(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

Hi adv_sports,
We will try to play with her, carry her or distract her a bit. Even a short delay of 15 min is good. Slowly then extend.

Hi Rc_cola
My gal will latch every hourly from 7pm till ard 9pm. Usually, it coincides with my massage timing. So i just latch her and massage at the same time.

Hi Cheekz,
Give ur ebm to ur #1 lah. That is what i am doing to clear space in the freezer. If not, post it in WTG section and pray that pple will collect from u.

adv_sports,
once my girl sneezed while i was changing her and her poop FLEW across the room all over the floor! she also farts super loud like an adult! so unglam and unladylike!

poohwei, daytime ok to delay -- rock till my arms super tired! but nite time, will give in else paiseh to disturb neighbours...

cheez, haha, my girl also very unglam -- fart beri loud, too :p

hello all mummies !

after my CL left...i have no time to post at all...everyday only can surf net a while...mil cant help much also...keep asking me all sorts of questions when my bb crying...she dunno how to coax my bb to sleep also...and always thot i will ill-treat her grandson like dat...when hear my bb crying...she 1st one run into the room but do nothing...

when i have time will read thru the posting...enjoy motherhood !

sk, where u get the massage from ? can pm me ? btw ur wound will pain or not when doing the massage ? i not yet started...

re : FM
my boy drink Nan 1 HA...very good in digestion also...everyday poo 2-3 times...

anyone can advise me, FM can re-heat or not ? my boy also lazy dinker...always drink halfway and sleep...then the milk cold cold....pour away very wasted leh....

re : pacifier
i also give my boy pacifier when he gets cranky...if he can sleep well, he wont want the pacifier also...no harm trying loh...but some ppl say the teeth not nice if bb suck pacifier...hehe

re : burping baby
my bb always dont wan to burp or take very long to burp leh...then i put him down on the bed...after a while, he will spill out the milk...then his clothes will get wet...u all have this problem or not ?

ju, my bb also use the tongue to push out the pacifier at first..but i keep holding it till he suck it so tight then i let go my hand...haha

<font color="ff0099"> porky
i have the same problem also.. sometimes andrea don't want to burp.. or take super long to burp.. and she fall aslp so i put her down, then she will regurgitate out all the milk and it will spill all over her..

den she will cry then i must clean her again and change her clothes.. sometimes she will burp very quickly, and still spill milk after that.. aiyo......

sometimes i scared to carry her in case she vomit milk all over hahaha cos its v smelly hahahaha</font>

Re; burping..

I find a quite useful method. After finish feeding dun burp immediately, normally i will wait for 2 or 3 mins, then burp over the shoulder.. if bb doesnt burp, lie him down again for awhile and then burp again, most of the times i succeed

Re burping,
I agree with rc. My pd also advice to just hold bb upright for at least ten mins aft each feed to prevent regurg.

My bb is one month old today!

Advice needed! Anyone brought ur bb out alone? How to manage, if need to change n nursen how? I drive n tbf, want to try bring him out but dunno how

Thanks rc.

hi Cheekz, thanks - Baby Jonas look changes everyday... now he looks more like my hubby

Btw, you did well on the milk supply - can have supply somemore! For me now, the amount I express equals to my boy's intake, so if he drinks more, sometime i under supply already.
Sigh.

This week, the supply looks like it has increased a little, like maybe 5-10ML.. sigh...

For mummies who have celebrated their bb's first mth, I have some questions..

If I intend to give cake vouchers, do I need to cater for each of the guests who come to the baby shower? What is the market rate for the vouchers nowadays?

porky,
FM can be reheat n feed bb within 1hr.

Re. burping
try to burp over the shoulder.. if no burp, lie the bb on his side rather than flat to prevent vomitting..

Tinkles mum,
whether to cater for vouchers, ang ku kueh/red eggs are not compulsory.. it depends on you. From my bb's first month, i did get some ang ku kueh/red eggs, and surprisingly, the guests will eat coz I know some ppl dun eat these if pang dan.

