(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

mummies!
sorry i MIA after my post! had meeting again! thanks for all the replies, really appreciate it...trying to reply all, sorry if i missed anything!

j&M,
sorry, missed ur qn earlier. i saw dr chan for 1st pregnancy till now. how bout u? he was recommended by my 2 older sis in laws who also went to him for their pregnancies.i find him v competent and his machines are v good. his stitches are good too.coz my SIL had a csect and she said his was the best (she had 2 csects before she went to see him).he may be ex, but i find his charges reasonable compared to the specialists in govt hospital. in fact i think he is more worth it coz his package starts @ 16 weeks and u get a 3D photo almost every visit (dep if baby wanna show face) from 20 weeks onwards. he also scans @ every visit.

joyce,AK,
she requested for urgent home leave coz she had to attend court regarding child custody matters. apparently, the social welfare received a complaint about her from her aunt about abandoning her kids while she was working in manila. her family quite complicated one and so now the courts want her to make an appearance to give full custody to her husband. she was separated from him. so now she got to tell the court that she has "reconciled" with her husband and he will take full custody of her kids when she's in SG working.

i told her upfront not to sabo me coz if she don't want to work, better tell me upfront than i can get a replacement. she said she die die want to come back and work for us but need the home leave to attend court.she said she will def come back, she won't bring back all her clothes, etc.the agent also talked to her and said that her case is genuine.so to apply for homeleave, i got to pay the phillipines embassy a fee, about $300 + $42 bond + $355 for her return fare. All this, my maid will pay me back thru her pay when she comes back.she also has outstanding loan. so the thing is, if she don't come back then....WALAU!!!!!!

but she's been v good lah, and we do like her and we'd like to think that she's not lying and we're the only ones who can help her coz her agent will def not send her back due to her loan.even tho i tell myself to trust, i really feel quite anxious too. coz before her i had 2 indon maids who were first class liars. i am really v gullible when it comes to maids coz they look after my daughter and i don't want to be so hard on them incase they do anything to her...in the end, that doesn't work either, esp on the 2 previous indon. they took advantage of us, and also bully my daughter...

star,
ur maid sounded like my #2 maid! exactly! my #2 maid even scolded my MIL but my MIL didn't dare to tell me coz that time i was still in my first trimester...later on when i found out her monkey business (threatening my 2 yo daughter and feeding her chewing gum, bringing her downstairs to meet her BF, etc), i tried to replace her. but nobody wanted her! in the end, had to send her back coz i needed a replacement immediately! i lost out on her loan and also forked the air ticket! the agent was sooooo $$$$ minded and didn't help a bit. gave them a whole mth to find new employer for her but they couldnt get even tho i keep sending her down for face to face interview with the potential employers.

now, when i changed agency and got new maid who i find quite good, this happened! its not the end of the world since she said she's coming back. but i am still anxious after kena cheated twice by maids.i am jus hoping for the best!

sorry u had to go thru thing with maids too. if i can help it, i really don't wish to have one! but coz i work and my MIL is old and cannot manage on her own, i haf to tahan till my girls are older than we will consider weekend help...thats another 4-6 yrs!i realised we not only haf to deal with the nonsense from maids, the agents also full of nonsense sometimes! when they marketing the maid, they're super duper nice....and then later leave me in the lurch after getting all the $$$!

i hope u can resolve this issue soon and haf less insomnia. me also cannot sleep thinking what if my maid doesn't come back!these maid issues never ending one!

hi sallen,
i agree with u totally. i realise that with maids, u just lose $$$ if they turn out to be bad. no point getting upset! i used to get v upset and bitter coz i feel conned...but in order to resolve, i realise i jus have to move on and get a new one...its like 4D! dunno can strike with good maid anot...if cannot just try again, no choice!

in the end, no matter how u train and pscyho them to work, if their heart is not in it, its not going to work out!read that u will be on leave soon! i envy u! i am working till 6 april! haf to tahan! if my maid dun come back, i will haf to look for new maid then...really sian lah...coz i'd rather spend the few hundred $$$ on my kids!

shers,
wow, u know alot about maids! i was so ignorant in the beginning, and just get sucked in by the agents promises and didn't bother to read the contract properly...not i learnt my lesson!but still got this damn problem, ARGH!!!!! super sian!

jasc,
thanks for the tip! my hub also say the same things...dun use comp, watch TV before sleep...but i dun leh...still cannot sleep, must be my maid prob! argh!

