(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

Hi Porky, I have PM you my HP no. Bodyshop at Raffles City is near Swatch, one of the shops at the entrance from City Hall MRT.

Hi Muffintop, I am supposed to see him tomorrow morning, but changed to Monday afternoon as my hubby is overseas. We may meet each other two weeks later.

Bean,
Your bb is big leh. At 25 weeks, mine is only 850g. Maybe now 27 weeks, I estimate myself 1+kg.

Does anyone knows where to get maternity disposable panties for use after giving birth? Anyone has a list of what to buy, can post here? Sigh.. I haven't started buying anything. Only managed to get bb clothes only.

baby_may, i got ur PM ! oic..ok, we can meet at body shop, then walk over together..tmr i sms u wat i will be wearing..hehe

baby_may_09:
i also gained 12kg. bb is 1.3kg @ 26-27wks.
gynae mentioned me and bb is in gd range...

actually was worried when compared to online average fetal wt...but in the thread....can feel relex abit. waiting for glucose blood test result out.

Hi ladies !!

Wow missed out alot of posting but I do read that someone dreamt of me. Hahahha... Xue you so funny !! Hope is a pleasant dream eh.. our EDD is on the same day right..

porky,
early mah? it's not very far, sort of inside/beside raffles city shopping centre, jus dunno which corner. ok to meet u, no probs.
still very nasal, so is ok if tmr u wanna sit far away frm me... haha!

adv_sports,
ah... dat means u jus start ur class not long ago. i only have 2 lessons left - tmr & next sat.

Hi Yvette,
Thanks for the list. Is your nursing pad same as maternity pad or is it breastpads? You may want to consider disposable panties for 1st 2 weeks since not so good to wash our own panties (try to avoid washing with water).

Last time, I also buy some alcohol swap (tiny individual pack) to clean the baby's umbilical cord. Usually hospital will give a few but won't be enough to last till the cord drops off.

Yesterday I dreamt that I didn't pack sufficient stuff to bring to the hospital. Nightmare...

Hi 3wkold, glad that got kaki also gain 12kg - same same as me. I put on mostly on my tummy, so alot of people asking me whether I am due soon.

Hi Lily,

Thanks, I have received the pics. Pink is out for my boy. The butterfly design also like abit girly. So maybe I can only get blue. The clothes look comfortable - are they cotton material? Pleas send me the other pics when they are available.

RE: Baby weight
Looks like my baby is the lightest.. 1kg at 27 wks+.. Hope she will gain more weight at next visit which is 30wks.. so far the gynae will measure the baby and somehow the system will be able to provide the weight..

Star - Hmm, maybe we might meet each other at tmr class. I am seated at first row at right side facing Mrs Wong.. so I am sitting probably 2-3 persons in front of u..

Tiny_M - thanks for the link. I've also registered for the afternoon class too. Hope I can get a seat.. if so, I can see you there too =)

Hi Anxyln, I thinks nursing pad should be breastpads.

I also intend to use disposable panties for the first month, but I haven't buy yet too. I think can buy from NTUC, Guardian Pharmnacy, Watson, John Little and Metro. Cotton ones are more comfortable, but the one I see at NTUC is cotton + polyester, so it is not 100% cotton.

Baby Weight
I think the baby weight have to do measurement in the ultrasound scan machine, my gynae not everytime measure baby weight for me =(

We only estimate his weight based on how many weeks of pregnant .. paiseh to ask gynae baby weight in every visit

Disposal panties
I bought mine from NTUC - 100% cotton $9.90/pack

Big babies
Seems that there are many big babies. Haha. Me also first day trying to cut down on food, or rather type of food taken. Baby weighs 1666g @ 29 wks, and i have put on 10kg. Gynae say reasonable weight put on me, so gotta eat less to prevent baby from absorbing so much.
But she like to eat, what can i do rite?

Gynae visits
Very strange that some of u say don't do U/S on every visit, and some dun take baby wt. So i curious wat gynae say to u? Go there for chit chat session ah? Very curious leh.. what will they talk abt then? My gynae will also on the doppler for me to hear the heart beat since the last visit. Without u/s how to see the heartbeat or determine fetal position or see the amniotic sac? Must make sure that not raptured etc rite? I have heard of a case, the baby's heart suddenly stops beating even at 7mths. And i tink taking the wt is also a gd measure to ensure dat we do not have gestational diabetes esp if baby suddenly too big, then maybe they can advise to go for C-sect instead?

