(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

caroline,
M size diapers - if your baby is big, then maybe should not stock up so much S size. My bb is now > 4 kg and using S size huggies ultra. It's just nice but in few months time, he should upgrade to M.

EBM vs latch on
It depends on individual milk supply. For me, latch on increase milk supply. I work full time so can only latch on at nite and weekend. By 12th month, the BM got less and less no wonder how hardworking I am in expressing. My bb has to switch to formula milk by 1 yo.

Joyce,
ur bldg has nursing room? that's so nice.. considerate for bf mums.. mine dun have.. aiya.. like tt maybe i just express in toilet n throw away the milk to ease the engorgement.. but so wasteful..

Tinkle mum,
did u ask them if the motherhood fair has stock for NB coz they have a booth there? like that u wont get to enjoy offer price $14.. i ordered 2 S n 2 M today

sharon - yes, if you are returning to work, you won't be able to let bb latch on so you got to pump the milk for caregiver to bottlefeed bb. you will need to check if there are nursing facility at your workplace, for eg, meeting rooms dat you can use. 4mth old bb will drink around 210ml, 4-5 feeds a day. but this is only a rough guage, diff bb has diff appetite.

ebm vs latch on
i'm one of those who do ebm instead of latch on. would have preferred to do latch on but juz too tiring to hv bb on the breast hourly. with a #1 around, i can't spend time with her if i'm always bf my #2. i started off pumping at 2hrly interval, then 3hrly, 4, and nw 5/6 hrly. i'm doing 4 pumps per day. will likely tune my body to 3 pumps before returning to work. previously with #1, i pumped once when i wake up, once in office, and last pump before zz. you hv to make sure you clear your breasts completely to keep up supply and prevent blocked milk ducts

hi mummies, need some help here... i ve been direct latching and also EBM for my gal. yesterday morning, found out that both my nipples are cracked and bleeding. so i stop latching and have been pumping since then. anyone experience nipples bleeding b4? how long would the nipples recover? cos its really painful to con'd direct latch with the "cut" on the nipples. just now i was showering and could still see the "cut" on the nipples. so sad.

also, wanna check with those that EBM, i m using medela PIS. do we steralise the tubing tube after everytime we use too? since the tube has no contact with the milk, i only steralise it once every few days. should be ok rite?

feb_mum, how to know whether breast is completely cleared? now i pump once at 11pm after my last latch on at 6pm -- will yield abt 80ml for both breasts...

btw, is the milk content the same for both breasts? i notice that bb gets hungry easier after latching on my right B but can last longer for left B...

re: mittens
when to stop wearing mittens for bb?

hi feb mum, how do we make sure we cleared our breasts completely to keep up supply and prevent blocked milk ducts? is there a min timing for it? cos for me, i make it a standard to pump for 10mins for each breast nia.

adv sports, i understand from my CL that after 1 mth can stop wearing mittens liao. but i ever heard some mummies con'd to let their bb wear mittens till 2mths+.

Baby may, i dont like to sack people, she is my hubby relative and can take good care of baby but not me.

I know no 1 is perfect but i cant control myself to complaint her when she ask me to do tis and tat, i feel like myself is her maid .................
especially baby going full month,...she so experiance cant even handle 1 baby, always call ppl help. When she left and i'll be home alone 2take care baby how?? i first time mom... many question marks!??

Thanks Joyce, Anx, feb_mum,

I tried latching on last week and only switched to ebm 2 days ago. I am not sure if it will help to increase my milk supply, so far, my supply remains over these 2 days of expressing... will have to observe. I am just hoping to get my milk supply up soonest to meet his increasing milk demand week on week.

For latching then pump - I don't even know if I have time to do that if my boy were to latch on every other hour!

May I know if this is normal for first 2 weeks?

Feb_mum, how long do you pump each time?

Anx, my baby is only coming 2 weeks old, about 3.3kg last week at his first PD checkup... I was thinking of ordering for newborns. S and M sizes are for how big baby?

adv sport, qin yi - breasts should feel soft if they have been cleared. when i'm pumping, i will also massage the breasts to help the milk come out. i take abt 30min - 40min each pump to clear out the milk since i'm pumping at 5-6hrly interval. when i was pumping at 2-3 hrly interval, i only take abt 15-20mins.

tinkles mum - try to perservere in latching on since it's still early days for you. bb might develop nipple confusion if bottle is intro too early. once bb prefer the bottle, he might not want to latch on again. try to do direct latching in the first two mth or so to est supply first. if your bb is feeding at hourly basis, dun feel stressed dat you need to pump. direct latching is still the best way to est milk supply, esp if bb is latching well.

