(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

fireflies80 - i'm a mean mummy. my baby also struggles when i sleep on the side, but i just apologise to him and tell him that i need to sleep. i feel bad and worried that i will squash him, but at times i'm just too tired. i tried sleeping on my back too, but my back hurts after a while. so i keep turning from side to back and back to side throughout the night. sigh.

Seems like my insomnia gone
too exhausted in the day! at nite, really sleep like a pig.. i always drink warm milo+milk at nite.. so far the insomnia still doesnt really affect me.

JasC
Ic ic.. wish you all the best hor.. today is my gynae appt, will emphasis to him that my BH contractions are painful, and sth is pressing against my V area, inner tight sometimes pulled like hell.. for me it is just like about to deliver that feeling which I only felt last few wks before my edd during my #1, but now those are happening too soon for me.. today i am 34wks and 3 days only..

good morning ladies

re: baby car seat cover
ju, i got this to protect the leather when putting the baby car seat in the car
http://www.kiddopotamus.com/p_duo.php

btw, the padding that u bought at kidzloft, does it hv "holes" to secure the harness?

how come u r warded for observation? contractions? take care n rest well!

re: similac mum
porky, i juz receive another $5 discount voucher from abbott... expire in jun 2009... can pass to u

re: KKH packing list
ju & jasC, thanks for the list of items

Audrey / Ling,
paiseh... shld be Sofy brand. it states got cotton soft sheet, dunno whether cotton or not.

Adv,
noted on the protector. hubby jus had leather upholstering done for the car. so thinking to get something to protect the seats.
the padding at kidzloft got holes, but think depends car seat/pram models.
warded for observation due to accident - mild contractions & ab cramps.

hi audrey,
thanks for all the info...very useful! i am so forgetful nowadays, its awful. I can stop at mid-sentence and completely forget what i was trying to say. The insomnia def making it even worse!

jasc,

how are u today?

don't scare me! i don't want to give birth @ home! one of my friends also gave birth @ home with her MIL! lucky nothing happened!

thanks for all the info too! i have not packed my hospital bag! planning to pack soon

RE: maids
anybody here have maids? my current 1 requested for urgent home leave this sat for 1 week barely 3 mths after starting her contract with us. sighs...i cross my fingers and toes that she will come back when she says she would the following sat....haf to manage work + kid + housework for 7 days in my current zombie state!

ju, thanks, will check out my baby car seat's harness before going to kidzloft...

oh, we bought the protector at OG Chinatown last weekend -- $40+ after 20% discount

oh dear, accident? must take good care! r u still driving? hubby finally persuaded me to stop driving to work -- he is taking over the wheels from april...

morning everyone...

din slp well recently...hmmm alot of tightening loh...

cant walk much...like walkin to toilet in office also feel so tight at my tummy...hope baby wont pop out so early...

cheekz,

Have you spoken to your agency abt maid's homeleave? Since she only here 3mths.. not allowed.. and also.. if she dun return.. how abt her loan that you have paid for her?

adv,
noted on the protector.
nay, hubby was the driver. now he sends me to & fro work, dinner then home mah. i already stopped driving for years. haha! me & bb ok, so no issue there.

Hi cheekz

I'm ok today, tired walking the whole day for app with gynae yesterday and rushed to work. End of the month so no choice have to go back to office after app.

Giving birth at home: I think this rarely happened, my husband will not know what to do!

Maid: I have a maid contract expiring this jul but she said she doesn't need home leave so we'll renew her for 2 years but I may need her for only half a year. Told her upfront, may be will compensate her with some money.

Your maid just joined want to take urgent leave? How to make sure that she'll come back and what happen if she doesn't? Get her to speak to the agent. Normally not allowed.

Have you been sleeping too early and wake up in the middle of the night? Try reading something boring so that you'll doze off quickly. I came across an article suggesting not to watch tv or surf internet as sometimes programme like news make you more awake.

Cola
I wish you all the best too and talk to baby so that he doesn't give mummy too much pain. Does your girl speak to baby? My girl always greet me in the morning and she'll never missed out the baby. She tried to take possession of the highchair and stroller but I told her let didi use since she's not using them now.

I'm walking like a penguin after sitting down for too long and having problem getting up from bed as below is quite painful.

RE: registering of birth cert
i tot we r given 1 month?? i remembered i registered my #1 just few days before her full month? cant rem also..

someone ask me abt choosing date for c-sect? i didnt choose and wldnt choose.. just go for whatever date gynae provides me.. anyway after birth, will consult master to name bb

shers,
14 days to do at hospital if they have ica counter.
within 30 days to do at ICA if u din do at the ica counter.
after that, need to give letter to say why din register within 30 days

hi j&m,
i paid $644 after 15% discount.
When you burp your baby over your shoulder, does your hair disturb your baby or you really spot a boy hair cut? i as thinking if i should get a bob

cheekz - i wouldn't let my maid goes off just after 3 months. not sure she will be coming back, and worse she may make it a habit. but i will ask the agent to speak to her. sometimes the agent will arrange for another maid to speak to her to find out what is the underlying problem. my take is that if she doesn't want to work for me, then it is better to let her go than to have her do some other funny stuff later.

Talking abt foreign domestic helpers, i really feel like tearing my hair out! My helper seems to treat this as a holiday job. She told me she will only work for 8 mths till Nov and she wants to return home to spend Xmas with her children . I allow her to call home abt 3 times a week as she seems really homesick and now she's asking to call every other day. She refuses to eat any kinds of noodle including spagheti, maggi mee, kway teow, bee hoon saying those will make her bones weak! And now the agency is asking me to keep her till i find another new maid. She contributes to part of my insomnia now. very stressful. She seems to be taking our kindness for weakness.

