(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

oki, mdm rokiah asked me to let bb latch on right more since i have unblock ducts there.. so i have been latching right more than left.. maybe thats y slowly the supply for both Bs r balancing soon.. but my supply drops by ard 40ml.. now i only pump 2 times.. morning and nite.. then latch whenever there is demand from bb..

RE: BFG
i had my fear in bfg during #1 thats y i failed in latching.. but i persisted in expressing.. i struggled in expressing for 4 mths.. still can achieve milk but wldnt be long run.. so this time, like oki, i'm determined to bf for as long as possible. most of us here r working mums. so now we have lots of time, so latch on.. bfg is never easy... it requires alot of 'lack of slp', 'determination', 'patient'..

so mummies, lets try our best to bf bb ok? even if we fail, at least we have tried our best!

Hi Shers,oki, during confinement can try to have the baby latch on and feed direct, but after we start work how? Have to bottle feed already right?

If baby is latching on every 2 hrs or so, still have to pump? why ah?

Btw which breast pump are you using or do you recommend?

Hi Tinkles Mum,

Pumping after latching will help to stimulate more supply. This is good if you are returning to work and wants to store ebm for later use. It also ensures that your breast is emptied...prevent engorgement.

Personally, i prefer medela pumps. I have tried medela dual and PIS advanced. Both are good...Will be using freestyle this round...I am a medela fan!! Hahahaha...but i got back the $$ cos i saved on FM.

Shers,
Ic wow u hv start ur massage liao?

Tinkle,
I hv already implement bottle feed for my bb. He will be bottle fed at night and so far he is ok leh.

Anyway, once my supply is stable I will bottle feed him more and wean him off slowly. Likely I will latch him in the morning and night once I get back to work if my supply still there ;)

Wah Pooh Wei you have so many Medela Pump ah! I am also thinking of getting Freestyle leh cos not as cumblesome as PIS.

Ok so in a nutshell, after baby latch on, we continue to pump out? How long will the baby latch on (how would we know he is full)? And how long should we stay on the pump after feeding baby direct?

Shers, how long did you direct feed before introducing bottle feeding to baby?

So when you are back to work, it will be a mix of direct and bottle feed la? Will the baby get confused and refused either one?

tinklemum,
i only pump out 2 times per day... morning and nite time.. the rest just latch... because i realised that these 2 period, i got engorgement... the rest of time, just latch..

i will start bottle feeding after i move back my mama place.. to let her start drinking plain water and ebm.. but that will mean that lesser latching and more expressing.. of course this has to be made when supply is stable and constant and bb is latching well..

i will latch in morning and nite when go back work.. same like oki.. but provided my supply is still there too...

oki, i will start my massage next tue.. i asked mdm rokiah to come over to unblock my ducts..
how abt u?? started already?? or ended already??

Hi mummies! Am finally settled down at home with bb at home.

Tinkles Mum, pls help me update..
Given EDD - 15 May 2009
Actual EDD - 12 May 2009
Week at delivery - 39 weeks
Gynae name - Dr Adrian Woodworth
Birth method - Csec with epi
Hospital - TMC
# of current baby - 1
Weight at birth - 3165g
Gender - Girl
Name of baby - Teo Le Xuan

I'm having problems with latching BB on also! I think I have phobia of latching BB on cos she cries and cries when I try to latch her on and she sounds like she's going to suffocate. I broke down on my last night at hospital cos I thought I was hurting her and she keeps making "help help" sounds. I can't latch her on more than 10mins cos she'll cry and i'll be very stressed. so far i'd been pumping out (not a lot but slowly increasing; just started taking fenugreek last night, hope it helps..) but i wanna try latching her on cos pumping makes my nipples very sore. any advice? can anyone recommend a good lactation consultant who can come my house to help? I had help from a lactation consultant at TMC but that time milk supply was low and doesn't seem to help..

here's a pic of my bb..
2465565.jpg

Thanks Shers. So most of the time you are still using direct latch.. i see... i hope I can do the same provided my baby wants to. Like you said have to persevere..

The massage that you and Oki are talkign abt - Mdm Rokiah, she specialises in massaging for post-natal or just for breast massage?

tinkles mum & shers...i think mdm rokiah doesnt do hse visit anymore. the last time, i got mdm sharifah from her agency, quite good. gonna get her this time around too if she's available.

for some reason i dun hv much luck in expressing. it's like i pump and pump and there is nothing but my breasts is full!! i dunno if the way i do it is not right or something. so for me, no choice...i hv to latch. does anyone else hv the same prob or is it just me??

oki, i am using the medela electric...i love it ! very powerful ah..but after pump, my nipple very sore...then i quickly apply the cream...

ya is noisy...but i dont mind...as long is fast and powerful...cos few days i use the aven manual pump...very slow and cause my hands very suan...my hb help me pump also complain ah...

liewb, 2 yrs ago, i used mdm rokiah for her sessions. now she no longer do massage... but do only unblocking of engorgement.. i asked her to come over my place on the day i discharged coz i got engorgement.. no matter how hard i massage, use hot towel, pump.. cannot come out...

this time mdm rokiah recommends mdm sharifah also.. i will start my session with her this coming tue... looking forward to this!

gd afternoon ladies!