Tinkles mum,
actually i dont know.. so far i only tried mamil mama, anmum, n enfamama (wic i dont like coz v thick).. similac i din get to try yet..

Yet to try similac mum. I tried Mamil Mama, Annum and Friso mum and I like all.

Dislike enfamama cos it's really cakey, overly thick and I need to portion out to drink 2 times per pack.

hi lily,
thanks.. i also like clothes from fox babies!!! but i trying to stop myself from buying.. so far i bought this white wrap around top with purple hearts and comes with matching purple pants that wrap the feet..

i want to buy the dresses, the jackets, the skirts, everything! but i think friends will give so i don't buy yet.. but i love fox babies!

u can try PONEY brand at metro, BHG... very very cute also!
i bought one off-shoulder top for my little girl.. 3 - 6 months! so sexy haha!

re: baby movement
is it normal for bb to kick and be very active for many hours? my little girl has been kicking n kicking and moving about since this afternoon.. until now still kicking away..
dunno why.

hi tinkles mum,

i'm better already.. been feeling giddy n nauseous for a few days alrdy but today was the worst! hope it gets better..

tonite i'm going to wash baby andrea's hat. i cant wait!

Ling, SK - you are so right! Enfamama is really cakey. I am always drinking chunks of milk! I think I may try Mamil Mama or go back to Anmum.

Thanks for your help!

Audrey,
hehehe ... got buy some clotes n alibaba pants cos so cute
u can see pic at my FB. For jacket, cardigan, pants n tees i bot them frm Mothercare n Gap Baby. Dresses my sis bot for me

U right today got went to BHG n saw Poney also cute

wah.. am so excited for u mummies.... am going to be in week 31 only..... pppfff...... still got nine more weeks to go!! unlike some of u.. prob 2 weeks or so..
but i guess nvm ba.. worth the wait lah! just want to have a smooth delivery!!

Muffintop- are u going to robinson tomorrow? can pm me ur no?
i saw some nice bedsheets tt are really nice... today. Bought 1 new mattress coz friend worked nearby..and got her to come over for tt additional 5% disc!

tinkles mum,
i am taking a scoop of similac mum with my ovaltine every morning. it low fat, not sure if the other brands are low fat too!

trying not to put on so much weight now...i am hitting 71kg...13 kg weight gain so far!

tinkles,
yes it does! i didn't put in alot with my ovaltine, jus one small scoop. it takes a while to get used to the taste...

but i always forget to drink my fresh milk so i make it pt to drink for breakfast coz usually i can't eat much in the mornings.

SK- should have... will check with hubby later. he bought two sets of 'our own bedsheets'...
now i need to buy kid's one though..

are u a card -member???? hehehe.....

tinkles mum- i know... but but but..... its... just tad... mixed kind of feelings to hear so many of them... gonna deliver soooooooooooonnnn.... **a bit envious**

Cheekz - i will try Mamil Mama after my can of Enfamama, let u know if it's good k. Like u, I used to skip beakfast, now have to take. In fact, I put on almost 12-13 kg now! Have to control... cos only 8 wks more to go :p

adrienne,
i can imagine how u feel
me also v excited bout seeing #2...wondering if she will look/behave like her elder sis...

u're still mobile to enjoy shopping! thats great! i no mood to go shopping now...so heavy, i drag my heavy legs everywhere...

but i still have 4 weeks to go if i want a MAY baby!

tinkles,
i know what u mean...haf to control! if not later after delivery v hard to lose weight, now older not so easy to lose weight, the fats more stubborn!

