(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

ju & babymay, i am really lucky right ! haha...never expect that also...anyway i also dunno the baby milk is suitable for my boy or not..so might as well exchange with her loh..ju, remember ask ur hubby to make milk for u every night ah..is their responsiblity now

jamie, robinsons having up to 70% final sales...today last day...tollyjoy have 20%+20% less for most items...i bgt some mittens and booties yeseterday(those with tiny holes one, more cooling for baby) and NUK, pigeon, avent all having 20%...

adelyee & flommy, sorry to hear abt ur low lying placenta...talk to ur baby and hope they will cooperate for the next gynae visit

good afternoon ladies

juz unpack my baby shopping spree last nite

2182469.jpg

porky, baby_may & ju, nice meeting u 2! we enjoyed the congress -- lots of funny moments. So surprise that they hv "real" babies for live demo of bathing & massage! zoe shared that her abundant breast milk could be due to her diet of papaya stuff

sk, hope u like the color of the 8pcs wash cloth

bean, ur weight increase of 2kg per 4 week sounds ok... yah, my gynae was shocked when i put of 5kg after 5 weeks.... before that, no weight gain... must be due to the CNY goodies -- all the sweet stuff... will watch my intake of sweet stuff, too... these past 2 weeks, i managed to maintain 0.5kg/week

re: low lying placenta
adelyee & flommy, me also hv low lying placenta... but gynae said not to worry, usually will move up later... everyday, when i apply stretchmark cream, will ask baby to help "push" it up :p

re: mum's milk
erhm, after yesterday's congress, i hv 3 cans of similac mum's milk... haven't try yet as i m lactose intolerant... but hubby wanna me to take small amt for baby's good...

Gd evening ladies, i juz went to a baby fair @ BHG Bugis this morning.
Bought the piegeon steriliser + newborn kit for $109.90. The set came with 2 200ml & 1 300ml bottle+1 pacifier+bottle & teat brush + milk powder container. Also bought 6 packs of Pigeon baby wipes @ 19.50

915, BHG not now got promotion for pigeon Rapid steamer + food warmer at $139.90?

adv_sport, how can gain much? Me 3 week only 1.2kg n my gynae last month told me must gain at least 4 kg until my next appointment (next thurs)
.... Keep on eat ice cream this week to help gain my weight.

okipoki & adelyee > Thanks. Will prolly ask my gyne when I see him on coming Tues morning. :D

Adv_Sports > Yes, the colours are so vibrant.

OH MY~~! You bought so many items. Looks like a golden harvest from kidsloft eh.

Little_squirrel > The long sleeves and short sleeves wears are so cute.

Hi Lily, I am interested in the SS (or sleeveless?) top (blue), long sleeve set and the previous sleeveless top and pants (blue) that you PM me previously. I am ok with yellow colour also, but is there less girly design?

What is the price like?

adv_sports, wow u bgt a lot leh ! ya mrs wong's speech is really very cute and those babies are adorable..too bad we sit too far..cant really see clearly on the massage steps...ehh, how come u got 3 tins of similac mum's milk ?

915, BHG bugis having bb fair today ? too bad...i missed it...

baby_may, u stay so near to me leh..next time we go shopping together ya ? hehe....

Adv sports!
That's ALOT of things! hahaha

Looks like you girls enjoyed that congress so much! Aiya... too bad I missed it.

BHG sale is still on. It has 20% discount off almost all regular priced baby items. I think its till 1 Mar.

Hi Lily, there is also pigeon steriliser + food warmer...dunno how much (guess either 139.90 or 109.90) but i think the rapid steriliser + newborn kit @ 109.90 more worth it coz i find that food warmer not useful leh..

Yeah porky, the BHG sale is until 1st Mar.

lily, i didn't increase my food intake... maybe i take more carbo stuff during that period -- rice, noodle, potato, CNY goodies like pineapple tarts, love letters etc.

juz weigh after dinner -- managed to keep to 0.5kg gain for 2 weeks
same amt of food intake but increase exercise like long walks, swim and yoga...

porky, i got 1 tin of similac mum's milk from kkh prenantal class + 2 tins from congress(hubby n me registered for the event)... also hv a tin of frisbo mum's milk(vanilla flavour) @ kkh seminar...

wow, so many bb fairs! but i hv 2-day work-related seminar this coming weekend -- so will miss BHG & expo bb fair

JasC,
I done my glucose test last thursday too at kkh.
my gynae also mentioned need to see dietician if got prob....try to control.

Re: Gynae visit
my current or previous gynae nvr let us hear doppler...only point to us bb heartbeat thru US.
previous gynae will measure bb head cc or length...then current gynae measure bb wt.