Agree with Jacquise's comments. I also donno how to prevent the baby from absorbing. I think my baby is around the same weight as yours at 29 weeks! My girl is 1626g.

I just spoke to my friend who has given birth. She mentioned to me that actually measuring the baby weight using the ultrasound machine is not accurate. One week before she gave birth, her baby weight (measured on the ultrasound) was 3.2kg. However, when the baby came out, it only weigh 2.98kg! So I guess that is why some gynaes don't bother to measure the weight of the baby. They just measure head circumference and that's it. So mummies without baby's weight, don't worry, since its not that acccurate anyway.

it was a baby shopping spree 2day -- total damage : $187 @ kidzloft, $55 @ AMK baby shop, $50 @ AMK hub Fairprice Extra!

lily, thanks for getting the baby clothes! nice meeting you 2day
did u get more things at kidzloft?

tiny_m n xue, din get to meet u.. was at kidzloft at 2.30-3.30pm...

porky, ju & baby_may, hope to bump into u at the congress 2molo...

bean, yup, bought more things than intended but very happy that we got most of the essential things needed... nearly wanna get a moo moo wooden chair-cum-storage @ kidzloft($170+) but hubby dragged me out :p

re: baby weight
bean, wat's the trend of ur weight increase? my gynae said my 1kg/week gain is too fast and ask me to control

I think I gain about 2kg every 4 weeks. I only weight every 4 weeks at the gynae. At home, I don't weigh myself.
1kg/week means that you put on 4 kg every gynae visit?

Disposable panties - Was told by colleagues that Watson is selling them, cant rem what brand but it's 7pcs/pack and she said very comfortable. But I got mine from another mummy already. Think Giant also selling them too.

Im looking forward to my visit to the gynea on coming Tues. Realised that my feet swelling ballooned over past 2 days. OMG~!

Hi Jacquise,

My gynae will do the U/S every visit and let us hear the heartbeat, but no weight is given. Last visit, he also measured the circumference of the baby's head. Then he will say everything is alright and if we have any queries we will ask him.

He used to give U/S pics, but he did not give during the recent visits, maybe have to request during the next visit.

I think I have Gestational Diabetes according to the glucose test last thursday. Must go on proper diet with less carbo and fats...... Anyway need to spend a day in KKH next week to learn how to use the loan test kit to monitor blood sugar level after every meal.

Morning ladies !!

JasC,
Still need to loan test kit ar ? Previously, the dietitian only asked me to watch out my food intake only and no need to take blood test. But, I still take for fun cos my in-law has the test kit. Anyway, most impt watch out what we eat... same for me too. But I have been noti recently, also anyhow eat.

okipoki- haha.. u still went to see dietician ah?
i went once for 1st pregnancy. Dr cheng saw my medical records.. and asked me if i wanna see again, i told him for wad? lol. this time round, he couldn't even be bothered with the sweet orange drink test... lol. he just said, i dun think u'll not have gestational diabetes.. so watch ur diet and do the usual needle pricking test at every appt. i went... zzz...

low lying placenta- anyone suffering the same thing as me? sigh.. i do hope tt placenta will move up soon.......

adrienne,
Thats for my 1st pregnancy ard week 35, see what he says in my next visit. Normally Sharon or Margaret will see the urine strip result right on every visit

Well, as usual nag at your ger to push it up!

Baby May,
yes correct material is cotton 1. comfortable for baby.

Adv_sport,
nice to met u 2. Never mind cos i also found shirt material cotton comfort 4 baby. Me not much coz before already bought there.Same with u i also like the moo moo chair storage ... but no use for now. Want to wait baby fair next week ... see got cute things to buy or not

Me still dunno yet my baby weight ... must wait next thurs do growth scan then my gynae tell bb weigh.

Hi MTB,

Currently i have completed my confinement. My confinement lady from confinement agency is a very hard working lady, she wakes up early in the morning to prepare the water for me to wash up, follow by cooking my meal and attending to my bb. Every alternate day, she help me mop the floor and wash my toilet, and wash/fold my clothes. So basically through out the month of confinement, my task is to nurse back my health.

What's more, the confinement agency also provide Jamu massage for Mummy. If you are not satisfied with the CL assigned, you can give the agency a call to change the present CL for another CL, the CL agency have alot of experienced confinement ladies to chose from.