Any mums using NUK teats for thin fluids? I got 1 pair of standard neck teats and 1 pair of wide neck to let go...both new, still in packaging..

pm me if keen hor? thanks!

porky,
my baby also same problem as u, esp for night feeds coz i try to get her to empty breast to prevent engorgement...even after burping, she might actually vomit 1hr later...

rc_cola, bean,
will try ur method to burp baby...but does ur baby still vomit after burping? mine does sometimes, but i really want her to drink more so that she can sleep longer, i think her stomach capacity v small...now @ 7 weeks still drinking 80ml, v tiring for me!

tinkles mum,

wow, mebbe u can dress both hubby n baby in similar clothes! so cute!

re: baby schedule
any mummies have a fixed schedule now? ie baby sleeping and feeding @ regular timings? i'm trying to do that but very unsuccessful so far coz she's been having colic and not sleeping @ night...i'm so tired!

muffintop,
i've not tried bringing baby out alone...no guts yet!

Cheekz,

My girl doesn't vommit after her milk. She is drinking 120ml. YOu have to hold her for about 5 mins AFTER she burp before putting her onto her bed/cot.

bean,
@ 2am and 4am sort of timings, i think i might have been too groggy to hold her upright long enough for the milk to settle...and i think, my baby is also too blur and sleepy to swallow properly...hoping that things will improve when she gets older...i've been telling myself not to let these things hamper this special moment/stage, coz they grow up so fast and soon they won't be as small as now...

re : burping
i try to burp on my shoulder...but my bb will still vomit out the milk all over my pj and spill to the floor...then i need to always change my pj and his clothes...i got limited button front pj...aiyo...always changing leh...then after vomit out the milk...he gets hungry very fast...later i will try the method that rc mention...

ling, noted ! i thot FM cant re-heat...i pour away quite a lot last night...

porky,
maybe u try not to carry him up too fast after he drink the milk.. sometimes, the movement might cause him to vomit if he din swallow yet..

sometimes, my boy falls asleep while drinking, i will tap the bottle to 'disturb' him to drink. :p

ya mayb is the movement cos him to vomit out the milk...btw hor, my boy dont like to sleep on his side leh...he wil struggle and cry till very sad...

when he sleep, i tap the bottle bottom...he also no wan wake up wor...then he will suck a while and stop...esp midnight...i feed till i fall asleep also...

Tinkles Mum

I juz celebrated my baby's full month on sun. I gave away the cakes to only the older aunties and uncles. Didn't give any to my friends. I ordered the cakes from Les Precious at $8.80 each, includes a Baby card with your baby picture and a message. I have a picture of it in my blog. www.joanna-shawn.blogspot.com

R.E Pacificer
I got mine from Nuby. Special design, Not suppose to affect his teeth.

Vomiting
So far my baby has no problem with vomiting even if He doesn't burp. I'm using Dr Brown's bottles from USA. Less windy. So not so much air in the tummy. Best thing I have gotten.

Thanks Joanna! Congrats on Baby Nigel's first mth - he is sooo cute!

The gift set looks very lovely! IS there a min qty to order?

So for friends who have given lovely gifts to us, there's no need to send them cakes or gift cards in return?

Cheekz
Yup baby does vomit out a bit sometimes.. due to his frequent struggling.. it's very normal dun worry too much. if my bb is too sleepy to swallow properly, sometimes milk does flow out from his nose, checked with PD, he said it's normal because mouth, throat and nose are linked

80ml is of normal quantity already, dun worry too much. They are still very young and will have patterns soon.. mine the pattern is still haywire hahaha.. dun care lar, so long as after feed i dun need to carry him to sleep, just put him back on cot, he struggles awhile and will sleep on his own.. only when he cries then i carry him or pat him hehe

porky,
we do hold the pacifier in, but once we let go, she push it out, no matter how long we hold the pacifier in her mouth.

re: vomiting
after bfg, even if no burp, jodie seldom vomit leh. maybe she drink very slowly?

muffintop,
tbf - shld b quite easy, rite? i nurse jodie on the go, when i eat/jalan/chatting. when i went back office on monday, i changed her in the meeting room, latched her on then use a shawl for privacy, then went out to chit chat wif the rest liao.
i dun drive so can't share much. but infant car seat shld be secured in back passenger seat hor.

tinkles mum,
i only arranged cakes for relatives who were invited to buffet, then cakes for colleagues cos we din invite any to the buffet.
ang ku kueh &amp; red eggs were prepared by my mum, but she said its optional.

Gd morning:

I'm so happy today as this is the last day of my confinement (28days)!

bb schedule:
Usually starts in the morning with shower at abt 8.30am to 9am, bf her, sleep.
arnd 11am - 12pm, she will wake for bf, b4 tt, will change her nappy, after feed, she falls back to sleep again!
she will require bfg every abt 3 hr unless she is unusual cranky after party or outing!
At 6.30pm to 7pm, I will wipe her body &amp; change her to PJ, follow by bfg &amp; zzz again!