Went to Rob juz now. Managed to get a Thomas Train set for my son....another item off my checked list! Tmrw will set up playpent!!

cheekz- good for u!!! hope tt ur wish will come true! as for shopping, am not only shopping, am doing house moving too! so gotta go grab a lot of things... lol.. helper will move heavy things.. daddy will do minor reno works.. and me co-ordinate everything so tt it runs smoothly and on schedule! haha.. imagine how busy i get day to day? and not forgetting abt work? haha..

sk- mmmmmmm..... yea. hubby was saying go apply for the card.. i'm like.. huh? isn't it a bit late?

adrienne,
its ok, Rob often has sales & disc for members..
apply now u can still get to use down the road

So u've a new house comin and bb!! Wow..double excitement!!

Ok, I'm gonna try sleep now..tmrw is gonna be a busy day...good nite gals...

hi chocolat,
thanks! hb and i just finished washing 24 pieces of cloth nappies, 9 sets of mittens/booties, 1 receiving blanket, 3 bath towels for bb, 2 more face towels, 4 pillow cases, 4 bolster cases, 2 fitted sheets and 1 tiny hat...... handwash.......... zzzzzzz..

Morning Mummies ...
another weekend for us

Audrey,
so late u still wash all..me knock out already. Last night slp at 12 then 7.30 wake up
today must start wash already only left 4 weeks plus for me. U order the tea already?

hi lily,
yah i wash.. actually started washing at about 10 plus like that.. but took so long. cos the cloth nappies so many! haha.

better wash cos i'm alrdy 35 weeks.. don't want to wait until last min no bb things to bring to hospital

i order the tea online yesterday but think must wait 3 working days before they get back to me..

Audrey, I am also starting washing my baby laundry today. But weather in the east looks a little gloomy so may not achived much :p

I sorted the baby clothes and realised I've overbought the newborn-3mths clothings - cos my friend gave me some from his son too... I think I had over 10 pairs, top and pants in total, too many low sleeves, only couple of short sleeves top - jia lat.

Anyway going to start with the cloth diapers soon. Have a gd weekend mummies. Happy shopping for those who are going for the MIM sales!

adelyee > Think better apply since there's many more upcoming sales.
My hubby was thinking of cancelling the card but took sweet time to do it and fortunately he had not. Hehe. Got too many CC liew...screen thru which one is under-utilised.

audrey > You made me gan jiong leh. Just took out baby's laundry to wash leh. Batches by batches. It's 33wks+ for me now.

My skin still itches alot leh. How ah? My MIL passed me a big bottle of "snake brand" medicated powder. I applied it right after shower and was so so SHIOK but started to scratch again during sleep....

Saw a mummy at my doc's clinic the other night and saw her skin got so many little bumps (think the result from scratching too much). I had some already. Pretty ugly.

Hey SK, is it becos you are allergic to some cream? I kena also when I was using my old brand of stress mark cream. Have you tried Prickly Heat? I used that and it helps a little. But ultimately have to see a doc. I now use Topicrem prescribed by my gynae, so far so good.

Btw we are 2 weeks apart in terms of delivery... so exciting...

Tinkle > My gyne told me to stop all cream and oil now. He has given me a tube cream to apply instead and some pill for anti itch. I only took once the pill but think not comfortable to take medication so stop.

