(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

Today has been a super long tiring day for me. Needed to go back for gynae review and PD checkup. Woke up @ 7.30am, latched baby and pumped out my milk. Then had to prepare #1 for the trip.

Upon reaching my gynae's clinic, baby decided to cry for milk. Ended up, i had to feed her in the ctg room cos my #1 decided to use my "makeshift" nursing shawl to play "peek a boo". Baby fed for at least 20 min..and thank god, it lasted her til we reached home at 12 plus.

After the gynae's visit, we went for baby's review and checkup for #1. My #1 has been coughing for the past 2 months and PD diagnosed that she is down with mild bronchitis. Ended up, the main bulk of the time spent with PD was for my #1. Had to ask the nurse to demonstrate the use of the nebuliser also. And my #1 cried like mad.

Baby Xuan is currently 3.46kg at 6 days old. She gained ard 400g over the past few days. Should be ok right based on TBF? She went for the jaundice test again. Level: 12.2. PD cleared her and said that she just needed to sunbathe.

Gave baby ebm for her last nite feed also so that all of us could sleep longer. She took 80ml of ebm and slept from 11.30pm to 3.30am. So happy!! Then latched her on at 3.30am and 6am respectively to clear my breast since they were bursting. (My last pump was at 11pm)

My #1 has been taking ard 400-500ml of my ebm. My gynae asked me to pump less but i simply could not tahan the engorgement. So 4 pumps a day for me. Except for the nite pump which i pump dry (20 min long), the rest of the pump sessions are only 10-15 min long. Just to clear the engorgement. Now, i pray that Xuan Xuan (#2) will drink more. If not, my freezer will be clogged up again. (Started freezing my 1st pack of ebm!!)

Re: Exclusive Pumping
I was pumping exclusively after the 4th mth and supply did slowly dropped. But then again, i started from an extremely high supply. I will suggest that you still maintain 1-2 latches a day. Exclusive pumping is very tiring. I managed to tahan for 10mths only.

Ling:
I am in Suntec!

Caroline:
Once your mom sees that ur bb gains weight via bfg, her worries will disappear! Just keep bfg ur bb on demand..

Audrey:
BB changes every other day, hope this phrase will past soon for you.

audrey,
U got the breastfeeding DVD? given by KK.
You try to remove her from your nipple. did u give her pacifier?
Maybe can tame her by using pacifier..
U take care.

Feb mum, thanks for your info...

FYI,Nepia booth is selling their diapers at $14 per pack for all sizes.. and with 2 additional pieces FOC.

Lily,
saw your post on baby doesnt wanna sleep during the day... just to let you know you aren't alone! my boy has the same prob as well, refused to sleep after all have been done, only light sleeping, even clicking on the computer mouse can disturb his sleep! had been a week since his 1st mth party which screwed up his routine! only today managed to tune him back. hopefully it will stay this way...

Re: Mittens

I removed the mittens for Chelsea since 1.5 months but u got to trim her nails regularly (once a week) for me. When she sleeps in air con room, then I put on the mittens for her.

feb_mum, thanks -- my B goes soft after pump. Juz that still hv trickle of milk when i continue to pump -- dunno when B will b the empty... during let down, it will "spray".. other times is not so much... i take abt 45min-1hr using manual pump for both Bs...

<font color="aa00aa">sorry to interrupt, i have 2 packs of Drypers S (64pcs) to let go at $25 and a tin of similac mum to let go at $20, collection at sengkang, PM me to deal. Thanks.</font>

audrey...i'm in the same situation as u. baby ansen loves comfort sucking and he'll suck forever during the day. at nite i give 1 FM as last feed and even when he's full, he'll insist on waiting for me to latch him before he will sleep. and also refuse to sleep in baby cot, will only sleep next to me. i dun hv the heart to let him cry it out yet as he still has flu. but i'm very tempted to try the pacifier now. :s

Audrey and Liew
I think u all need effort to stop bb from comfort sucking, or else, bb will be sucking forever and reject everything... and tiring for you mummies..

Liew
Trying pacifier wont do harm to bb, anyway my #1 is not addicted to pacifier at all, we use it when she is really cranky. On good day, we dun even touch the pacifier..

audrey &amp; liew,
my gal also. only wan comfort sucking esp during the nite. totally refused pacifier. sianz.

rc,
how to make the pacifier attractive huh? my gal only took pacifier a few times, after dat, she jus spit out whenever we force it into her mouth

Gd morning ladies..

Re: Pacifier
RC-cola, i started #1 on pacifier and until now she is turning 2 soon but still dun want to go off her pacifier...how do u wean off that?

