(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

halo mummies,

how's everybody??

I didn't login for few weeks because office was closed and was busy with my little gal at home..

Most likely, mine will be another little princess because gynae couldn't see birdie.. hehehe.. will confirm again once i go for my detailed scan end of this week.. hopefully, the birdie appears?? whahaha

thanks day-c & okipoki, i'hv been trying to avoid cardio and sweet stuff for past 2 weeks.

the funny thing is whenever i monitor my bp and glucose level at home, its always normal but when i see my gyane, he always say my bp is high....sigh!!!

i'll be going for DC on wed at NUH...

any mummies can share how to do 胎教 ?? i'm totally clueless le :p

Good morning ladies and happy 2009!

Shers, same here, i din log in for a while too coz my office also closed & busy with my gal too.
I started my gal on childcare for a 2 wk trial, 1st day was so heart broken to see her cry so much

Wish u luck for ur DS this week! Most impt baby is healthy, so dun be too worried

tiny_M & adv_sports, thanks ! already started shopping. now looking forward to this friday DS. hope everything will be fine ! hey, dr woody really good looking right. hahaha. no wonder the mtbs seeing him also not bad looking one loh

xue, thanks for the update ya !

shers, u really mia for so long leh. hehe. urs might be a boy boy. cos i also scan so many times cant see birdie at all..until last friday then the birdie decide to show...at first i also thot confirm is gal liao..ur DS also this friday ? at TMC ? what time ?

piggypig, what is DC ?? 胎教 is it like talking to baby and play music for baby to listen ? i thot of getting some CDs to play for my boy..but dunno where to get yet..

Porky: oops i mean i'm having my DS this wed. ya i also want to buy those baby cds but dont know where to buy le. heard of babyplus but dont know good not.

<font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma"> Porky,
No Prob.! U can start ur shopping already. =)

Just came beack after seeing GP for my cold &amp; cough... sigh~ 4 days already... </font>.

porky, i hope for a boy but if get a girl again, its ok. so long bb is healthy. all my families and friends know that i'm carrying a girl. everybody says girl is good.. maybe they see how sweet girls are?? hahhaa...

my DS is this thursday at NUH.

adv_sports: Thanks for the info! I'm going for the trial on Sat and prob go to another place for trial next Sat. I really need to start yoga soon, found that I really lack exercise and becoming tired more easily..

muffintop: Nope, i went for hospital tour after my DS on 26 Dec. All the rooms they showed us are so high-class one. I managed to peek into a two-bedded room, find that it's a bit small esp. I'm expecting many people to visit (I have a HUGE extended family), so better get a one-bedded room.

xue: Take care of yourself! CNY is coming very soon, must recover before then to eat all the goodies!

Re: 胎教
I also dunno much about 胎教. i have a couple of baby CDs, two are free from those goodie bags and one is Baby Mozart which I bought second-hand. But then i didn't listen much leh, cos the songs put me to sleep. So far, i'm still listening to pop songs. hahaha.. my hubby reads to my baby every night, the stories ranges from children's stories to Reader's Digest to chapters from Harry Potter or Chronicles of Narnia. I make my hubby read so baby will recognise his voice, not for 胎教 in specific.

DS
I had done my detail scan when weeks 12, for down syndrome i think ..1st time pregnant tat raefflas gynae ask me check this and that i oso donno what...nw weeks 20 another detail scan again =.=
spent alot $ very blur

Btw anyone know pregnant women can eat chinese herbs? like 當归,...?

