ducts. Just miserably low milk supply. She was advising me to give 50-50 milk to my gal. So that at least bb still get to have about 50% of her milk from my bs. Shall try today.

Shers

thanks for the advice. Gave my boy ebm last nite.. after that he still latched on till my B soft soft then can fall asleep haha.. big eater bah...

tinkles,
Can put in warmer for about one hour for the left over..
actually sometimes if myboy is too full, i will just put the leftover back to the fridge, yeah too precious to pour away hahaha!

rc_cola, sometimes my bb also wanna latch every hour from 4am onwards... usually is the start of the week -- maybe she cranky after weekend's outing...

poohwei, erhm, if bb very very hungry, she will be crying so pityful n tear-down-the-house kind... usually we will give in leh... how do u tahan the non-stop crying?

re: when to bath bb
normally, i will wait for half hour after feed then bath bb... kena a couple times when she pee/poo after bath -- luckily on the changing mat... this morning, she pooed on diaper when i was taking off her clothes before going to he bathroom. i thot lucky and felt safe. after i shampoo her hair before putting her in the tub, she "drop the bomb" -- "spray" poo on the floor n wall!! wonder wat's the best time to bath her? if wait too long, she will be cranky for her next feed (hourly)...

hello poohwei,
my boobs used to be like urs too! i got quite bad blocked ducts sometime back, made me cry from all the pain trying to massage it and i had a bad achy feeling all the time...boobs were red too near the ducts...so i stopped pumping and let baby latch on as much as possible...thank heavens it cleared!

you can gradually cut down the pumping...i had to really cut down after she turned 4 weeks coz my freezer got no more space for ebm...i stopped freezing ebm now...dunno what the heck to do with all that stash!

hi tinkles mum,

how are u? saw ur pics on FB, baby J is so cute!

my girl also very lazy drinker! she used to latch on every 2 hrs but didn't latch long, the most 15mins only but when i give her ebm, she will take almost 45mins to finish only 80ml! wasted alot of ebm also! very sian to pump up to only 80ml everytime coz if i pump more she won't finish and have to throw away...

many times, i will force her to empty breast at night coz i was so engorged but she will drink until vommit! so poor thing! wasted alot of milk from her vommitting also. i realised that she really CANNOT drink alot at one go so i just let her be...now my milk SS is much lower coz she's not drinking much..

she's now feeding every 3-4 hrs even with only 80ml! very different from my #1!