Re: similar milk (mum)
need to drink? i got it from kkh also....din started to drink yet.

Hi Porky, yeah, we can go shopping together next time.

Hi Adv_Sports, the expo bb fair starts on Friday if you really want to go.

Hi Genlyn, is the warmer necessary? What is it used for?

What's the different between Destin and Drapolene cream? Both for anti rash yah? Just not sure who come the price differ so much.

hi adv sports
isit you got 3 nappy cover at the right hand side?? i cant find any from pigeon as mentioned by 1 mummy here le... where u get yours??

morning mummies !

bean & 915, so until 1st march huh..ok, will try to go one of these days..but after 27th expo sales..see wat they have there first

adv_sports, wow so total u have 4 tins of mum's milk now ! can drink until ur due date leh. i got 2 tins, but i think not enough wor..cos i drink morning and night mah..but we got the vouchers $5 off, very worth to buy leh, who dont wan the voucher can pass to me ah..hahaha

sk, actually i also got the same question as u...very tempted to get the destin cream, but ex leh...btw, these few nites, i have been applying the Drapolene cream on my face before i went to sleep, then next morning i feel my complexion very smooth leh less flaky..hehe

Porky,

My confinement lady recommends the Destin Cream. She ask me to get one tube in her list of things to buy for my confinement. So I guess its good.

re nappy rash cream - i used both drapolene and desitin. dropolene is good for daily, preventive use. but if you spot any sign of nappy rash, quickly use desitin. healing is very fast. get desitin creamy - it's better, a little goes a long way. get from those overseas spree thread, much cheaper than if you go to the pharmacies.

anyone staying with MIL..but still engage CL ?? i am one of them...i very scare got conflicts leh...haiz...very headache...

Hi 3wkold
No news is good news so you don't have to worry about your test result. KK attempted to call me on the same day when I did the test. I'm going this thur or fri. Need to cut down on carbo and fats intake and monitor the blood sugar level.

Is the glucose test compulsory? How come my gynae never mentioned anythng abt the glucose test? I see many mummies have already gone through that.

<font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma"> Porky,
Destini u can buy from spree. Much more cheaper actually and double the amt of which is selling locally...
Am using it for #1 and it's very good and effective for nappy rash. =)</font>.

hi sharon, are u also May mtb ? never see ur nick here before...hehe...

now even before my confinement start...my MIL already keep telling me what to do and wat not to do...then also tell me to instruct the CL must do this do that...she say cannot allow her to go market buy groceries on her own...she must follow her go to market and tell her wat to buy (anyway my CL is from malaysia..she wont know where is the market near my place loh) haiz...i wonder how my CL will react if i tell her all this...i very scare she will run away the next day...then i will have a hard time...

Actually I think wad ur mil did isn't wrong too.. U know my fren's CL, went market everyday and do over $80 of marketing everyday. Yes, her CL bought lotsa stuffs. But she secretly buy food that is not meant for my fren and she ask her one of her family member to bring it hm...
It's gd that ur mil can watch over ur CL. But of course not every CL is lidat.. Just monitor and see ba.</font>.

Porky,
I have been using drapolene nappy rash (can buy from watson).. and it is good for my girl's sensitive skin, would probably use it for my boy again.
Just for your info.. :p

Re: CL and MIL
just a bit of opinion, i think if MIL keeps controlling the CL hor in the end, the CL will not be happy and MIL will keep complaining to you, and u will get headache.. haha.. heard too much of these stories from colleagues and frens..

Bean
I didnt go for any glucose test at all.. and dun think my gynae ask me to go.. just listen to what your gynae's recommendations.. i dun think everyone needs to do that. Btw, i didnt even go for any detailed scan hehe..

Bean,
I'm working in the hospital laboratory. From what I understand, if any of us got family history, or previous pregnancy got diabetes history, then gynae will order the glucose test. and also depends on our urine test strip result too. otherwise is not necessary to do the glucose test.

Porky,
I'm also May mtb, and this is my 1st peregnancy. I can't keep up with the forum bcoz I don't have time to post msg during worktime.

my MIL also got tell me those 'do's and 'dont's. but bcoz my friends also keep telling me all these, so I kind of get use to it, and take it as for my baby's sake lor...

My CL also comes from malaysia, I'm the one who tell my MIL not to let her go market buy groceries. I ask MIL to buy. just let the CL to take care of the baby and cook for us can le... Not that I don't trust CL, but I think, CL won't know where to get cheap &amp; fresh groceries. MIL will do a better job lor...