qin yi - i'm using medela pis too. fr wat i know, there is no need to sterlise the tubing. juz need to sterilise the parts that come into contact with milk.

adv sport - shd not let bb wear mittens beyond 3mths becoz you wan bb to learn to grasp with her fingers. if you decide to stop letting bb wear mittens, do ensure bb's nails are short or else she will scratch herself.

my gal now morning after shower at 9.15 dont want to sleep until 4pm
already feed her, change diapers, carry her to sleep but after 10 mins she open her eyes big big again. Any of u got experience like that? Already 4 days like that how?

adv sport,
I have the same problem with u except mine is left B is lesser supply n bb always get hungry faster..

tinkle mum,
If u getting nepia, u can use NB till full mth coz it's up to 5kg, the cutting is bigger than huggies ultra.

feb_mum,
is it ok to cut baby nail during they sleep? Cos if she wake up i dont think i can cut her nail leh
no one dare to cut her nail ... until now my gal almost 5 weeks n i still give her wear mittens n bootees.

thanks feb mum, i m currently expressing every 2-3hrs... tink i will lengthen the pumping to 15-20mins then.

ya lor, i also thought there's no need to steralise the tubing actually...

<font color="ff0099"> nursing shawls:
hi mums the shawls are at my place. quite hard for me to come online cos now most of the time i'm alone at home with bb until evening.

can come n collect the shawls from me anytime, just give me a call. my number is 96343080 and payment wise, u can pay me when u collect or transfer to:

POSB SAVINGS 103-70525-8

the shawls are $20

and i'm having bad rashes n have to stay in air con the whole day.. and bb rejects bottle, formula, ebm, pacifier, everything! its so tiring when i'm trying to stop scratching myself from the itch and she just wants to latch n latch n latch.

its definitely comfort suckling cos she cannot be possibly drinking 45 mins every 1 hour.. she can latch forever.

today i went to back to teaching piano and i had to bring her along cos she will go hungry if i'm not around.

and i went to kkh yesterday morning for my rashes, i had to bring her along as well... omg...

re:fair
nothing much in my opinion la, i just bought huggies, collected the shawls n bought 1 pouch from them which i regret now cos bb hates to be in it. zzz...............</font>

lily - ya, it's ok to do so when they are asleep. in fact they struggle less, hee. but i do it when she's awake. will talk to her to distract her so dat i can cut her nails.

audrey - maybe you wan to intro the pacifer if bb juz wan to comfort suck?

tinkles mum - ya, nepia diapers are quite big cutting. tink get nb/s size at this stage shd suffice. dun overstock on nb/s diapers coz bb do outgrow these sizes quite fast.

tinkles, my son moved to huggies s by the second week and his wt was Abt 3.5 then. Huggies quite small cut.

Just visit the dr to review his jaundice. Very happy he is 4.57 kg at 27th day. Total latch, been worried if he has enough.

Sometimes he suckles one b for half n hr before moving to the other, but the pd said he shd b feeding 15 mins on each b only, rest of time he just treat me as pacifier. I feel he is eating lehh. How???

Feb mum, I have received the package. Thanks

Re mittens,
I took out for my son after week one, but if we sleep aircon, I will put it on to keep him warm

thanks feb_mum... maybe I will give it another shot. need to settle my mom also - she is constantly nagging when i BF cos of the low mllk supply and bb crying... sigh, how not to stress man!

lily - you were asking abt drinking soup yesterday. y dun u make your own? it's very ez to make the fish papaya soup. just dump the fish slices, green papaya cubes and ginger slices into water and boil and voila, the soup is ready. you can oso take frenugreek to boost milk ss. my massage lady told me taking oats will oso help. you might wan to give it a try.

tinkles mum,
i was exclusively expressing for my elder boy. for me, my supply did increase though no latching on.. managed to meet his demand wi my EBM for his 1st 6 months, after which solid food was introduced and i slowly reduced the frequency of expressing. exclusive expressing needs lots of determination, need to wake up at midnights to pump also, if not supply will gradually reduce..

qin yi,
im also using Medela PIS, i never sterilise the tubes. only the parts.

adv sport &amp; ling lim,
mine also! my right breast super inferior.. bb get hungry v easily after latching on on that.. and he fuss alot when i latch him on my RB also.. when he suckled on my left breast, can "tahan" him for 2 hours...

feb mum,
yes yes! u know what, after the confinement for my elder boy. i cooked papaya fish soup for my lunch almost everyday! haa

<font color="ff0099"> feb_mum
she cry louder when we put the pacifier in.. we tried to let her cry but after 5 min i felt so sad so i just latch her on again..

she dun like to slp in her cot..she only wants to sleep next to me..so hb takes the bed, im on the mattress n once she falls aslp after latching, she will slp on my chest til her next feed..