I still feel very tired cos body very pain in the mid night...

omg, u girls talking abt 胎教 makes me ashamed of myself lo. The only music i listen to is local radio or my ipod. Was even at powerhouse last wkd, standing next to the speakers. the comedian at Boiler room was telling dirty jokes somemore. LOL! The only time i listen to baby songs is when hb once in awhile play the kids songs in car and the other time i was in mikojade's car. nvr read, nvr sing or listen to baby mozart. i'm a bad mommy!! haha!

grace, raffles gynae in general is expensive de ba.. maybe since nw u 20 wks le, can go for pre natal massage so nt so pain?

grace,

for 1st tri scan, is optional.. its what they call OCSAR test. this scan is mainly for bb.. esp the blood test.

for 2nd tri scan, is more to confirmation of bb gender, checking bb weight, size etc.. and the blood test is more towards mummies.. like testing for HIV..

yes.. at 2nd tri, u can start to take in tonic.. like bird nest, dang gui, bao seng etc.. coz we can take in 'heaty' herbs..

hope it helps wor..

re : rashes
my god..i started to have rashes since last friday..super itchy and red now..and super disgusting..as if kanna some kind of disease..pls advise me any cure for the rashes ?

porky,

i had some rashes at my inner tighs.. super itchy also.. i applied my gal's nappy cream.. clear within 2 days..

but where is yr rashes??

i have rashes too! Just wanna ask what brand of nappy rash cream u gals use? I bought the desitin creamy but dunno if it's safe for pregnant women..

i am using the pink colour nappy rash cream...Diplothene or something..forgot how to s[ell..NTUC selling abt $4.50 per tube. cheap and good...

I am using desitin for my ger... I guess it should be safe for us to use. Currently I am diligently applying my clarins oil cos it moisturises as well
Dont forget ur bust area....

I thought the clarins oil cannot be apply on bust area? Or is it the clarins cream. I remember one of those cannnot be applied on bust according to the clarins counter staff.

Had my detailed scan at TMC today and it is confirmed that im having a BOY!

Xiao baobei is very cooperative today and the scan was done smoothly. The sonographer commented that baby is BIG as most of his measurement (head circumference, femur length, humerus length, abdominal circumference all exceed 95 percentile!)

Much more relieved now to know that baby is growing well and active in me, coz till now i have yet to feel his movements.. She told me might be the fluid that as a barrier for me to detect anything but i think more likely to be my super duper thick FAT hindering xiao baobei to "communicate" to me!

Upon seeing the report, my gynae decided to shift my EDD earlier by a week. So most probably i will be having a Taurus + Cow boy, double bullish!

Hi 915,
Mixture of Rustic as I want to use up my package and my previous pre-natal massage at Chinatown.

I went Rustic last week and Wed will be heading to Chinatown

Yoz...all. Finally get to send out my 1st post for the day.

Went to see Dr Woody this morning and finally confirmed baby is a gal. Yeah...can continue with my shopping liew. The report of my DS was okay..no abnormalities.

Excretion Condition >
Mummies, i like to know if the type/texture and colour of your excretion is presently different from pre-preg state?

Used to report abt my constipation prob last time when I was in my 1st trimester but had been seeing watery, dark green excretes in my early trimester. Wonder what had happened to me. Dun even need to take prune juice to ease my constipation prob.

However, I have been taking Nutrilite's Calcium tablets since late of 1st trimester so like to confirm if that is what caused me to be like that.

Any changes in ya excretes?

Oh yah..

Which edd is more accurate huh? The EDD from the DS report or the initial EDD that was reported to me during my 1st scan at KKH? 19th May was the edd from KKH but the detailed scan at TMC was shown 15th May leh.

Dr Adrian din really tell me abt my edd. In fact, he asked me about it when I first visited him.

胎教
Initially i read fundsupermart magazine to the baby. Then i got very bored cos i dun even know wat i was reading.. I just told her "The financial news brought to u by mummy"..then i just blah blah like sitting for oral exam. keke. Then when i got bored i switched to Motherhood magazine. Hahaha. Have u all tried singing to the baby?

Rash
I also damn itchy the whole of last nite. Skin blotchy n reddish .. but heng went away this am. Keep applying moisturiser.