Re: Washable Breast pads
Anyone using washing breast pads? got any good brands to recommend me?

Side track...Carrier
Hey, in case anyone is interested...i have a brand new Ergo carrier to let go. PM me if keen
looks like this => http://www.ergobabycarriers.com/babycarriers/category/carrier/

I am also pumping exclusively. I started from Week 2 and now at 100ml. My baby always sucks very strongly and my nipples will become sore after every latch. He also latches wrongly for my LB, tried correcting it but still the same and he will sometimes tug at my nipples! So painful!.

I am now pumping every 2 hours in case my milk supply goes down. I realise that my milk supply usually yield the highest at night! Just yesterday I managed to pump 200ml for both breasts!

Question.. I'm now giving my baby 100ml of my EBM. If I managed to pump more, I will store in the fridge and combine to 100ml for the next feed. Any mummies doing the same?

Pacifier vs Finger suckling:

#1 - was given pacifier since less than 1 mth, quit pacifier at 18mth

#2 - no pacifier, finger suckling till now, 4yo...hiaz..dunno how to cut it off!

juju,
I know motherhood fair selling $14/pack.. same as ordering via tel.. i ordered thru tel.. lazy just to go expo get that.. keke..

Thanks Joyce..
May i know how much did u pay for it? I thinking of getting the washable ones coz i will be using them for at least 1 year so dun want to waste too much $$ on the disposable ones..

audrey, thanks for co-ordinating n collecting the shawls... i hv transferred $20 to u

oki, only spray during "let down"... other times juz drip... hmm, how to hv more "let down" during pumping? throughout the day, i experienced "let down" while not latching or pumping... even during shower also will drip milk! felt kinda wasted that the precious milk is not collected (my supply low mah)...

Adv_sports > Me too. Last evening was latching on and other side of B was dripping so only can use tissue to tab dry the milk. Kind wasted too since supply is miserably low.

Latch-on thruout entire night (comfort sucking)
Din know that will become a habit for bb. Last night wanted to try kicking off the habit but bb cried so not sure if she hadnt sufficient milk or she liked to do the comfort suck again. Gave in but fortunately only while. Maybe try the pacifier tonight.

I still dare not cut the nails. Luckily still not long. Wanted to trim the eyelashes too...haha to see her in a new pair of eyelashes.

Re: Pacifier
My #1 has also been on pacifier since the 2nd month. Now that she is coming to 21 months, she only use the pacifier during sleeping time.

Re: Breastpads
I am currently using Pigeon disposable ones. It cost $8 if you purchase from Cheong Choon (Chinatown store). All other places are selling at $8.90. You can also try avent washable breastpads. I personally used it b4 when i was pumping exclusively cos i was dripping like mad. For now, i am using disposable cos i find it cleaner and i dun drip as much cos baby will always be there to partially empty my Bs. Then i will pump out the excess every 6 hourly.

Re: Comfort sucking
Touch wood, my gal dislikes comfort sucking for now cos she will be overfed and feel uncomfortable if she continues to sucks. My Bs are usually too full of milk for her to suck. Hence, i concluded that if she refuses to suck and still cry, it must be that she feels too full.

Re: Nail cutting
I already trimmed my gal's nail when she was 5 days old. Can't stand the uneveness in the nail length which makes her nail very sharp. Just need to use very sharp baby's nail cutter. Manicure baby is a very good cutter and it cost $3+ only.

Re: Nite feeds
Last nite, Baby started to drink 100ml of ebm @ 7 days old. Its quite a lot for a 7 day old baby right? And it only lasted her for ard 3+ hours since her feed at 1am. But good enuff for me. She woke up at 4+am and i latched her till both of us fell asleep on the bed together. Cant be even bothered to bring her to her cot cos i latched her in the sleeping position. Then this morning, my #1 climbed up from the mattress to our bed also..So ended up, we had hubby, myself, #1 and #2 on the king sized bed.

Juju

Bb at this stage doesnt know how to suck pacifier, we have to hold it for them..

How to make it attractive? haha i have no idea :p

My girl just weaned off herself but changed pattern to suck thumb till about 1 yo, now at 21 mths, she sucks her thumb back, faintz haha!

Juju
That is normal, it's a foreign item for them.. remember the first time when we give them bottle?? it's the same thing..