Can i chk with anyone who has similar experience:
1)If she wants to go back, must i pay for her air ticket?
2)If i get another maid from the agency, the agency says i have to pay $350 for Bank guarantee and medical insurance? Is that true?

CHeekz,

you'd better chk with your agencY cos i heard the security deposit does not cover overseas. Hence if she doesnt return, you may have to pay $5K

J&M,
i force myself to off my lappy and head to bed..else I can be surfing till dunno wat time and wont feel like sleeping until time to wake up. hee..
Enjoy ur shopping today!!! I hope to get all my req'd stuffs by later this evening too then can concentrate on counting down alrdy....

Having my 4D scan in an hour!!

Hi Mummies, gd afternoon... didn't logged in yesterday cos was so busy with my work. I am very excited now cos gonna have my 4D scan later! Leaving my home in half an hour...will keep you posted. I hope i don't have to wait half a day for my baby to show his face!

See you guys tonite mummies - have a nice day

star,
if yr maid still has loan to pay off, usually agency wldnt let her go unless she can pay off her loan and u have to pay for her air ticket.

yr package should include no of times of replacement and also how much to pay for each replacement. of course if replacement is inclusive in yr package then u just need to pay for new bond and insurance. that will cost not more than $270. $350 is too much. the run away bond only cost extra $50 on top of insurance.

J&M > Thanks! That consoled me so much.

Robinson Sale > Shall pop by over the coming weekend to see if I could get my daug a suitable stroller.

Workload > Getting more stressful towards end of next month cos my company is renewing some impt licences and I need to prepare tonnes of paperwork. Then still got customer audits...going to cry liew.

Wanna take leave to have break also pai seh cos times are bad and scare will lose rice bowl if not being responsible or develop poor work attitude.

mummies esp 2nd/3rd time mummies,

how u all previously stored ur expressed breastmilk?

i used to store in Avent milk bottles.. now thinking whether milkbag is a better option since not need to sterilse.. but im quite clumsy, worried will spill the milk during all the transfer leh...

anyone can advice on this? thanks!

mummies going for the momsinmind clearance sale tmr,

can u help me check how much the sarong pouch (not the sling) is going for?

size: S
colour: garden party (pink floral one)

thank u!!

or can u let me know what are the designs they have in size S?

i won't be able to make it tomorrow and i think their sarongs are on discount due to some minor defect (stains etc..)

thank u!! those who are going can u let me know so i can pass u my number?

dodo, i used to store mine at avent milk storage bottles.. for this, i'm using milkbag. but i will express into the bottle then pour into the quantity my bb will drink. at least if need to freeze, no wastage.

hello star

if a maid told u tat she can only work for 8 mth or blah blah blah.. my advice..cool down keep quiet..prepared to wasted some money ..go get a replacement,once new maid here jus sent the old maid back to agancy(your old maid should be stil under in replacement period,then agency wont ask u to pay her air ticket)but u still need to pay levy for old maid about 1wks til she get a new employer..agency sure wil tel u..lets us talk to your maid..u insist say no..jus ask agency to replace a new maid for u..

once u replace a new maid..agency wil re charge u
about $60 for their entry fee,insurance fee(depend which ins u cover for maid) and (hidden cost) they too charge another about $100 if u get an ex sg maid. the agency only wavie their registration fee for gettin u a new maid..the rest of it they wil stil ask u to pay..
if within 3mth cancel the old maid insurance,u stil can get back pro rated amount from the insurance.

i hav 10yrs experience wit maid..last yr 1st in my 10yrs i change 5 maids in a yrs (my hse got 2 maids).luck never get blacklisted by MoM..

2 weeks ago, i put on 10kg already.. i think next week appt, i will have more weight increase.. realised these 2 weeks, my tummy balloon up alot..

but that is a good sign because my mil saw already and gan keong abt confinement stuff.. heheheh..

flommy - ocbc has more branches, so it should be more convenient if you need to go to the bank. but i'm likely to go for scb because i don't like the local banks. :p

hi shers

my weight was 45kg before pregnant..tis week weight 65kg..so put on 20kg..but last 2wks was 68kg..abit funny hor

sallen, 20kgs?? wow.. thats amazing! but u dont look like u have put on alot of weight.. maybe because u r petite to start with.. hehehe..

thanks shers and sallen.

The agency says if i replace between
- 0-3mths, i have to pay $350 (Bank Guarantee and medical insurance)
-4-6mths, i have to pay $600!!

Sallen, Shers, are you familiar with what bank guarantee is? Is the agency charging me right?

Do you think i should send her back today (i m going to agency to select another maid) or should i wait till my new maid arrives?
Agency says i have to pay $15 per day for her lodging and food on top of her levy during the period of her transition of transfer till she gets a new owner but again they say they may send her back cos this maid insisted she wants to go back home by Nov and no owner will want to take her if it's only till nov

ak/Shers - scb seems to hv more perks? ocbc interest is 0.8%, scb is 1%? Is that correct? I tink the free insurance coverage is the same sum assured but scb has the HFMD coverage.

star, u shld have a contract between u and agency.. can u check what u sign with them?? usually will have a 'free' period where u can replace a new maid..

banker guarantee is just a form to sign..

insurance is a must. that is standard. for run away bond, that is optional.. add on $50.

i know all in all, i paid less than $270 including GST to agency other than the loan amount that maid owns agency and agency fee.

check yr contract again. employers have to pay for their lodging and levy. depending how much. and there is a cap i.e. no of days.. i think my contract is a cap of 14days.

u try to argue with the agency that u cant be paying something the maid has done wrong. u r not the 1 who dont wan her. she insists that!