GERD
I very scared will kena gerd. Lately after eating full meal, feel v tight at chest n tummy. *keeping fingers crossed*

Sleeping bag
oh yes.. i bot the sleeping bag already. The local brand - Babysafe. I find that it is more suitable for our climate.. not so thick. Cotton comfort knit and sateen fabric. I got the promo pack. 2 for $64.50. Like a but kiasu to buy two. But I find more worth it leh. If not one for about $43 leh. Best part i got the babysafe pillow so the sleeping bag can match the pillowcase. haha. Do u mummies know where to buy nice cot bedding? I want strawberry shortcake or precious moment that kind. Cant find in SG. Hope my hubby can find in the states...

sk, congrats on ur confirm baby gal and DS results !

re : excretes
i always got constipation..but recently also watery leh..i suspect is due to the mum's milk (mamil mama) i have been drinking every morning and nite..

re : edd
i think the DS one is more accurate bah..anyway the edd will keep changing until 3rd trim right ?

Porky > Thanks. :D

I think the relieve of my constipation lies with the calcium tablets I have been consuming. Good in a way lah.

If it's the DS EDD is more accurate then XUE you might need to amend on my EDD liew. Hehe.

But hor.even if edd is pretty much "fixed" still if bb wanna comes out early also dunno.

sk, dun need to change lah..anyway dr woody also tell me dont bother abt the edd now. cos is always changing one. if baby grow faster then might need to deliver early one

jacquise, what is GERD ?

I am back.
I went for my detail scan today.
I am please to announce that i am expecting a Prince.
My hubby and my in-law was disappointed to hear the news as their preferences was a Princess.

btw, i got alot of pimples like on my neck and chest, esp my chest area. yucks.. so unglam when u wear a round neck top. sianz lei.. festive coming.. any1 can help and recommend?

Porky, ok lah...I also just wondering only. Dun need change also not so important too.

GERD is a kind of gastro-oesophagal reflux disease.
Check out http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gastroesophageal_reflux_disease

Jacquise > Dun worry so much. I got it occasionally too. It's normal during pregnancy stages. If it occurs too often or interrupts you too much, maybe consult ya gyne?

In my case, it's just very slow disgestion loh. Usually, having light meals will solve the problem. Dun take overly spicy and oily foods esp at night or before sleep.

Porky &amp; SK,
I tried to clarify the EDD with my gynae cuz my baby was big also and I ended up with 22 weeks (DS report) but according to initial calculation I'm 21+ weeks.

But my gynae told me the DS EDD calculation is based on the current measurements of the baby. It does not affect the initial EDD calcalated at the very very first scan we did.

When the DS EDD is earlier than initial EDD, this just means that the baby is growing bigger than normal rate. It just means that we will give birth to a bigger baby.

Everytime when we scan, the EDD will change a bit but it just means that the growth of the baby changes. Cuz that scan EDD is calculated based on the average size of a baby. I'm sure not every baby will be the same average size.

Then gynae finally mentioned that the EDD is never accurate anyway cuz baby might decide to come out early or late. haha

hi Porky,
paisay, juz found out the correct spelling for my nappy rash cream. It's Drapolene cream- pink colour

hi okipoki,
oh ya hor, now i remembered u told me abt the chinatown one...i bad memory. hehe...
next mon i going for prenatal massage @ rustic, still have quite a number of sessions left from previous.

glenlyn_lyn, i think u can try the nappy rash for ur pimples too..i had some on my chest, applied the rash cream then dried up liao.

Went for my DS last fri, am expecting a girl! Very active girl , she just keep moving and when the ultrasound specilalist shook her uo from her brief nap , she just kept kicking randomly as if she's angry from being woken up :p

We had actually bought some girls' clothing from the Gillman sale and heng heng.. turns out to be a girl else i will have to give away or lelong all the cute rompers and dresses !

Bean > Exactly, so the EDD really not impt and I think more "impt" to know who and who share the same edd as you. Haha....

Re: 胎教
My baby will be studying with me till she is borned. That one consider "胎教"?? She will sit through lectures and tutorials with me...hehe. Today she was kicking me on and off during my lecture! She is engaged in the lesson too! hahaha

Re: Singing to baby.
I sing at home while listening to my mp3 music and go KTV and sing...