Nowadays my bb tends to wake up from 5am to 7am haiyah..

rc cola,
mine accepted pacifier initially. then she started rejecting it after a few times.
now, i'm the pacifier... sianz

hi mums, i.ve e following to let go:

1. medela mini electric breast pump $120 use less than 10 times, comes in full packing n can use battery or electric mode

2. Palmers organic cocoa butter cream for stretch marks $20 new not use be4. Given by someone to me.

3. Pigeon breast pads 35pcs $8

I stay in sk. To self collect as i'm looking aft bb veri difficult to go out to post items or meet up. Thanks

It's been sometime since I posted on the forum. No time to post! But have been reading all the postings here! I just want to share my breastfeeding story to all mummies who are fixing with FM. Its not to boast my milk supply or anything but just to encourage you all that its possible to go TBF from fixing with FM.

My milk supply was not very much initially. Milk only came in abt day 6-7. So the previous days, my baby was almost totally on FM. I latched her on 3 times a day from day 7 and pump out on other times. She moved on to feeding only about 3 times of FM each day. This lasted till she was about one month old.

After my confinment, I suddenly find that either it was my milk supply decrease or my girl was having a growth spurt. She suddenly wanted to latch on me every hour!!! I was quite tired and stressed out hence, I decided to give her more FM, while still religiously latching her. I didn't pump at all (or maybe once in a day) during my week 5. She had still has 3 FM feeds each day too. Difference is that I have to latch her on every hour instead of every 2-3 hours during my confinement period.

My hard work finally paid off in week 6 (now). I'm pumping out 180ml every pump (about 3 times a day) and latching her on every 2 hours unless she is cranky. She is only feeding on one FM (4am feed) each day. But this is only because me and hubby are lazy to go heat up the EBM in the fridge at 4am in the morning as it takes a while to heat and we don't want our girl to wake up the entire neighbourhood! haha (sorry, we are both sleepy and lazy parents).

So its really possible to move on from mixing with FM to TBF! Don't be too stressed out as your body needs some time to adjust and to get your signal that your baby needs more milk! Rememeber to latch the baby correctly otherwise no matter how long you latch, the milk supply won't increase much.

Hope my story encourages all those mummies with lower milk supply! Let's all jia you in our breastfeeding journey.

Hi bean, thanks for sharing.

What is the average time interval to express? When i express every 3 hrs, with 20 mins per pump, i only yield 7-80Ml max. besides, my nipples get painful after these 3 days of exclusive pumping.

Not sure if that's a sign that pumping is not for me.

I have been applying nipple cream after every pump, still the nipples will hurt like hell at times.

Any mums with similar experience? I saw that some mums pump every 2 hrs, and like 30-45mins per pump! How can your nipples handle the stress??

What is the recommended time frame and frequency to expressing milk?

Oh also - Medela pump has that massage and letdown functions. For mums using Medela, do you use the massage function or letdown or both? I am using only massage function now cos my nipples are hurting...

Tinkles mum,
I normally only pump for 15-20 mins. Why don't you latch and pump? You latch one feed and then pump for the next? I only pump about 3-4 times a day. Once at 12 midnight, 6am then 6pm. But it also depends on my girl's feeding time.

re pacifier
Yesterday was the first day we bring our boy out to the grandparents place. When he came back last night, cry non stop. Very poor thing. So I let him suckle my nipples for comfort. After a while, too painful, so we intro pacifier. Initially he push it out. After a while, he ,managed to learn to keep it in his mouth and we managed to calm him down. Not keen to let him use pacifier too much, but at least it works Lah

Pump
I am using medela pis and my nipples get sore after that. Kinda expanded. Why ah?? I have phobia pumping. Prefer to let my boy latch. But hope to have some ebm so that I can go out without him. Am I pumping wrongly?

Block ducts
I realised that I get it esp with underwire bra. So if any of u wanna wear underwire, do remember to massage when u take out ur bra. Painful.... 3rd time liaoz

Re: Underwired bra
I have not been wearing underwired bra ever since i started to bf my #1. Everytime that i wear, i sure kena blocked ducts or lumps too. Hence, i go for non-underwire types which have thicker bra straps to offer good support for our Bs to prevent sagging. In fact, for the whole pregnancy, i never wear underwired bras too.

Re: PIS
Hi Muffintop, is it the first few times that you are using the pump? You need to slowly allow ur nipple to adjust to the pump. Hence, you may not want to switch on to the max power so quickly. Also, do observe if there is friction b/w the funnel and your nipple. I suppose that ur funnel is the "hard" type one right? or is it the softfit-kind. If is the the hard type, the size may not be right for you and hence it causes the pain. Try to go to mums and babes, first few years or department stores(not all) to check out the funnels that comes in the various sizes. Choose one that fits u.

Re: Pump time for medela uses
Please DO NOT exceed 20 min in total. I tried to act smart thinking that the longer i express, the more i will yield when i had #1. Result, i had cracked nipples which was very painful.