Shers, bb bernice is doing well. She is home with us today
Now both my babies (#1 and #2) are sleeping...that's why i can come online..hehe...

Re: CL
Baby_may, why dun you express ur milk and let bb sleep with ur CL at nite? Let her feed bb with ur EBM at nite while u rest then in the day time then u latch on? might be less stessful for u.

Hi Tinkle mums,

My first medela dual was a 2nd hand set. As i was expressing ebm 100% from 4th mth onwards, i had to rely heavily on the breastpump. My gal refused to latch on once i returned to work. Now, the dual has given way and i bought an additional freestyle. So i will leave my freestyle at home and my PIS at work.

Noise wise, my gal was not woken up by the sound of the pump, so i guess it is ok. If you are afraid of the sound, can use a towel to "wrap"round the pump so as to minimize the sound.

Re: Avent manual pump
I tried the pump as well when i borrowed it from my fren. After 30 min, i could not even yield 300ml (with electric ones, i could finish 300ml in 20 min)...plus it is SOOOOOO tiring. Hence, i gave up the idea of using a manual pump tho i understand that avent manual can clear the breast very well..But not for pple with lotsa bm...

Hi Porky,
Try not to exceed 20 min when using the medela electric so that your nipples will not be too sore.

haloo...everyone...

i m still here hanging ard...

tinkles mum..

i also bought the medela dual pump...intend to pump at work also...but ofc got no room for me to do tat...haha

Thanks Poohwei, Cheyanne...

Pooh wei - so you actually bought 2 sets of pump? very ex leh freestyle cost like $1k right?

Cheyanne, my office also no nursing room, I had to use the store or one of the conf room so cannot be too loud lor :p

hi tinkles mum...

going for chkup tmr morning...intend to ask his advice...

not too sure...kinda tormenting to wait n wait..haha...

btw congrats...so u can see bb jonas soon too...

Hi Tinkle mum,

Bought my new freestyle from US website. So after shipping maybe ard S$500-600? but no local warranty. My first set of PISA was more ex. Spent nearly S$700 cos breastpumps were more ex in the past. But if you calculate...1 tin of FM cost $35. One month, you need 4 tins. So 1 month, you will need to spend $140 on FM. Hence, In ard 5-6months, you will break even already...Hehehe,..that will motivate you to bf for as long as you want to.

Hi Cheyanne,
We converted one of the disabled toilet on the top floor to a nursing room. Not the best choice, but at least it is restricted to nursing purposes only. And we have a schedule as in who to pump at which timing cos it is accessible by key only.

Poohwei - i was also thinking of getting from a spree organised for breastpump bought from US - is the warranty important?

Actually u have a point yah abt the cost savings... haha i never see it that way

Btw, how many times will we have to pump while at work ahh? when do we know when to pump :p

tinkles...

i dun tink my hubby wan kaiden to come out tonite..cuz my bro, dad n him wants to watch tat last episode of condor heros on ch U...

n since i m the only gal in the family now..i got no say...hahaha

ytd they want to watch MU vs arsenal 1st...hahaha

n i change my nite appt to am appt so jus in case dr tee say i shld admit on mon nite...

then i told kaiden if u intend to b out on tue..i will treat him to gelare tues halfprice wafer & ice cream...

btw y dun u loan from hosp the pump and c which one r u comfy wif before intending to buy one yourself...

poohwei...ur comp so gd benefits for mummies...hmmm i muz go make suggestion to my comp then...

cheyanne - the loan set available from TMC are only PIS. Not all models are available.

Freestyle is a new model so not available too. Anyway just sussing ard... getting opinions before i order.

Btw your family very cute leh, can request for Kaiden to wait cos of TV program.. hahaha...

Actually if you are inducing, should admit in the morning right? in case the induction takes whole day? Induction also damn hard to gauge when baby will eventually be out hor?

okipoki- don't know? Some dr lee or sthting.. Was in intense pain basically. Nw tt i've stopped painkillers for more than 12hrs le.. I feel slightly better liao. I didnt experience any during the last delivery.

Hi Tinkles Mum,

So far, my 1st set of PIS (with local warranty) works perfectly fine. My cousin bought an imported PISA (no local warranty) but working perfectly fine. Touch wood, hoping that my freestyle will be ok too...