now im carrying her n she wont let go of my nipple..i want to go toilet leh,,,,, zzz..

glenlyn, lily,
yah man so long...i want to go anywhere also cannot,,, muz bring her along...

tinkles
take care too ok.. jia you!!

kiddy palace sale til end of this month

tinkles mum,
for my elder boy, yes. i expressed since he newborn.. just checked my record, i expressed 7 times a day when he was 1mth old, yield varied on different timing of the day, from 60ml - 130ml.. however i used a single elec pump last time round, took me ages to pump my pair of breasts! now im using a twin pump, save lots of time! this time round, i direct latch + express.. extra can give my elder boy
dun be discourage ya, jia you! and most impt, dun get stressed over all these

audrey,
can my hubby collect from u coming monday? btw, can PM me ur addy? thanks a lot! shall make payment to u via IB asap!

lily - get from markets or supermkts - buy papaya that is unripe and then cut them up into cubes. i tink any type of oats will do. i take instant quaker oats. i dun know how to make bb like pacifier lei. my #1 only used it for a short while then discovered sucking her thumb was nicer.

dodo - ya, i oso boil the soup and then take it with bee hoon or mee sua for lunch. easy one dish meal now dat i'm alone at home with bb.

audrey - i rem having my #1 on my breast while i was pooing in the toilet! actually, i believe dat since bb is still so young, there are habits that can be broken or changed. but you nid to be ren xin and bear with the initial crying. on sleeping, bb like familiar smell so dat's y she wan to sleep with you. you can rub a piece of small cloth on yourself and then place in her cot for her to smell.

Audrey, you can put a finger fron the side of her mouth, and slowly release your nipple!

can i collect the shawls from you tomorroow, about 11 plus? thanks for coordinating

Hi everyone, my #3 (a girl) is actually a May 2009 baby and I've been silently reading this thread for some time now. Just will like to share my experiences in breastfeeding (either latching / expressing)

#1:
My #1 was not able to latch on properly since she was born (even Mrs Wong from parentcraft -- tmc also commented that when she saw her during my hospital stay). She was also not suckling strongly enough even when I managed to latch her on properly hence I have to rely on FM from day 1. Also using a manual pump at time was not successful and I can only manage at most 40ml from both breast even after a month. Hence after 8 weeks my supply dipped to nothing.

#2:
With #2, I'm determined to go tbf thus I actually bought the Ameda dual pump right from the start. He was a natural when it comes to latching but he was suckling so strongly each time that after a week I've developed cracked nipple. I tried to use the pump to express out my milk but blood squirt out instead due to my cracked nipple. Also I can only manage 10 - 20ml from both breasts after 30 mins of pumping that it became quite depressing for me. Hence I came to realise that breast pump doesn't work for me at all. What was worse is I actually had mastities (breast infection) twice in 2 weeks and that led me to totally stop latching him directly. Fortunately, my gynae showed me a more efficient way to express out my milk while treating me for my breast infection (using hands to express). Yes it does sound tiring but I perservered and guess what I managed to breastfed him for 6 months on ebm.

#3:
With my #3, I have been diligently latching her on from day 1 in the hospital to get my supply coming. 15 mins on each side of the breast. At home, I'm using hands to express my milk in the day (every 4 hourly) and I'll latch her on directly at night. To my pleasant surprise, I actually able to meet her demand and had more to freeze. (she's now drinking 80ml every 2-3 hourly). I believe that for mummies who want to go the ebm way, yes it will be more tiring that direct latching but by expressing out and emptying your breast everytime, you supply will increase. Now (my #3 is 16 day old) it only take me 20mins in total to empty my breasts using hands (and I can get 140 - 160ml each time).

Oh I'm also eating goat's rue from Motherlove (a supplement that increases breast milk) whenever I feel that my supply is dipping.

so sorry for the very long post.

<font color="ff0099"> ling
i tried removing my nipple from her mouth, den she will suck even harder.. wah so pain. the suction haha. den she'll continue suckling n suckling.. den fall aslp, i try to remove, den she suck harder haha.

dodo, pmed u my add already

feb_mum,
yah i think i must ren xin.. but v sad... and she is so superly clingy... zzz...

muffintop,
hello sure tomorrow isn't a problem!

and i cannot release my nipple from her mouth haha so sad man.</font>

audrey,
how come andrea become like that? maybe cos her got the jab yesterday she angry with u then do like that lor ....
make u cant do anything except for her only.

audrey,
usually when they fall asleep, the mouth will so called open.. faster pull out at that moment lor..haha.. that wat i do.. olways looking for 'opportunity' if my boy refuses to let go.. :p