The snake brand is the Pricky Heat powder yah? Feel good only for a while. Think not a lasting solution. Oh boy....how much longer can I endure till delivery.

muffintop- u going robinson's sale???
call me @ 91888218. Coz if u are, it'll be great. Can use ur card and me pay in cash...

halo mummies !

so many of u not gg out today ? weather outside is super hot...i have not started washing my baby clothes...feeling lazy to start...anyway i am gg to 32 weeks only...btw, those baby clothes, mittens, hat, booties are new ones...so just soak in water can already right ? or must soak with baby detergent ? any mummies can advise ?

adelyee, at this stage still can move house ah ? i thot cannot shift the bed or something...

sk, i also used to use the snake powder when my skin feel itchy...but after a while i realise that my skin will gets very dry and cakey leh...so i stop using...now only apply the diaper rash cream...

ling, the similac mum is not say popular lah..hehe...the salesgirl told me that the company gg to change to new packaging so currently out of stock at many outlets...btw, the one i say $15 is only at TPY ntuc (not the one at TPY hdb hub)...they have stocks left so now gg on promotion loh...my hub just bgt another 2 tins back ytd...

hi porky
Mmm.. I think for newborn, just do a quick rinse with water and a bit of bb detergent can le. No need to soak.

Moving hse, no choice ba, just dun be ard when they do such stuff ba. Same time as my no 1 also. Lol shifting hse during pregnancy... Hahaha...

adrienne, me not gg robinson liaoz. husband had to rush down to see a sick relative so i am stuck at home and washing clothes.

havent pack my bag too.. today 35 week, kinda getting closer!

awww... U are anor one whom's close to delivery date. Mm.. And also me wanna talk to u abt the cord blood thing. So, call me when ya up for it k? Thanks.

SK - really sorry to hear about your skin condition - is your skin itching due to the stretching did the gynae say? I havent had this syndrome yet is this common during last few weeks of pregnancy?

I m not sure if snake powder is the Prickly Heat, so far I used to for my last rash and it helps.

Hope you'll feel better soon...

tinkles mum- yes. Its very common to get these symptoms during the last few weeks of pregnancy..
as the growth spurt of bb suddenly increases by a lot.. Thus stretching the tummy significantly.. Just keep it moisturized ba.. Should be fine..

hi adrienne, thanks for teh advice. I have been using moisturizer since early pregnancy, hopefully it helps. I also read about the backache, swollen feet that may come from Week 32 onwards. Well, I am hitting 32 weeks next week, so hopefully I can be spared of these agonies! How far are u into your pregnancy btw?

wow, so many ladies washing bb stuff liao. i haven't start washing leh. haven't sun the passed down infant car seat, stroller and 2nd hand playpen also... chamz...
tmr better stay at home and do those things.

tinkles, i already suffer from the backache and swollen feet since 26 weeks...now both feet are more swollen...tried raising up during sleep but also dont improved...haiz...

juju, 2nd hand playpen must sun ? mine is also 2nd hand one...but i have not bgt the mattress yet...

babymay, u ask me abt the washcloths buy from bp right ? i received it last night..the materials not bad quite soft also...

porky, i managed to get the similac at compasspt cold storage after the vouch disc $15.05.. heehee.. gg to try later..
that day u mentioned u get the disposable panties from beauty spring at amk.. at wic area? near the ntuc ? going there later..

All mummies started to wash clothes.. made me kan cheong.. washed some just now oso since the weather is sooo good today

porky,
need to sun. i haven't got my mattress also. wanted to buy then mil say she have, but never pass over. i also dunno... piangz... now cannot buy, hubby say give her time to find. lucky not planning for baby to sleep in playpen during confinement...
my swollen feet nowadays dun improve after raising feet and massage liao. think stuck till delivery.
backache also dun go away...

Ling,
beaute spring between this fashion and amk hub. can't remember exact block number, but it's directly opposite prima deli

ling, so u bgt at $15.05 also not bad lah..hehe..i bgt bb lotion J&J blue colour one...bb oil haven buy any yet...btw, the disposable panty i bgt from TPY spring beauty leh..not from amk..

juju, u mean bring the whole playpen out to sun ah ? i haven do that leh...cos i close it and keep inside the travel bag...no space to open it now...my feet also no cure liao...gynae say is normal lah...after bb is out then wont be swollen le...