Re: FM vs BM
Hehehe..cost wise, if we can provide sufficient BM to the extent that we dun need FM, think the investment on breastpump is worthed it! Plus BM is something that you cannot buy. You may want to ask ur frens/ hospital to loan you a set to try out b4 buying? Anyway, many pple do sell it for 50% of the price after using it for a yr. So if you decide not to breastfeed after sometime, can sell at the forum to recoup some $$?

Hi Tinkles Mum,

Pls update, thx :)
Given EDD 16 May 2009
Actual EDD 08 May 2009
Week at delivery 38 Weeks +
Gynae name SM Phuar
Birth method C-Section
Hospital TMC
# of current baby 1
Weight at birth 3.540
Gender Male
Name of baby Kevan Ho

tinkles mum..

they horrible la...somemore tonite for some badminton finals as well..thus they say if can wait till late late then come out...

re:induce
mayb consider or not sure...most prob wait for DR to chk me n tell me more...

okie byebye too all...

i am going for my bath n spend more couple time...

tinkles mum...u take care...i will update u via sms tml on my chkup...

Hi mummies, hope everyone is well.
I'm also still coping with bf. So tiring.

Tinkles Mum, pls help me update..
Given EDD - 08 May 2009
Actual EDD - 05 May 2009
Week at delivery - 39 weeks
Gynae name - Dr KC Yeo
Birth method - Natural with epi
Hospital - TMC
# of current baby - 2
Weight at birth - 3.902kg
Gender - Girl
Name of baby - Jaylia Lim Jia Jun

915,thanks. Yeah, I have decided to latch during the day and sleep through the night. I started latching at 4.30pm just now and stop only at 6.30pm. After that, baby still crying loudly. So feed him another 85ml. So don't know whether baby get any milk from the latching. But his feeding time is supposed to be 515pm. So should have milk. If not, he would have cried long ago.

Poohwei, I don't have fever but not sure whether I have engorgement. I had engorgement during my fourth day and don't know till the people from parentcraft told me. But I don't have fever then also. My breasts seems softer than that time.

Bean, yeah, 2 hrs is very long. I think he is not latching on correctly. First time, I will guide him to latch, then he will adjust the position of his mouth himself. He like to open his mouth small small, so I think he is more comfort sucking then anything.

tinyM,
ur gal looks so cute...
i find catching the time bb gets hungry & latch bb before start crying is useful, seems to take the nipple more easily.
as for sore nipples, i jus got medela purelan yesterday. seems to reduce my soreness.
think TMC do provide lactation consultant, check their website for the details... not sure if there's a charge though...

porky,
me also using medela mini electric. very noisy. but the droning of the motor can help put my gal to sleep. *thumbs up*

poohwei,
wow! ur company treat nursing as a staff benefit, dat's good. i intend to chope office visitor room when i need to pump, else prob have to use the dept's storeroom or my boss office (got frosted glass). lol... now say so much, dunno i still got milk then or not.

tinkle mum...i cant remember mdm sharifah's number coz still waiting for her to contact me. but u can check out their package thru their website at jamumassage.com

actually my baby is also not latching correctly but now i try to massage before latching and during latching, i'll also massage to help with the milk flow. not easy and not sure how much of a help that is but i'm willing to try anything! and since i cant pump anything, i'm also not sure how much baby is taking.

baby may...my boy also latch forever and also kept crying once i unlatch. it's never a 15mins or 30mins thing, almost always 1hr at least. very tiring. but i'm hoping that things will get better once milk supply stablise and baby gets better at latching.

Gd evening everyone,

Congrates to those who just popped these 2 days.

I was so tired today and slept the whole afternoon. Last nite was terrible for me, bb keep crying for milk, dirtied her pj, pooed.. I attended to her almost till 4am..

This afternoon is ok, managed to sleep while bfg her on my bed..

Breastpump:
I would recommend Ameda Lactaline Dual Pump, pretty quiet, small & easy to carry along.

BFG:
So far ok for me as I'm latching on demand. Will delay expressing only after 4 to 6wks.

Confinement:
Mil is helping me with confinement, but, to the extend of cooking only...I also have a maid at home to help her in cleaning, washing, boil my shower herbs, etc.
I'm still the main caretaker for my girl at the moment, meaning, I shower her, changed her, feed her. She sleep in my room. I will sleep when bb sleeps, go out to eat only when food is served. Why? 'cos MIL is kena stroke before and one of her hand is not so mobile, she can't shower the bb. I do not want my helper to handle her yet.. as bb is still very small.
However, I'm still doing fine.

The only problem I have now is my #2, who will always come to my room & jump on my bed or touches my things..which drives me crazy sometimes.

Finally, hubby helped me bought the BP measurement, at least I can monitor my BP at home!