If you think it this way, you won't feel got any problem la

good morning ladies

porky, is $5 discount voucher in the congress goodies bag? if yes, u can hv mine

re: nappy cover
piggypig, yup, that's nappy cover that i bought at AMK shop that 915 recommends. 1pc for $5.90 and 3pc for $14.90.
Teng-Hong Dept Store
blk 722, AMK Ave 8, #01-2831

re: nappy rash cream
aiyah, i cannot find destin cream so i bought the pureen nappy rash cream @ AMK shop... think i better get the destin cream from BP...

Hi mummies, it has been days since i last login..

porky, the bed rail i bought is about $60+.. very worth it..

someone ask me abt the gleneagles antenal class? sorry, i didnt attend.. because i think CL will teach.. hehehe.. and yes, i learnt alot from CL for my #1..

RE: bed rail
there are 2 types of bed rail from safety 1st.. 1 is for thin mattress another is for thick mattress..

i never say wat my mil did is wrong...i knw she meant well for me &amp; baby...however, like wat rc_cola say...if she control too much..the CL wont like de loh...if she can do better, then might as well she do the confinement for me..i dont have to waste money to enagage CL...then most of the time, my hb wont be at home..only me, CL, MIL and baby...my MIL cant cook confinement food de...last year i got a m/c...everyday she buy chicken rice, fried beehoon for me to eat from downstairs coffee shop...but she did boil the red dates longan drink for me...so this time, i spent some money to engage a CL..cos i wan to have a better confinement mah...my hb dont care abt all this issues de altho i told him many times...he will just let me bang the bedroom door on my mil when i am not happy...but if my baby is born..i cant do that anymore...cos my baby will get a shock...

Well.. It's true too.. Mayb marketing let ur CL go with ur mil... then the rest let CL do for you... </font>.

adv, u wanna give me ur vouchers ? hehe..just joking with u only..i think i just need to get 1 more tin will be enough liao loh..u keep the voucher for urself lah

shers, u gone MIA for so long ?? ur cough recovering well ? this friday still confirm or not ?

porky, ya lor.. u shld know la.. when i'm home, i dont login.. hehehe..

yup! this friday confirmed le.. i took leave as well liao..

rem i mentioned i wanted to buy car.. whahaha.. no need to buy liao.. during last few days, i have been driving my hb to work and fetch him home.. so he says i will drive his car.. but my parking skill is still not there yet..

Porky
I think you can listen to sharon's advice, then in that case it will minimize the conflict between MIL and CL.. as for what "do's" and "dont's" it's very difficult to say really.. On your hubby's stand, he is a male, and it's difficult for him to meddle in this woman business so maybe u just leave him out of this matter..

My MIL will be doing confinement for me.. well the confinement here means she will cook for me and take care of baby...

As for cooking, hm.. actually we cant demand much as they are our MIL, but i told her i want to drink red dates + longan water, she will boil for me everyday.. and for breakfast, or lunch and dinner, i will also let her know what i wanna eat.. and she will cook lor, mostly it's soup (herbal chicken, liu wei tang, hong chao tang, or zhu du dang) + 1 vege / fried egg with ginger + steamfish/pork/chicken..
Breakfast is boiled egg + normal bread or sometimes i want to eat meesua then i told her lor..

MIL will help me to bathe baby, and sleep with baby at nite.. in the day, normally i feed baby myself, either direct latch on, or ebm.. one thing is that i have to wash the bottles, pump myself

My colleague told me last time her MIL meddled a lot in CL's issue, in the end she has to send the CL back after 2 wks, MIL will say, y never ask her to do this do that..., y she like that like that.. so in the end, she thought she will depress if being stuck in the middle, and she sent the CL back for good. Not to scare you, but this was what happened when she delivered her daug. the CL is actually very good in cooking, sometimes even cooks for her western food after seeing that she got so bored with the confinement food.

mummies who r buying pureen stuff.. please shop at this weekend's bbfair.. they have pureen stuff and selling very very cheap..

Bean
Dun worry too much about the test k. The less test the better, isn't it? :p Btw, i think by now u have stopped teaching ballet rite?

Remember to do pelvic floor exercise religiously everyday hor.. it helps in bladder inconstinence issue!!

rc_cola, u are fortunate that ur mil is willing to do confinement for u and willing to listen to wat u say and wat u wan to eat, she will cook for u...i envy u alot...really...my mil say she is pantang..cos she need to pray everyday, so she cant do for me...but the problem is she likes to get involve. 2yrs ago, my sil (hb's bro's wife) also engage a CL..my mil dont stay with her...but everyday she will go to my sil hse and see wat the CL doing...then conflicts arise...she told my sil tat the CL ate all the chocolates in the fridge, and also never do this do that...until my sil was so fustrated...she made my mil wait downstairs cos she refuse to open the door to give her come in...then my mil LL have to go home and complain this to us...abt ur colleague experience...i am afraid this will happen to me..