Interested MTB, can email me at [email protected] for more detail.

hi vera,
where are you seated today, what color clothes are you wearing? i was sitting closer to the toilet wearing grey tank top and black tights today

The following items are for sale:

1) full set of the Medela Harmony pump (used only once) + Brand new (opened) membane valve (1pc) & Brand new membranes (3 pcs) all selling at $50

2180865.jpg

2) Brand new valve & membrane set selling at $28 (retail price ~$30)

2180866.jpg

3) NUK standard neck bottles without teats (Used only once)
- 4pcs x 125ml + 2pcs x 250ml selling at $40

2180867.jpg

Self collection at AMK or SengKang train station.

Interested please pm me.

Sorry mummies to interupt:

Selling a rarely used lucky baby warmer bought at $35.90 selling at $25.00

and Avent niplette bought at $70+ selling at $60 (used once)

Self collect at sembawang.

halo all !

nice meeting up with adv_sports & hub, ju and baby_may today at the First mum congress. we had a great time...and i love the goodies bag..cos have my fav mum's milk similac mum...haha

ju & baby_may, guess what ! i was alone shopping in robinson when both of u left already..then this lady came up to me and request to exchange my baby milk with her mum's milk...of cos i do not mind..cos i can have 2 tin of mum's milk...hehe..cos she say she has just given birth and she needs the baby milk

adrienne - Me also having low lying placenta.. hope it move up soon..

star - I recall seeing a lady in light grey top near the toilet, is that u? Me at my usual seat (right side facing Mrs Wong).. I in purple top and I went toilet once during the class.. did u see me? hehe =)

Today, during the class, they showed the birth videos at the class, I was totally freak out.. looks very scary.. duno I will faint in labour or not...

Morning gals!

Yeah, nice meeting adv_sports & hubby, Ju and Porky at the First Mum Congress.

Hi Porky, you are so lucky to be able to exchange the milk powder. We have to wait for more than 9 months to use the baby milk.

Hi Vera and Adrienna,
It is better not to carry heavy things if placenta is low lying. Hope your placenta will move up soon.

Hi Lily,
Yeah, cotton will be very comfortable, looking forward to photos for other clothes

Between where is the shop you get the clothes? If not, paiseh have to trouble you to buy for me and meet up.

lily - may want to share the dozen clothes with mummies here - maybe i want 2 short sleeve and 2 long sleeve - maybe can do a table see who can share with whom - but i a bit confused with ur price - can clarify a bot . . hehehehe

3wk old - seems u and hubby quite worried bb will be big? coz when meet ur hibby the other time - he said scared bb will be big?? correct or soory if i m wrong

Morning ladies !!

SK,
Your gynae will tell you if u hv a low lying placenta as u need to take extra precaution
In anycase, u can also ask your gynae.

Jamie,
Not sure, but next weekend is the BBfair @ Sing Expo

SK- dun worry. No news from gynae means good news. I've always feel tt way. Every appt with my gynae is short and sweet and its always me whom wanna scramble away while my gynae on the other hand wants to keep yakking.

vera- lets just nag at our bbs ba.. to allow the placenta to move up! i'm seriously keeping my fingers crossed tt.. it will move up by my next visit. sigh...... can't help but to be worried abt it.

babymay09- dun worry. ever since tt gynae visit... abt my low lying placenta... my hubby is more attentive towards me... esp when it comes to carrying heavy stuff.

How is everyone doing??? :p I've not been following this thread lately, very busy and tired, as we are now into 3rd tri ;p

Good news is we are gonna have our bundle of love in our arms pretty soon hehe..

Vera,
dun worry, just dun try to think of the video during your own delivery or it will freak you out hahaa..

Btw ladies, i have some spareparts which hubby bought a lot for my ameda pumps.. he said to prepare me to have a better experience in bf compared to the first time.. i personally think i wont be needing too many spareparts, thus i am intending to sell off some and leave some for myself.

If any of you need spareparts, let me know.. perhaps this is too early since we have not even start BF yet.. but my colostrum has been flowing out, and the ducts on my right breast is blocked so painful.. haiz i kept massaging and squeezing all the milk out.. haiz so wasted...

adelyee/Vera - hello, I went for my gynae appt y'day and placenta abit low too, happened when I had my #1 too but placenta moved up when approaching delivery. Hopefully, placenta moves up again approaching this coming delivery. Have been carrying my 20month old gal alot probably tatz why...sigh...

Flommy

I have also been carrying my 18mths quite frequently, and i realize after carrying her for quite a distance, i tend to get painful braxton hix.. haiz!!