Frequency: Try to pump with at least 3 hourly interval. Not less than that to maintain sanity. Also, it allows ur nipple to rest.

2 modes: Let down and Pump mode. The letdown mode only stimulate the breast to start to produce milk. Hence, you need activate the pump mode to obtain more yield.

thanks poohwei, i will check out the size. im using the one that came w the set, think soft. in fact, im on the lowest power liaoz..

gg to expo to check out the nursing bras!

bean, thanks for sharing... very encouraging to hear ur success

btw, how many ml did u give claire for 3 FM feeds per day? m giving my baby 90ml for nite feed (ard 12midnite) and can last till 4am... other time will latch her on... this morning at 3am, i managed to pump 100ml -- best yield so far...

Adv sports,
Do you mean for the 3 FM feeds at that time? she started with 80ml then 100ml then 110ml by the time she was 4 weeks old.

100ml is very good!! :D just relax and more milk will come. :D

Oh one more thing adv sports, At that time, sometimes I realised that latching on my girl at night can last more than one FM feed. Sometimes when I latch her on for 15 mins, then she can sleep for 4 hours. But after a FM feed she slept only 2.5 to 3 hours. Very strange but true. haha

bean, thanks.. i m wondering whether i should increase FM coz my bb seems like she wants more milk after 90ml... maybe will increase slowly...

for me, latch on between 1-6am can only last 2hours... sometimes day time can last longer.. strange...

hope my milk ss will be able to meet my bb's demand soon
i will try to work hard and pump in the early morning...

Haiz.My CL keeps saying that baby drinks less when they latch on. She thinks that baby will only be full if they are bottled-fed. Is that true? It makes me feel so stress and sian.
Currently, my gal can latch on and drink at every 3 hourly interval leh. Plus, if we give her bottle(80-90ml ebm) for the nite feed at 11pm, she will also last ard 3+ hours only.

Now i m having some engorgement again. Just cleared my Bs but the right one still feels sore. Got to make sure that my gal latches on and clears it later for her 2-3am feed later.

Re: Tandem nursing
For mummies who gives ebm to your older kids, is is true that our ebm is less nutritious as compared to their formula? My gal is currently having 80% of her milk feeds substituted by ebm. My PD says that it does not matter as their main source of nutrition should come from solids.

Poohwei, oh dear, my #1 is also having 80% of his milk feeds substituted by ebe... really not as nutritious is it? He still has his breakfast, lunch, post lunch (after child care) dinner everyday. In between, he has his milk. Not much tho (200ml, 150ml and 150ml). I hope all these are sufficient for him.

Honestly, i think babies drink more when they latch on and really suckle. 20 minutes of intermittent suckling can actually last my girl quite long, about 3 hrs. Same as you, we give bottle (100ml) at 11pm and she can last till about 4am.

Joyce, Congratulations! Well done! Enjoy your freedom. I am enjoying mine with icy cold drinks and fresh water showers

Other mummies, soon, it will be your turn

Pacificers:
Mummies, I also started to give my girl pacificer. Reasons? cries quite a bit and has difficulty falling asleep.

Crying:
Any mummies here have babies who cry a little more than usual. REalised my girl likes to be carried all the time (think CL had been carrying her and rocking her to sleep in the middle of the night without our knowledge). She normally will cry then wail till she is picked up. I find this so so tiring... and my maid and I can do much with her crying and wanting to be carrried all the time

Underwired bras:
I have been wearing them... heard can cause blocked ducts but can't be help, I cant stand my boobs with those without wire. Super vain!

Hi Bean, adv_sports - I am expressing 100% now cos my baby is a comfort latcher. He will latch whole day at hour interval and stop drinking at 15min to sleep. It's not possible for him to sleep at any regular interval at all which I understand is very common for newborns in the first mth.

I just switched to EBM 3 days ago and I yield around 70-80ML per express. Right now, top that up to 90-100ML, my boy sleeps around 2-3hrs - slightly more regular. But with my low supply now, I do have to subsitute with FM for about 3 times a day, tryign to cut that down as my supply increases (hopefully).

Hi Pooh wei - thanks for your advice on medela pump! very useful info. You are so right about the friction between the function and the nipples! I think i may need to buy a new funnel (hopefully I can sneak out today).

Btw my MIL, Mom, etc all condemns me giving baby breastmilk. It's true that because baby gets hungry faster on breastmilk but it's nature's best, so don't give up on that. I compromise with expressing my breastmilk so they know how much their grandchild is feeding, but because i have low supply now, I am forced to substitute. If I could help it, I would go on total breastfeeding, like Bean...