BBs at such small age, dun require much schedule.. as they grow, &amp; introduce solids, more things to add to the list! Perhaps can start some flash cards!

My girl vomit a lot too! I also have difficulty getting her to burp, sometimes if she fall asleep on the Bs, I will just hold her for abt 10mins then put her to her cot! Else, ask mil to burp her &amp; put her to zzz..

I will start her with 1 bottle on teat today while I have my massage!

Haiz. Last nite was a nitemare for me. Was bearing ideas to send her to the PD today liao cos she sounded sick based on the way she breathed.

Baby cried intermittenly from 11pm to 2.30am. She refused to sleep and will cry when put down.

Conclusion:
Crying from 11pm to 12+am: Wet diaper + Poo (We just changed her at 10.30pm!!) Realised it only at 12+am.

Crying from 12+am to 2.30am: Blocked nose!! (Realised only this morning! Lousy mummy right?) Baby ended sleeping in the living room- only place that she will sleep in w/o crying till 4am. Mummy slept on the couch. Then daddy carried her back onto her cot at 4am. She woke up at 4.30am for her nite feed and slept till 7+am this morning...Which..Lousy mummy then realised that both her nose were blocked!! Removed her nose shit in the morning and things were normal again.

Hope that her schedule will be back to normal today....

thanks juju...

My baby is also feeding on EBM at 2-hr interval. He sleeps longer at night cos I am still supplementing with FM (no choice for now).

Was trying out first bath with baby but didn't go far cos my mom was meddling again and before i knew it, she took over again! so frustrating. I think after the confinement, I am going to try and handle him on my own.

What are some of the plans that rest of the mummies did for Month 2 after CL left?

I am sneaking out quickly soon to get my breast pump funnel change cos my nipples are really beginning to hurt from the pumping... hopefully i can get this resolved.

Have a gd day all mummies.

Catch you ladies later.

juju:

Actually this relates to human's reaction in case of accident, usually pple tend to turn towards their side (ie right) rather than left!

joyce,
i dun understand leh... my car is 2-door. usu can only get in frm passenger side, dat's why jodie sits behind her daddy

Burping baby
My boy also vomit alot after every feed, tried many post to burp him still vomit and cry non-stop..BM/FM also same, stress!

Pacifier
I didnt use pacifier for my boy until now..some experiance mom shared wif me is no good for baby

Baby Time table
I already fixed his timing for bath, feed and sleep after d confinement aunty left.. must start to train if not baby will bully mummy and very demanding.

I want baby follow mummy timing not his own timing lol

My gal 2 days ago also refuse to sleep
already feed her, change nappy, carry her still same eyes open big big n sometimes cry until all face red n no sound frm 7 - 11.30 pm. N the next day my hubby go KP bot the spring cot for her n she can sleep better. Now morning n afternoon i put her to sleep in spring cot.

Poohwei,
maybe cos ur baby got blocked nose or it can be colic. That time my gal 2 weeks old also like that n at midnight we bring her to KKH cos I dunno y she cry n cry until i also cry. At last we know she got colic

halo mummies ~

re : block nose
how to know baby got block nose ? and how to clear baby nose shit ? pls advise ...

lily, wat do u mean put pacifier ard nipple area ? i do NOT really understand ...hehe

ju, mayb ur gal still dunno how to suck in the pacifier thats why will drop out...the first time i also hold for more than 15 mins...my boy still throw out...then later he try and try till he suck it properly...then u will have a hard time to remove it from their mouth unless they auto drop out...haha

Re: Cradled to sleep

My gal is only 1 week and 5 days old. She has been wanting to be cradled to sleep since last nite. She will cry when we put her down. Is that normal? I really dun want to make it a habit to cradle her to sleep. Now, when she is awake, she will also want pple to cradle her. Faintz. Dunno whether she is having colic also.

Re: Blocked nose
You will be able to see a big piece of "Nose shit" at the nostril area. You need to use baby's cotton bud(not adult type cos they are too fat) to slowly remove/dig it.

porky,
i guess she knows. cos we did have to pull it out once after she slept.
jus now i tried again, she sucked on her own for quite long. once i walk away, she push it out again. bo bian lor. let her cry while i take a quick shower